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Letter from the Executive Director

April 4, 2024

Dear Practitioner,

The Supreme Court of Texas Permanent Judicial Commission on Children, Youth, and Families 
(Children’s Commission) is charged with strengthening courts for children, youth, and families 
in the child welfare system and thereby improving the safety, permanency, and well-being 
outcomes for children. The Children’s Commission provides training, tools, resources, and 
support to judges and attorneys who work on child welfare cases across the state. One of the 
goals of the Children’s Commission is to promote high-quality court proceedings that safeguard 
due process, encourage meaningful child and family involvement, and include effective legal 
representation of all parties.

The Children’s Commission spearheaded the development of this Tool Kit for Attorneys 
Representing Parents and Children in Child Welfare Cases as part of the ongoing commitment 
to elevate the practice of law in child welfare cases. This tool kit is designed to benefit attorneys 
of all levels of experience by providing concise compilations of relevant legal subjects, applicable 
state and federal statutes, hearing checklists, and practice tips for representing parents and 
children in child welfare cases. The intent is for this tool kit to promote best practices for 
attorneys in their advocacy both inside and outside the courtroom.

Please note that while this tool kit is designed for attorneys representing parents and children, 
it is among the many resources which the Children’s Commission has developed, supported, 
and provided to attorneys for parents, attorneys for children, attorneys representing the 
Department of Family and Protective Services, and judges. These resources include the Texas 
Child Welfare Law Bench Book and Bench Cards; Trial Skills Training; the Family Helpline; 
the Parent Resource Guide; and the Tool Kit for Attorneys Representing the Texas Department 
of Family & Protective Services in Child Welfare Cases. Like all Children’s Commission 
materials, this tool kit is available free of charge.

Thank you for your dedication and advocacy on behalf of the parents and children involved in 
Texas child welfare cases.

Sincerely,

Jamie Bernstein 
Executive Director  
Children’s Commission

P.O. Box 12248 • Austin, Texas 78701 • (512) 463-9352
texaschildrenscommission.gov
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Overview: Child Welfare Case Flow
Removal/Start of Case Tex. Fam. Code Title 5, Ch. 161; 261-266

Removal/Start of Case Tex. Fam. Code Title 5, Ch. 161; 261-266

Within 14 days of Ex Parte 
Hearing, court adjudicates 

DFPS petition for Temporary 
Managing Conservatorship 

(TMC) of the child.*
*Subject to extension  
  for good cause.

Within 14 Days

• Before Removal
• After Removal 

Ex Parte Hearing

Emergency

<< Status Hearing
No later than 60 days after DFPS granted TMC, court 

must review efforts to locate and serve parents, contents of 
child’s service plan, and related issues. 

Adversary Hearing

<

1st Permanency Hearing  
Before Final Order Within 180 Days

No later than 180 days after DFPS granted TMC, court 
conducts comprehensive review of child’s status and 

permanency plan.

<
<

Subsequent Permanency Hearing 
Before Final Order Within 120 Days

<<

Automatic Dismissal
No later than first 

Monday following one 
year anniversary of DFPS 

appointment as TMC, a case 
is dismissed by operation 
of law, UNLESS the court 
commences trial, grants a 

single extension, OR orders 
monitored return. Court 

must give notice of dismissal 
60 days before. 

Monitored Return
The dismissal date can 
be extended as part of 
a monitored return. 

See the expanded chart 
in the Dismissal Date 

section (page 93). 

Extension of Time
Dismissal date extended 180 days 
if court finds that extraordinary 
circumstances & best interest 

necessitate child remaining in TMC. 

Final Hearing
Court adjudicates termination of 

parental rights and/or Appointment of 
Permanent Managing Conservatorship 

(PMC).

<<
<< <<

Court must set dismissal 
date no later than 180 days 

after new trial/mistrial 
granted or remand ordered 

and set new trial date.

New Trial/Mistrial 
or Remand

<<
Permanency Hearing  

After Final Order
No later than 90 days after final 

order entered if DFPS named PMC & 
parental rights terminated; otherwise, 
6 months after final order. Court must 

review every 6 months until child 
achieves permanency. 

<

Appeals
Rules of Accelerated Appeals 

apply. Notice of appeal must be 
filed within 20 days after the 
order of judgment is signed.

<<
<< <<

<< <<

April 2024
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In addition to the duties that every attorney owes their client under the Texas Disciplinary 
Rules of Professional Conduct, there are specific statutory duties for attorneys appointed to 
represent parents and children in child welfare cases.

Duties of parents’ and children’s attorneys apply equally to Court Ordered Services/Motion 
to Participate (COS/MTP) cases as they do to cases where the Department of Family and 
Protective Services (DFPS) has Temporary Managing Conservatorship (TMC). Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 264.203(g)-(h).

Duties for Both Parents’ and Children’s Attorneys
Interview the client after initial appointment within a reasonable amount of time unless the 
client’s location is unknown (for child client, applies to age four or older). Tex. Fam. Code §§ 
107.0131(a)(1)(A)(i), 107.003(a)(1)(A)(i).

Interview each person who has significant knowledge of the case. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)
(1)(A)(ii), 107.003(a)(1)(A)(ii).

Interview the parties to the suit. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)(1)(A)(iii), 107.003(a)(1)(A)(iii).

Conduct an independent investigation into the facts of the case. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)
(1)(B), 107.003(a)(1)(D).

Obtain and review copies of all court files in the suit during the attorney’s course of representation. 
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)(1)(C)(i), 107.003(a)(1)I.

Conduct formal discovery under the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure or a local discovery control 
plan. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)(1)(C)(ii), 107.003(a)(1)(F).

Take any action consistent with the client’s interests that the attorney considers necessary to 
expedite the proceedings. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)(1)(D), 107.003(a)(1)(G).

Encourage settlement and the use of alternative forms of dispute resolution. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 
107.0131(a)(1)(E), 107.003(a)(1)(H).

Review and sign, or decline to sign, a proposed or agreed order affecting the client. Tex. Fam. 
Code §§  107.0131(a)(1)(F), 107.003(a)(1)(I).

Meet before each court hearing with the client (for child client, applies to age four or older).Tex. 
Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)(1)(G), 107.004(d)(1).

Abide by the client’s objectives for representation (for child client, child must be competent to 
form an attorney-client relationship and form that relationship). Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)
(1)(H), 107.004(a)(2).

Become familiar with the American Bar Association’s standards of practice for attorneys in 
abuse and neglect cases. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)(1)(I), 107.004(a)(3).

Complete at least three hours of continuing legal education relating to representing parents 
and at least three hours of continuing legal education relating to representing children in child 
protection cases as soon as practicable after the attorney ad litem is appointed, unless the court 
finds that the attorney ad litem has experience equivalent to that education. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 
107.0131(a)(1)(J), 107.004(b).
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Annually report to the Texas Indigent Defense Commission (TIDC) the percentage of practice 
time dedicated to court-appointed child welfare representation of parents and children in each 
county. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.0042.

Additional Duties for a Child’s Attorney
Interview and interact with the child in a developmentally appropriate manner. Tex. Fam. 
Code §§ 107.003(a)(1)(A)(i), 107.004(a).

Elicit in a developmentally appropriate manner the name of any adult, particularly an adult 
residing in the child’s community, who could be a relative or designated caregiver. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 107.003(b)(4).

Advise the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004(a)(1).

Meet with the child or meet with the person whom the child ordinarily resides if the child is 
younger than four years of age, with sufficient time before the hearing to allow the attorney to 
prepare in accordance with the child’s expressed objectives and meet in a private setting that 
allows for confidential communication. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.004(d)(1)(B), 107.004(d-1). 

Exceptions – If the court:

•	 Finds at that hearing that the attorney has shown good cause why the attorney’s 
compliance is not feasible or, in the case of a child, not in the best interest of the child. 
Tex. Fam. Code §107.004(e); or

•	 On a showing of good cause, authorizes the attorney to comply by conferring with the 
parent or child, as appropriate, by telephone or video conference. Tex. Fam. Code § 
107.004(e).

Report to the court whether the attorney met with the child prior to each hearing, and if not, 
request the court to find that compliance was not feasible or not in the best interest of the child. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004(d)(2).

Consider the impact on the child in formulating the attorney’s presentation of the child’s 
expressed objectives of representation to the court. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(a)(1)(C).

Determine whether the child’s educational needs and goals have been identified and addressed. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004(d-2).

Review periodically the child’s safety and well-being, including any effects of trauma to the 
child, and take appropriate action including requesting a review hearing when necessary to 
address issues of concern. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004(d-3).

Complete a training program regarding trauma-informed care and the effect of trauma on 
children in the conservatorship of DFPS. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004(b-1)(2).

Obtain and review copies of relevant records relating to the child, including school, law 
enforcement, social services, medical and mental health records. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.003(a)
(1)(E), 107.006.

Review the medical care provided to the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(1).

Elicit, in a developmentally appropriate manner, the child’s opinion on the medical care 
provided. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(2).
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DUTIES IF A CHILD IS CONSIDERED FOR PLACEMENT IN AN RTC OR A 
QRTP*
If the child is considered for placement in a Residential Treatment Center (RTC), Qualified 
Residential Treatment Program (QRTP), or similar setting, a child’s attorney must:

•	 Review any available information related to the child’s needs including the Child 
and Adolescent Needs and Strengths (CANS) assessment, psychological evaluations, 
discharge notes, incident reports and counseling notes;

•	 Review information regarding whether the placement is appropriate to meet the child’s 
specific needs;

•	 Meet with the child to elicit the child’s opinion regarding the child’s current or proposed 
placement and prepare for the hearing in accordance with the child’s objectives;

•	 Advise the child regarding DFPS’ request for placement and the likelihood of the 
request being granted; and 

•	 Advocate to the court for the child’s specific desires regarding the requested placement.

The child’s attorney may request a placement conference and participate in any placement 
conferences conducted by DFPS regarding an RTC, QRTP, or similar placement. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 107.004(f).

*See the Placement section of this tool kit for more information on RTC and QRTP placements.

DUTIES FOR CHILDREN AT LEAST 16 YEARS OF AGE
•	 Advise the child of the child’s right to request the court to authorize the child to consent 

to their own medical care. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(3)(A).
•	 Ascertain whether the child has received a certified copy of their birth certificate, social 

security card or replacement card, driver’s license (DL) or state identification card, or 
any other document DFPS determines appropriate. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(3)(B).

SUBSTITUTED JUDGMENT
In limited circumstances, a child’s attorney may decline to follow their client’s direction and 
instead present to the court a position the attorney determines will serve the best interest 
of the child. If a guardian ad litem has been appointed, the attorney must consult with 
the guardian ad litem for the child but is not bound by the guardian ad litem’s opinion or 
recommendation. However, the attorney for the child must ensure that the guardian’s opinion 
and recommendation regarding the best interest of the child is presented to the court. 

The attorney may only substitute their judgment for their child client’s direction if the attorney 
determines that the child cannot meaningfully formulate the child’s objectives of representation 
because the child:

•	 Lacks sufficient maturity to understand and form the attorney-client relationship;
•	 Despite appropriate legal counseling continues to express objectives of representation 

that would be seriously injurious to the child; or
•	 For any other reason is incapable of making reasonable judgments and engaging in 

meaningful communication. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.008.
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Duties of a Child’s Attorney Appointed in the Dual Role 
Conduct an investigation to determine the best interests of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 
107.002(a)(1).

Consider the child’s expressed objectives without being bound by those objectives. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 107.002(b)(3).

Interview each person who has significant knowledge of the case including educators and child 
welfare service providers. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.002(b)(1)(B).

If substituting judgment, the attorney may present to the court a position the attorney 
determines will serve the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.008.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: In some Texas jurisdictions, long-standing practice has 
been to appoint an attorney serving in the dual role of attorney and guardian litem to 
every child in a child welfare case. However, an attorney who serves in the dual role may 
face an ethical dilemma when representing a child who is capable of forming an attorney-
client relationship and directing representation, if the child’s objectives are incompatible 
with the attorney’s assessment of the child’s best interest, but the child’s objectives do 
not meet the standard required to substitute judgment. The dilemma can be resolved by 
requesting appointment of another person to serve in the role of guardian ad litem for the 
child. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.0125.

Duties for an Attorney Appointed to an Alleged Father
Conduct an investigation regarding the petitioner’s due diligence in locating the alleged father, 
including verifying that the petitioner has obtained a certificate of the results of a search of the 
paternity registry.

Interview any party or other person with significant knowledge of the case who may have 
information relating to the identity or location of the alleged father.

Conduct an independent investigation to identify or locate the alleged father, as applicable.

If the alleged father is identified and located, the attorney ad litem shall:

•	 Provide to each party and the court the alleged father’s name and address and any 
other locating information; and

•	 If appropriate, request the court’s approval for the attorney ad litem to assist the 
alleged father in establishing paternity.

If the alleged father is adjudicated to be a parent of the child and is determined by the court 
to be indigent, and opposes the termination, the court may appoint the attorney ad litem to 
continue to represent the father’s interests pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 107.013.

If unable to identify or locate the alleged father, the attorney ad litem must submit to the court 
a written summary of the attorney ad litem’s efforts to identify or locate the alleged father with 
a statement that the attorney ad litem was unable to identify or locate the alleged father. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 107.0132.
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Duties for an Attorney Appointed to Represent an Unknown 
Parent, Unlocated Parent, or Parent Who Has Been Served by 
Publication

Conduct an investigation regarding the petitioner’s due diligence in locating the parent.

Interview any party or other person with significant knowledge of the case who may have 
information relating to the identity or location of the parent.

Conduct an independent investigation to identify or locate the parent, as applicable.

If the attorney identifies and locates the parent, the attorney must:

•	 Provide to each party and the court the parent’s name and address and any other 
available locating information unless the court finds that:

o	 disclosure of a parent’s address is likely to cause that parent harassment, serious 
harm, or injury; or

o	 the parent has been a victim of family violence; and

•	 If appropriate, assist the parent in making a claim of indigence for the appointment of 
an attorney.

If unable to identify or locate the parent, the attorney ad litem must submit to the court a 
written summary of the attorney ad litem’s efforts to identify or locate the parent with a 
statement that the attorney ad litem was unable to identify or locate the parent. On receipt of 
the summary, the court must discharge the attorney from the appointment. Tex. Fam. Code § 
107.014.
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Burden of Proof
Good Cause

Good Cause generally means a legally sufficient ground or reason, depending upon the 
circumstances of each individual case. Applies to:

•	 Obtaining an order in aid of an investigation to enter the home, school, or any place 
where the child may be if the child is in imminent danger of aggravated circumstances. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 261.303(b)(1);

•	 Order for access to mental health records of the caregiver. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.305(b);
•	 Extension of the Adversary Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.201(e), (e-1);
•	 Court Ordered Services (COS) extension hearing. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 264.203(f),(k).

Probable Cause
Probable Cause generally means a reasonable basis or having more evidence for than against. 
Applies to:

•	 Obtaining an order in aid of investigation to enter the home, school, or any place where 
the child may be if it is necessary to protect the child from abuse or neglect. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 261.303(b)(2);

•	 Obtaining an order in aid of an investigation for release of medical, psychological, or 
psychiatric records of the child or to order an examination of the child if it is necessary 
to protect the child from abuse or neglect. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.303(c);

•	 Obtaining an Ex Parte Hearing for an order in aid of an investigation if there is no 
time, consistent with the physical health or safety of the child, for a full hearing. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 261.303(f);

•	 Obtaining an order prohibiting removal of the child from the state pending completion 
of the investigation. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.306.

Sufficient to Satisfy a Person of Ordinary Prudence and Caution
Ordinary Prudence and Caution is similar to the Probable Cause standard. Ordinary Prudence 
and Caution generally requires a minimal showing of evidence, less than a preponderance, but 
enough to persuade a reasonable person. Applies to:

•	 Initial Hearing in a COS/Motion to Participate petition. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(m);
•	 Ex Parte Removal Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.101;
•	 Taking Possession of a Child in Emergency Without a Court Order. Tex. Fam. Code § 

262.104; 
•	 Adversary Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(g).

Preponderance of the Evidence
Preponderance of the Evidence is evidence that is of greater weight or is more convincing 
than the evidence that is offered in opposition to it. A metaphor to illustrate the concept of 
preponderance is the scales of justice rising slightly higher on one side. It is the standard of 
proof generally used in civil cases. Applies to:

•	 60-Day Status Review Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005;
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•	 Permanency Hearing before Final Order. Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005;
•	 Final Order Awarding Permanent Managing Conservatorship (PMC) (without 

termination). Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005;
•	 Permanency Hearing after Final Order. Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005; 
•	 Adoption Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005;
•	 Reinstatement of Parental Rights Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.303. 

Clear and Convincing
Clear and Convincing is the measure or degree of proof that will produce in the mind of the trier 
of fact a firm belief or conviction as to the truth of the allegations sought to be established. It is 
greater than a Preponderance of the Evidence but a lower burden than Beyond a Reasonable 
Doubt.

Applies to:

•	 Termination of Parental Rights when Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA) does not apply. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001; 

•	 An order placing a child in foster care under ICWA; 25 U.S.C.§ 1912(e).

Beyond a Reasonable Doubt
The Beyond a Reasonable Doubt standard is met when the trier of fact is fully satisfied, or 
entirely convinced that something occurred. Applies to:

•	 Termination cases subject to ICWA. 25 U.S.C. §1912(f).
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Best Interest of the Child
Best interest of the child is always the primary consideration in determining conservatorship, 
possession, and access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.002.

Factors Determining Best Interest
The “Holley factors” Holley v. Adams, 544 S. W. 2d 367 (Tex. 1976) below are a non-exclusive 
list of factors to consider: 

•	 Desires of the child;
•	 Emotional and physical danger to child now and in future;
•	 Parental abilities;
•	 Programs available to assist parents;
•	 Plans for the child by individuals or agency seeking custody;
•	 Stability of home or proposed placement;
•	 Any acts or omissions of a parent indicating the relationship is not proper; and 
•	 Any excuse for the acts or omissions of a parent. 

Additional factors to consider in determining a child’s best interest are outlined in Tex. Fam. 
Code § 263.307 and are included but not limited to:

•	 Child’s age and physical and mental vulnerabilities;
•	 Frequency and nature of out-of-home placements;
•	 History of abusive or assaultive conduct by the child’s family or others with access to 

home;
•	 History of substance abuse by child’s family or others with access to home;
•	 Whether the perpetrator of the harm to child has been identified; and

Special considerations for children 16 years of age or older. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.307. 

Court Hearings That Can Require a Best Interest Determination
THE ADVERSARY HEARING

When Considering Placement with Relative

If the court does not order possession of the child by a parent, the court shall place a child with 
a relative unless placement is not in the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(n).

PERMANENCY HEARINGS BEFORE A FINAL ORDER

When Determining Whether to Meet a Child

The court shall consult with the child if the child is four years of age or older and if the court 
determines it is in the child’s best interest. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.302.

When Determining Whether to Send a Child Home

At each Permanency Hearing before a final hearing, the court shall make a finding on whether 
the child’s parents are willing and able to provide the child with a safe environment and 
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whether the return of the child is in the child’s best interest. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.306(a-1)(6). 
But see also Tex. Fam. Code § 263.002(c).

Court Decisions That Require a Best Interest Determination
TRANSFERRING A CASE TO THE COURT OF CONTINUING EXCLUSIVE 
JURISDICTION (CCEJ)
The court shall order transfer to the CCEJ if the court finds the transfer is necessary for the 
convenience of the parties and is the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.203.

DENYING A PARENT VISITATION
If the court finds that visitation between a child and a parent is not in the child’s best interest, 
the court shall render an order that:

•	 States the reasons for finding that visitation is not in the child’s best interest; and
•	 Outlines specific steps the parent must take to be allowed to have visitation with the 

child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.109(b).

WHEN CONSIDERING UNSUPERVISED VISITATION IN THE CONTEXT OF 
FAMILY VIOLENCE
It is a rebuttable presumption that it is not in the best interest of a child for a parent to have 
unsupervised visitation with a child if credible evidence is presented of a history or pattern 
of past or present child neglect or abuse or family violence by that parent or any person the 
parent permitted to have unsupervised access to the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.004(e).

EXTENDING THE DISMISSAL DATE
The court finds that extraordinary circumstances necessitate the child remaining in the TMC of 
DFPS and that continuing TMC is in the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401(b).

ORDERING A MONITORED RETURN
The court finds that retaining jurisdiction is in the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.403(a)(1).

RTC PLACEMENTS
If a child is placed or is referred to and awaiting placement in an RTC, the court shall determine 
whether the recommended or existing program is the least restrictive setting consistent with 
the child’s best interest and individual needs. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.002(e)(3).

DFPS Decisions That Must Consider Best Interest
WHEN CONSIDERING PLACEMENT
DFPS shall consider whether the placement is in the child’s best interest. In determining 
whether a placement is in a child’s best interest, DFPS shall consider whether the placement:

•	 Is the least restrictive setting for the child;
•	 Is the closest in geographic proximity to the child’s home;
•	 Is the most able to meet the identified needs of the child; and
•	 Satisfies any expressed interests of the child relating to placement, when developmentally 

appropriate. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.107(c).
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WHEN ASSESSING A RELATIVE OR DESIGNATED PLACEMENT
DFPS must conduct an assessment to determine whether the proposed placement is in the 
child’s best interest. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.754(b).

Eliciting Evidence Regarding Best Interest
A parent or child’s attorney should be comfortable eliciting information regarding a child’s best 
interest regardless of the position being advocated. Below are sources and topics for soliciting 
evidence regarding best interest at a trial or contested hearing.

PARENT/CONSERVATOR TESTIMONY
•	 Memories of the child’s birth or the day the child came into their life;
•	 The child’s unique role in the family;
•	 The bonds the child has with family members;
•	 The bonds the child has with the family’s community;
•	 Training/classes the parent has attended; and/or
•	 Knowledge the parent or caregiver has gained about the child’s needs and how they 

plan to meet those needs in the child’s home.

PSYCHOLOGIST/THERAPIST TESTIMONY
•	 The number of and type of placements the child has experienced in DFPS care;
•	 The progress or lack of progress the child has made in DFPS care;
•	 Clinical research regarding the effects of removal or separation;
•	 Clinical research regarding life outcomes of children who experience foster care or 

family separation;
•	 The child’s desires to remain/return home;
•	 What permanency means for this child;
•	 Behaviors of the child now and in the future; and/or
•	 Psychological effect of “closure” on the healing process.

SUBSTITUTE CAREGIVER TESTIMONY
•	 Typical day with the child (meetings/appointments they attend with or for the child);
•	 Training/classes they have attended;
•	 Any special needs of the child and how those needs have been met;
•	 How the child was when they first entered substitute care and how they are now; and/

or
•	 Future plans for child (e.g., Does the caregiver plan to stay involved with the child and 

if so, how? Is the caregiver considering adoption?).



20

Le
ga

l E
ss

en
ti

al
s Reasonable Efforts

DFPS is required to make reasonable efforts throughout the life of a case, starting with 
reasonable efforts to prevent the need for removal of the child. Additionally, if removal is 
authorized, DFPS is required to make reasonable efforts to safely return the child home. When 
determining if reasonable efforts have been made with respect to preventing or eliminating 
the need to remove a child from the child’s home or to make it possible to return the child to 
the child’s home, the child’s health and safety is the paramount concern. Tex. Fam. Code § 
262.001(b). 

If DFPS seeks termination of parental rights, it is required to prove that it made reasonable 
efforts to return the child, and despite those reasonable efforts, a continuing danger remains 
in the home that prevents the return of the child to the parent. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(f).

Statutorily Required Reasonable Efforts Findings
REASONABLE EFFORTS MUST BE DESCRIBED IN A SEPARATE SECTION
•	 In an emergency removal affidavit. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.101(b), 262.105(c);
•	 In an emergency removal order. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.102(e); 262.107(c);
•	 In an adversary hearing order granting the continued temporary managing 

conservatorship of the child by DFPS. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(g-2); and
•	 In an order for termination of parental rights. Tex. Fam. Code §§161.001(f) and (g).

ADDITIONAL REASONABLE EFFORTS FINDINGS
•	 Whether a service plan ensures that reasonable efforts are made to enable the child’s 

parents to provide a safe environment for the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(b)(1).
•	 Whether DFPS made reasonable efforts to finalize the permanency plan, including 

concurrent permanency goals, in effect for the child. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.306(a-1)(5)
(C), 263.5031(a)(4)(E).

•	 Whether the following grounds of involuntary termination were met:

o	 constructive abandonment. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(N).
o	 inability to care. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.003(a)(4).

•	 In an extended foster care review hearing: 

o	 whether DFPS has made reasonable efforts to place the young adult in the least 
restrictive environment necessary to meet the young adult’s needs. Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 263.602(b)(1); and

o	 whether DFPS is making reasonable efforts to finalize the permanency plan that is 
in effect for the young adult, including a permanency plan for independent living. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 263.602(b)(2).

AGGRAVATED CIRCUMSTANCES
If the court finds that aggravated circumstances exist, it may waive the requirement that DFPS 
make reasonable efforts to return a child to their parent under Tex. Fam. Code § 262.2015. An 
aggravated circumstances finding also waives the required finding for termination of parental 
rights under Tex. Fam. Code §161.001(f) that DFPS made reasonable efforts to return the child 
and the continuation in the home would present a continuing danger to the child. However, 
even if the court makes an aggravated circumstances finding, DFPS must make continued 
reasonable efforts to finalize permanency for the child throughout the life of the case.
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Questions on Reasonable Efforts to Avoid Removal
Although there is no definitive list of what constitutes reasonable efforts, the questions below 
are modified from the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges Enhanced 
Resource Guidelines and are designed to elicit suggested elements of what could be considered 
reasonable efforts throughout the case.

•	 What were the specific safety risks leading to removal?
•	 What services were considered and offered to allow the child to remain in the home? 

Were those services culturally appropriate? Were they rationally related to the safety 
risk? Did they take into account the family’s strengths and needs?

•	 What was done to create a safety plan to allow the child to remain at home or with 
another designated caregiver without requiring court involvement?

•	 Would the removal of a person from the home have allowed the child to safely remain 
home?

•	 Would the addition of a person to the home have allowed the child to safely remain 
home?

•	 Was the family offered the opportunity to participate in the Alternative Response 
Program or Family Based Safety Services? If so, why was Alternative Response or 
Family Based Safety Services unsuccessful?

•	 Was the family ordered to participate in Court-Ordered Services (COS)? If so, why was 
COS unsuccessful?

•	 Were non-custodial parents, paternal and maternal relatives identified and evaluated?
•	 Were there any pre-hearing conferences such as a Family Team Meeting or Family 

Group Conference? Who was there? What was the outcome?
•	 Does the family have a history with DFPS? Did the history influence DFPS’ response 

to this situation?
•	 Are there orders that could be made under Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203 that would require 

the parents to participate in services but allow the child to remain safely in the home?

Questions on Reasonable Efforts to Allow the Child to Return 
Home

•	 What is preventing this child from safely going home today?
•	 What is the current immediate safety threat?
•	 What type of safety plan could be developed and implemented in order for the child to 

return home today?
•	 What specifically is preventing the parents from being able to provide the minimally 

adequate standard of protective care?
•	 Will the removal of a person from the home allow the child to safely return home?
•	 Will the addition of a person to the home allow the child to safely return home?
•	 Is a monitored return or a transition monitored return appropriate? If not, why not?
•	 If the safety threat is too high, do the parents understand what conditions are required 

for the child to safely return?
•	 What services can be arranged to allow the child to safely go home today?
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•	 How are the services rationally related to the specific safety threat?
•	 How is the family, including children and extended family, engaged in the development 

and implementation of the services?
•	 What efforts has DFPS made to assist the family with services?
•	 Does the family believe the services take into account the family’s strengths and needs?
•	 Has the family asked for additional or alternative services?
•	 What evidence has DFPS provided that the services meet the needs of the family and 

have produced positive outcomes for families with similar issues?
•	 How are the services specifically tailored to the culture and needs of this child and this 

family?

The Impact of Reasonable Efforts Findings on Federal Funding
If the court fails to make a reasonable efforts finding or finds that reasonable efforts were not 
made, it could impact the total amount of federal Title IV-E reimbursement received by DFPS; 
however, it does not affect funding for the individual child, the subject of the suit. 

REASONABLE EFFORTS TO PREVENT REMOVAL

Timing

Finding must be made within 60 days of the child’s removal. 45 C.F.R. § 1356.21(b)(1)(i).

Impact

If the court does not make the finding, the agency will not receive IV-E dollars for the duration 
of the child’s stay in foster care. 45 C.F.R. § 1356.21(b)(1)(ii). 

REASONABLE EFFORTS TO FINALIZE PERMANENCY

Timing

Finding must be made within 12 months of foster care entry and at least once every 12 months 
thereafter. 45 C.F.R. § 1356.21(b)(2)(i).

Impact 

If the court does not make the finding, the agency will not receive IV-E funding until such a 
determination is made. 45 C.F.R. § 1356.21(b)(2)(ii).
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Pleading Practice
While DFPS may plead multiple grounds for termination in the petition, a Suit Affecting the 
Parent Child Relationship filed by a governmental entity is subject to Tex. R. Civ. P. 13, which 
prohibits groundless pleadings brought in bad faith or to harass, as well as Tex. Civ. Prac. & 
Rem. Code § 10, which requires that each allegation or other factual contention in the pleading 
has evidentiary support or is likely to have evidentiary support after a reasonable opportunity 
for further investigation or discovery. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.101(b).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: DFPS may plead in the alternative, but if DFPS has 
pleaded a “laundry list” of all termination grounds or has included termination grounds 
that are not supported by affidavit, consider setting a meeting to discuss this further. 
Other options include serving discovery or a Request for Admission to ascertain the 
evidence that DFPS has on each ground, and if no evidence is provided, consider filing a 
Motion for No Evidence Summary Judgment to eliminate the grounds for which there is 
no evidence. 

Common Pleadings 
Answer: Attorneys for parents and children should always file an Answer after their client 
has been served. 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: An Answer or participation in the suit generally waives 
any defects in the previously issued service or notice. If a parent client is unlocated, has 
not been served, and has not appeared before the court, do not file an Answer. Appear at 
the hearing and make clear to the court that your client has not been served and you are 
there strictly to ascertain information as to how the client can be located.

Special Appearance: If your client has never submitted to the jurisdiction of the Court (i.e., 
your client has never been to Texas) then a special appearance may be necessary.

Affirmative Defenses: These should be filed with the Answer if they are applicable. All 
affirmative defenses that are applicable to any civil case apply; however, if the parent client has 
failed to complete one or more services ordered as part of the Court-Ordered Service Plan, an 
attorney may file the specific defense under Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(d) prior to the amended 
pleading deadline.

Counter/Cross-Petition: If a client is seeking relief from the court, it is important to file a 
counter/cross-petition. This can be combined with the Answer. If a client has a preferred relative 
placement, consider including a request for the relative to be named managing conservator 
of the child, whether or not that relative has intervened. The counter/cross-petition can also 
include a petition to adjudicate paternity if the client is an alleged father. A parent can also file 
a counter-petition for Joint Managing Conservatorship (JMC) with DFPS if the child suffers 
from a severe emotional disturbance and the parent is seeking to obtain mental health services 
for the child. Tex. Fam. Code 262.352.

Petition for Writ of Mandamus: If a client requests to contest the outcome of the Adversary 
Hearing order rendered by a district court or county court at law, or an associate judge of a 
district court, county court, or child protection court, an attorney may file a Petition for Writ of 
Mandamus to the appropriate appellate court. The standard of review for a Writ of Mandamus 
is abuse of discretion. 
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Request for De Novo Hearing: If a client requests a de novo review of a ruling made by an 
associate judge, a written request for a De Novo Hearing must be filed within three working 
days, and the matter must be heard by the referring court within 30 days. Parties must specify 
the issues that will be presented to the referring court and may present witnesses on the 
specific issues raised on de novo. If the court orders the parties to mediation prior to the De 
Novo Hearing, then the court may not postpone the hearing for temporary orders for more than 
30 days.

Pleading Considerations for a Child’s Attorney
A child’s attorney shall participate in the conduct of the litigation to the same extent as an 
attorney for a party. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(a)(1)(F). Accordingly, a child’s attorney should 
file any necessary pleadings to further their representation of the child. Attorneys should only 
file pleadings that their clients have directed them to unless the attorney ad litem is using 
substituted judgment (see discussion above.)

CHILD CLIENT’S ANSWER
A child’s attorney should file an Answer and require the state (or other parties who cross-
claimed) to meet the burden of proof. A general denial is an appropriate pleading. Tex. R. Civ. 
P. 83 and 85.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: An Answer of the child’s attorney who is serving in the 
dual role should also include an assertion that the court should consider the best interest 
factors specified in Holley v. Adams in rendering judgment. 544 S.W. 2d 367 (Tex. 1976). 
This response may be considered a “special plea” under Tex. R. Civ. P. 85. Including the 
specific factors in a pleading puts these factors at issue in the case, supports discovery 
reasonably related to the discovery of admissible evidence, and establishes relevance for 
purposes of determining admissibility of evidence.

RESPONDING TO NONSUIT
The State cannot nonsuit a suit to terminate parental rights without court approval. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 161.203. If the State seeks to nonsuit, the child’s attorney should consider the child’s 
position. If appointed in the dual role, the attorney should also consider whether the nonsuit 
is in the child’s best interest and file a response contesting the nonsuit if appropriate. Given 
that the State may not be very enthusiastic about pursuing a Petition it has been prevented 
from nonsuiting, the child’s attorney should also consider filing a Cross-Petition on behalf of 
the child client.

CHILD’S CROSS-PETITION
The child’s attorney can file a Cross-Petition that can seek an outcome not pleaded by another 
party, but that meets the child’s desires and/or best interest. Tex. R. Civ. P. 85 and 60.

•	 Even if the relief sought in the Cross-Petition seeks relief already sought by another 
party, the Cross-Petition preserves the client’s right to pursue the claim if the other 
party abandons or does not vigorously pursue that claim.

•	 Cross-petition may allow the parties to pursue relief that the state is restricted from 
pursuing by DFPS policy or otherwise, e.g., if an out of state relative has surfaced 
too late in the proceeding to permit the state to seek an Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children (ICPC) placement. The child’s attorney can use a cross-petition 
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to continue to seek placement with that relative as being in the best interest of the 
child.

CROSS-PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE
A name change may be needed due to inconsistencies or issues with the child’s legal name, such 
as a birth certificate listing the first name as “Infant,” or a listing of a last name different than 
the surname used throughout child’s life and in records.

Name changes are somewhat less complex before the child reaches the age of majority. If the 
child is 10 years of age or older, the child’s written consent to the name change must be attached 
to the Petition. Tex. Fam. Code § 45.002(b).
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A motion is a pleading seeking some specific relief. There are certain motions that are specifically 
defined in the Texas Family Code or Texas Rules of Procedure that have precise elements to be 
included and demonstrated, but an attorney for a parent or a child is not limited to pursuing 
only those motions delineated in the Codes and Rules. A motion can be filed to pursue the relief 
a party needs and can merely state the grounds for the relief and set forth the relief or order 
requested. See Tex. R. Civ. P. 21.

Potential Motions for Parents’ and Children’s Attorneys
Objection to Proposed Service Plan/Motion to Modify Service Plan: If the parent or 
child client needs additional services, or requests to eliminate services from the service plan, 
an attorney may file an Objection/Motion and seek relief from the court.

Motion to Increase Visitation: This motion can be filed by either parents’ or children’s 
attorneys when seeking to increase visitation or to obtain unsupervised visitation.

Motion to Change Placement or to Conduct a Home Study: This motion can be filed by 
either a parent’s attorney or child’s attorney, but the child’s attorney is specifically obligated to 
elicit “the name of any adult . . . who could be a relative or designated caregiver for the child.” 
Tex. Fam. Code 107.003(b)(4). If after providing the name to DFPS, and DFPS does not pursue 
the potential placement, the attorney can bring the issue to the attention of the court by motion. 
Even if it is not a licensed or approved home, the judge may order a change of placement.

Practice Tip: Evaluate if DFPS is excluding the proposed placement for reasons that 
might be unrelated to safety. Look at the length of time since last criminal history, 
changed circumstances of the proposed placement, relationship to child, and review any 
home study denial closely.

Motion for Expedited Home Study: DFPS needs an order to request an expedited home 
study. To resolve the issue of placement as quickly as possible, an attorney can file this motion 
as soon as the need for a home study is identified.

Motion for a Monitored Return: If a parent has completed most of their services, but 
DFPS will not agree to return the child and dismiss the case, an attorney for a parent or a 
child may file a motion for the child to be returned home while the court retains jurisdiction, 
either through a standard monitored return or transition monitored return. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.403(a)(2)(A)-(B).

Motion for Travel Costs: Depending on the jurisdiction’s policy toward travel reimbursement, 
this motion may be appropriate.

Motion for Paternity/DNA/Genetic Testing: May be necessary if the alleged father does 
not acknowledge paternity, or when there is more than one alleged father. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 
160.608, 160.621.

Motion for Continuance: An attorney may file a written and sworn Motion for Continuance 
if good cause exists to delay the trial and there is still time for the court to grant the motion and 
still commence trial on the merits before the statutory deadline. If denied, error is preserved 
for appeal. Tex. R. Civ. P. 251.

Motion for Extension: If a parent has completed most services but will not be able to complete 
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the service plan prior to the statutory deadline, an attorney for a parent or a child may file a 
motion asserting that there are extraordinary circumstances sufficient to extend the case 180 
days beyond the original statutory deadline. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401(b).

Potential Motions for a Parent’s Attorney
Motion to Exclude Drug Test Results: DFPS may attempt to admit drug test results through 
a business records affidavit. Some courts held that drug results cannot be admitted through 
business records affidavits alone due to the more stringent clear and convincing standard for 
a parental termination case. See In re K.C.P., 142 S.W.3d 574, 580 (Tex. App.—Texarkana 
2004, no pet.). However, business records affidavits of drug test results that show sufficient 
indicia of trustworthiness because they contain information regarding chain of custody, testing 
procedures, qualifications of the analysts or other indicators of reliability may be admitted 
without expert testimony. See Int. of S.W.W., No. 14-22-00503-CV, 2022 WL 17982904 at *8 
(Tex. App.—Houston, 14th District, 2022, review denied (June 16, 2023).

Motion for Daubert Hearing: If a party attempts to elicit expert testimony from a witness 
who is not qualified to give an expert opinion, an attorney may move for a Daubert Hearing to 
challenge the witness’s status as an expert. It will be necessary to voir dire the proposed expert 
on the qualifications, data relied on, and scientific procedure as outlined in the Evidentiary 
Issues section of this tool kit. An attorney can consider following up with a motion to exclude 
expert witness if appropriate.

Motion for No Evidence Summary Judgment: After an adequate time for discovery, this 
dispositive motion can be filed to strike any termination ground alleged in the pleadings for 
which DFPS has provided no evidence.

Motion to Strike Intervention: If relatives or foster parents file an intervention over the 
objection of a client, the intervention may be struck if the intervening party lacks standing, or if 
placement with them is not in the best interest of the child. A motion to strike the intervention 
should be specific in the reasoning as to why the intervention should be struck.

Motion for Funds for an Expert Witness: This motion may be most relevant in medical 
abuse cases when there are differing opinions as to how certain injuries occurred, although 
it could be used for any expert, including those for drug testing and psychological/psychiatric 
issues.

Motion to Appoint Temporary Possessory Conservator: This can be filed when the order 
granting TMC to DFPS does not specify that the parents are temporary possessory conservators 
with specific rights and duties.

Motion to Compel Discovery Responses: Consider filing if DFPS has not complied timely 
with discovery requests. However, it is important to weigh the costs and benefits of such a 
motion depending on evidence requested as evidence that is not produced in accordance with 
discovery is not admissible at trial.

Motion to Remove Guardian/Attorney Ad Litem: This motion should only be considered 
if there is serious misconduct by the child’s attorney which is prejudicial to a client. Talking to 
the child’s ad litem first regarding concerns might alleviate the need to file the motion.

Motion for Participation by Other Means: Parents have a constitutional right to attend 
not only their trial, but any ancillary hearings in the case. If a parent client is in jail, or 
otherwise indisposed and cannot attend trial, the attorney may file a motion requesting the 
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parent to attend by telephone, television, Skype, Zoom, or other video conferencing method. If 
the motion is denied, then error is preserved for appeal. 

Motion for the Record of Ex Parte Hearing: The court is required to keep a record of any 
ex parte hearing held under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 262. Consider requesting this record 
before the Adversary Hearing, it may be relevant for impeachment purposes or to get more 
information about the investigation. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.206.

Motion to Exclude Evidence Obtained During the Investigation: This motion may be 
filed prior to the Adversary Hearing, in a case under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 262 or prior to 
the initial hearing in a case under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 264, but can be filed at any time. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 261.307. See the Parents’ Rights in an Investigation section of this tool kit for 
more information.

Motion for Show Cause Hearing: Parents or guardians who were not present at the 
Adversary Hearing because they were either unknown or not located can request an adversary 
hearing at a later date when the person is identified or located and requests a hearing. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 262.201(q).

Motion to Transfer the Suit: If the parent has moved out of the jurisdiction or the child is 
placed out of the region, there may be a reason to request a transfer of the suit if it is necessary 
for the convenience of the parties and it is in the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 
262.203.

Motion to Return the Child Home: This motion can be filed before each Permanency 
Hearing if the there is no longer a continuing danger to the child’s physical health or safety 
and returning the child home is not contrary to the welfare of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.002(c).

Potential Motions for a Child’s Attorney 
Motion for Sibling Visitation/Access: If a client is not getting enough contact with their 
siblings, whether face- to-face or otherwise, the child’s attorney can file a motion to seek such 
access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.551.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Review the child’s plan of service; it often recommends 
more frequent sibling access than is being provided. Consider filing a motion to request 
that the court order the amount of sibling access recommended by the child’s plan of 
service.

Motion to Modify Parental Visitation: This motion can be filed if a client desires, and/or 
it is in the client’s interest for the child to receive more or a different type of visitation with 
a parent, e.g., unsupervised visitation if appropriate. For example, if DFPS has set visitation 
for an inconvenient day/time for the parent or the child, and the child consistently misses 
class and would like to have visit days/ or times vary, the child’s attorney may file a motion to 
accommodate child and/or parent’s needs.

Motion to Modify Services for the Child: If the child needs a special medical service 
(such as a cranial helmet) or if the child would benefit from therapy by a different provider or 
specialist, file a motion to request the court order the service. This motion can also be used to 
pursue normalcy issues such as allowing the child to participate in an extracurricular activity 
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and/or if the child needs financial support for the same.

Motion for Child to Attend the Hearing/Confer with the Court: The Texas Family Code 
states that children shall attend each Permanency Hearing unless excused by the court, but 
a motion may be necessary if the child client wishes to attend a non-permanency hearing, 
or if local judicial practice excuses children from Permanency Hearings by default. Consider 
utilizing a Motion to Interview Child in Chambers. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.009.

Motion for Second Opinion on Psychotropic Medications: Tex. Fam. Code § 107.002(a)
(2) provides for the attorney ad litem for a child to have access and review medical records 
and Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004(d-3) requires an attorney ad litem “to review the child’s safety 
and well-being . . . and take appropriate action, including requesting a review hearing when 
necessary to address an issue of concern.”
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Termination of parental rights in a suit filed by DFPS requires a finding that termination is in 
the child’s best interest, that DFPS made reasonable efforts to return the child to the parent, 
and that the parent committed an act or omission listed in the enumerated grounds justifying 
termination (See the Best Interests and Reasonable Efforts sections of this tool kit for more 
information). For a full list of the statutory grounds for Involuntary Termination of Parent-
Child Relationship, see Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1). The non-exhaustive list below contains 
grounds often pleaded in DFPS cases.

Constructive Abandonment 
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(N)

Has the parent:

•	 Constructively abandoned the child who has been in the PMC or TMC of DFPS for not 
less than six months; AND

o	 Not regularly visited or maintained significant contact with the child;
o	 Demonstrated an inability to provide the child with a safe environment; and
o	 DFPS made reasonable efforts to return the child to the parent.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tips:  
 
It is important to determine whether DFPS arranged visits, canceled visits, and/or 
assisted with transportation to visits.  
 
A parent’s incarceration alone is insufficient to prove this ground. 
 
Reasonable efforts by DFPS are outlined in the Family Service Plan (FSP), but the 
FSP must be specific and clearly written so that the parent understands what must be 
completed by the parent. Reasonable efforts can also be other efforts made in addition to 
the FSP.

Endangerment: Conditions or Surroundings 
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(D)

Has the parent:

•	 Knowingly placed the child or knowingly allowed the child to remain in conditions or 
surroundings which endanger the physical or emotional well-being of the child. 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Because this ground applies to the child’s surroundings 
and environment, rather than parental conduct, it applies only to the child’s pre-removal 
circumstances.

Endangerment: Course of Conduct 
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(E) 
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Has the parent:

•	 Engaged in conduct or knowingly placed the child with persons who engaged in conduct 
which endangers the physical or emotional well-being of the child.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: This ground can apply to a parent’s actions both before 
and after removal and before and after a child is born but requires a course of continuing 
conduct. One act or omission is insufficient to prove this ground. Acts done in the distant 
past are also insufficient without showing a present or future danger to the child.

Affidavit of Relinquishment of Parental Rights 
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(K)

Has the parent:

•	 Executed before or after the suit is filed an unrevoked or irrevocable affidavit 
of relinquishment of parental rights. Note: A parent who signs an affidavit of 
relinquishment is also required to complete a medical history report. Tex. Fam. Code 
§161.1031.

Criminal Conviction-Death or Serious Injury 
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(L)

Has the parent been convicted or been placed on community supervision, including deferred 
adjudication community supervision:

•	 For being criminally responsible for the death or serious injury of a child, under any 
of the following crimes: (murder; capital murder; manslaughter; indecency w/ child; 
assault; sexual assault; aggravated assault; aggravated sexual assault; injury to 
child, an elderly individual or disabled individual; abandoning or endangering child; 
prohibited sexual conduct; sexual performance by child; possession or promotion of 
child pornography; continuous sexual abuse of child or disabled individual; human 
trafficking; or compelling prostitution). Note: this ground also applies to out of state 
convictions for crimes with elements similar to those listed above. 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: If DFPS only offers judgments of convictions without 
charging instruments or any other evidence of the underlying facts that support the 
conviction, a parent’s attorney may want to challenge the sufficiency of the evidence.

Prior Termination on Endangerment Grounds 
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(M)

Has the parent:

•	 Had their parent-child relationship terminated with respect to another child based on a 
finding that the parent’s conduct was in violation of grounds (D) or (E) or substantially 
equivalent provisions of the law of another state. 
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Note: the court may not order termination under this ground unless the petition was filed 
within one year of DFPS being named managing conservator of a child in the prior case that 
resulted in the termination. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(d-1).

Failure to Complete Services 
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(O)

Has the parent failed to comply with:

•	 Provisions of court order that specifically established the actions necessary for the 
parent to obtain the return of the child;

•	 Who has been in the PMC or TMC of DFPS for not less than nine months; and
•	 As a result of the child’s removal for the abuse or neglect of the child. 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Whether the child was removed as the result of abuse 
or neglect by that parent is a fact question that must be proved by DFPS at trial. 

Note: A court may not order termination under (O) grounds based on the failure by the parent 
to comply with a specific provision of a court order if a parent proves by a preponderance of 
evidence that: the parent was unable to comply with specific provisions of the court order, and 
the parent made a good faith effort to comply with the order, and the failure to comply with the 
order is not attributable to any fault of the parent. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(d).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Though an affirmative pleading may not be required 
by Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(d), it is a best practice to plead inability to complete services 
as an affirmative defense if there is evidence to support it. If the defense is raised at a jury 
trial, an attorney should ensure the defense is included in the jury charge. 

Drug Treatment or Relapse 
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(P)

Has the parent:

•	 Used a controlled substance, as defined by Tex. Health & Safety Code Ch. 481, in a 
manner that endangered the health or safety of the child; and

•	 Failed to complete a court-ordered substance abuse treatment program; or
•	 After completion of a court-ordered substance abuse treatment program, continued to 

abuse a controlled substance.

Incarceration and Inability to Care 
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(Q)

Has the parent:

•	 Knowingly engaged in criminal conduct that has resulted in the parent’s conviction of 
an offense; and
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•	 Confinement or imprisonment; and
•	 Inability to care for the child for not less than two years from the date of filing the 

petition. 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: An incarcerated parent can demonstrate an ability 
to care for a child, even while incarcerated, by arranging care for the child with a safe 
relative or other caregiver during their incarceration. 

Note: The confinement or imprisonment for not less than two years is prospective from the date 
of the filing of the petition rather than retrospective. In re A.V., 113 S.W.3d 355 (Tex. 2003).

Termination of Rights of Alleged Biological Father 
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002	

If an alleged father has been served with citation, his rights can be terminated if he does not 
timely file an admission of paternity or a counterclaim for paternity under Tex. Fam. Code Ch. 
160. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002(b)(1).

An alleged father’s rights can be terminated without personal service of citation or citation by 
publication if: 

•	 The child is over one year of age at the time the petition was filed, and the alleged 
father has failed to register with the paternity registry, and after the exercise of due 
diligence by the petitioner:

o	 his identity and location are unknown; or
o	 his identity is known, but he cannot be located; Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002(b)(2).

•	 The child is under one year old at the time petition was filed, and the alleged father has 
not registered with the paternity registry. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002(b)(3).

Petitioner’s due diligence to locate and identify the alleged father is required for the above 
sections including obtaining a certificate of the results of the paternity registry search from the 
Texas Department of State Health Services Vital Statistics Section indicating that no man has 
registered intent to claim paternity. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002(e).

If an alleged father has registered with the paternity registry, citation by publication is not 
required, but DFPS must still exercise due diligence to locate alleged father, including a sworn 
affidavit describing their efforts to obtain personal service of citation at the address provided to 
the registry and any other address known to DFPS. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002(b)(4). The court 
must enter specific findings regarding the exercise of due diligence by DFPS when rendering 
an order terminating parental rights under this section. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002(f). 
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Overview
Most Discovery rules in DFPS cases are the same as in other civil cases and are governed by 
the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. However, Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 301 controls requests 
for disclosure and discovery regarding testifying expert witnesses. A Suit Affecting the Parent-
Child Relationship (SAPCR) is usually subject to Level 2 Discovery. Please note that many 
courts who hear child welfare cases have Level 3 Discovery Control Plans in place as part 
of their local rules and may modify the date by which responses are due and require court 
approval to go outside of the parameters of the Discovery Control Plan. For more information, 
see Texas Law Help Discovery in Texas: Investigate and Prepare for Trial found at https://
texaslawhelp.org/article/discovery-in-texas-investigate-and-prepare-for-trial. 

It is important to respond to all discovery requests within 30 days after the discovery is served 
or in accordance with deadlines set forth in a court-ordered Discovery Control Plan. 

Note: Failure to answer discovery in a timely manner may limit the evidence and testimony 
which can be presented at trial. Tex. R. Civ. P. 193.6(a).

Practice Tip: Some attorneys representing DFPS may offer “informal discovery” such 
as providing a redacted copy of the agency case file. However, without a formal discovery 
request, the receiving party lacks recourse if DFPS fails to provide items or information. 
Formal discovery requested of DFPS in accordance with the rules of procedure provides 
the requesting party with greatest access to the information on the client. 

Types of Discovery in Texas Rules of Civil Procedure 
RESPONDING TO WRITTEN DISCOVERY
Tex. R. Civ. P. 193; Tex. Fam. Code § 301.051

•	 Not later than the 30th day before the last day of any applicable discovery period, a 
party may obtain disclosure from another party of the information or material described 
by Tex. Fam. Code § 301.052 by serving the other party with a request for disclosure. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 301.051.

•	 If an objection is not timely asserted, then the objection is waived unless the court 
excuses the waiver for good cause shown. Tex. R. Civ. P. 193.2(e).

•	 A party is required to amend or supplement their response reasonably promptly after 
the party discovers the necessity for the amended response. It is presumed that an 
amended or supplemental response made less than 30 days before trial was not made 
reasonably promptly. Tex. R. Civ. P. 193.5(b).

•	 A party who fails to make, amend, or supplement a discovery response, including a 
required disclosure, in a timely manner may not introduce in evidence the material or 
information or offer the testimony of a witness (other than a named party) unless the 
court finds that there was good cause for the failure or that the failure of the party to 
do so will not unfairly surprise or unfairly prejudice the other parties. Tex. R. Civ. P. 
193.6(a).

REQUIRED DISCLOSURES
Tex. R. Civ. P. 194A.

https://texaslawhelp.org/article/discovery-in-texas
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•	 No later than 30 days before the end of any applicable discovery period, a party may 
obtain disclosure from another party of the information or material described in Tex. 
R. Civ. P. 194a.2 by serving the other party a request. Tex. R. Civ. P. 194a.1. Child 
welfare actions are also subject to court orders for certain disclosures and disclosure 
timelines set by the court.

•	 Unless subject to an exception, the responding party must serve a written response on 
the requesting party within 30 days after service of the request. Tex. R. Civ. P. 194a.3.

•	 Unless otherwise ordered by the court, pretrial disclosures must be made at least 30 
days before trial. Tex. R. Civ. P. 194.4(b).

DISCOVERY REGARDING TESTIFYING EXPERT WITNESSES
Tex. R. Civ. P. 195A

•	 A party may request another party to designate and disclose information concerning a 
testifying expert witness only through a disclosure request served under Tex. R. Civ. 
P. 194a.1 or a deposition or report permitted by Tex. R. Civ. P. 195a. Tex. R. Civ. P. 
195a.1.

•	 Unless otherwise ordered by the court, a responding party seeking affirmative relief 
must provide the information requested under Tex. R. Civ. P. 194a.2(f) 90 days before 
the end of the discovery period. Tex. R. Civ. P. 195a.2.

REQUESTS FOR PRODUCTION OF DOCUMENTS
Tex. R. Civ. P. 196

•	 The responding party must serve a written response on a requesting party at least 
30 days after service of the request, except that a defendant in a suit governed by the 
Texas Family Code served with a request before their answer is due need not respond 
until 50 days after service of the request. Tex. R. Civ. P. 196.2.

•	 Can include a request for entry upon property. Tex. R. Civ. P. 196.7.

INTERROGATORIES
Tex. R. Civ. P. 197

•	 Must be served on another party no later than 30 days before the end of the discovery 
period. Tex. R. Civ. P. 197.1.

•	 Responding party must serve their written response on the requesting party within 
30 days after service of the interrogatories except that a defendant in a suit governed 
by the Texas Family Code served with a request before the defendant’s answer is due 
need not respond until 50 days after service of the request. Tex. R. Civ. P. 197.2(a).

REQUESTS FOR ADMISSION
Tex. R. Civ. P.198

•	 Must be served on another party no later than 30 days before the end of the discovery 
period. Tex. R. Civ. P. 198.1.

•	 Responding party must serve their written response on the requesting party within 
30 days after service of the request, except that a defendant in a suit governed by the 
Texas Family Code served with a request before the defendant’s answer is due need 
not respond until 50 days after service of the request. Tex. R. Civ. P. 198.2(a).

•	 Failure to respond timely will result in admissions being deemed admitted. Tex. R. Civ. 
P. 198.2(c).
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DEPOSITIONS
Tex. R. Civ. P. 199-200; Tex. Fam. Code § 301.101

•	 A party may request another party to designate and disclose information concerning 
testifying expert witnesses only through a disclosure request or a deposition or report 
permitted by Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 301, Subchapter C. Tex. Fam. Code § 301.101. 

•	 Any objection to the time and place of the deposition must be made by filing a motion 
for a protective order or a motion to quash. Tex. R. Civ. P. 199.4.

•	 Notice of intent to take written deposition must be served on witnesses and all parties 
at least 20 days before the deposition is taken. A deposition on written questions may 
be taken outside of the discovery period only by agreement of the parties or with leave 
of the court. Tex. R. Civ. P. 200.1.

•	 Objections to the form of a question are waived unless asserted in accordance with Tex. 
R. Civ. P. 200.3(b). Tex. R. Civ. P. 200.3(c).

Practice Tip: Some courts limit depositions or require that a motion be filed to request 
a court order for depositions to be taken. Parents’ and children’s attorneys should learn 
in advance the court’s procedures for depositions and for the payment of court reporters 
taking depositions.

REQUESTS FOR PHYSICAL AND MENTAL EXAMINATIONS
Tex. R. Civ. P. 204

•	 In a DFPS suit, on motion by a party or the court’s own initiative, the court may 
appoint:

o	 one or more psychologists or psychiatrists to examine a child or another other party 
to the suit; and/or

o	 a qualified expert to test and determine paternity. Tex. R. Civ. P.204.4.

COMMON OBJECTIONS TO DISCOVERY
The following is a non-exclusive list of objections that may be raised to requests for discovery.

•	 Discovery not timely requested.
•	 Vague, ambiguous, argumentative, overbroad, and unduly burdensome, and not 

reasonably calculated to lead to the discovery of admissible evidence.
•	 Broad, uncertain, and unintelligible so that the responding party cannot determine the 

nature of the information sought.
•	 Repetitive (if the information requested or produced has already been requested in the 

discovery).
•	 Privileged (if the information calls for privileged information such as attorney-client 

communication or is otherwise privileged). Tex. Civ. P. 193.3.

If an asserted privilege or objection only pertains in part as to the request for production or 
response, a party is required to comply with any part of the request for production or response 
that is not objected to.
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Practice Tip: If an attorney for the party served with discovery responds with an objection 
that the request is vague or not applicable, the proponent of the discovery request can 
consider filing a Motion to Compel Discovery and request a hearing to address the validity 
of the objection. When there is a partial answer, if it is preceded by an objection, the 
objection should be addressed in this manner to ensure that a full answer is given.

Notable Discovery Issues in DFPS Cases
DISCOVERY PRIOR TO THE ADVERSARY HEARING
Prior to the Adversary Hearing, a party may send a written request to the attorney representing 
DFPS asking that DFPS turn over the names of non-DFPS employee witnesses who will testify 
to the allegations, copies of offense reports that will be used to refresh a witness’ memory, and 
any photo, video, or recording that may be used at that Adversary Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 
262.014. Items produced prior to an adversary hearing may need to be redacted by the attorney 
representing DFPS.

CONFIDENTIALITY WITH THE DFPS CASE FILE
DFPS files contain information that is confidential by law and may only be disclosed for 
purposes consistent with the Texas Family Code and applicable federal and state law. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 261.201; See also 40 Tex. Admin. Code, §§ 745.8481 - 745.8493.

Practice Tip: Redaction of the record in accordance with DFPS rules and guidelines    
takes time. When production of the record is needed urgently, consider asking the court  
to order DFPS to produce the record with only the reporter’s name and confidential 
identifiers redacted.

DISCOVERY FOR THE CHILD’S ATTORNEY
Children’s attorneys are entitled to seek discovery even though their client is not a party to 
the litigation because the child’s attorney is directed to “. . . participate in the conduct of the 
litigation to the same extent as an attorney for a party.” Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(a)(1)(F). 
Another party may also request discovery from the child’s attorney; however, like any attorney, 
the child’s attorney can object to producing specific materials on the basis of attorney-client 
privilege, attorney work product, or general confidentiality.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: The “quasi-party” status of the child’s attorney can 
cause some confusion regarding discovery; local practice may vary as to whether children’s 
attorneys are served with discovery. If not served with discovery, the children’s attorneys 
may submit evidence that another party bound by discovery would not be allowed to 
present. Parent’s attorneys might consider filing a motion to ask the court to order the 
the child’s attorney to disclose all witnesses that they may seek to call, and to produce all 
exhibits that they may seek to admit. 

Request for Inspection

Before agreeing to the return of a child to the parent, a child’s attorney may want to see where 
the child will be living and ensure that the home is safe and suitable. If the child’s attorney is 
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unable to secure the agreement of the parent’s attorney to allow inspection of the home, the 
child’s attorney can serve a request for inspection under Tex. R. Civ. P. 196.7.

EXPERTS
Special rules govern the exchange of information about expert witnesses in the discovery 
process. Note that the scope of discovery is different when cases involve testifying experts or 
consulting experts (those experts whose work has been reviewed by a testifying expert). Tex. 
R. Civ. P. 195.

PRIVILEGES
Commonly invoked privileges in child abuse litigation include those related to:

•	 Mental health records;
•	 Drug and alcohol abuse records;
•	 Attorney-client communication; and
•	 Work product.

SUBPOENAS
A person served with a subpoena can request a protective order if the subpoena seeks 
information that is privileged or otherwise objectionable. Tex. R. Civ. P. 176.6(e). DFPS has 
adopted detailed policy governing procedures for handling subpoenas served on individual staff 
or the agency. The DFPS subpoena policy is available on the DFPS website at https://www.
dfps.state.tx.us/ handbooks/Subpoena/default.asp.

Practice Tip: In addition to serving a subpoena on individual staff or the agency in 
accordance with DFPS policy, parents’ and children’s attorneys might consider serving a 
copy on the attorney representing DFPS.

Practice Tip: The subpoena range in a civil proceeding is limited: a witness who is 
represented to reside 150 miles or less from a county in which a suit is pending or who 
may be found within that distance at the time of trial on the suit may be subpoenaed in 
the suit. Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 22.002. 

BUSINESS RECORDS 
The Texas Rules of Evidence allow an exception to the hearsay rule for business records as long 
as they meet the requirements of Tex. R. Evid. 803(6) and they can be submitted without the 
testimony of the custodian of records or other qualified witness if accompanied by an affidavit 
that meets the requirements of Tex. R. Evid. 902(10).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: When seeking documents by subpoena from a third 
party, such as a hospital or other medical provider, consider including a business records 
affidavit along with the subpoena so that the documents may be authenticated without 
live testimony. Be aware that the proponent of the documents must serve the documents 
and the accompanying affidavit pursuant to Tex. R. Civ. P. 21a on each party to the case 
at least 14 days before trial.

http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/
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Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Some medical providers may file motions to quash 
subpoenas, so it may be necessary to have the court rule on the validity of the subpoena 
in order to obtain the records. If the requested records are those of a client or of the child 
of the client, consider having the client execute a release of information to obtain those 
records.

MOTION FOR ENFORCEMENT AND/OR TO COMPEL
Sanctions for abuse of the discovery process include orders denying discovery, imposing costs, 
finding facts established, limiting claims or defenses, striking pleadings, or dismissing an 
action and/or a contempt order for failure to comply with any order except orders to submit to 
a physical or mental examination.

Practice Tip: A remedy to the Motion for Enforcement or Contempt is usually the 
production of the discovery. The movant can wait until trial and then ask the court to 
grant sanctions for failure to respond to discovery. If requested information is confidential, 
a hearing is necessary for such information to be released. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.201(b) 
sets out the procedural mechanism to request the disclosure of confidential material.

Caselaw on Admitting Discovery Even If It Was Not Properly 
Produced 

•	 Requests for Admissions were intended to “eliminat[e] matters about which 
there is no real controversy” and were “never intended to be used as a demand 
upon a plaintiff or defendant to admit that he had no cause of action or 
ground of defense.” Stelly v. Papania, 927 S.W.2d 620, 622 (Tex. 1996) (per curiam). 
Requests should be used as “a tool, not a trapdoor.” Marino v. King, 355 S.W.3d 629, 
632 (Tex. 2011). When a party uses deemed admissions to try to preclude presentation 
of the merits of a case, due process concerns arise. See TransAmerican Nat. Gas Corp. 
v. Powell, 811 S.W.2d 913, 917-18 (Tex. 1991). “Constitutional imperatives favor the 
determination of cases on their merits rather than on harmless procedural defaults.” 
Marino, 355 S.W.3d at 634. Absent flagrant bad faith or callous disregard for the rules, 
due process bars preclusive sanctions for discovery abuses. Wheeler v. Green, 157 
S.W.3d 439, 443 (Tex. 2005).

•	 Parties can testify even if the parties were not disclosed as witnesses in 
discovery. In re J.L.J., 352 S.W.3d 536 (Tex. App.—El Paso 2011, no pet.) (Mother 
who signed affidavit of relinquishment prior to final judgment was still a party to the 
suit and allowed to testify at trial against father). Tex. R. Civ. P. 193.6(a) expressly 
exempts parties from exclusion if not disclosed as a potential witness in discovery. In re 
M.J.M., 406 S.W.3d 292, 299 (Tex. App.—San Antonio 2013, no pet.) (Holding the trial 
court erred in assessing death penalty sanctions, and noting, “Rule 193.6 expressly 
states that it does not apply to the testimony of named parties.”).

•	 The failure to timely make, amend, or supplement the discovery response 
did not unfairly surprise or unfairly prejudice the other parties. Tex. R. Civ. 
P. 193.6(a)(2). In re M.F.D., No. 01-16-00295-CV (Tex. App.—Houston [1st Dist.] Dec. 
8, 2016, no pet.) (mem. op.) (The trial court did not abuse its discretion in finding 
that there was a lack of unfair surprise or unfair prejudice when DFPS’ petition, a 
Status Hearing order, and service plan put the parent on notice that DFPS would seek 
termination if reunification could not be achieved.).
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•	 Because the best interest of a child is of primary importance, the Third Court 
of Appeals has held that witnesses in a termination should be allowed to 
testify even if they were not disclosed in discovery. Spurck v. Tex. Dep’t of Family 
and Protective Servs., 396 S.W.3d 205, 215 (Tex. App.—Austin 2013, no pet.). But see 
In Int. of D.W.G.K., 558 S.W.3d 671, 686–87 (Tex. App.—Texarkana 2018) where the 
court did not agree that the rule elevating the best interest issue over “technical rules 
of pleading and practice” governs parental rights termination cases. 

Practice Tip: If a parent’s or child’s attorney did not timely make, amend, or supplement 
a discovery response, this may result in evidence being excluded. However, the following 
arguments are available under Tex. R. Civ. P. 193.6 to advocate for admitting the evidence:

•	 Move for continuance and ask the court to allow more time to respond;
•	 Try to prove good cause for a failure to respond (i.e., clerical accident, mistake);
•	 Try to prove lack of unfair surprise and prejudice (no actual delay caused); and/or
•	 Argue that sanctions are not to be used as a tool to preclude presentation of the merits.
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Evidentiary Issues
Cases involving child abuse and neglect present unique evidentiary issues and procedures. 
This section provides an overview of statutory provisions related to child welfare cases. 

Applicability of Rules of Evidence 
Like procedural rules, evidentiary rules in child welfare cases are the same as in other civil 
cases. Unless otherwise provided, the Texas Rules of Evidence apply in child welfare cases. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 104.001.

Exclusionary Rule
If a person who is the subject of an investigation does not receive the verbal notification and 
written summary required by Tex. Fam. Code § 261.307, any information obtained from the 
person, and any other information that would not have been discovered without that information, 
is not admissible for use against the person in any civil proceeding. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.307(e). 
For more information related to Child Welfare Investigations, see the Investigations section of 
this tool kit. 

Predicates
OVERVIEW
Tex. R. Evid. 901 provides, “to satisfy the requirement of authenticating or identifying an item 
of evidence, the proponent must produce evidence sufficient to support a finding that the item 
is what a proponent claims it is.”

AUTHENTICATION QUESTIONS

Evidence Business/Medical Records

•	 Are you a custodian of the records or are you otherwise familiar with the manner in 
which the records contained in the Exhibit are maintained by virtue of your duties and 
responsibilities?

•	 Are the records originals or exact duplicates?
•	 Is it the regular practice of the business to make the records?
•	 Were the records made by persons with personal knowledge (or from information 

transmitted by them)?
•	 Were the records made at or near the time of the occurrence? See Tex. R. Evid. 902(10)

(B).

Diagrams/Charts/Drawings/Timelines

•	 Did you participate in the preparation of the Exhibit? (if applicable)
•	 Are you familiar with the information as it is presented in the Exhibit? How?
•	 Does it contain information generally used and relied upon by persons in your profession 

or occupation? (if applicable)
•	 Is this a fair and accurate representation of the underlying information?
•	 Will the Exhibit assist the judge/jury to comprehend the evidence?
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Photographs

•	 Are you familiar with the person/location/objects shown in the Exhibit? How?
•	 Is this a fair and accurate depiction?

Note: the person admitting the photograph does not have to be the person who took it, as long 
as they can testify the photo was an accurate depiction at the time it was taken.

Videotapes/Audiotapes/Voicemail

•	 Are you familiar with what is shown/heard in the Exhibit? How?
•	 Was the recording device capable of making an accurate recording?
•	 Was the operator of the device competent?
•	 Have there been any changes, additions, or deletions made?
•	 Who is shown and/or speaking in the Exhibit?
•	 Is it a fair and accurate recording?

Physical Evidence/Tangible Objects

•	 Are you familiar with the Exhibit? How?
•	 Are there any identifying or distinguishing marks on it?
•	 Is the Exhibit in the same condition as it was when you previously observed it?
•	 Describe where the Exhibit has been since last in your custody.
•	 Who has had access to the Exhibit?

Signatures/Writings/Drawings

•	 Are you familiar with Jane Doe’s handwriting/signature? How?
•	 Do you recognize the handwriting/signature contained in the Exhibit?
•	 Were you present when the Exhibit was made?
•	 Whose handwriting/signature is it?

X-Rays

•	 Are you familiar with this Exhibit or what is shown in the Exhibit? How?
•	 Was the Exhibit made by a qualified technician or physician? Who? When? Where?
•	 What proof is there that this Exhibit is Jane Doe’s x-ray?
•	 Does this Exhibit fairly and accurately show the condition of Jane Doe’s (insert name 

of body part in x-ray) at the time the x-ray was made?

Email or Text Message

•	 Do you recognize the sender’s e-mail address? How?
•	 Do you recognize the name at the end of this email?
•	 Do you recognize the sender of the text message? How?
•	 Do the contents refer to any previous communication you had with this person?
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•	 Are the contents of this email/text known to the sender?

Social Media

•	 Do you use Facebook/Twitter/Instagram/Snapchat/etc.?
•	 Do you have an account on Facebook, etc.?
•	 Did you create your own page on Facebook, etc.?
•	 Are you familiar with (defendant/respondent/opposing party)?
•	 How do you know them?
•	 Are you friends with the sender on any social media networks/do you follow the sender?
•	 Is that how you can see their page?
•	 Are you familiar with their Facebook page? Is it currently active?
•	 Would you recognize it if it were presented to you today in court?
•	 (Hand copy of social media page to witness) Do you recognize what I just handed you?
•	 Is this a screen shot of the sender’s page/post/picture?
•	 Is this a fair and accurate depiction of the sender’s page?
•	 Does it appear to be altered in any manner?
•	 How did you access this page?
•	 Since you and sender were friends on Facebook, you could see their page?
•	 And you could post things on each other’s walls/pages?
•	 What was their username?
•	 Has anyone else ever sent you a message/posted on your wall from Jane Doe’s account?
•	 How did you know that it was sent from this sender and not someone pretending to be 

him/her?
•	 Do you have any reason to doubt that the person you were talking to on social media 

was this sender?

Practice Tip: Remember that “likes,” “loves,” or “dislikes” responses to social media 
postings might fall into a hearsay exception, such as admission against interest.

Establishing a Child’s Competence to Testify
PRESUMPTION OF COMPETENCE
The Texas Rules of Evidence provide that every person is competent to be a witness unless the 
rules provide otherwise. Generally, a child is presumed to be competent to testify. However, 
“persons lacking sufficient intellect” are incompetent to testify. A child may be one such witness, 
but a procedure must be followed to challenge the child’s competence. Accordingly, the burden 
is on the party challenging the child’s competence. Tex. R. Evid. 601(a).

The issue of the child’s competence must be raised by a party opposing the child’s testimony. 
At that point, the court must examine the child to assess whether the child “does not possess 
sufficient intellect to relate transactions about which he will testify.” In doing so, the court 
considers:
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•	 The competence of the child to observe intelligently the events in question at the time 
of the occurrence;

•	 The child’s capacity to recollect the events;
•	 The child’s capacity to narrate the facts; and
•	 Whether the child lacks the capacity to understand the obligation of the oath. Pipkin 

v. Kroger Tex., L.P., 383 S.W.3d 655, 668 (Tex. App.—Houston [14th Dist.] 2012, pet. 
denied). See also In re R.M.T., 352 S.W.3d 12 (Tex. App.—Texarkana 2011, no pet.).

Practice Tip: To establish that a child has the capacity to understand the oath, the 
attorney needs to show that the child knows the difference between the truth and a lie 
(not that the child understands perjury). Rather than asking the child to define “truth” 
and “lie,” it is most developmentally effective to provide the child with simple examples of 
truth and lies. For example, “Sam, if someone told you that the judge’s robe is pink, would 
that be the truth or a lie?”
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Objections

General Objections Code
Authentication Insufficient TRE 901
Best Evidence TRE 1002, 1003
Bolstering TRE 607-610
Cumulative TRE 403
Confuses the Issue TRE 403

Improper Predicate TRE 602-3, 701, 701-2, 
901-2

Inconsistent with Pleadings TRE 66, 67
Irrelevant TRE 401, 402
Misleading TRE 403
Probative vs. Unfair Prejudice TRE 403
Privileged TRE 503

Objections to the Form of the Question Code
Ambiguous/Vague TRE 611(a)
Asked & Answered TRE 403; 611
Argumentative TRE 611(a)
Assumes Facts Not Evidence TRE 403; 611
Calls for Narrative TRE 403; 611(a)
Calls for Speculation TRE 403; 611(a)
Compound TRE 611(a)
Confusing TRE 611(a)
Creates Undue Delay TRE 403; 611(a)
Harassing Witness TRE 403; 611(a)
Leading/Suggestive TRE 403; 611(c)
Misleading TRE 403; 611(a)
Misquoting Witness TRE 403; 611(a)
Overbroad TRE 403; 611(a)
Unfairly Prejudicial TRE 403
Unintelligible TRE 403; 611(a)

Objections to the Form of the Answer Code
Narrative TRE 611(a)
Nonresponsive TRE 611
Lack of Personal Knowledge TRE 602
Volunteered TRE 403; 611(a)
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Objections, continued

Exceptions to Hearsay: Declarant Unavailable Code
Former Testimony TRE 804(b)(1)
Personal Testimony TRE 804(b)(3)
Dying Declaration TRE 804(b)(2)

Exceptions to Hearsay: Availability  
of Declarant Immaterial

Code

Present Sense Impression TRE 803(1)
Then-Existing Mental/Emotional/Physical Condition TRE 803(3)
Recoded Recollection TRE 803(5)
Absence of Entry of Record TRE 803(7)
Records of Vital Statistics TRE 803(9)
Records of Religious Organizations TRE 803(11)
Family Records TRE 803(13)
Statements of Property Documents TRE 803(15)
Market Reports, Commercial Pubs TRE 803(17)
Reputation - Family/Personal History TRE 803(19)
Reputation as to Character TRE 803(21)
Judgment re: Pers/Fam/Hist/Boundaries TRE 803(23)
Excited Utterance TRE 803(2)
Medical Diagnosis/Treatment TRE 803(4)
Business/Medical Records TRE 803(6)
Public Records/Reports TRE 803(8)
Absence of Public Record/Entry TRE 803(10)
Marriages/Baptisms & Similar TRE 803(12)
Property Records TRE 803(14)
Statements in Ancient Docs TRE 803(16)
Learned Treatises TRE 803(18)
Reputation - Boundaries/History TRE 803(20)
Previous Conviction TRE 803(22)
Statement Against Interest TRE 803(24)

Hearsay
Statement made outside of Court, offered to prove the truth of the matter asserted.

Not Hearsay Code
Prior Inconsistent Statements TRE 801(e)(1)
Admission by Party Opponent TRE 801(e)(2)
Deposition TRE 801(3)
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Exceptions to Hearsay for Children’s Statements
The exceptions to the hearsay rule for children’s statements are found in the Rules of Evidence 
and the Texas Family Code.

RULES OF EVIDENCE
Exceptions to the Rule Against Hearsay Regardless of Whether the Declarant is Available as 
a Witness. Tex. R. Evid. 803.

Present Sense Impression Tex. R. Evid. 803(1)

•	 A statement describing or explaining an event or condition, made while or immediately 
after the declarant perceived it.

Excited Utterance Tex. R. Evid. 803(2)

•	 A statement relating to a startling event or condition, made while or immediately after 
the declarant perceived it.

Then-Existing Mental, Emotional, or Physical Condition Tex. R. Evid. 803(3)

•	 A statement of the declarant’s then-existing state of mind (such as motive, intent, 
or plan) or emotional, sensory, or physical condition (such as mental feeling, pain, 
or bodily health), but not including a statement of memory or belief to prove the fact 
remembered or believed.

TEXAS FAMILY CODE

Pre-recorded Statement of a Child Tex. Fam. Code §104.002

 No attorney for a party was present when the statement was made;

•	 The recording is both visual and aural and is recorded on film or videotape or by other 
electronic means;

•	 The recording equipment was capable of making an accurate recording, the operator 
was competent, and the recording is accurate and has not been altered;

•	 The statement was not made in response to questioning calculated to lead the child to 
make a particular statement;

•	 Each voice on the recording is identified;
•	 The person conducting the interview of the child in the recording is present at the 

proceeding and available to testify or be cross-examined by either party; and
•	 Each party is afforded an opportunity to view the recording before it is offered into 

evidence.

Pre-recorded Videotaped Testimony of Child Tex. Fam. Code §104.003

•	 The court may, on the motion of a party to the proceeding, order that the testimony of 
the child be taken outside the courtroom and be recorded for showing in the courtroom 
before the court, the finder of fact, and the parties to the proceeding.

•	 Only an attorney for each party, an attorney ad litem for the child or other person 
whose presence would contribute to the welfare and well-being of the child, and persons 
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necessary to operate the equipment may be present in the room with the child during 
the child’s testimony.

•	 Only the attorneys for the parties may question the child.
•	 The persons operating the equipment shall be placed in a manner that prevents the 

child from seeing or hearing them.
•	 The court shall ensure that:

o	 the recording is both visual and aural and is recorded on film or videotape or by 
other electronic means;

o	 the recording equipment was capable of making an accurate recording, the operator 
was competent, and the recording is accurate and is not altered;

o	 each voice on the recording is identified; and
o	 each party to the proceeding is afforded an opportunity to view the recording before 

it is shown in the courtroom.

Remote Televised Broadcast of Testimony of Child Tex. Fam. Code §104.004

•	 If in a suit a child 12 years of age or younger is alleged to have been abused, the court 
may, on the motion of a party to the proceeding, order that the testimony of the child be 
taken in a room other than the courtroom and be televised by closed-circuit equipment 
in the courtroom to be viewed by the court and the parties.

•	 The procedures that apply to prerecorded videotaped testimony of a child apply to the 
remote broadcast of testimony of a child.

Substitution for In-Court Testimony of Child Tex. Fam. Code §104.005

•	 If the testimony of a child is taken as provided by this chapter, the child may not be 
compelled to testify in court during the proceeding.

•	 The court may allow the testimony of a child of any age to be taken in any manner 
provided by this chapter if the child, because of a medical condition, is incapable of 
testifying in open court.

Hearsay Statement of Child Abuse Victim (“Outcry” statements) Tex. Fam. Code 
§104.006

•	 In a suit affecting the parent-child relationship, a statement made by a child 12 years 
of age or younger that describes alleged abuse against the child, without regard to 
whether the statement is otherwise inadmissible as hearsay, is admissible as evidence 
if, in a hearing conducted outside the presence of the jury, the court finds that the 
time, content, and circumstances of the statement provide sufficient indications of the 
statement’s reliability; and

•	 The child testifies or is available to testify at the proceeding in court or in any other 
manner provided for by law; or

•	 The court determines that the use of the statement in lieu of the child’s testimony is 
necessary to protect the welfare of the child.

•	 See, e.g., In the Interest of E.M., 494 S.W.3d 209 (App. —Waco 2015, pet. denied) (focus 
is on the outcry statement itself, not the abuse; therapist testified outcry statements 
regarding domestic violence between the parents were credible because they were 
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expressed in a manner consistent with what the therapist would expect, were made in 
age-appropriate language, were consistent through different placements, and were not 
of the type this aged child would make up.)

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Note the age restrictions in some of the above rules and 
that some exceptions require a motion to be filed by the child’s attorney. 

Preservation of Error
AT TRIAL OR IN A HEARING

Timely Objections Tex. R. App. P. 33.1

To preserve error, the party objecting to the admission of evidence must make a timely objection, 
a motion to strike from the record, and obtain a ruling on the record. Similarly, the proponent 
of excluded evidence must make an offer of proof setting forth the substance of the evidence.

Objections must be timely:

•	 Improper question: must object before an answer is given.
•	 Improper answer: objection must be made as soon as that fact becomes apparent. 

Although it is proper to object to a completed answer (and necessary in order to protect 
the record), this is not the most desirable solution. If the objection is sustained, ask 
that the answer be struck and that the jury be instructed to disregard it.

Practice Tip: Listen for possible leading questions on direct examination, questions that 
call for a narrative response, or that solicit irrelevant information. After objecting, clearly 
but respectfully request to get a ruling on the record, especially if the court does not 
respond directly to the request and instead says something like, “move along, Counsel,” 
etc. Without a ruling on the objection, the error may not be preserved for appeal.

Practice Tip: When arguing on the record, avoid using terms of art and acronyms (such 
as “FBSS”, “RTB”, etc.). Also, avoid terms like “ruled out” and “unable to determine” 
unless the meaning of the terms are articulated. The record will be clearer if the terms 
are spelled out and explained with sufficient detail.

Offer of Proof Tex. R. Evid. 103(a)(2)

An offer of proof preserves an argument regarding evidence by informing the appellate 
court what evidence was excluded by the trial court. Through an offer of proof, counsel can 
memorialize testimony excluded by the trial court. Exhibits not admitted into evidence should 
be marked and handed to the court’s reporter for inclusion in the record.

Practice Tip: Request to make an offer of proof outside the presence of the jury. On the 
record, state what the evidence is, and why it should be admitted; then ask the court to 
admit for the limited purpose of appeal. Evidence can be physical evidence or testimony 
that was objected to and excluded because the court sustained the objection.
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Bill of Exception Tex. R. App. P. 33.2

Informs appellate court of evidence that was excluded at trial and therefore is not reflected in 
the record.

•	 Must obtain the trial court’s signature and must be filed with the trial court no later 
than 30 days after notice of appeal is filed.

•	 The document must be specific enough to make the trial judge aware of the rulings or 
actions which are the subject of the complaint, and which will be asserted on appeal.

•	 Must be presented to trial judge and opposing counsel.
•	 Can be agreed to by all parties or a hearing held to determine issues.

Practice Tip: A Bill of Exception is less common than an Offer of Proof but remains a 
method for obtaining review of a matter which is not reflected in the record.

Expert Witnesses
ADMISSIBILITY
For expert testimony to be admissible, the court must be satisfied that three conditions are 
met:

•	 The witness qualifies as an expert;
•	 The subject matter of the testimony is an appropriate one for the expert’s testimony; 

and
•	 Admitting the expert testimony will assist the factfinder in deciding the case.

Even if the expert is qualified and the topic is a proper one for expert testimony, the proposed 
testimony must also be reliable and relevant. E.I. du Pont de Nemours v. Robinson, 923 S.W.2d 
549 (Tex. 1995). 

EVIDENTIARY RULES ON EXPERT WITNESSES
•	 Must be relevant. Tex. R. Evid. 401.
•	 Relevant evidence is generally admissible; irrelevant evidence is not. Tex. R. Evid. 402.
•	 Testimony by experts is specialized knowledge that will assist the trier of fact to 

determine a fact at issue. Expert testimony can be based upon knowledge, skill, 
training, or education and expert can testify in the form of an opinion. Tex. R. Evid. 
702.

•	 Basis of opinion by expert must be underlying data or facts that are basis of opinion 
given to other party at or before hearing. Data must be of a type reasonably relied upon 
by experts in that particular field. Tex. R. Evid. 703.

•	 Qualified experts can testify to their opinion as to the ultimate issue (i.e., should 
parental rights be terminated?). Tex. R. Evid. 704.

•	 The court acts as a gatekeeper to determine if underlying facts or data are sufficiently 
reliable as the basis for the opinion testimony (must request a hearing). Tex. R. Evid. 
705(c).
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“DAUBERT CHALLENGE”
Hearing to determine if expert’s opinion is based upon reliable facts. Burden of proof is 
preponderance of the evidence. Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 509 U.S. 579, 
113 S.Ct. 2786 (1993); E.I. du Pont de Nemours v. Robinson, 923 S.W.2d 549 (Tex. 1995).

The court must determine that:

•	 The expert’s field of expertise employs sound principles and methods;
•	 The expert’s opinion is based on sufficient facts or data; and
•	 The expert has applied the principles and methods in a reliable manner.

ROBINSON RELIABILITY FACTORS
•	 The extent to which the theory has been or can be tested;
•	 The extent to which the technique relies upon the subjective interpretation of the 

expert;
•	 Whether the theory has been subjected to peer review and/or publication;
•	 The technique’s potential rate of error;
•	 Whether the underlying theory or technique has been generally accepted as valid by 

the relevant scientific community; and
•	 The non-judicial uses which have been made of the theory or technique.

These factors are not exclusive factors, and the trial courts may consider other factors which 
are helpful to determining the reliability of the scientific evidence. E.I. du Pont de Nemours v. 
Robinson, 923 S.W.2d 549 (Tex. 1995).

SAMPLE QUESTIONS ON EXPERT QUALIFICATION
•	 What is your occupation/profession?
•	 What is your educational background?
•	 What degrees, certificates, or licenses do you have?
•	 Have you attended or conducted continuing education seminars, conferences and 

related training?
•	 Are you a member in any professional organizations/societies?
•	 Have you received any awards or other professional recognition?
•	 Have you published articles in your field?
•	 How many cases involving [subject matter] have you handled?
•	 How many years have you worked in this field?

SAMPLE QUESTIONS ON NEED FOR EXPERT OPINION
•	 What is it about a brain injury/a burn injury/bite marks that requires an expert to 

explain?
•	 What is it about this case that a lay person with no background in this field might not 

understand?
•	 What are the key principles that a person without education or experience in this field 

would need to grasp in order to understand this case?
•	 Can you explain the research/theoretical basis/scientific principles involved in this 

field of study to a non-expert?
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•	 Do you believe your testimony will aid the judge or jury in understanding the facts in 
this case? How?

Practice Tip: Review criminal court cases for new law and/or science, as they tend to be 
reviewed more often than family law cases – i.e., arson and bite mark science has changed 
significantly over time.

SAMPLE QUESTIONS ON BASIS FOR OPINION
•	 Have you examined or interviewed the child/parent/other person?
•	 Have you administered any medical or psychological tests to the child/parent/other 

person?
•	 Have you reviewed medical records/documents/police reports?
•	 Have you made a diagnosis/made a conclusion/formed an opinion?
•	 Did you rely on any other source of information in forming your opinion other than the 

medical records/documents/police reports that we have discussed?
•	 If so, what other sources did you rely on?
•	 If the facts were [supply hypothetical] could you render an opinion regarding cause of 

injury; whether the injury was intentional; whether the injury is consistent with the 
parent’s report of the incident?

CROSS-EXAMINATION QUESTIONS OF THE OPPOSING EXPERT
•	 Has your theory been tested, or can it be tested?
•	 Does your technique rely on subjective interpretation?
•	 Has your theory been peer reviewed or publicized?
•	 What is the rate of error?
•	 Has your theory been generally accepted as valid by the relevant scientific community?
•	 Have there been any other non-judicial uses of your theory?

Drug Testing
Drug tests are commonly admitted into evidence through a parent (party) admission. Otherwise, 
for proper admission of drug test results, the source of the testing, the method used, and/or the 
circumstances or preparation of the test must indicate trustworthiness.

Business records affidavits alone may not be sufficient to admit drug test results under the 
clear and convincing standard of proof required for a parental termination case. See In re 
K.C.P., 142 S.W.3d 574, 580 (Tex. App.—Texarkana 2004, no pet.). 

Error can be committed unless:

•	 The qualifications of the person conducting the test are admitted;
•	 There is testimony as to the type of test; and
•	 The expert shows that the test is standard and accepted for the substance tested.

However, business records affidavits of drug test results that show sufficient indicia of 
trustworthiness because they contain information regarding chain of custody, testing 
procedures, qualifications of the analysts or other indicators of reliability may be admitted 
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without expert testimony. See Int. of S.W.W., No. 14-22-00503-CV, 2022 WL 17982904, at *8 
(Tex. App.—Houston, 14th District, 2022, review denied (June 16, 2023).

Practice Tip: Consider filing a Motion to Exclude the drug test results if the proper 
foundation is not laid.

Practice Tip: Drug testing results admitted without proper foundation are not reversible 
error if the drug testing results come into evidence through other means (i.e., the parents 
testify to the use/admit to the probable results). DFPS may confront a parent with a 
positive test result, and if the parent admits to the use of the drugs confirmed in the test, 
then the fact of usage may not be an issue, but the specific drug and/or the amount used 
may still be at issue.

Practice Tip: In some circumstances, a client may fear being held criminally liable for 
admitting to drug use and may wish to assert their Fifth Amendment privilege against 
self-incrimination. However, there are important limitations on the privilege when it is 
asserted in a civil case and it is prudent to counsel the client regarding the benefits and 
drawbacks of asserting the Fifth Amendment prior to testimony. See the Parents with an 
Open Criminal Case section of this tool kit for more information.

COMMON OBJECTIONS TO DRUG TESTING RESULTS
•	 Chain of custody;
•	 Hearsay; and
•	 Lack of proper foundation.
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Investigations & Alternatives to Removal of a Child

Federal law requires that DFPS make reasonable efforts consistent with child safety to prevent 
or eliminate the need for removing a child from a family’s home. Not all investigations and 
interactions with families lead to removal of children. Below are examples of alternative 
interventions in lieu of removal. The best legal alternative will depend on the facts of each case.

Parents’ Rights in an Investigation
When DFPS has initial contact with a parent or other person with legal custody of a child who 
is the subject of an investigation, DFPS must provide information to that person regarding the 
DFPS employee’s identity and the DFPS investigation summary. DFPS must allow a reasonable 
amount of time for the parent or person to read or review the summary before taking any action 
in investigating the report.

During this first contact, the DFPS investigator must provide the parent or alleged perpetrator 
with a written summary that explains that any statement or admission made by the person to 
anyone may be used against the person in a criminal case, as a basis to remove the child, or as 
a basis to terminate the person’s relationship with the child. 

The DFPS investigator must also verbally notify the person of their right to:

•	 Not speak with any agent of DFPS without legal counsel present;
•	 Receive assistance from an attorney; 
•	 Have a court-appointed attorney if the person is indigent, they are the parent of the 

child, and DFPS seeks a court order under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 262 or 264;
•	 Record any interaction or interview with DFPS subject to the understanding that the 

recording may be disclosed to DFPS, law enforcement, or another party under a court 
order; 

•	 Refuse to allow the investigator to enter the home or interview the children without a 
court order; 

•	 Have legal counsel present before allowing the investigator to enter the home or 
interview the child; 

•	 Withhold consent to the release of any medical or mental health records;
•	 Withhold consent to any medical or psychological examination of the child;
•	 Refuse to submit to a drug test; and 
•	 Consult with legal counsel prior to agreeing to any proposed voluntary safety plan.

DFPS must document that verbal notice was provided to the person using form 3010 Notification 
of Rights and document that the person received the written and oral summary and provide a 
signed copy to the person’s attorney, if represented.

The Investigation Cannot Be Completed
COURT ORDER REGARDING THE CHILD
If a person interferes with an investigation of a family, or DFPS cannot access the child or the 
child’s records, DFPS may petition a court to order the following on a showing that there is 
good cause to believe the child is in imminent danger of aggravated circumstances, or there is 
probable cause to believe the order is necessary to protect the child from abuse or neglect:

•	 Access to a home, school, or any place where a child may be for an interview, examination, 

55

https://www.dfps.texas.gov/Application/Forms/showFile.aspx?Name=P-201-3010.docx
https://www.dfps.texas.gov/Application/Forms/showFile.aspx?Name=P-201-3010.docx
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and investigation; and
•	 A medical, psychological, or psychiatric exam (or to obtain the records of such an exam). 

Tex. Fam. Code §§ 261.303, 261.3031.

A hearing for an order may not be ex parte unless the court has probable cause to believe 
there is no time consistent with the health and safety of the child for a full hearing. The order 
must include the court’s findings regarding the sufficiency of the evidence, and the court must 
provide a copy of the order to a party upon request. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.303(f)-(h).

COURT ORDER REGARDING THE PARENT
An investigation may include an inquiry into the possibility that a parent or person responsible 
for the care of a child who is subject to the report has a history of medical or mental illness. 
If the person does not consent to an examination or allow DFPS to have access to medical or 
mental health records requested, a court having family law jurisdiction, for good cause shown, 
shall order the examination to be made or that DFPS be permitted to have access to the records 
under terms and conditions prescribed by the court. 

A parent or person responsible for the child’s care is entitled to notice and a hearing when 
DFPS seeks a court order to allow a medical, psychological, or psychiatric examination or 
access to medical or mental health records. If the court determines that the parent or person is 
indigent, the court shall appoint an attorney to represent them at the hearing. Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 261.305.

There is a Safety Issue, but the Family is Compliant 
SAFETY PLANS
A Safety Plan is defined by DFPS as a voluntary short-term written agreement between DFPS 
and adult family members to address a specific threat to a child in the immediate or foreseeable 
future. The plan must be created with the family and be written in a practical, action-oriented 
manner and acknowledge a family’s network of support. A petition for legal intervention is not 
filed with the court, and no court orders are entered in association with a Safety Plan, and as a 
result the plan is not legally binding. Safety Plans are voluntary agreements, and a parent can 
revoke their agreement at any time. However, DFPS policy states if the family is unwilling to 
participate in a safety plan to address dangers to the child, the caseworker must determine if 
it is necessary to remove the child from the home. CPS Policy Handbook § 12641.

A Safety Plan is implemented when:

•	 The parent and child are residing together but away from the danger.
•	 The parent-child contact is being supervised.

If the parent chooses to place the child outside their home as part of a Safety Plan, the plan 
must follow the requirements of a Parent Child Safety Placement (PCSP). See the There is a 
Need for an Alternative Placement section of this tool kit below for more information on PCSPs.

ALTERNATIVE RESPONSE (AR)
The AR program was created to help families with low to moderate risk cases. In order to be 
considered for the program, all alleged child victims must be over the age of 6 and the intake 
must have received a designation of Priority 2 (P2). In an AR case, no final disposition, no 
alleged perpetrator, and no entry are made into the Central Registry. The goal is to provide a 
collaborative and non-judgmental environment to work with the family whose children are not 
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in the managing conservatorship of DFPS to address concerns through protective services in 
order to prevent the need for further official intervention.

For more information, see the DFPS Alternative Response Resource Guide found at http://www. 
dfps.state.tx.us/handbooks/CPS/Resource_Guides/Alternative_Response_Resource_Guide.pdf.

FAMILY-BASED SAFETY SERVICES (FBSS)
FBSS offers protective services to a family whose children are not in the managing conservatorship 
of DFPS in order to prevent the need to remove a child from the home. Participation in FBSS 
by a family is voluntary and is accompanied by a Safety Plan meant to sufficiently address 
the danger indicators or risk factors present that cause concern for child safety. Parents do 
not have to engage in or comply with the voluntary services. However, DFPS has the option of 
initiating further legal intervention if it determines that the lack of compliance constitutes a 
danger to the child.

There is a Need for an Alternative Placement 
PARENTAL CHILD SAFETY PLACEMENT (PCSP)
A Parental Child Safety Placement (PCSP) is an agreed, family-initiated, temporary out-of-
home placement approved by DFPS made by a parent with a caregiver who is either related to 
the child or has a long-standing and significant relationship with the child or family that may 
occur when there is an immediate danger to the child and all options allowing the child and 
the parent or legal guardian to remain in the home together were exhausted. With a proper 
authorization agreement, a parent can give an adult caregiver of a child placed under a PCSP 
the authority to take action, including but not limited to medical consent, school enrollment, 
consent for participation in school and sport events, applying for public benefits, and related 
authority. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 34.002, 34.0021. 

Before a parent may enter into a PCSP, DFPS must notify the parent of their right to counsel 
and give them a reasonable amount of time to consult an attorney. PCSPs automatically 
terminate after 30 days and DFPS may enter into not more than two 30-day extensions. Upon 
entering a PCSP agreement, DFPS must inform the parent of their right to refuse to enter into 
the agreement and to be represented by an attorney or a court-appointed attorney, if indigent 
and if DFPS seeks a subsequent court order. DFPS may not place a child in a PCSP for longer 
than 90 days unless both the parent and their attorney sign the agreement, or a court renders 
an order under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 262. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.902

For more information, see the DFPS PCSP Resource Guide found at http://www.dfps.state.
tx.us/handbooks/cps/Resource_Guides/PCSP_Resource_Guide.pdf.

There is a Safety Issue, but the Family is not Compliant
COURT ORDER FOR PARTICIPATION IN SERVICES/MOTION TO 
PARTICIPATE (COS/MTP)
If a family has refused services or is not voluntarily cooperating with services provided or 
funded by DFPS, DFPS can seek a court order to require a parent to participate in services 
designed to alleviate the effects of abuse or neglect or to reduce the reasonable likelihood of 
abuse or neglect in the immediate or foreseeable future. The services ordered by the court are 
provided by FBSS. A parent’s failure to comply with court-ordered services may lead to DFPS 
filing a petition to remove a child and may be offered as evidence. See CPS Policy Handbook 

http://www. dfps.state.tx.us/handbooks/CPS/Resource_Guides/Alternative_Response_Resource_Guide.pdf
http://www/
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/handbooks/cps/Resource_Guides/PCSP_Resource_Guide.pdf
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§ 2400 for more information on the relationship between FBSS and COS/MTP. See also, the 
Court-Ordered Services section of this tool kit.

The Parent is a Victim of Family Violence
ORDER FOR REMOVAL OF AN ALLEGED PERPETRATOR (“KICK-OUT 
ORDER”)
It is well established that separating a child from their home and caregiver can be traumatizing. 
If an alleged perpetrator will not voluntarily leave the home and if the remaining parent or 
caretaker of the child will make a reasonable effort to monitor and report any attempt by 
the alleged perpetrator to return to the home, a temporary restraining order could be used 
to remove the alleged perpetrator. It is a Class A Misdemeanor to violate this temporary 
restraining order. This order lasts for 14 days. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.1015. This timing allows 
a protective parent time to initiate a custody suit or seek a protective order.

An alleged perpetrator can also agree to a Kick-Out Order. The agreed order may not be 
used against an alleged perpetrator as an admission of child abuse or neglect, and it is only 
enforceable civilly or criminally, but it is not enforceable as a contract. The person affected by 
an agreed order may request that the court terminate the order. The court must terminate the 
agreed order upon a finding that the order is no longer needed and that terminating the order 
is in the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.1016.

Practice Tip: If the protection of the child requires an order lasting longer than 14 days, 
a protective order can be requested. (See section immediately below.) This requires a 
separate application to be filed instead of, or in addition to, the Kick-Out Order.

Practice Tip: If a client is uncertain whether to seek a protective order or a temporary 
restraining order, consider filing for both the temporary restraining order and the 
protective order at the same time in order to only have to complete service on the alleged 
perpetrator once. The protective order hearing can always be passed if it is not necessary, 
and the temporary restraining order expires in 14 days. Current law allows the temporary 
Ex Parte Protective Order to last up to 20 days with the ability to extend its duration for 
an additional 20 days at a time. Tex. Fam. Code § 83.002.

PROTECTIVE ORDERS
Domestic violence is often a presenting issue in child welfare cases. If a parent is a victim 
of domestic violence, parents’ attorneys may want to consider filing for a protective order on 
behalf of their client to help demonstrate their protective capacity. Children’s attorneys may 
also consider filing for a protective order if the child is a victim. 
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Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: The prosecuting attorney of the county (criminal 
district attorney or county attorney) will file the application for protective order at no 
cost on behalf of the applicant. If the prosecuting attorney is representing DFPS in a suit 
against the applicant, the prosecutor is not prohibited from filing the application, subject 
to the Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct. However, the prosecutor’s office 
is not required to file the protective order if they find it to be a conflict or it does not meet 
their qualifications for filing. Advise a client to exercise caution in sharing information in 
applying for a protective order that might be used against them in a child welfare case.

Filing

Any adult, including a parent or guardian, who is acting on behalf of a victim of an offense 
under Texas Penal Code §§ 20A.02, 20A.03, 21.02, 21.11, 22.011, 22.012, 42.072, or 43.05 may 
file an application for a protective order if the victim is younger than 18 years of age. Tex. Code 
of Crim. Pro. Art. 7B.001. 

Ex Parte Orders

While awaiting a protective order hearing, temporary ex parte orders issued can prohibit an 
alleged perpetrator of domestic violence from doing certain acts (such as causing emotional 
and physical abuse of the child) or going near the child or residence. DFPS can file such orders 
alone or jointly with another protective person.

If the court finds from the information contained in an application for a protective order that 
there is a clear and present danger of family violence, it may, without further notice or hearing, 
enter a temporary ex parte order for the protection of the applicant or any other member of 
the applicant’s family or household. Tex. Fam. Code § 83.001. The temporary ex parte order is 
valid for no more than 20 days and may be extended by additional 20-day periods. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 83.002.

Required Findings

A victim of family violence may be issued a protective order upon a finding that family violence 
has occurred. Tex. Fam. Code § 85.001. Except as otherwise provided by statute, a protective 
order is effective for the period stated in the order, not to exceed two years or, if not stated 
in the order, until the second anniversary of the date the order was issued. Tex. Fam. Code § 
85.025.

Upon a finding that there are reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant is the victim of 
sexual assault or abuse, indecent assault, stalking, or trafficking, a court shall issue a protective 
order including a statement of the required findings. Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 7B.003. An 
offender’s conviction of or placement on deferred adjudication community supervision for any 
of the above offenses constitutes reasonable grounds. Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 7B.003. 

Obtaining a protective order does not require proof of any visible marks or bruises and, in a 
hearing for a protective order, a statement made by a child 12 years old or younger describing 
alleged family violence is admissible in the same manner as provided by Tex. Fam. Code § 
104.006. Tex. Fam. Code § 84.006.

In a hearing on application for a protective order under Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Ch. 7B, a 
statement that is made by a child younger than 14 years of age who is the victim of an offense 
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under Tex. Penal Code §§ 21.02, 21.11, 22.011, 22.012, or 22.021 that describes the offense 
committed against the child is admissible as evidence in the same manner that a child’s 
statement regarding the abuse against the child is admissible under Tex. Fam. Code § 104.006. 
Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 7B.004.

Duration

The temporary ex parte protective order may be issued for up to 20 days and may be extended 
for additional 20-day periods. Tex. Fam. Code § 83.002. After notice and hearing, a court may 
issue a protective order. A court may render a protective order sufficient to protect the applicant 
and members of the applicant’s family or household that is effective for more than two years 
if the court makes certain findings about the person who is the subject of the protective order. 
See Tex. Fam. Code § 85.025(a-1). Additionally, an application for protective order may be 
renewed. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 82.008, 82.0085.

A protective order issued under Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 7B.003, may be effective for the 
duration of the lives of the offender and victim or for any shorter period stated in the order. A 
parent or guardian may not file an application to rescind the protective order if the parent or 
guardian is the alleged offender subject to the protective order. Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 
7B.007. 

The court shall issue a lifetime protective order if the offender is: 

•	 Convicted of or placed on deferred adjudication community supervision for an offense 
listed in Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art 7B.001(a)(1); and

•	 Required to register for life as a sex offender under Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 62. 
Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 7B.007(a-1).

Enforcement

A violation of a protective order is a criminal offense. Tex. Fam. Code § 85.026; Tex. Code Crim. 
Pro. Art. 7B.006.
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Court-Ordered Services

Court-Ordered Services is also referred to as Required Participation or Motion to Participate.

Requirements for Filing a Petition
DFPS may file a suit in the county in which the child is located requesting the court to render 
a temporary order requiring the parent, managing conservator, guardian, or other member of 
the child’s household to participate in services for:

•	 Alleviating the effects of the abuse or neglect that has occurred;
•	 Reducing a continuing danger to the physical health or safety of the child or reducing 

a substantial risk of abuse or neglect caused by an act or failure to act of the parent, 
managing conservator, guardian, or other member of the child’s household; and

•	 Permitting the child and any siblings of the child to receive services. Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 264.203(a).

The petition must be supported by a sworn affidavit by a person based on personal knowledge 
and stating facts sufficient to support a finding that:

•	 The child has been a victim of abuse or neglect or is at substantial risk of abuse or 
neglect; and

•	 There is a continuing danger to the physical health or safety of the child caused by an 
act or failure to act of the parent, managing conservator, guardian, or other member of 
the child’s household unless that person participates in services requested by DFPS. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(d).

Appointment of Counsel
Immediately after the filing of a petition for court-ordered services but before the 14-day 
hearing, the court must appoint counsel for the child(ren) and counsel for a parent for whom 
participation in services is requested. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(g) and (h). 

A parent who is indigent and appears in opposition to the motion has a right to a court-appointed 
attorney. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(i)(2). The court is not required to appoint an attorney for a 
parent who is not asked to participate in services or any non-parent who is asked to participate 
in services. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(h).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Attorneys should review and complete the affidavit 
of indigency with their client prior to the initial hearing. A completed affidavit can help 
avoid continuances or other delays in the client’s case. 

In court-ordered services cases, court-appointed attorneys for children have the powers and 
duties under Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.003 and 107.004 and court-appointed attorneys for parents 
have the powers and duties under Tex. Fam. Code § 107.0131.

If a parent is found indigent, the court-appointed attorney may continue to represent the 
parent. If the court determines that a parent is not indigent the court must discharge the 
attorney ad litem after the hearing and must order the parent to pay the cost of the attorney ad 
litem’s representation. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(j). The court may postpone any subsequent 
proceeding for up to seven days after discharge to allow the parent time to hire counsel or to 
provide the parent’s attorney time to prepare for the subsequent hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 
264.203(k).
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Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Pursuant to Tex. R. Civ. P. 131, if the client prevails at 
the temporary orders hearing, court-appointed attorneys for parents who are determined 
not to be indigent might consider asking for a judgment against DFPS in the amount of 
the cost for their court-appointed representation.

Ex Parte Orders Prohibited
An order for required participation can be entered only after notice and a hearing. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 264.203(l). 

14 Day Hearing
The court must set a hearing no later than 14 days after the date the petition was filed unless 
the court finds good cause to extend that date for not more than 14 days. 

STATUTE 
Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(f), (m), and (n)

PURPOSE
To determine whether the family is in need of services to address allegations of abuse and 
neglect and alleviate a continuing danger to the child. 

STANDARD OF PROOF
Evidence sufficient to satisfy a person of ordinary prudence and caution. Tex. Fam. Code § 
264.203(m).

REQUIRED SHOWING
At the conclusion of the hearing, the court must deny the petition unless the court finds: 

•	 An act or failure to act of the parent, managing conservator, guardian, or other member 
of the child’s household resulted in:

o	 abuse or neglect of the child; or 
o	 a substantial risk of abuse or neglect to the child; or 
o	 continuing danger to the physical health or safety of the child; and 

•	 Services are necessary to ensure the physical health or safety of the child. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 264.203(m).

COURT ACTION
Before the hearing begins, the court must inform each parent of their right to an attorney and 
to a court-appointed attorney, if indigent. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(i).

If DFPS meets their required showing, the court must:

•	 State its findings in the order;
•	 Make appropriate temporary orders under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 105 necessary to 

ensure the safety of the child except that the court may not issue a temporary order 
that places the child outside of the home or in the conservatorship of DFPS; and 
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•	 Order the participation in specific services narrowly tailored to address the findings 
made by the court. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(n).

The court may not require a parent to participate in services if that parent/party did not cause 
the alleged abuse or neglect, the substantial risk of abuse or neglect, or the continuing danger 
to the child. 

Once services are ordered, a parent may obtain services from a qualified service provider of 
their own selection. After obtaining verification of completion of the service from the provider 
selected by the parent, DFPS must accept the verification as proof of successful completion of 
the service. However, if the parent selects their own provider, the parent is responsible for the 
cost of the services. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.2031.

An order for required participation expires on the 180th day after the date the order is signed 
unless extended as provided by Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(r) or (s).

Safety Plans

A family in a court-ordered services case may already have a Safety Plan with DFPS as part of 
the investigation or ongoing FBSS case and the status of the Safety Plan may become an issue 
in the court-ordered services case. (See the Investigations & Alternatives to Removal section of 
this tool kit for more information on DFPS Safety Plans.) 

The court is not authorized to incorporate compliance with a safety plan in its orders, but 
the court may make its own orders regarding the child’s safety. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(n) 
provides that if a court renders an order granting DFPS’ petition the court shall “make 
appropriate temporary orders under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 105 necessary to ensure the 
safety of the child….” 

Texas Family Code §105.001 provides that a court may make a temporary order, including the 
modification of a prior temporary order, for the safety and welfare of the child, including an 
order: 

•	 For the temporary conservatorship of the child; 
•	 For the temporary support of the child; 
•	 Restraining a party from disturbing the peace of the child or another party; 
•	 Prohibiting a person from removing the child beyond a geographical area identified by 

the court; or 
•	 For payment of reasonable attorney’s fees and expenses. 

Practice Tip: With proper notice and pleadings, courts may temporarily place a child 
with another party and/or make other appropriate orders pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code 
Chapter 105, provided the court’s orders are necessary to ensure the safety of the child. 
These orders would be limited to 180 days pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(q) unless 
extended pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(r) or (s). 

Review Hearings
The court must review the status of each person required to participate in services within 90 
days after the date the court renders the order. The court shall set subsequent review hearings 
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every 90 days to review the continued need for the order.

STATUTE 
Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(p) 

PURPOSE
To review the continued need for the order. 

STANDARD OF PROOF
Preponderance of the evidence. Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005

REQUIRED SHOWING
No statutory requirements.

COURT ACTION
No statutory requirements. 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Once a client has completed services, a motion for 
dismissal can be filed immediately rather than waiting to address the issue at the next 
statutorily required review hearing.

Extension 
A court-ordered services case may be extended up to an additional 180 days from the original 
expiration date upon a showing by DFPS of a continuing need for the order, after notice and 
hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(r).

The court may extend an order up to an additional 180 days only if the extension is requested 
by the person required to participate in services or that person’s attorney and the court finds:

•	 The extension is necessary to allow the person time to complete ordered services; and
•	 DFPS made a good faith effort to timely provide the services to the person; and
•	 The person made a good faith effort to complete the services; and 
•	 The completion of the services is necessary to ensure the physical health and safety of 

the child; and 
•	 The extension is requested by the person or the person’s attorney. Tex. Fam. Code § 

264.203(s). 
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Judicial Hearing Check Lists
As part of the Texas Child Welfare Law Bench Book and Bench Cards, the Children’s Commission 
includes check lists for judges presiding over DFPS cases to utilize at each statutorily required 
hearing to ensure the court is meeting statutory requirements and implementing best practices. 
It may be useful for attorneys representing parents and children to become familiar with the 
check lists to better understand the obligations and expectations of the court.
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Required 
Participation Adversary Status

Permanency 
Hearing Before 

Final Order

Permanency 
Hearing After 
Final Order

Hearing set timely 14 days 14 days 60 days
1st at 180 days, 
thereafter, 120 

days

180 days, except 
1st at 90 days if 

TPR

Court of Continuing, 
Exclusive Jurisdiction No Yes No Yes No

Child AAL and GAL 
appointed

Required before 
Temporary Orders 
Hearing (AAL only)

No later than 14-
day Hearing

Required before 
14-day Hearing Yes

Continued 
appointment of AAL 
or GAL or attorney 

in dual role required 
as long as child 

remains in DFPS 
conservatorship

Parent Attorney appointed
Required before 

Temporary Orders 
Hearing

Yes Yes Yes No

Notice of Hearing Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

Court Report filed 
and provided Not Required Yes Yes Yes Yes

Identify all parties  
and swear witnesses Yes Not Required Not Required Yes Yes

Inquire about absent parties Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

Inquire about diligent efforts No Yes Yes Yes No

Address service on parties Yes Yes Yes, if outstanding Yes, if outstanding No

Address parentage issues No Yes Yes, if outstanding Yes, if outstanding No

Issue orders regarding 
service Yes Yes Yes, if outstanding Yes, if outstanding No

Admonish parents of right 
to attorney Yes Yes Yes Yes No

Admonish parents of TPR No Yes Yes Yes No

Aggravated circumstances No Yes No No No

Inquire about and document 
Indian heritage No Yes Yes Yes No, unless new 

information

Indian Child Welfare Act,  
if applicable No

Clear and 
convincing, expert 

testimony
Active efforts Active efforts No

Child Placement  
Resources Form No Yes Yes, if outstanding No No

Child asked about potential 
placements No Yes Yes Yes Yes

Initial Home Studies on file No Yes Yes No No

Child present No No No Yes Yes

      Updated October 2023

At a Glance
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Required 
Participation Adversary Status

Permanency 
Hearing Before 

Final Order

Permanency 
Hearing After 
Final Order

If AAL hasn’t seen client, 
determine good cause Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

Review current and 
alternative placement No Yes Yes Yes Yes

Determine if able to place 
with relative, cite evidence No Yes Yes Yes No

If with relative, inform about 
PCA No Yes Yes Yes Yes

Temporary Visitation Plan 
on file No Yes No No No

Review Visitation Plan No No Yes Yes Yes

Service Plan development Yes No Yes No No

Review Service Plan Yes No Yes Review 
Compliance

Review 
Compliance

Review permanency goal No No No Yes Yes

Review education goals, 
progress, and needs No No If needed Yes Yes

Education Decision-Maker 
identified No No Yes Yes Yes

Review medical care No No Yes Yes Yes

Medical Consenter identified No Yes Yes Yes Yes

Child’s opinion on medical 
care known No No No Yes Yes

Normalcy activities No No No Yes Yes

Reasonable Efforts findings 
required No

Yes, as relates to 
preventing removal, 
returning the child 
home, or placing 

with a non-custodial 
parent 

Yes, as relates 
to Service Plan 
requirements

Yes, as relates to 
execution of  

Permanency Plan

Yes, as relates to 
execution of  

Permanency Plan

Determine dismissal date Yes Yes Yes Yes No

Transitional Living Plan on 
file if child is 16 or older N/A No No No Yes

Independent Living Skills 
Assessment conducted, if 
required

N/A No No Yes Yes

Review Extended  
Jurisdiction N/A No No No Yes

Set next hearing Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

Issue order and 
provide to parties Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

At a Glance continued

      Updated October 2023
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Ex Parte Order Prior to Removal of Child
STATUTE 
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.101, 262.102

PURPOSE
To determine whether a court will authorize the removal of a child from their home without 
prior notice and hearing, and grant DFPS TMC of the child to eliminate the threat of an 
immediate danger to the physical health or safety of the child until an adversary hearing can 
be held.

To obtain removal, DFPS must include in its removal affidavit a statement that the child would 
not be adequately protected by a kick-out order of the perpetrator, by a protective order, or by 
placement with a relative or designated caregiver under a PCSP because it was refused, not 
possible, or that placement would pose an immediate danger to the physical health or safety 
of the child. Additionally, the removal affidavit must describe all reasonable efforts that were 
made to prevent or eliminate the need for the removal of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.102.

STANDARD OF PROOF
Evidence sufficient to satisfy a person of ordinary prudence and caution.

BEST INTEREST
Best interest of the child is always the primary consideration in determining conservatorship, 
possession, and access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.002.

INDIAN CHILD WELFARE ACT (ICWA)
A court can order emergency removal of an “Indian child” only if necessary “to prevent imminent 
physical damage or harm to the child.” 25 C.F.R. § 23.113(d). This must be followed by a noticed 
hearing where DFPS must prove by clear and convincing evidence, including testimony from 
a Qualified Expert Witness (QEW), that a “foster care placement” is warranted. This hearing 
cannot be held until 10 days after notice of ICWA has been provided and is subject to a 20-day 
extension on request of a parent or Tribe.

Continuing an Ex Parte Hearing to Comply with ICWA Notice Requirement

An ex parte proceeding should not be continued for more than 30 days unless the court finds:

•	 Returning the child to the parent or Indian custodian would subject the child to 
imminent physical damage or harm;

•	 The court has been unable to transfer the proceeding to the appropriate Tribe; and
•	 It has not been possible to initiate a “child-custody proceeding” as defined by 25 C.F.R. 

§ 23.2. 25 C.F.R. § 23.113(e)

Termination of Ex Parte Removal Under ICWA

An ex parte removal can be terminated on the following actions:

•	 Filing of a child-custody proceeding subject to the provisions of ICWA;
•	 Transfer of the case to the Tribe’s jurisdiction; or
•	 Return of the child to the parent or Indian custodian. 25 C.F.R. § 23.113(c)
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If a party asserts or the court has reason to believe an “Indian child” may have been improperly 
removed or retained, the court must expeditiously determine whether there was improper 
removal or retention. If the court finds that the Indian child was improperly removed or retained, 
the court must terminate the proceeding and the child must be returned immediately to their 
parent or Indian custodian, unless returning the child would subject the child to “substantial 
and immediate danger or threat of such danger.” 25 C.F.R. § 23.114.

If a Tribe confirms (or a court finds) that a child is an “Indian child,” please see the Indian 
Child Welfare Act section of this tool kit for information on how ICWA requirements will affect 
the case going forward.

REQUIRED SHOWING FOR EX PARTE ORDER BEFORE REMOVAL 
HEARING
DFPS must submit sufficient evidence to prove:

•	 Either an immediate danger to the physical health or safety of the child, or that the 
child has been a victim of neglect or sexual abuse;*

•	 The child would not be adequately protected in the home with an order for the removal 
of the alleged perpetrator or a protective order issued under Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.1015 
or 262.1016;

•	 Placing the child with a relative or designated caregiver or with a caregiver under a 
PCSP was refused, not possible, or would pose an immediate danger to the child;

•	 That continuation in the home would be contrary to the child’s welfare; and
•	 That there is no time, consistent with the child’s physical health or safety and the 

nature of the emergency, to hold an adversary hearing; and
•	 That reasonable efforts, consistent with the circumstances and providing for the safety 

of the child, were made to prevent or eliminate the need for removal. Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 262.102.

*This determination may not be based solely on the opinion of a medical professional under 
contract with DFPS who did not conduct a physical examination of the child. Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 262.102(b-1).

DEFINITION OF “HOME”
The federal Administration for Children and Families defines “home” as the adult from whom 
the child is legally removed. In other words, home means parental custody, not physical location. 
The definition of “home” does not change regardless of where the child is living. 

COURT ACTION
If the court finds that DFPS made the required showing, the court must:

•	 Issue an ex parte order for protection of the child that includes a description of all 
reasonable efforts made to prevent or eliminate the removal and the substantial risk 
of a continuing danger if the child is returned home pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 
262.102(e);

•	 Appoint an attorney ad litem and a guardian ad litem for the child. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 
107.012, 107.011;

•	 Appoint an authorized medical consenter for the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 266.004(b);and
•	 Set the Adversary Hearing within 14 days, unless the court finds good cause to postpone 

the hearing pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(a).
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Practice Tip: Attorneys for parents and children are not required to be appointed prior 
to the Ex Parte Hearing and their attendance is not required at the Ex Parte Hearing. 
However, in some circumstances an attorney may already be appointed when an ex parte 
hearing occurs. This may occur if the attorney has been appointed as part of a Court-
Ordered Services case under Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203 and a new referral alleging abuse 
or neglect is the reason DFPS is seeking removal, or if DFPS is seeking to remove a child 
born during the pendency of an existing case filed under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 262. If a 
parent’s or a child’s attorney is appointed or retained prior to the Ex Parte Hearing, they 
may prepare and file a response with controverting affidavits and participate in the Ex 
Parte Hearing. The attorney should conduct an independent evaluation of the basis for 
the removal, rather than relying solely upon DFPS for information. 

RECORD REQUIRED
Ex parte hearings under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 262 must be recorded by either audio, video, 
or court reporter transcription. The court must provide a copy of the recording to a party upon 
request, and DFPS must provide notice of the hearing to the parent’s attorney, if represented. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 262.206.

Ex Parte Order After Emergency Removal of Child Without a 
Court Order

STATUTES 
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.104, 262.105, 262.106, 262.107 

PURPOSE
There are limited circumstances when an authorized DFPS representative, law enforcement 
officer, or juvenile probation officer may take possession of a child without a court order. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 262.104. 

DFPS must then file a petition and affidavit with the court no later than the next business 
day to make an ex parte request for TMC of the child until an adversary hearing can be held. 
Tex. Fam. Code 262.105. DFPS must include in its removal affidavit a statement that the child 
would not be adequately protected by a kick-out order of the perpetrator, by a protective order, 
or by placement with a relative or designated caregiver under a PCSP because it was refused, 
not possible, or that placement would pose an immediate danger to the physical health or safety 
of the child. Additionally, the removal affidavit must describe all reasonable efforts that were 
made to prevent or eliminate the need for the removal of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.105.

The court must hold an Ex Parte Hearing on or before the first business day after the child is 
removed. Tex. Fam. Code 262.106. 

DFPS must meet the required evidentiary showing for the court to grant emergency TMC. Tex. 
Fam. Code 262.107.

STANDARD OF PROOF
Evidence sufficient to satisfy a person of ordinary prudence and caution.

BEST INTEREST
Best interest of the child is always the primary consideration in determining conservatorship, 
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possession, and access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.002.

ICWA
A court can order emergency removal of an “Indian child” only if necessary “to prevent imminent 
physical damage or harm to the child.” 25 C.F.R. § 23.113 (d). This must be followed by a 
noticed hearing where DFPS must prove by clear and convincing evidence, including QEW 
testimony, that a “foster care placement” is warranted. This hearing cannot be held until 10 
days after notice of ICWA has been provided and is subject to a 20-day extension on request of 
a parent or Tribe.

Continuing an Ex Parte Hearing to Comply with ICWA Notice Requirement

An ex parte proceeding should not be continued for more than 30 days unless the court finds:

•	 Returning the child to the parent or Indian custodian would subject the child to 
imminent physical damage or harm;

•	 The court has been unable to transfer the proceeding to the appropriate Tribe; and
•	 It has not been possible to initiate a “child-custody proceeding.” 25 C.F.R. § 23.113(e)

Termination of Ex Parte Removal Under ICWA

An ex parte removal will terminate on the following conditions:

•	 Filing of a child-custody proceeding,
•	 Transfer of the case to the Tribe’s jurisdiction, or
•	 Return of the child to the parent or Indian custodian. 25 C.F.R. § 23.113(c)

If a party asserts or the court has reason to believe an “Indian child” may have been improperly 
removed or retained, the court must expeditiously determine whether there was improper 
removal or retention. If the court finds that the Indian child was improperly removed or retained, 
the court must terminate the proceeding and the child must be returned immediately to their 
parent or Indian custodian, unless returning the child would subject the child to “substantial 
and immediate danger or threat of such danger.” 25 C.F.R. § 23.114.

If a Tribe confirms (or a court finds) that a child is an “Indian child,” please see the Indian 
Child Welfare Act section of this tool kit for information on how ICWA requirements will affect 
the case going forward.

RETURN OF THE CHILD 
The child must be returned to the parent or guardian if the initial hearing is not timely held. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 262.106(c). For the purposes of determining the first business day after the 
child is taken into possession, the child is considered to have been taken into possession by 
DFPS on the expiration of the five-day period permitted under Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.007(c) or 
262.110(b). Tex. Fam. Code §262.106(d).

REQUIRED SHOWING 
DFPS must submit sufficient evidence to prove:

•	 One of the following circumstances exist:

o	 There is a continuing danger to the physical health or safety of the child; or 
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o	 That the child has been a victim of neglect or sexual abuse and is a substantial risk 
of future sexual abuse or trafficking; or

o	 The parent’s use of a controlled substance constitutes an immediate danger to the 
physical health and safety of the child; or

o	 The child has been permitted to remain on the premises used for the manufacture 
of methamphetamine; and

•	 The child would not be adequately protected in the home with an order for the removal 
of the alleged perpetrator or a protective order issued under Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.1015 
or 262.1016;

•	 Placing the child with a relative or designated caregiver or with a caregiver under a 
PCSP was refused, not possible, or would pose an immediate danger to the child. 

•	 That continuation in the home would be contrary to the child’s welfare; and
•	 That reasonable efforts, consistent with the circumstances and providing for the safety 

of the child, were made to prevent or eliminate the need for removal. Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 262.107.

COURT ACTION
If the court finds that DFPS made the required showing the court must:

•	 Issue an ex parte order for protection of the child that includes a description of all 
reasonable efforts made to prevent or eliminate the removal and the substantial risk 
of a continuing danger if the child is returned home pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 
262.107;

•	 Appoint an attorney ad litem and a guardian ad litem for the child. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 
107.012, 107.011;

•	 Appoint an authorized medical consenter for the child. Tex. Fam. Code §266.004(b); 
and

•	 Set the Adversary Hearing within 14 days, unless the court finds good cause to postpone 
the hearing pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(a).

RECORD REQUIRED
Ex parte hearings under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 262 must be recorded by either audio, video, 
or court reporter transcription. The court must provide a copy of the recording to a party upon 
request, and DFPS must provide notice of the hearing to the parent’s attorney, if represented. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 262.206.

Obligations of DFPS Following the Removal of a Child 
SCHOOL ENROLLMENT
If DFPS takes possession of a child under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 262 during the school year, 
DFPS shall ensure that the child returns to school not later than the third school day after the 
date an order is rendered providing for possession of the child by DFPS, unless the child has 
a physical or mental condition of a temporary and remediable nature that makes the child’s 
attendance infeasible. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.115(a).

Practice Tip: Under state and federal law, a child should remain in the same school 
unless it is not in their best interest. 

http://benchbook.texaschildrenscommission.gov/autolink/gov.tx.leg.fam_code+texaschildrenscommission__%2Fchapter262
http://benchbook.texaschildrenscommission.gov/autolink/gov.tx.leg.fam_code+texaschildrenscommission__264.115
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3-DAY MEDICAL EXAM
If the child is removed as a result of sexual abuse, physical abuse, or an obvious physical injury 
to the child or has a chronic medical condition, a medically complex condition, or a diagnosed 
mental illness, DFPS shall ensure that a child who has been taken into the conservatorship of 
DFPS and remains in the conservatorship of DFPS for more than three business days receives 
an initial medical examination from a physician or other health care provider not later than 
the third business day after the date the child is removed from the child’s home. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 264.1076.

TEMPORARY VISITATION SCHEDULE
DFPS shall ensure that a parent who is otherwise entitled to possession of the child has an 
opportunity to visit the child not later than the fifth day after the date DFPS is named TMC of 
the child unless DFPS determines that visitation is not in the child’s best interest or visitation 
with the parent would conflict with a court order relating to possession of or access to the child. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 262.115(c).

Before the Adversary Hearing, DFPS in collaboration with each parent of the child must 
develop a temporary visitation schedule for the child’s visits with each parent and, unless 
modified by the court, the schedule remains in effect until a visitation plan is developed under 
Tex. Fam. Code § 263.107. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.115(d). The temporary visitation schedule 
may be included in any report DFPS submits to the court before or during the Adversary 
Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.115(e).

DESIGNATION OF MEDICAL CONSENTER
Not later than the fifth business day after the date the court provides authorization to DFPS 
or an agent of DFPS to consent to medical care, DFPS shall file with the court and each party 
the name of the individual who will exercise the duty and responsibility of providing consent 
on behalf of DFPS and must file notice of any subsequent change of the individual designated 
to consent to medical care not later than the fifth business day after the date of the change. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 266.004(c).

Practice Tip: The fact that a child has been removed from their home does not necessarily 
preclude a parent from making sound medical decisions for their child. Under Tex. Fam. 
Code § 266.004, the court may authorize a parent to consent to medical care for a child 
in foster care, if the parent’s rights have not been terminated and the court determines 
that it is in the best interest of the child to allow the parent to make medical decisions on 
behalf of the child. Additionally, if DFPS or an agent of DFPS is authorized by the court 
to consent to medical care of a child in foster care, DFPS may designate the child’s parent, 
if the parent’s rights have not been terminated, to exercise the duty and responsibility 
of providing consent on behalf of DFPS. Tex. Fam. Code § 266.004(c). Attorneys should 
inform parent clients of these options and advocate both with the court and DFPS 
according to their client’s wishes.
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15 Minutes; up to 25 suggested best practice

 ͠ Identify parties present and served  
 ͠ Inform parents of right to attorney  
 ͠ Determine indigence 
 ͠ DFPS provided notice to relatives 
 ͠ Need for language interpretation 
 ͠ Child Placement Resources Form/efforts to 
identify/locate parties not present

 ͠ Child provided opportunity to provide information 
about possible relative or other caregiver

 ͠ Determine if child can be placed with relative and 
note evidence

 ͠ CPS and criminal background checks conducted 
and home studies initiated

 ͠ If child with relative, inform about Permanency 
Care Assistance (PCA)

 ͠ Inquire about Indian/Native American Heritage 
 ͠ Temporary Family Visitation Plan 
 ͠ Determine good cause if AAL has not seen child

At the Hearing:

Statutory

 ͠ Hearing within 14 days of removal unless temporary 
order extended

 ͠ Child’s GAL/AAL appointed 

 ͠ Parties served 
 ͠ CCEJ identified

Prior to the Hearing, review court to determine: 

 ͠ Determine sufficient evidence regarding the parent 
from whom the child was removed to grant DFPS 
TMC of child; if not, return child to that parent

 ͠ Document danger to child to return to home or 
remain in home and remaining in home is contrary 
to welfare; reasonable efforts to prevent removal 
and to return child home 

 ͠ If TMC to DFPS, inform parents that rights may be 
terminated or limited 

 ͠ If cite by pub needed, may render temporary order 
anyway

 ͠ Determine aggravated circumstances alleged or 
exist

 ͠ If family violence, protective order  necessary or 
available

 ͠ If child victim of human trafficking, placement in 
secure agency foster or group home 

 ͠ Place the child with a parent not involved in the 
removal unless there is evidence that the parent 
cannot be located or is unwilling to take possession 
of the child or possession of the child by the parent 
constitutes a continuing danger to the child despite 
reasonable efforts to enable  possession

 ͠ Place child with a relative unless not in best interest
 ͠ Determine whether DFPS is able to place child 
with relative or other designated caregiver; note 
evidence supporting finding either way

 ͠ ISSUE COURT ORDER 
 ● Service 
 ● Notice of removal 
 ● Parentage or DNA testing 
 ● Dismissal date 
 ● Transfer CCEJ, if applicable 
 ● Describe reasonable efforts

At the End of the Hearing:
Court Findings

 ͠ Engage parties with direct questions
 ͠ Review services with parents
 ͠ Set Status Hearing date
 ͠ Open court notice

 ͠ Ask the following questions: 
 ● What is preventing this child from returning 

home today? 
 ● How is my decision specific to this child and 

this family?
 ● Are there cultural issues we need to 

understand? 

Best Practices [BP]

 ͠ School stability, education goals, progress, and  
issues, and Education Decision-Maker

 ͠ Medical care and behavioral or psychiatric care

 ͠ Young adult presence at hearing or opinion about 
education or medical care 

Well-being Issues

Updated October 2023
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STATUTE 
Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201 

PURPOSE
To determine whether a court will authorize continued TMC of a child to DFPS.

TIMING
The hearing must be held not later than the 14th day after the date the child was taken into 
possession unless the court grants an extension. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(a).

STANDARD OF PROOF
Evidence sufficient to satisfy a person of ordinary prudence and caution.

BEST INTEREST
The best interest of the child is always the primary consideration in determining conservatorship, 
possession, and access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.002. At the Adversary Hearing, courts must place 
a child who is removed with a relative unless placement is not in the best interest of the child. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(n).

ICWA
The court must ask whether the child or family has Native American heritage and identify any 
Tribe at the Adversary Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(f). DFPS must give notice to any 
identified Tribe and request that the Tribe confirm or deny the child’s status as an Indian child.

If a Tribe confirms (or a court finds) that a child is an “Indian child,” please see the Indian 
Child Welfare Act section of this tool kit for information on how ICWA requirements will affect 
the case going forward.

PARENT’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
•	 File any pleadings necessary to enable the court to enter orders in accordance with the 

client’s wishes, including placement with a relative.
•	 Determine whether a court of continuing jurisdiction exists and whether ICWA applies 

to the child, even if the client is not the Indian parent.
•	 Determine if additional time is necessary to adequately prepare for the hearing and 

file any necessary motions for continuance.
•	 Determine whether appropriate relatives or fictive kin are able to care for the child and 

request home assessments be completed before the hearing.
•	 Determine if there is a probable or pending criminal case as a result of the facts 

surrounding the DFPS case and advise the client of their Fifth Amendment right 
against self-incrimination in testifying at the hearing, discussing the case with other 
parties, and in participating in court-ordered or recommended services.

•	 Review and assess evidence.
•	 Meet with the parent in a confidential setting to review and assess the evidence 

together.
•	 Advise the parent of their right to a full contested adversary/evidentiary hearing on 

DFPS’ request for TMC.
•	 Determine if the client has any disabilities or special needs that must be accommodated 

in order to actively participate in the hearing.
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•	 Determine if a language barrier exists.
•	 Determine whether domestic violence is an issue in the family, and whether it is known 

to DFPS.
•	 Make a request of the prosecutor pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 262.014 to provide 

names of witnesses DFPS intends to call (other than DFPS employees), a copy of any 
offense report to be used to refresh a witness’s testimony, and a copy of any photo, 
video or recording to be presented as evidence; and subpoena any necessary witnesses 
and documents for the adversary/evidentiary hearing.

•	 Determine what options may exist for services through non-DFPS providers – i.e., the 
client is participating in substance abuse treatment through probation, mental health 
services through county or private providers, domestic violence services through a non- 
profit agency, etc.

•	 Determine whether the parent has other children who are not subject of the suit, or 
who live with the parent.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Your parent client may be focused exclusively on 
concerns for their children and the circumstances of removal and therefore may have 
difficulty understanding the long-term consequences of the decisions that they may be 
making at the outset of the case. The Trauma-Informed Lens for Interacting with Clients 
section of this tool kit may be of assistance in helping discuss long-term implications of 
the Adversary Hearing.

Practice Tip: A contested adversary hearing may be appropriate if:

•	 There is not an immediate danger to the child – i.e., DFPS waited a substantial period 
of time between the incident that forms the basis of the referral and the removal and 
circumstances have changed in the meantime that reduce or eliminate the danger.

•	 DFPS did not make reasonable attempts to prevent or eliminate the need for removal 
– i.e., demand that the offending parent leave the home, place the child with a non-
custodial parent, etc. 

•	 The non-custodial parent is suitable and placement with that parent would not be 
against the best interest of the child.

•	 There is a suitable relative or fictive kin available to care for the child, but DFPS is 
opposed to the placement. 

•	 Conservatorship or placement are not contested issues, but the parent is opposed to 
one or more of the recommended services or to the proposed visitation plan.

UNKNOWN OR ABSENT PARENT’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
Determine whether the other parties know the identity and/or whereabouts of the parent. Note 
that when asked by DFPS for the address of the missing parent, the responding parent may 
say “I don’t know.” However, the responding parent may know where the family of the absent 
parent lives, or know how to get to their home, even if they do not know the exact address. 
Additionally, the responding parent may not want the other parent involved, but the parent’s 
attorney should explore why that is so and explain that for purposes of temporary orders, it 
might be preferable for the child to be with the other parent or their family rather than in 
foster care.
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•	 Use due diligence to locate the client and submit a report to the court, stating either 
that the client has been located and provide the location information or that after due 
diligence the client could not be found. Make sure to report what efforts were made to 
locate the client.

•	 If the parent is an alleged father, determine whether he is an acknowledged or 
adjudicated father and, if not, whether he wants to be adjudicated or is requesting 
paternity testing. 

Practice Tip: Attorneys representing a father whose location or identity are unknown should 
consider asking the child’s mother whether she is receiving child support or benefits such as 
Medicaid or food stamps, as the receipt of benefits may trigger the filing of an Office of the 
Attorney General (OAG) paternity suit. The existence of a paternity suit may provide identity 
and contact  information  for a father whose location or identity are currently unknown. 
 
Also consider asking the child’s mother if she has ever been married and, if so, whether 
she has obtained a divorce or when she last resided with her husband. Additional issues 
may arise, and genetic testing may be necessary if a presumed father exists, and the 
alleged father wishes to be adjudicated as the father.

CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
•	 Visit the child in the child’s placement. If there is no time to visit the child before the 

hearing, request a reset of the hearing in order to make the required visit;
•	 If possible, observe a parent-child visit;
•	 Interview the current caretakers, parents (if allowed by their attorneys), witnesses, 

and collaterals to be fully knowledgeable about the facts underlying the case;
•	 Review the rights and duties of a Guardian ad Litem and an Attorney ad Litem under 

the Texas Family Code;
•	 Consider all the recommendations that may apply to the parent’s attorneys, if 

appropriate, especially regarding locating absent parents and their relatives. If a parent 
is not found until late in the case, it may be a lost opportunity to prevent the need for 
removal, identify family placement options, and can result in delays in permanency;

•	 Confer with the Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA), if they are appointed to the 
case, as they often have valuable information that can assist in the Attorney ad Litem’s 
knowledge of the larger case context. 

PARENT’S AND CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
Review the Concurrent Issues, Child’s Attorney Issues, and Parent’s Attorney Issues sections of 
this tool kit to be prepared to advocate a position on:

•	 Paternity
•	 Placement of the Child
•	 Child Support and Kinship Support
•	 Visitation
•	 Child Well-Being
•	 Reasonable Efforts to Prevent or Eliminate Removal
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Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Upon meeting with and interviewing the child, the 
child may desire to attend court and meet with the judge at the Adversary Hearing. 
Because the child’s attendance is not required by statute, consider filing a Motion to 
Interview Child in Chambers and request that the court schedule a time for the child to 
be brought to the courthouse or appear remotely prior to the hearing to speak with the 
judge. This approach can permit the child to express their interests without having to 
testify in open court. Other parties might oppose this request so the attorney ad litem 
should be prepared to present a convincing argument to support the request.

REQUIRED COURT FINDINGS 

Findings Regarding the Parent from Whom the Child Was Removed 

Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(g).

The court must return the child to the parent/conservator/guardian/custodian from whom the 
child was removed unless the court finds:

•	 There was a continuing danger to the physical health or safety of the child which was 
caused by an act or failure to act of the person entitled to possession (that danger could 
include that the child would be a victim of trafficking under Tex. Penal Code §§ 20A.02 
or 20A.03);

•	 That continuation in the home would be contrary to the child’s welfare;
•	 The urgent need for protection required immediate removal and reasonable efforts, 

consistent with the circumstances and providing for the safety of the child, were made 
to eliminate or prevent the child’s removal; and

•	 That reasonable efforts have been made to enable the child to return home, but there is 
a substantial risk of continuing danger to the child if the child is returned home. 

Findings Regarding a Parent Not Involved in the Circumstances Leading to Removal

Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(g-1) 

If the court finds it is not safe to return the child to the parent from whom the child was removed, 
the court shall consider any other parent, managing conservator, possessory conservator, 
guardian, caretaker, or custodian as a possible placement.

If the court finds this person did not cause the immediate danger to the physical health or 
safety of the child or was not the perpetrator of the neglect or abuse alleged in the suit, the 
court shall order possession of the child by that person unless the court makes specific findings 
as to each person entitled to possession: 

•	 The person cannot be located after exercise of due diligence by DFPS, or the person is 
unable or unwilling to take possession of the child; or

•	 Reasonable efforts have been made to enable the person’s possession of the child, but 
possession by that person presents a continuing danger to the physical health or safety 
of the child caused by an act or failure to act of the person, including a danger that the 
child would be a victim of trafficking under Tex. Penal Code §§ 20A.02 or 20A.03. 



79

Statutory H
earings

ADDITIONAL COURT ACTION
Upon making the necessary findings above, the court must enter temporary orders for protection 
and:

•	 Include in that order a description of all reasonable efforts made to prevent or eliminate 
the removal and the substantial risk of a continuing danger if the child is returned 
home or the reasonable efforts that were made to enable a person’s possession of the 
child; and the continuing danger to the physical health or safety of the child pursuant 
to Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(g-2);

•	 Order placement of the child with a relative unless that is not in the child’s best interest. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(n);

•	 Ask all parties about Native American heritage and the identity of any Tribe(s). Tex. 
Fam. Code § 262.201(f);

•	 Give parents warning about parental rights, require completion of the Child Placement 
Resources form, and require all relatives to provide information to locate any absent 
parent or relative. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(m), (l);

•	 Set a Status Hearing within 60 days of the date TMC is granted. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.201(a);

•	 Inquire from all parties whether the child has had the opportunity to provide 
information regarding potential caregivers and whether individuals identified by the 
child are listed on the proposed child placement resources form. Tex. Fam. Code § 
262.201(l-1).; and

•	 Inform relatives serving as placement for a child of the ability to become a licensed 
foster parent and apply for Permanency Care Assistance (PCA). Tex. Fam. Code § 
262.201(n-1).

RENEWING AND EXTENDING THE 14 DAY PERIOD
An adversary hearing must be held within 14 days because the temporary order authorizing 
emergency removal expires after 14 days in accordance with Tex. Fam. Code § 262.103. 
However, those orders can be extended before an adversary hearing is held. The temporary 
orders can be renewed and extended under the following circumstances:

•	 Upon a showing of good cause (defects in service, allowing time for the attorney for 
the child to visit with their client, court closure or docketing issues, etc.), an attorney 
can seek an order to extend the temporary order by up to 14 days and reschedule the 
hearing. Tex. R. Civ. P. 680;

•	 If an indigent parent appears in opposition to the suit and the court appoints an 
attorney, the temporary order can be extended by 7 days, and the court may shorten 
or lengthen the time of the extension if the parent and the appointed attorney agree in 
writing [emphasis added]. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(e);

•	 If a non-indigent parent requests time to hire an attorney or to provide a retained 
attorney time to respond, the temporary order can be extended by 7 days, and the court 
may shorten or lengthen the time of the extension if the parent and the attorney agree 
in writing [emphasis added]. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(e-1);

•	 No more than one extension of a temporary order may be granted unless subsequent 
extensions are unopposed. Tex. R. Civ. P. 680.



80

St
at

ut
or

y 
H

ea
ri

ng
s

Practice Tip: Be mindful of the impact of separation on the child by delaying the 
Adversary Hearing. Request a reset only for the amount of time necessary to accomplish 
the required tasks instead defaulting to the maximum 14 days allowed under the Texas 
Family Code and consider requesting additional visitation time, if appropriate, in the 
interim.

Practice Tip: Though a court will not lose jurisdiction if the Adversary Hearing is 
delayed or reset, a parent may seek mandamus to compel the court to hold the hearing. In 
the Interest of J.M.C., 109 S.W.3d 591, 595 (Tex. App.—Fort Worth 2003).

Practice Tip: Consider addressing the following additional issues at the Adversary 
Hearing:

•	 Before the service plan can be fully developed and signed by a parent, there may be 
an identified need for psychological testing, drug assessment or testing, or physical 
examinations. Determine what orders might be appropriate and proceed accordingly.

•	 Determine whether there is a discovery control plan in place and/or whether there is 
a need for formal discovery.

•	 Consider requesting a scheduling order that sets out every future hearing.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Meet with the client after the hearing to discuss the 
Family Strengths and Needs Assessment (FSNA) and to explain what to expect between 
the Adversary Hearing and the Status Hearing.

Obligations of DFPS Following the Adversary Hearing 
•	 File notice of the Education Decision Maker and/or Surrogate Parent for the child with 

the court and provide a copy to the school the child attends not later than the fifth day 
after the date of an adversary hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.004(a) and (b).

•	 File a service plan, except as provided by Tex. Fam. Code § 262.2015, not later than the 
45th day after the date the court renders a temporary order appointing DFPS TMC of 
a child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.101.

•	 Develop a visitation plan, in collaboration with each parent of the child, for any child in 
TMC of DFPS for whom the goal is reunification, not later than the 30th day after the 
date DFPS is named TMC. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.107. 

•	 Ensure that a child receives a developmentally appropriate comprehensive assessment 
not later than the 45th day after the date a child enters the conservatorship of DFPS. 
A single source continuum contractor (SSCC) providing therapeutic foster care services 
to a child shall ensure that the child receives a comprehensive assessment at least once 
every 90 days. Tex. Fam. Code §266.012.

•	 Hold a permanency planning meeting for each child in the TMC of DFPS that is 
designed to allow the child to exit managing conservatorship of DFPS safely and as soon 
as possible and be placed with an appropriate adult caregiver who will permanently 
assume legal responsibility for the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.009(a).
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Status Hearing Checklist
15 Minutes; up to 25 suggested best practice

 ͠ Identify parties present and served 
 ͠ DFPS due diligence to locate parties 
 ͠ DFPS provided notice to relatives 
 ͠ Need for language interpretation 
 ͠ Inform parents of right to attorney
 ͠ Paternity issues/Paternity Registry 
 ͠ Child Placement Resources Form filed
 ͠ Review current and alternative placements 
 ͠ Child provided opportunity to provide information 
about possible relative or other caregiver

 ͠ Home studies initiated 
 ͠ If present, give caregiver opportunity to provide 
information

 ͠ If child with relative, inform about Permanency 
Care Assistance (PCA)

 ͠ If the child is placed in a RTC or QRTP, whether 
continued placement in an RTC or QRTP is 
appropriate

 ͠ Review conservatorship and substitute care of the 
child

 ͠ Inquire about Indian/Native American Heritage 
 ͠ DFPS held or plans to hold Permanency Planning 
Meeting

 ͠ If AAL hasn’t seen client, determine good cause 
 ͠ Address citizenship issues, consulate notified
 ͠ Review child’s medical care

At the Hearing:

 ͠ Determine if:
 ● SP developed jointly with parents
 ● Each term reviewed/discussed with parents; 

parents understand
 ● Parents informed of rights with SP process

 ● Noted if parent not able or willing to participate 
in development of SP

 ● Plan has primary and concurrent goal 
 ● Plan is signed by parents and DFPS

 ͠ Parent has opportunity to comment on SP
 ͠ Court can modify SP at any time

Family Plan of Service (SP)

Statutory

 ͠ Hearing 60 days after DFPS appointed TMC, 
unless aggravated circumstances

 ͠ Persons given 10 days’ notice of hearing 
 ͠ If parent is unrepresented, inform of right to 
counsel, determine indigency, and appoint 
attorney

 ͠ Visitation Plan filed at least 10 days before 
 ͠ Family Plan of Service filed no later than 45th day 
after DFPS appointed TMC

 ͠ Developmentally appropriate assessment no later 
than 45th day after DFPS appointed TMC

 ͠ Texas Health Steps Exam no later than 30th day 
after DFPS appointed TMC

 ͠ Notice of Education Decision-Maker (Form 2085-
E) filed 

 ͠ Designation of Medical Consenter (Form 2085-B) 
filed 

 ͠ Dismissal date set 

Prior to the Hearing:

Visitation Plan (VP)

 ͠ Review VP: 
 ● Age and safety of child at/during visitation
 ● Desires of each parent regarding visitation
 ● Location of each parent and child
 ● Transportation to/from visits
 ● DFPS/other resources available to support  

visitation 

 ͠ Court may modify VP at any time 
 ͠ If find visitation not in child’s best interest, include 
in order reasons and specific steps parent must 
take to have visitation 
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 ͠ Determine whether SP narrowly tailored for 
specific issues identified by DFPS

 ͠ Determine whether any SP with goal of reunification 
adequately ensures that reasonable efforts made 
to enable parents to provide safe environment for  
child

 ͠ Advise/warn parents & parties: 
 ● Custodial rights and duties subject to restriction 

or termination or child not returned unless 
parent demonstrates willingness and ability to 
provide child with safe environment

 ● Progress under SP reviewed at all hearings, 
including review of newly acquired knowledge 
or skills

 ͠ Incorporate SP into court order and render 
additional, appropriate orders to require 
compliance with  or implement SP

 ͠ ISSUE COURT ORDER:
 ● Dismissal date 
 ● May transfer to court of continuing, exclusive 

jurisdiction, if CCEJ exists

At the End of the Hearing:

Court Findings

 ͠ Set first Permanency Hearing Before Final Order 
and announce in open court 

 ͠ Engage parties with direct questions
 ● Do you understand the purpose of the Service 

Plan? 
 ͠ Ask direct and specific questions of the Department 
about reasonable efforts:

 ● What about this plan is narrowly tailored to 
address specific issues present in Ms. Smith’s 
case?

 ͠ Ask the following questions:
 ● What is preventing this child from returning 

home today?
 ● How is my decision specific to this child and 

this family?
 ● Are there cultural issues we need to understand?

Best Practices

 ͠ School stability, education goals, progress, and  
issues, and Education Decision-Maker

 ͠ Medical Consenter may need to be identified or 
updated

 ͠ Review psychiatric care, especially if child or 
youth prescribed psychotropic medication

 ͠ Young adult presence at hearing or opinion about 
education or medical care

Well-being Issues

Status Hearing Checklist
continued
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Status Hearing

STATUTES 
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.201, 263.202, 263.203 

PURPOSE
To have a court review the contents of the service plan, rule on requested modifications to the 
service plan, and enter court orders necessary to implement the service plan. Additional goals 
are to review due diligence of efforts to serve parties; locate missing parents; notify relatives of 
a child’s removal; identify potential family or fictive kin placements, if applicable; and review 
the child’s medical care.

STANDARD OF PROOF
Preponderance of the evidence.

 BEST INTEREST

Best interest of the child is always the primary consideration in determining conservatorship, 
possession, and access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.002.

ICWA
The court must ask whether the child or family has Native American heritage and identify 
any Tribe at the Status Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(f-1). DFPS must give notice to any 
identified Tribe and request that the Tribe confirm or deny the child’s status as an “Indian 
child.”

If a Tribe confirms (or a court finds) that a child is an “Indian child,” please see the Indian Child 
Welfare Act section of this tool kit for information on how ICWA requirements will affect the 
case going forward.

PARENT’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
•	 Review the service plan with the client in advance of the hearing.
•	 Prepare for any modifications that will be requested in court.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(d) provides a defense against 
the “O” termination ground if a parent can prove by a preponderance of the evidence that 
they were unable to comply with the service plan, made a good faith effort, and that failure 
to comply was not attributable to any fault of the parent. Consider filing an Answer with 
an affirmative defense if a parent was unable to comply with one or more services.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: If the service plan drafted by DFPS does not reflect 
the services that were court-ordered, or do not address the client’s individual needs or 
preferred service provider, consider filing a written objection to the plan. If the court adopts 
the service plan as an order of the court, the parent will have to complete these tasks as 
well as those that were initially court-ordered so the plan should be comprehensive and 
individually tailored.

CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
•	 Review the child’s plan of service and review with the client, if developmentally 

appropriate.
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•	 Prepare any requested modifications to either the child’s or parent’s plan of service.

PARENT’S AND CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
Review the Concurrent Issues, Child’s Attorney Issues, and Parent’s Attorney Issues sections 
of this tool kit to be prepared to advocate a position on:

•	 Placement of the Child
•	 Child Support and Kinship Support
•	 Visitation
•	 Child Well-Being
•	 Normalcy

Practice Tip: If DFPS has failed to set up services, provide parent-child visits or initiate 
and/or complete home studies, consider filing a motion to enforce the court orders that 
were entered at the Adversary Hearing rather than waiting for the next statutorily 
required hearing. Filing a motion can create a sense of urgency to timely address issues 
that can delay reunification or permanency.

COURT ACTION
At the Status Hearing the court must:

•	 Advise unrepresented parents of their right to be represented by counsel and, if 
indigent, of their right to court-appointed counsel, and appoint counsel as required. 
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.0061, 263.203(a);

•	 Assess service and diligent search efforts to locate any missing parents (including 
alleged fathers) Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(a);

•	 Review the service plan that DFPS filed for reasonableness, accuracy, and compliance 
with requirements of court orders and make findings as to whether the service plan has 
a goal of returning the child to their parents adequately ensures that reasonable efforts 
are made to enable the child’s parents to provide a safe environment for the child. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.202 (b)(1);

•	 Make a finding as to whether the parents have had an opportunity to review and 
understand the service plan and advise the parents that their parental and custodial 
duties and rights may be subject to restriction or to termination. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 
263.006, 263.202(b)(2);

•	 Determine whether the service plan is narrowly tailored to address specific issues 
identified by DFPS. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(b)(3);

•	 Determine whether the child’s parents and the representative of DFPS have signed the 
plan. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(b)(4);

•	 Make specific findings and orders regarding visitation, service plan, medical consent 
(and psychotropic medications if prescribed), continued placement in a RTC or QRTP. 
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.109, 263.202(b), 262.202(b-1), 263.202(e), 263.202(b)(5)-(6);

•	 Review DFPS’ filed report and inquire into the sufficiency of DFPS’ efforts to identify, 
locate, and provide information described by Tex. Fam. Code § 262.1095(a), and order 
DFPS to make further efforts if the court determines that DFPS’ efforts have not been 
sufficient. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(f);

•	 Ask all parties about Native American heritage and the identity of any Tribe(s). Tex. 
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Fam. Code § 263.202(f-1);
•	 Allow the parents the opportunity to comment on the service plan. Tex. Fam. Code § 

263.202(g);
•	 If a child placement resources form has not been submitted, require each parent, 

alleged father, or other person to whom DFPS is required to provide a form to submit a 
completed form and inquire from all parties whether the child has had the opportunity to 
provide information regarding potential caregivers and whether individuals identified 
by the child are listed on the proposed Child Placement Resources Form. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 263.202(h); 

•	 Inform relatives serving as placement for a child of the ability to become a licensed 
foster parent and apply for PCA. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(i); 

•	 Advise the parties that their progress under the service plan will be reviewed at all 
subsequent hearings, including a review of whether the parties have acquired or 
learned any specific skills or knowledge stated in the service plan. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.203(b); and

•	 Set a Permanency Hearing no later than 180 days after TMC is granted. 

Practice Tip: If a client is seeking additional relief such as a contested placement change 
that will require a hearing separate from the Status Hearing, the most efficient way of 
obtaining a setting may be to file a motion for the requested relief and have it on file prior 
to the Status Hearing. Then request that a hearing be set on this motion at the same time 
as the Status Hearing while everyone is present in court.

Note: The court may waive the requirement of a service plan and the requirement to make 
reasonable efforts to return the child to a parent and may accelerate the trial schedule to result 
in a final order for a child under the care of DFPS at an earlier date than provided by Tex. Fam. 
Code Chapter 263, Subchapter D if the court finds that the parent has subjected the child to 
aggravated circumstances as defined by Tex. Fam. Code § 262.2015.
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Permanency Hearing Before Final Order Checklist
15 Minutes; up to 25 suggested best practice

Statutory

 ͠ Identify those present
 ͠ Child in attendance    
 ͠ DFPS due diligence to locate and serve parties 
not present

 ͠ Paternity issues/Paternity Registry 
 ͠ Parent, alleged father or relative provided locating 
information for absent parents, alleged fathers, or 
relatives

 ͠ If parent is unrepresented, inform of right to 
counsel, determine indigency, and appoint 
attorney

 ͠ Need for language interpretation 
 ͠ Inquire about Indian/Native American Heritage
 ͠ Citizenship issues, consulate notified 
 ͠ Compliance with orders/Service Plan and progress 
made   

 ͠ Parties and those present heard and provided 
opportunity to present evidence 

 ͠ If caregiver is present, must be given opportunity 
to provide information about the child.

 ͠ Review efforts to place child with a relative
 ͠ If child with relative, inform about Permanency 
Care Assistance  

 ͠ Review Permanency Progress Report:
 ● Safety and well-being of child
 ● Child’s needs (medical/special) 
 ● Child’s placement
 ● Evidence as to whether DFPS is able to place 

with relative
 ● Child’s primary and alternative permanency 

goals
 ● DFPS reasonable efforts to finalize permanency 

plan
 ● Child provided opportunity to express opinion 

about medical care
 ● Child provided opportunity to provide information 

about possible relative or other caregiver
 ● For child receiving psychotropic medication, 

whether child has:

 ◦ been provided non-pharmacological 
interventions.

 ◦ seen prescribing physician every 90 days for 
review 

 ● Child’s Education Decision-Maker identified, 
education needs and goals identified and 
addressed, and major changes in school 
performance or disciplinary events 

 ● If 14 or older, transition services to assist from 
care to independent living 

 ● For child with goal of APPLA:
 ◦ child’s desired permanency outcome; and 
 ◦ whether APPLA best permanency plan; if 

so, provide compelling reasons why not in 
child’s best interest to:
 ▪ return home,
 ▪ adoption,
 ▪ placed with legal guardian, or
 ▪ placed with a fit and willing relative

 ◦ whether DFPS has conducted an Independent 
Living Skills (ILS) assessment for all youth 16 
and older in TMC

 ◦ whether DFPS has addressed the goals 
identified in the youth’s permanency plan 

 ◦ For youth 16 years of age or older, whether 
DFPS has provided documents required by 
Section 264.121(e)

 ◦ For youth 18 years or older, or has had 
disabilities of minority removed, whether 
DFPS has provided youth with documents 
and information listed in Section 264.121(e-
1)

 ͠ If the child is placed in an RTC or QRTP, whether 
continued placement in an RTC or QRTP is 
appropriate

 ͠ Child receiving appropriate medical care
 ͠ Child has regular, ongoing opportunities for age-
appropriate normalcy activities, including those 
not in child’s service plan

 ͠ If AAL hasn’t seen client, determine good cause 

At the Hearing:

 ͠ If first Permanency Hearing (PH), scheduled 
within 180 days after DFPS named TMC

 ͠ If subsequent PH, scheduled within 120 days of 
last PH

 ͠ 10 days’ notice provided 
 ͠ DFPS Permanency Progress Report filed at least 
10 days before PH and includes:   

 ● Child’s Permanency Plan 
 ● Summary of Medical Care   

 ͠ The court file includes: 
 ● Notification of Medical Consenter Form 2085-B 
 ● Education Decision-Maker Form 2085-E 
 ● Visitation Plan 

Prior to the Hearing:
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 ͠ Return the child to the parent or parents unless, 
with respect to each parent, there is a continuing 
danger to the health and safety of the child and 
returning home is contrary to the welfare of the 
child.

 ͠ Advise/warn custodial rights and duties subject to 
restriction or termination 

 ͠ Incorporate changes or modifications to Service 
Plan into order

 ͠ Likely date child returned home, placed for 
adoption, or placed in PMC

 ͠ Set next PH within 120 days or sooner
 ͠ Announce dismissal date and any upcoming 
hearings

At the End of the Hearing:

Court Findings

 ͠ If lack of notice, consider resetting hearing to 
secure attendance

 ͠ Engage parties with direct questions 
 ͠ Engage youth
 ͠ Ask DFPS direct,  child-specific questions about 
primary and concurrent goal 

 ͠ If not moving to positive permanency, set timelines 
and tasks to be completed prior to next hearing 

 ͠ AAL knowledgeable about child’s needs and legal 
objectives

 ͠ Set next PH at 90 instead of 120 days
 ͠ For Older Youth: 

 ● Family Group Decision Making 

 ● Preparation for Adult Living (PAL)
 ● If will turn 18 while in foster care:

 ◦ discuss extended foster care and trial 
independence

 ◦ ensure referrals to Texas Workforce 
Commission

 ◦ ensure appropriate documents in possession 
before leave care

 ͠ Ask the following questions:
 ● What is preventing this child from returning 

home today?
 ● How is my decision specific to this child and 

this family?
 ● Are there cultural issues we need to understand?

Best Practices

 ͠ Enrolled and in appropriate grade
 ͠ Remain in current school, even if placement 
changes

 ͠ If change placement, determine:
 ● Where child wants to attend school 
 ● Whether transportation is available
 ● Whether change coordinated with grading and 

testing periods
 ● Whether records/credits transferred 

 ͠ If 0-3, child assessed for developmental milestones 
through ECI

 ͠ If 0-5, enrolled in Early Head Start, Head Start, or 
Pre-Kindergarten

 ͠ Education Decision-Maker Form 2085-E on file
 ͠ School supports and disciplinary issues 
 ͠ Extracurricular activities/normalcy
 ͠ Evaluated for/receiving special education
 ͠ If 14 or older, postsecondary education plan

Education and Educational Decisions

 ͠  Summary of medical care:
 ● Nature of emergency medical care 
 ● All medical and mental health treatment 

receiving and progress 
 ● Any medication prescribed/progress 
 ● Caregiver compliance with treatment plan 

 ● Adverse reaction or side effects 
 ● Diagnosis or diagnostic tests 
 ● Activity to avoid that affect effectiveness of 

treatment
 ● Other info required 

Medical Care and Mental Health

Well-being Issues

Permanency Hearing Before Final Order Checklist
continued
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STATUTES 
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.002, 263.302, 263.304, 263.305, 263.306 

PURPOSE
Review status of the child and the permanency plan to ensure that the final hearing (trial on 
the merits) can be commenced before the dismissal date. 

STANDARD OF PROOF
Preponderance of the evidence.

 BEST INTEREST
Best interest of the child is always the primary consideration in determining conservatorship, 
possession, and access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.002. Also, best interest arises at the Permanency 
Hearings before a final order as follows:

•	 At each Permanency Hearing before a final hearing, the court shall make a finding 
on whether the child’s parents are willing and able to provide the child with a safe 
environment and whether the return of the child is in the child’s best interest. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.306(a-1)(6). But see also Tex. Fam. Code § 263.002(c). The court shall 
consult with the child if the child is four years of age or older and if the court determines 
it is in the child’s best interest. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.302.

ICWA
Unless the court has made a finding that a child is not an “Indian child,” the court must 
continue to ask whether the child or family has Native American heritage and identify any 
Tribe, especially if new parties have appeared at this stage of the case. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.306(a-1)(3).

If a Tribe confirms (or a court finds) that a child is an “Indian child,” please see the Indian 
Child Welfare Act section of this tool kit for information on how ICWA requirements will affect 
the case going forward.

PARENT’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
•	 Assess parent’s compliance and progress with temporary orders and the service plan.
•	 Assess whether there are services that need to be modified or eliminated.
•	 Assess whether the parent has addressed the circumstances that endangered the child 

such that returning the child to the parents does not constitute a continuing danger 
to the child and that returning the child to the parent is not contrary to the child’s 
welfare. 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: A client who has experienced trauma may be 
making progress and appear healthy but then relapse into old patterns and behaviors. 
Changing these behaviors takes time and may not be a straightforward or linear process. 
Targeted trauma-informed therapies and services can assist a client in healing. It may 
be appropriate to ask the court to include trauma-informed therapies or services in the 
service plan to improve the likelihood for success.
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PARENT’S AND CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
Review the Concurrent Issues, Child’s Attorney Issues, and Parent’s Attorney Issues sections of 
this tool kit and be prepared to advocate a position on:

•	 Placement of the Child
•	 Visitation
•	 Child Well-Being
•	 Normalcy
•	 Reasonable Efforts to Return the Child Home 

Additionally, Parents’ and Children’s attorneys should address:

•	 What are the diligent search efforts for any missing parties?
•	 What is the permanency plan for the child?
•	 What is the factual basis for the permanency plan?
•	 Is the client in agreement or opposition with the permanency plan?
•	 Is mediation appropriate at this stage of the case?

CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION FOR CLIENT WHO MAY NOT ACHIEVE 
POSITIVE PERMANENCY
For a child whose permanency plan is Another Planned Permanent Living Arrangement 
(APPLA), consider:

•	 What is the child’s desired permanency outcome?
•	 Have the goals identified in the child’s permanency plan been addressed?
•	 Has the child had an Independent Living Skills (ILS) assessment done and what were 

the results? Are any further services needed as a result?
•	 If the child is 16 or older, determine whether the child has the original or certified 

copies of personal documents (not photocopies) which include Texas Identification card, 
birth certificate, Social Security card, and if child was not born in the United States, 
the child’s immigration or citizenship documents which are required by law. Tex. Fam. 
Code §§ 264.121(e), 263.306(a-1)(5)(I)(v).

•	 If the child is 18 or older or has had the disabilities of minority removed, have original 
or certified copies (not photocopies) of personal documents been delivered to the client? 
Required documents include Texas Identification card, birth certificate, Social Security 
card. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 264.121(e-1)-(e-2), 263.306(a-1)(5)(I)(vi).

•	 If the child was not born in the United States, determine whether DFPS has possession 
of the child’s immigration or citizenship documents and request they be turned over to 
the child.

Practice Tip: If mediation is appropriate and in the client’s interest at this stage of 
the case consider a motion requesting mediation. If another party objects to mediation, 
request that the court order mediation.

REQUIRED COURT ACTION
The court must:
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•	 Advise the parents that their parental and custodial duties and rights may be subject 
to restriction or to termination. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.006.

•	 Advise unrepresented parents of their right to be represented by counsel and, if 
indigent, of their right to court-appointed counsel and appoint counsel as required. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 263.0061.

•	 Order the return of the child to a parent unless the court finds that returning the 
child to that parent presents a continuing danger to the child and the return would be 
contrary to the welfare of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.002(c); The order returning 
the child may be a monitored return under Tex. Fam. Code § 263.403. But see also Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.306(a-1)(6). 

•	 Identify persons and parties present, review the status of service of process and search 
efforts, ask about Native American heritage and any Tribes the child is associated with, 
review compliance with temporary orders and service plan, as well as progress toward 
mitigating the need for foster care placement, and review DFPS efforts to provide the 
child with regular, ongoing opportunities to engage in normalcy activities;

•	 If a child is placed in or referred to an RTC or QRTP, the court shall make specific 
findings about the child’s needs and the suitability of that placement. Tex. Fam. Code 
§§ 263.002(e)-(f) and 263.306(a-1)(5)(J)-(K).

•	 Review the permanency plan to assess each component (child safety and well-being, 
necessity for placement, appropriateness of permanency goals, whether the child has 
had opportunity to express opinion on any medical care, compliance with specific 
requirements if psychotropic medications are prescribed, education issues, and 
transitional care issues);

•	 For a child with an APPLA permanency goal:

o	 a compelling reason why another plan is not in child’s best interest;
o	 whether DFPS has conducted an Independent Living Skills (ILS) assessment;
o	 whether DFPS has addressed the goals of the permanency plan, including a housing 

plan and the results of the ILS assessment;
o	 for youth 16 or older, whether DFPS has provided required documents per Tex. 

Fam. Code §§ 264.121(e)(1),263.306(a-1)(5)(H)(v);
o	 for youth 18 or older, or youth with disabilities of minority removed, whether DFPS 

has provided required documents; Tex. Fam. Code §§ 264.121(e-1), 263.306(a-1)(5)
(H)(vi); and

o	 for a child not placed with a relative or designated caregiver, review the placement 
and include in its findings a statement whether the child is placed with a relative 
or designated caregiver. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.002(b);

•	 Estimate a likely date for the child to be returned, adopted, or placed in PMC;
•	 Retain jurisdiction and permit the child to transition home under a transition monitored 

return while the parents complete services, or order a monitored return to parents if 
appropriate and in the child’s best interest;

•	 Set a subsequent Permanency Hearing date no more than 120 days later until a final 
order is rendered;

•	 Announce in open court the automatic dismissal date and the date of any subsequent 
hearings. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.306(a-1);

•	 Inquire from all parties whether the child has had the opportunity to provide 
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information regarding potential caregivers and whether individuals identified by the 
child are listed on the proposed child placement resources form; and

•	 Inform relatives serving as placement for a child of the ability to become a licensed 
foster parent and apply for PCA.

Practice Tip: If discovery has not already been served on opposing parties, it may be 
appropriate to begin the process now to ensure it can be completed in advance of trial.      
See the Discovery section of this tool kit for more information.

SUBSEQUENT PERMANENCY HEARINGS
A subsequent Permanency Hearing before entry of a final order must be held within 120 days 
of the previous Permanency Hearing in the suit (although it can be held sooner than 120 days). 
At such a hearing, the court reviews the progress of the parents, the status of the child, and 
the permanency goal.

Practice Tip: If the case can benefit from mediation, consider requesting that mediation 
by the parties prior to trial be ordered by the court. In addition, if helpful to obtaining a 
final agreement, ask that any non-parties that may be subject to a final order be authorized 
to attend mediation. For example, if a grandmother may be granted PMC of the children, 
it is best to have her sign off on the Mediated Settlement Agreement (MSA) to indicate 
her willingness to do so. 
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CALCULATING THE AUTOMATIC DISMISSAL DATE
The dismissal clock begins to run on the date when the court first grants TMC to DFPS. Unless 
the court has commenced the trial on the merits by that dismissal date, with few exceptions, a 
SAPCR filed by DFPS is automatically dismissed on the first Monday after the first anniversary 
of the date the court rendered an order appointing DFPS as TMC. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401(a).

Practice Tip: Pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code. § 263.401, the dismissal deadline is automatic, 
and the court loses jurisdiction by operation of law if a trial is not commenced before the 
deadline date. A timely motion to dismiss the suit is not required.

From the date DFPS is awarded TMC, the viability of obtaining a final order in the allotted 
time should be assessed on an ongoing basis. Exceptions to the one-year dismissal date are 
extremely limited but are important to keep in mind as the lawsuit evolves, in case requesting 
an extension might be needed.

EXTRAORDINARY CIRCUMSTANCES
If the court finds that extraordinary circumstances necessitate the child remaining in the TMC 
of DFPS and that continuing the appointment of DFPS as the TMC is in the child’s best interest, 
the court may grant an extension of no more than 180 days. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401(b).

•	 The court must consider a parent’s good faith attempt to complete a drug rehab program 
when granting an extension of the deadline.

•	 The court shall find that extraordinary circumstances exist if: 

o	 a parent has made a good faith effort to successfully complete the service plan but 
needs additional time, and 

o	 on completion of the service plan the court intends to order the child returned to the 
parent. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401(b-3).

Practice Tip: An agreement by the parties to seek an extension does not constitute a 
finding of extraordinary circumstances. Attorneys might exercise caution about relying 
on such an agreement, as the judge may still deny the extension if the court determines 
that extraordinary circumstances are not present.

Practice Tip: Waiting until the last minute to request an extension can limit the court’s 
discretion. If there is no active trial setting before the original deadline and no time to 
obtain a setting when the request for the extension is made, the court can only grant the 
extension or allow the case to be dismissed. The court may disagree that extraordinary 
circumstances are present but no longer has the flexibility to order the case proceed to 
trial under the original deadline.
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Practice Tip: An extension of the deadline under Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401 requires 
the court to find that extraordinary circumstances necessitate the child remaining in 
conservatorship of DFPS. Technical issues that prevent a trial from commencing such as 
lack of notice, lack of service, or lack of a trial setting may or may not equate to extraordinary 
circumstances. If a client opposes the extension, consider challenging the sufficiency of 
the evidence for granting an extension based on extraordinary circumstances.

MONITORED RETURN OR TRANSITION MONITORED RETURN
Alternatively, the court may also retain jurisdiction and continue the TMC of DFPS and enter 
an order to:

•	 Return the child to the parent (a “monitored return”); or
•	 Transition the child to the home while the parent completes necessary services specified 

in the temporary order and order DFPS to remain as TMC and to monitor the child’s 
placement (a “transition monitored return”).

In the case of a monitored return, the court shall schedule a new dismissal date 180 days after 
the monitored return is ordered, regardless of whether the deadline has been extended. Under 
the transition monitored return, the deadline is still extended by 180 days, and after the 180 
days, the court may retain jurisdiction for an additional six months for the parent to complete 
services specified in the temporary order, unless the court has already granted an extension 
under Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401(b).

If a child must be removed from the parent’s home or the court terminates a transition order 
during this period, the court must set a new dismissal date no later than the original dismissal 
date or 180 days after the child is moved, whichever is later. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.403.
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Transition/Monitored Return

The court can order a  
Regular Monitored Return  

under Section 263.403(a)(2)(A).

The Family Code does not authorize 
any type of extension associated with 
a Monitored Return ordered pursuant  

to Section 263.403(a)(2)(A).  
Per Section 263.403(b), the court 

must schedule a new dismissal date 
not later than the 180th day after the 
court enters the order unless the court 

commences a trial on the merits.

Under Section 263.403(a-1), the 
Court can order an additional  

six months for the parent to complete 
the service requirements specified 
in the temporary order during a 

Transition Monitored Return granted 
pursuant to Section 263.403(a)(2)(B), 

but only if no extension under  
Section 263.401 was already granted. 

The court can order a  
Transition Monitored Return under 

Section 263.403(a)(2)(B).

If the court has not granted an extension  
of the 12 month deadline under 263.401(b): 

Extends 180 days per  
Section 263.403(b).

After an extension period has  
been granted pursuant to 263.401(b):

The court can order a  
Regular Monitored Return under 
either Section 263.403(a)(2)(A).

The court can order a 
Transitioned Monitored Return 
under Section 263.403(a)(2)(B).

But the additional  
six months of 263.403(a-1)  

are not available.

OR
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Updated October 2023

Final Hearing Checklist for Non-Jury Trial
Statutory

 ͠ Note appearances of all parties present 

 ͠ Take announcements about readiness to proceed 
to trial

 ͠ Rule on any pending pretrial motions 

 ͠ Opening Statements, unless waived 

 ͠ Presentation of evidence 

 ͠ Evidence
 ● Grounds for termination 
 ● Holley v. Adams best interest factors:

 ◦ desires of the child
 ◦ emotional and physical needs of child now  

and in future

 ◦ emotional and physical danger to child now 
and in future

 ◦ parental abilities of individuals seeking 
custody

 ◦ programs available to assist those individuals 
to promote best interest of child

 ◦ plans for child by these individuals or by 
agency seeking custody

 ◦ stability of home or proposed placement
 ◦ acts or omissions of parent which may 

indicate that existing parent-child relationship 
not a proper one

 ◦ any excuse for acts or omissions of the 
parent

 ● Reasonable efforts by DFPS
 ͠ Closing arguments, unless waived

At the Hearing:

 ͠ Notice provided to parties within 45 days of trial 

 ͠ All parties served

 ͠ Legal relief properly plead

 ͠ Compliance with Indian Child Welfare Act, if 
applicable

Prior to the Final Hearing:

 ͠ Determine if met burden of proof:
 ● Termination of Parental Rights: Clear and 

Convincing Evidence (Grounds + Best Interest 
+ Reasonable Efforts)

 ● Conservatorship: Preponderance of the 
Evidence 

 ● If ICWA applies: Beyond a Reasonable Doubt
 ͠ If termination, appoint DFPS or individual as 
managing conservator (MC) 

 ͠ If no termination and DFPS awarded MC, must 
find that:

 ● Appointment of parent not in child’s best interest 
because would significantly impair child’s 
physical health or emotional development; and 

 ● Not in child’s best interest to appoint relative 
of child or another person as managing 
conservator

 ͠ If no termination and DFPS awarded MC, consider 
whether: 

 ● The child will turn 18 in not less than 3 years;
 ● The child is at least 12 years old or has 

continuously expressed a strong desire against 
being adopted; and

 ● Needs and desires of child 
 ͠ Advise parties of right to appeal 

 ͠ Set Permanency Hearing After Final Order 
(PHAFO) within 90 days if MC granted to DFPS 
with termination

 ͠ Set PHAFO within 180 days if MC granted to DFPS 
without termination

 ͠ Continue appointment of child’s attorney ad litem 
(AAL), or guardian ad litem (GAL), or attorney 
in the dual role as long as the child is in the 
conservatorship of DFPS

At the End of the Hearing:
Court Findings

 ͠ Remind Parent Attorney of appellate duties  ͠ Set initial hearings sooner than statutorily required 
to ensure progress toward child’s permanency 
goal

Best Practices
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A Final Hearing (trial on the merits) must commence, or an extension must be granted, before 
the dismissal deadline or the court will lose jurisdiction over the case and the suit will be 
automatically dismissed without a court order. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401.

STATUTES
Tex. Fam. Code §§161.001, 263.401, 263.404

PURPOSE
To obtain a final order prior to the dismissal date.

STANDARD OF PROOF
If termination of parental rights is requested, the standard of proof is clear and convincing 
evidence. If PMC or any other type of conservatorship that does not result in termination 
is requested, the standard is preponderance of the evidence, unless ICWA applies, in which 
case the burden shifts to beyond a reasonable doubt and a Qualified Expert Witness (QEW) is 
required.

BEST INTEREST
The focus at a termination trial is on best interest factors (including, but not limited to: child’s 
age and physical and mental vulnerabilities, frequency and nature of out-of-home placements, 
history of abusive or assaultive conduct by the child’s family or other with access to home; history 
of substance abuse by child’s family or others with access to home; whether the perpetrator of 
the harm to child has been identified; and special considerations for children 16 years of age or 
older), as well as on the Holley factors. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.307; Holley v. Adams, 544 S. W. 
2d 367 (Tex. 1976). DFPS must prove at least one ground for termination plus that termination 
of parental rights is in the child’s best interest. Please see the Best Interest section in this tool 
kit for more information.

ICWA
If ICWA applies, termination of parental rights requires proof beyond a reasonable doubt, 
including qualified testimony of a QEW, that the parent’s continued custody “is likely to 
result in serious emotional or physical damage to the child.” 25 U.S.C. § 1912(f). DFPS must 
demonstrate that “active efforts” were made to reunify, as well as other requirements. Please 
see the Indian Child Welfare Act section in this tool kit for more information.

HEARING BEFORE ASSOCIATE JUDGE
Judges in civil proceedings may refer cases to associate judges appointed both under Tex. Fam. 
Code Chapter 201, Subchapters A and C to handle the disposition of a variety of case-related 
matters, including trials on the merits in termination of parental rights. Tex. Fam. Code § 
201.005(a). 

Referral to an associate judge is not binding on the parties, and if any party timely objects, 
the referring court must hear the trial on the merits or preside at a jury trial. Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 201.005(b)-(c). Barring an objection, however, an associate judge may determine the merits 
in either a bench or a jury trial, subject to the parties’ post-trial right to request a “de novo 
hearing” before the referring court, which must be heard within thirty days of a timely de novo 
request. Tex. Fam. Code § 201.015.

A party desiring a trial before the referring court rather than the associate judge must file an 
objection not later than the 10th day after the date the party receives notice that the associate 
judge will hear the trial. If an objection is filed, the referring court shall hear the trial on the 



97

Statutory H
earings

merits or preside at a jury trial, if a jury demand has been timely made. Tex. Fam. Code § 
201.005(c). 

PREPARATION FOR A CONTESTED TRIAL
The preparation required for a contested trial varies greatly depending on the relief requested, 
the evidence, and whether a jury is requested. The practice tips below outline some general 
principles that attorneys for parents and children may consider when approaching a contested 
trial. Attorneys should seek additional materials, resources, and training to ensure adequate 
preparation.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: A parent’s attorney should work with their client in 
the months leading up to trial to answer discovery so that all necessary witnesses may be 
called, and all necessary exhibits may be admitted. All service providers and any other 
witnesses the client wants to call to testify at trial should be interviewed. An attorney 
should discuss with their client the burden of proof required, the anticipated evidence 
from all parties, and any alternative relief requested. Attorneys should prepare their 
clients to testify on both direct and cross examination.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: A child’s attorney should not rely on the prosecutor 
and parents’ attorneys to call witnesses and submit evidence relevant to their client’s 
interests. A child’s attorney should be prepared to call their own witnesses and introduce 
their own exhibits. If aligned with one party, the attorney should collaborate with that 
party on trial strategy and issue subpoenas for witnesses and exhibits that will advance 
the client’s interests at trial. If the case is being tried to a jury, an attorney could request 
strikes separate from other parties, but be aware the court may require aligned parties to 
share strikes. During voir dire, it is essential that the panel understands the independent 
role of the child’s attorney and develops trust in the attorney so that they are prepared to 
act on the ad litem attorney’s recommendations. A child’s attorney should have pleadings 
on file to seek relief requested on behalf of the child that is not sought by another party.

Practice Tip: When making a record, it is helpful to avoid terms of art or acronyms and 
to remember the basics of examining a witness (e.g., identify all witnesses in the record 
and their relationship to the case). If examining the caseworker(s), it is important to 
establish their relationship to the case, and the basis of their knowledge about it (how 
long have they been working on the case, etc.).

PREPARATION FOR AN AGREED OR DEFAULT FINAL ORDER

Termination of Parental Rights

Termination of parental rights requires evidence of the following:

•	 At least one ground for termination of parental rights against a parent;
•	 Evidence that termination is in the best interest of the child; and that DFPS made 

reasonable efforts to return the child, and that despite those reasonable efforts, a 
continuing danger remains in the home that prevents the return of the child to the 
parent; or 
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•	 The court waived a service plan under Tex. Fam. Code §262.2015 (aggravated 
circumstances). 

The court must make findings related to reasonable efforts in writing with specificity in a 
separate section of the final order. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 161.001(b)(1),(b)(2),(f), and (g).

Appointment of DFPS as PMC

The appointment of DFPS as a child’s permanent managing conservator without termination 
of parental rights is only appropriate if a more permanent option for a child is not possible. 
This requires evidence that:

•	 Appointment of a parent as managing conservator would not be in the child’s best 
interest because it would significantly impair the child’s physical health or emotional 
development; and

•	 It would not be in the child’s best interest to appoint a relative or another person as 
managing conservator.

In making this determination, the court shall consider:

•	 That the child will be 18 years old in less than three years, 
•	 The child is 12 or older and has expressed a strong desire against termination and 

continuously expressed a strong desire against being adopted, and 
•	 The needs and desires of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.404.

Transition Plan Requirements for Certain Youth

As part of the Final Hearing, the court must verify the following for any child who goes into 
PMC of DFPS and who has an APPLA:

•	 If the child is 14 or older: that DFPS has conducted an independent living skills 
(ILS) assessment for the child as provided under Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121(a-3); that 
DFPS has addressed the goals identified in the child’s permanency plan, including the 
child’s housing plan, and the results of the ILS assessment;

•	 If the child is 16 or older: that there is evidence that DFPS has provided the youth 
with the documents and information listed in Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121(e); and

•	 If the child is 18 or older or has had the disabilities of minority removed: 
that there is evidence that DFPS has provided the youth with the documents and 
information listed in Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121(e-1). Tex. Fam. Code § 263.4041.

Entering a Default Judgment

A default judgment must conform to the pleadings served on the respondent. The record must 
show:

•	 Service of citation, no Answer, and the Citation Return on file at least 10 days before 
trial;

•	 An order appointing an attorney ad litem for the absent parent, if appointment of 
counsel is mandatory;

•	 Evidence to support at least one of the termination grounds plead, that termination 
is in the child’s best interest and that DFPS made reasonable efforts to return the 
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child, and despite those reasonable efforts, a continuing danger remains in the home 
that prevents the return of the child to the parent, if the judgment seeks termination 
against one or both parents;

•	 A “statement of the evidence” approved and signed by the judge which should 
demonstrate the diligence used to locate the defendant if citation by publication was 
requested;

•	 Proof of compliance with the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA) (please see the 
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act section in this tool kit for more information); and

•	 For an alleged father, evidence that the alleged father has not registered his paternity 
or filed a paternity action or an admission of paternity.

Entering Agreed Orders

Agreed Final Orders can be entered by a court when all parties have reached agreement, 
typically achieved during a settlement conference or in mediation. The order must provide 
for the permanency of the children, whether this be to return home, to be placed permanently 
with a relative as managing conservator, or voluntary relinquishment of parental rights and 
awarding PMC to DFPS.

Practice Tip: Elicit testimony on best interest for both prove-ups and agreed orders. The 
testimony should be specific to the child and sufficient to meet the burden of proof, not 
merely a yes or no answer. Agreed orders should be dictated into the record and reflected 
in the final order. If there is a mediated settlement agreement, consider attaching a copy 
of it to the final order.

Practice Tip: Attorneys for parents and children should consider the following issues 
before entering a final order dismissing DFPS as conservator:

•	 Is there a court of continuing jurisdiction?
•	 Is there a prior order establishing a parent-child relationship?
•	 Are there multiple prior orders regarding different children that should be consolidated?
•	 Has child support for each child from each party been addressed?
•	 Has medical insurance and dental insurance been addressed for each child?
•	 Has visitation between each child and each conservator been established and is the 

language specific enough to be enforceable later, if needed?

COURT ACTION
The court may terminate parental rights on one or more grounds and/or name a permanent 
managing conservator for the child.

If PMC is awarded to DFPS, the court must set a date for the next hearing as follows:

•	 If DFPS was granted PMC and parental rights were terminated, the court must conduct 
the initial Permanency Hearing After Final Order within 90 days of the Final Order 
and hold subsequent hearings at least once every six months until the child is adopted 
or DFPS is no longer the conservator. 
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•	 If DFPS was granted PMC and parental rights were not terminated, the court must 
conduct a Permanency Hearing After Final Order at least once every six months until 
DFPS is no longer the conservator.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: An attorney for a child in PMC may request Permanency 
Hearings more frequently than every six months. More frequent hearings may be 
especially important for children in PMC who do not yet have a finalized permanency 
plan or are not in permanent family placement. 

TRANSITION PLAN REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTAIN YOUTH
As part of the Final Hearing, the court must verify the following for any child who goes into 
PMC and who has an APPLA permanency goal:

•	 If the child is 14 or older: that DFPS has conducted an Independent Living Skills 
Assessment (ILSA) for the child as provided under Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121(a-3); that 
DFPS has addressed the goals identified in the child’s permanency plan, including the 
child’s housing plan, and the results of the ILSA;

•	 If the child is 16 or older: that there is evidence that DFPS has provided the youth 
with the documents and information listed in Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121(e); and

•	 If the child is 18 or older or has had the disabilities of minorities removed: 
that there is evidence that DFPS has provided the youth with the documents and 
information listed in Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121 (e-1). Tex. Fam. Code § 263.4041

90-DAY DEADLINE TO RENDER FINAL ORDER; EXTENSION
The court must render a final order not later than the 90th day after trial commences. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.4011(a). The remedy for failing to render a final order within the specified 
time period is to file a mandamus requesting that the court render a final order. 

Note: The 90-day period IS NOT tolled for any recess during the trial.

The court may extend the 90-day period for the period the court determines necessary if, after 
a hearing, the court finds good cause for the extension.

Note: An extension of the 90-day period requires both a hearing and a written order specifying 
the grounds on which the extension is granted and the length of the extension.
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Appellate Transition
At the conclusion of a final hearing, a trial attorney has duties relating to a potential appeal. 
This is true even if the trial attorney is not competent or inclined to pursue the appeal. An 
attorney must notify the client of the right to appeal and provide the client with information 
regarding deadlines and the time-sensitive nature of the appeal. The attorney should also 
advise their client about the nature of the appeals process and how it is different from trial. 
The same considerations apply to an attorney ad litem for the child who desires to appeal the 
judgment as they do to an attorney for a parent. See Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.003(a)(1)(F) & (G). 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: If the client requests an appeal, consider requesting 
visitation pending the appeal. If the case is reversed and rendered, and no visits have 
been occurring, the transition may be very confusing or traumatic to a child who may not 
have seen their parent in many months.

CRITICAL DEADLINES

20 Days After Judgment

•	 A request for findings must be filed. Tex. R. Civ. P. 296.
•	 Notice of appeal must be filed with the trial court. Tex. R. App. P. 26.1(b)

30 Days After Judgment

•	 Post-judgment motions must be filed. Tex. R. Civ. P. 329B(a) & (g). 

35 Days After Judgment

•	 An extension to file a notice of appeal is due (15 days after the deadline for filing the 
original notice of appeal.) Tex. R. App. P. 26.3.

FINALITY/APPEALABILITY
Generally, a party may appeal only from a final judgment. Tex. Fam. Code § 109.002(b); but 
see Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 51.014 for exceptions. A judgment is final “if it disposes 
of all pending parties and claims in the record, except as necessary to carry out the decree.” 
Lehmann v. Har-Con Corp., 39 S.W.3d 191, 195 (Tex. 2001). An order following a trial on the 
merits is presumed final. Id. at 198-99. 

Practice Tip: Counsel should ensure that the judgment is final by verifying that all of 
the parties’ claims and counterclaims are resolved by the final order rendered by the trial 
court. If not, the judgment is not final, appeal is premature, and counsel for the party 
considering appeal should act to resolve the remaining claims. 

A party need not request a de novo hearing from a referring court before appealing, petitioning 
for review, or requesting relief from an appellate court. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 201.016(a); 201.318(a). 
When an order by an associate judge is (or is not) final, see Tex. Fam. Code §§ 201.007(c); 
201.016(b) & (c); 201.306(b); 201.318(b)-(c). 

Practice Tip: If an associate judge presided over final trial, a request for a de novo 
hearing must be filed with the clerk of the referring court no later than the third working 
day after receiving notice of the associate judge’s order.
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CONTINUATION OF RIGHT TO COUNSEL
An appointed attorney ad litem for a parent “continues to serve in that capacity” until the 
date the suit is dismissed, the date all appeals are exhausted or waived, or until “the date the 
attorney is relieved of the attorney’s duties or replaced by another attorney after a finding of 
good cause is rendered by the court on the record.” Tex. Fam. Code § 107.016(2). The right to 
appointed counsel continues from the trial court to courts of appeal and to the Texas Supreme 
Court. In re P.M., 520 S.W.3d 24, 27 (Tex. 2016). 

TRIAL COUNSEL DUTIES: ACTION STEPS IF A CLIENT REQUESTS AN 
APPEAL
Appointed counsel may be unwilling or unable to prosecute an appeal or petition for review for 
a parent but they have a legal and ethical duty to continue the representation until relieved 
of duties or replaced by the trial court. “Trial counsel’s failure to follow through with his 
representation until relieved of that duty was tantamount to abandoning his client at a critical 
stage of the proceeding.” In re J.O.A., 283 S.W.3d 336, 343 (Tex. 2009). 

Appointed trial counsel must consider whether certain steps should be taken to ensure an appeal 
occurs and that it has the best chance of success. Counsel planning to withdraw or already 
having withdrawn may still owe ethical duties to the client or former client. Tex. Disciplinary 
Rules Prof’l Conduct R. 1.15(d). Satisfying the client’s right may include the following: 

•	 Notify the client of the right to appeal and provide the client with information regarding 
deadlines and the time-sensitive nature of the case; 

•	 File a Motion for Discharge of Attorney and Appointment of Appellate Attorney 
immediately upon being notified that the client wishes to appeal if notified within the 
time allowed to appeal, infra; 

•	 Notify the court coordinator that the Motion for Discharge has been filed due to the 
time-sensitive nature of the appeal; 

•	 File a Notice of Appeal with the District Clerk’s Office to perfect the appeal; 
•	 Obtain the order appointing appellate counsel from the court; 
•	 Notify newly appointed appellate counsel of appointment by e-mail and telephone due 

to the time-sensitive nature of the appeal; 
•	 Provide appellate counsel with the name and contact information for the client as well 

as suggested issues/points for appeal; and
•	 Provide the client with the name and contact information for appellate counsel. 

SUBSTITUTION OF AN APPELLATE ATTORNEY
While some courts routinely replace trial counsel with appellate counsel following the rendition 
of a final judgment, the general rule permits appointed counsel to withdraw “only for good 
cause and on appropriate terms and conditions.” In re P.M., 520 S.W.3d at 27. Courts must 
ensure that withdrawal “will not result in foreseeable prejudice to the client.” Id. at 27. 

Communication between trial counsel and appellate counsel is imperative. In re J.O.A., 283 
S.W.3d at 343-44. The Supreme Court of Texas recognized that the shorter deadlines combined 
with a change in attorneys can lead to “misunderstandings as to which attorney is responsible 
for filing a motion for new trial … and a notice of appeal,” among other things. Id. at 343. 
Given these issues, the Supreme Court suggested that “the burden should logically fall on trial 
counsel” to ensure appellate preparation is complete. Id. at 344. 
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FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
In civil bench trials, the appealing party should comply with Tex. R. Civ. P. 296-299a, which is 
the process by which a party requests and a trial court supplies findings of fact and conclusions 
of law. Usually, it is improper to include findings of fact in a judgment. Tex. R. Civ. P. 299a. 

However, in SAPCRs filed by a governmental entity, “the judgment must state the specific 
grounds for termination or for appointment of the managing conservator.” Tex. R. Civ. P. 306. 
Since judgments drafted by DFPS are very detailed and include the grounds for termination 
among many other statutory requirements, the judgment as signed should satisfy an 
appellant’s need for findings and conclusions. Consequently, requests for findings are typically 
not necessary in these appeals unless a party desires additional or amended findings. 

The timeline for challenging the findings in the judgment is short. A request for findings must 
be filed within twenty days of the signing of the judgment. Tex. R. Civ. P. 296. If the court does 
not file the amended or additional findings within twenty days of the request, the appellant 
must file a “Notice of Past Due Findings …” within thirty days of the original request. Tex. R. 
Civ. P. 297. After the court files its original findings, the appellant may request additional or 
amended findings within ten days. Tex. R. Civ. P. 298. This process is difficult and may result 
in waiver or presumed findings without careful attention. 

POST-JUDGMENT MOTIONS
After the judgment is rendered or signed, a party may file a post-judgment motion. These 
motions include a motion for new trial, a motion to modify, correct or reform a judgment, or the 
like. Tex. R. Civ. P. 329b. Post-judgment motions must be filed within thirty days of the date of 
the judgment. Tex. R. Civ. P. 329b(a) & (g). 

Post-judgment motions are important for several reasons. 

•	 They offer an opportunity to try to preserve error that may not have been preserved at 
trial (albeit a limited opportunity as many errors not properly challenged at trial are 
waived). 

•	 They provide the trial court an opportunity and time to reconsider its judgment. 
•	 A motion for new trial is required to preserve certain types of error in jury trials 

(jury misconduct, newly discovered evidence, factual insufficiency of the evidence, 
that a finding is against the overwhelming weight of the evidence, and incurable jury 
argument).

•	 A legal insufficiency or matter of law issue can be raised during a jury trial by a motion 
for directed verdict, an objection to the submission of a jury question, or a motion for a 
judgement notwithstanding the verdict (JNOV). 

A trial court retains plenary power for thirty days after it signs the final judgment under 
Tex. R. Civ. P. 329b(d), but if a post-judgment motion is timely filed the trial court retains 
plenary jurisdiction for thirty days from the time the motion is overruled by written order or by 
operation of law. Tex. R. Civ. P. 329b(e). If the court modifies, corrects, or reforms the judgment, 
the time for appeal runs from the date of the amended judgment. Tex. R. Civ. P. 329b(h). 

NOTICE OF APPEAL
Appeals of final orders terminating the parent-child relationship are given precedence and are 
accelerated under the Rules of Appellate Procedure. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 109.002(a-1); 263.405. 
Because the appeal is accelerated, the notice of appeal must be filed within twenty days after 
the judgment or order is signed. Tex. R. App. P. 26.1(b). 
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A post-judgment motion or request for findings of fact does not extend the time for filing a notice 
of appeal in a SAPCR originally filed by the government. Tex. R. App. P. 26.1(b) & 28.1(b). 

PERFECTING THE APPEAL 
The appeal is perfected when a party files the notice of appeal with the trial court clerk. Tex. 
R. App. P. 25.1(a). If mistakenly (but timely) filed with the appellate court clerk, the appeal is 
still perfected. Id. The specific content required in a notice of appeal is delineated in Tex. R. 
App. P. 25.1(d). The filing of the notice of appeal is the only jurisdictional requisite to perfect 
appeal. Tex. R. App. P. 25.1(b). 

Practice Tip: If a party misses the deadline for filing a notice of appeal, the party can 
opt to proceed to file the notice of appeal in the trial court as soon as possible and move 
for an extension of time in the appellate court. Tex. R. App. P 26.3. The deadline for filing 
an extension is fifteen days after the deadline for filing the original notice of appeal. Id. 
If in doubt as to the finality of the judgment, file the notice of appeal. Premature notices 
of appeal are treated as effective after the event that begins the notice of appeal period. 
Tex. R. App. P. 27.1(a). 

APPEALING WHEN ANOTHER PARTY FILES AN APPEAL
A party should consider a cross-appeal if the party wants to alter the trial court’s judgment. “A 
party who seeks to alter the trial court’s judgment or other appealable order must file a notice 
of appeal. The appellate court may not grant a party who does not file a notice of appeal more 
favorable relief than did the trial court except for just cause.” Tex. R. App. P. 25.1(c); but see 
Tex. R. Civ. P. 324(c) (may bring error by cross-point rather than notice of appeal in limited 
circumstances). If a party files a notice of appeal and another party desires to appeal, the latter 
party “may file a notice of appeal within the applicable period stated above or 14 days after the 
first filed notice of appeal, whichever is later.” Tex. R. App. P. 26.1(d). 
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Permanency Hearing After Final Order Checklist
15 Minutes; up to 25 suggested best practice

 ͠ Identify those present 
 ͠ Child in attendance
 ͠ Review DFPS efforts to notify of hearing
 ͠ Review Permanency Progress Report:

 ● Child’s safety and well-being
 ● Child’s needs (medical/special) 
 ● Child provided opportunity to provide 

information about possible relative or other 
caregiver

 ● Child’s placement, noting evidence as to 
whether DFPS can place child with relative

 ● If in institutional care, efforts to ensure least 
restrictive environment

 ● Primary/alternative permanency goals
 ● DFPS reasonable efforts to finalize the 

permanency plan:
 ◦ due diligence to place for adoption if rights 

terminated and child eligible; or
 ◦ APPLA, including appointing relative as PMC 

or returning the child to parent, if appropriate 
for child  

 ● For child with APPLA goal:
 ◦ desired permanency outcome; and
 ◦ whether APPLA best permanency plan; if so, 

compelling reasons why not in child’s best 
interest to:
 ▪ return home,
 ▪ be placed for adoption,
 ▪ be placed with legal guardian, or
 ▪ Be placed with fit and willing relative. 

 ◦ whether DFPS has conducted an 
Independent Living Skills (ILS) assessment 
for all youth 16 and older in TMC or PMC

 ◦ whether DFPS has conducted an ILS for all 
youth 14 and older in PMC 

 ◦ whether DFPS has addressed the goals 
identified in the youth’s permanency plan 

 ◦ for youth 16 years of age or older, whether 
DFPS has provided documents required by 
Section 264.121(e)

 ◦ for youth 18 years or older, or has had 
disabilities of minority removed, whether 
DFPS has provided youth with documents 
and information listed in Section 264.121(e-
1) 

 ● If 14 or older, services to assist in transitioning 
from care to independent living in community 

 ● Receiving appropriate medical care and 
provided opportunity to express opinion on 
medical care 

 ● If receiving psychotropic medication:
 ◦ provided appropriate non-pharmacological 

interventions, therapies, or strategies to 
meet needs; or

 ◦ seen by prescribing physician, physician 
assistant, or advanced practice nurse at 
least once every 90 days  

 ● Education Decision-Maker and education 
needs and goals identified, major changes in 
school performance or serious disciplinary 
events

 ● For child in PMC without termination, whether 
DFPS to provide services to parent for up to 6 
months after PH if:
 ◦ child not placed with relative or other 

individual, including foster parent, seeking 
PMC; and

 ◦ court determines further efforts at 
reunification with parent:
 ▪ in best interest of child; and
 ▪ likely to result in child’s safe return to   

 parent  
 ● DFPS identified family or other caring adult 

with permanent commitment to child
 ● If the child is placed in an RTC or QRTP, 

whether continued placement in an RTC or 
QRTP is appropriate

At the Hearing:

Statutory

 ͠ If parental rights terminated, first Permanency 
Hearing (PH) within 90 days of final order 

 ͠ If parent rights not terminated, first PH within 180 
days of final order 

 ͠ 10 days’ notice of hearing

 ͠ DFPS Permanency Progress Report filed 10 days 
before hearing; includes 

 ● Summary of Medical Care 
 ͠ The court file includes: 

 ● Notification of Medical Consenter Form 2085-B 
 ● Education Decision-Maker Form 2085-E 

Prior to the Hearing:
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 ͠ Issue court order  ͠ Set next PH within 180 days
At the End of the Hearing:

Court Findings

 ͠ If inadequate notice, consider resetting hearing to 
secure attendance

 ͠ Engage parties with direct questions
 ͠ Engage youth
 ͠ Ask DFPS direct, child-specific questions about 
both primary and concurrent goal

 ͠ Next PH by 90 or 120 instead of 180 days 
 ͠ For youth who will turn 18 while in care:

 ● Discuss extended foster care and trial 
independence

 ● Ensure referrals to Texas Workforce 
Commission

 ● Ensure delivery of documents before leave 
care

 ͠ Youth advised of eligibility for Family Group 
Decision Making or Circles of Support to discuss 
future plans

 ͠ Youth enrolled in PAL or provided transitional 
services after 14th birthday 

 ͠ Ask the following questions:
 ● What is preventing this child from achieving 

positive permanency?
 ● How is my decision specific to this child and 

this family?
 ● Are there cultural issues we need to understand?

Best Practices

 ͠ Enrolled in school/in appropriate grade
 ͠ Remains in current school, if placement change
 ͠ If  placement change, determine:

 ● Where child wants to attend school 
 ● Whether transportation available
 ● Whether change coordinated with grading and 

testing periods
 ● Whether records/credits transferred 

 ͠ If 0-3, child assessed for developmental milestones 
through ECI

 ͠ If 0-5, child enrolled in Early Head Start, Head 
Start, or Pre-Kindergarten

 ͠ Education Decision-Maker Form 2085-E on file
 ͠ School supports and disciplinary issues 
 ͠ Extracurricular activities/normalcy
 ͠ Evaluated/receiving special ed services
 ͠ If 14 or older, postsecondary education plan

Education and Educational Decisions

 ͠ Summary of medical care:
 ● Nature of emergency medical care 
 ● All medical and mental health treatment 

receiving and progress 
 ● Any medication prescribed/progress 
 ● Caregiver compliance with treatment plan 

 ● Adverse reaction or side effects 
 ● Diagnosis or diagnostic tests 
 ● Activity to avoid that affect effectiveness of 

treatment
 ● Other info required 

Medical Care and Mental Health

Well-being Issues

 ͠ Review DFPS efforts to ensure the child has 
regular, ongoing opportunities to engage in age-
appropriate normalcy activities, including activities 
not listed in the child’s service plan.

 ͠ Address citizenship issues, consulate notified, 
SIJS

 ͠ Ensure those present given opportunity to be 
heard and if caregiver is present, must be allowed 
to provide information

 ͠ If child with relative, inform about Permanency 
Care Assistance 

 ͠ Confer with child about permanency plan 
 ͠ If AAL has not seen client, form filed

Permanency Hearing After Final Order Checklist
Continued
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Permanency Hearing After Final Order
STATUTES 
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.002, 263.501, 263.5031, 264.121 

PURPOSE
To review the status of every child in PMC at least once every six months until DFPS is no 
longer the child’s permanent managing conservator (unless parental rights are terminated, 
when the first Permanency Hearing must be no later than 90 days after the date of the order 
terminating parental rights).

BURDEN OF PROOF
Preponderance of the evidence. 

CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
•	 If parental rights have been terminated, and the child is in their intended adoptive 

home, ensure that all steps are being taken to consummate the adoption.
•	 Determine whether the child is eligible for an adoption subsidy and ensure that the 

proper procedures are followed to obtain the subsidy; if this is not occurring, ask the 
court to direct DFPS to assist the family in obtaining a subsidy.

•	 If parental rights have been terminated, but the child is not in a prospective adoptive 
home, advocate for recruitment efforts to identify such a home and request the court 
order DFPS to prioritize finding an adoptive home for the child. If there is a DFPS unit 
in the same county in which the case is currently filed which specializes in adoption 
preparation and recruitment, request that the child’s case be transferred to that unit.

•	 Revisit the client’s family members to inquire about placement and/or adoption. It 
may be that a relative was unable or unwilling to take the child in during the TMC 
phase, but circumstances may have changed to such a degree that placement is now 
viable. Adoption subsidy eligibility or PCA may make placement with family possible. 
With teenage clients, be knowledgeable about assistance to the family that may extend 
beyond age 18.

•	 For children who are likely to age out of foster care, attend all meetings related to 
planning for adulthood and be prepared to update the court and/or ask for additional 
services.

•	 Monitor the progress of DFPS in getting the child’s documents, scheduling preparation 
for adult living classes, and helping the child in accessing their benefits.

•	 Be familiar with the benefits available to youth aging out of foster care. There are 
numerous resources available online including on the DFPS and Children’s Commission 
websites.

•	 If CASA is assigned to the case, maintain contact with the CASA and supervisor, as 
they may have more frequent contact with the child and are often willing to research 
benefits, education-related assistance, and potential relatives.

•	 Review the Concurrent Issues and Child’s Attorney Issues section of this tool kit and be 
prepared to advocate a position on:

o	 Placement of the Child
o	 Child Well-Being
o	 Normalcy
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Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Children who are in long-term foster care may be at 
increased risk to experience the juvenile justice system, adult criminal justice system, 
and/or immigration system, as well as school discipline and mental health challenges. 
To represent a multi-system client effectively, a child’s attorney must have a working 
knowledge of these systems. If necessary, an attorney may petition the court to appoint a 
co-attorney for the specific purpose of addressing some of these issues. The addition of an 
attorney with specialized knowledge can be very helpful to the youth. Additionally, DFPS 
has state and regional specialists who can assist in areas such as education, disabilities, 
juvenile justice, and immigration.

COURT ACTION:
The court must:

•	 Identify persons and parties present, review DFPS efforts to give required notice, and 
review DFPS efforts to provide the child with regular, ongoing opportunities to engage 
in normalcy activities;

•	 Inquire from all parties whether the child has had the opportunity to provide 
information regarding potential caregivers and whether individuals identified by the 
child are listed on the proposed child placement resources form;

•	 Inform relative(s) serving as placement for a child of the ability to become a licensed 
foster parent and apply for PCA;

•	 Review the permanency progress report to assess:

o	 child safety and well-being (including whether any medical or special needs are 
being met);

o	 whether the child is placed with a relative or designated caregiver, and the 
continuing necessity for and appropriateness of the placement (including whether 
an out-of- state placement is in the child’s best interest);

o	 if a child is placed in or referred to an RTC or QRTP, the court shall make specific 
findings about the child’s needs and the suitability of that placement. Tex. Fam. 
Code §§ 263.002(e)-(f), 263.5031(a)(4)(M)-(N);

o	 the appropriateness of concurrent permanency goals, and whether DFPS made 
reasonable efforts to finalize the permanency plan, and exercised due diligence:

o	 whether to place a child for adoption if parental rights are terminated, or
o	 whether to find another permanency placement (including relative or return to 

parent) if appropriate;
o	 for a child with a goal of APPLA:

•	 ask the child regarding their desired permanency outcome;
•	 determine whether APPLA is the best plan and provide a compelling reason why 

another plan is not in the child’s best interest;
•	 determine whether DFPS has conducted an ILS assessment;
•	 determine whether DFPS has addressed the goals of the permanency plan, 

including a housing plan and the results of the ILS assessment;
•	 for youth age 16 or older, determine whether DFPS has provided the original 

or certified copies of personal documents (not photocopies) which include Texas 
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Identification card, birth certificate, Social Security card, and if child was not 
born in the United States, their immigration or citizenship documents.

•	 for youth age 18 or older, or with disabilities of minority removed, determine 
whether DFPS has provided the original or certified copies of personal documents 
(not photocopies) which include Texas Identification card, birth certificate, Social 
Security card, and if child was not born in the United States, their immigration 
or citizenship documents.

o	 determine whether transition services are needed for children age 14 or older;
o	 review the appropriateness of medical care, whether the child has had an 

opportunity to express an opinion on any medical care, and compliance with specific 
requirements if psychotropic medications are prescribed;

o	 determine whether an education decision-maker has been appointed and whether 
school issues have been addressed;

o	 if the child is in PMC of DFPS and parental rights have not been terminated, 
determine whether to order up to six months of additional services for the parents 
if a relative or other person is not seeking PMC;

o	 determine whether DFPS has identified a family or other caring adult who has 
made a permanent commitment to the child; and

o	 set another hearing in six months or sooner.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: At the first hearing after termination, be aware of 
whether a relative has filed an original suit or a motion to modify as allowed by the Tex. 
Fam. Code § 102.006(c). If so, explore whether the relative would be a suitable placement. 
If a client is opposed to the relative (or when serving as the child’s attorney and guardian 
ad litem, the GAL determines that the suit would not be in the child’s best interest), 
determine whether they qualify by degree of consanguinity. If not, consider filing a motion 
to dismiss the suit.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: If DFPS does not seem to be making progress toward an 
adoption, request a review hearing sooner than the next statutory permanency hearing, 
and consider filing a motion to ask the court to order DFPS to complete tasks within 
specific deadlines. 
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STATUTES 
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 201.015, 201.2042(b) 

PURPOSE
When a case is referred to an associate judge for any authorized purpose, a party may request 
a de novo hearing before the referring court by filing a written request with the clerk of the 
referring court not later than the third working day after the date the party receives notice 
of the substance of the associate judge’s ruling or order. Tex. Fam. Code § 201.015(a). De 
novo hearings are limited to the specific issues stated in the de novo hearing request. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 201.015(b). See In re L.R., 324 S.W.3d 885, 890 n.5 (Tex. App.—Austin 2010, no 
pet.) (“[T]he de novo hearing before the referring court is limited to those issues raised in the 
hearing request.”). 

Note: For de novo hearings requested in matters handled by associate judges appointed under 
Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 201, Subchapter C, the party requesting the de novo hearing must 
file notice with the clerk of the referring court as well as the court to ensure that the referring 
court judge is timely notified along with the clerk of the court. Notice of a request for a de novo 
hearing before the referring court must be given to opposing parties under Tex. R. Civ. P. 21(a). 
Tex. Fam. Code § 201.015(d). 

Practice Tip: If a request for de novo hearing is filed by a party, any other party may file 
a request for a de novo hearing before the referring court not later than the third working 
day after the date the initial request was filed. Tex. Fam. Code § 201.015(e).

BURDEN OF PROOF

De Novo of Temporary Orders 

For a de novo review of a temporary orders hearing, the standard is preponderance of the 
evidence. 

De Novo of Final Hearing

If termination of parental rights is requested, the burden of proof is clear and convincing 
evidence. If permanent managing conservatorship is requested, the standard is preponderance 
of the evidence unless ICWA applies, in which case the burden shifts to beyond a reasonable 
doubt and a Qualified Expert Witness (QEW) is required.

ATTORNEY PREPARATION
The amount of preparation varies greatly depending on the whether any new testimony and/or 
evidence will be presented on behalf of DFPS at the de novo hearing. A de novo hearing may be 
requested for any hearing in which the associate judge rendered orders. 

Parties may present witnesses at the de novo hearing, and the referring court may consider the 
record from the hearing before the associate judge, including any charge to the jury and any 
verdict returned, if the matter was tried before a jury. Tex. Fam. Code § 201.015(c).

Although a party may request a de novo hearing before the referring court, a party is not 
entitled to demand a second jury if the order or proposed judgment reviewed by the referring 
court was the result of a jury trial presided over by the associate judge in the first instance. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 201.015(i).
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RELEVANT CASELAW
Neither Tex. Fam. Code § 201.015 nor any other provision of the Texas Family Code expressly 
confers a right to a jury trial in a de novo hearing. In the Interest of A.L.M.-F., A.M., J.A.-F., 
N.A.-F., and E.A.-F., 593 S.W. 3d 271, 276-277, (Tex. 2019).

A de novo hearing under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 201 is not equivalent to a new trial as 
review by the referring court under Tex. Fam. Code § 201.015 is not entirely independent of 
the proceedings before the associate judge. Accordingly, the term “de novo hearing,” as used in 
Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 201, does not equate to a “trial de novo.” Rather, the term “de novo 
hearing” has meaning that is unique to the associate judge referral statutes and governed by 
the procedures specified in the authorizing statutes. In the Interest of A.L.M.-F., No.170603, at 
8.

FORGOING RIGHT TO DE NOVO HEARING
Parties can forgo their right to have their case decided by the referring court in two ways: 

•	 A party can waive the right to a de novo hearing by executing a waiver prior to the 
hearing or trial before the associate judge; or 

•	 Post-hearing, the party can fail to or forego filing a request for a de novo hearing within 
the time required by statute. 

COURT ACTION
The referring court must conduct the de novo hearing within thirty days of the request. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 201.015(f).

The findings and orders that the referring court must render will vary based on the type of de 
novo hearing and will specifically address the issues presented for review. 
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C
oncurrent Issues
Appealing a Temporary Order

Generally, temporary orders are not subject to interlocutory appeal per Tex. Fam. Code § 
105.001(e), but there are some exceptions:

•	 DFPS may appeal where a court refuses to permit removal of a child despite DFPS’ 
determination that the child is in “immediate danger.” Tex. Fam. Code § 262.112(b). 

•	 Relatives or designated caregivers denied placement of a child due to a conviction of a 
low-risk offense may appeal the disqualification. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.754(c). 

•	 Protective orders may be appealed in some circumstances. Tex. Fam. Code § 81.009. 
•	 Interlocutory relief by petition for writ of mandamus may be available in some 

circumstances.

MANDAMUS
In some circumstances, a party may seek appellate relief through a petition for writ of 
mandamus. Relief by mandamus “is proper only to correct a clear abuse of discretion when 
there is no adequate remedy by appeal.” In re Tex. Dep’t of Family & Protective Servs., 210 
S.W.3d 609, 612 (Tex. 2006) (orig. proceeding). 

Mandamus may be appropriate to challenge a trial court’s legal errors, its factual findings, or 
its application of the law to the facts. “If the trial court fails to properly interpret the law or 
applies the law incorrectly, it abuses its discretion.” In re Dep’t of Family & Protective Servs., 
273 S.W.3d 637, 642-43 (Tex. 2009) (orig. proceeding). 

Abuse of Discretion

“A trial court abuses its discretion when it makes a decision that is so arbitrary and unreasonable 
as to amount to a clear and prejudicial error of law.” In re Berryman, 629 S.W.3d 453, 458 
(Tex. App.—Tyler 2020, orig. proceeding). The appellate court will not substitute its judgment 
for the trial court’s judgment, but it must ensure that the trial court did not “act[] without 
reference to guiding rules and principles.” Id. “[A]n appellate court should defer to the trial 
court’s factual determinations supported by the record.” In re C.J.C., 603 S.W.3d 804, 811 (Tex. 
2020) (orig. proceeding). 

Mandamus Statutory Authorizations

The Texas Family Code sets forth three specific instances where mandamus is permitted in 
child welfare cases:

•	 In a SAPCR, a “court may make any order necessary to preserve and protect the safety 
and welfare of the child during the pendency of an appeal as the court may deem 
necessary and equitable.” Tex. Fam. Code § 109.001(a). These orders may be challenged 
by mandamus or assignment as error in a party’s brief, Tex. Fam. Code § 109.001(b-5), 
but not by interlocutory appeal. Tex. Fam. Code § 109.001(c). 

•	 If a court fails to set the final hearing for a date that permits the court to render a 
final order before the statutory dismissal date, any party or the child’s attorney ad 
litem “may seek a writ of mandamus to compel the court” to do so. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.304(b). 

•	 Once a suit timely commences under Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401, a court shall render a 
final order within ninety days unless timely extended. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.4011(a) 
and (c). “A party may file a mandamus proceeding if the court fails to render a final 
order within the time required” by Tex. Fam. Code § 263.4011. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.4011(d).  
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Other Mandamus Circumstances

Texas case law includes numerous examples of appellate courts considering challenges to 
interlocutory orders through mandamus proceedings. Some examples include the following: 

•	 Challenge to emergency removal via mandamus proceeding. In re E.R.W., 528 S.W.3d 
251, 257 (Tex. App.—Houston [14th Dist.] 2017, no pet.). 

•	 Challenge to award of temporary managing conservatorship following adversary 
hearing. In re M.N.M., 524 S.W.3d 396, 398-406 (Tex. App.—Houston [14th Dist.] 
2017, orig. proceeding).

•	 Failure of trial court to timely hold adversary hearing subject to review by mandamus. 
In re E.D.L., 105 S.W.3d 679, 688 (Tex. App.—Fort Worth 2003, pet. denied). Remedy 
for failing to hold timely status hearing, initial permanency hearing, or subsequent 
permanency hearing was mandamus rather than due process complaint on appeal. In 
re T.T.F., 331 S.W.3d 461, 479-80 (Tex. App.—Fort Worth 2010, no pet.). 

•	 Mandamus is proper to compel trial court to dismiss suit for failing to comply with 
statutory dismissal deadline. In re G.P., 665 S.W.3d 127, 134 (Tex. App.—Texarkana 
2023, orig. proceeding). 

•	 Mandamus compelling trial court to not hold termination trial on holy days. In re 
Blank, No. 01-13-00792-CV, 2013 WL 5276108 at *1 (Tex. App.—Houston [1st Dist.] 
Sep. 18, 2013, orig. proceeding). 

•	 Mandamus proper to challenge order in aid of investigation. In re Berryman, 629 
S.W.3d 453, 457 (Tex. App.—Tyler 2020, orig. proceeding).  

The Right to Proceed by Mandamus is Not Absolute

An appellate court may deny relief “when a party inexplicably delays asserting its rights.” In re 
Roxsane R., 249 S.W.3d 764, 771 (Tex. App.—Fort Worth 2008, orig. proceeding). Furthermore, 
unchallenged temporary orders are mooted upon rendition of a final judgment. In re E.R.W., 
528 S.W.3d 251, 257 (Tex. App.—Houston [14th Dist.] 2017, no pet.). Tex. R. App. P. 52 
prescribes the procedural requirements for petitions for writs of mandamus and other original 
proceedings in the appellate courts. 
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oncurrent Issues
Placement

Placement Types
There are multiple types of placements for children and youth in DFPS conservatorship. It 
is always preferred for the child to be placed in the least restrictive, most family-like setting 
appropriate under the circumstances of the case. See Tex. Fam. Code §263.001. The availability 
of placement types below depends on capacity in each DFPS region. 

KINSHIP CARE
In child welfare cases, kin and fictive kin (kinship) mean a child’s extended family, and other 
people who the child or family have a significant relationship. Kinship placement can provide 
many benefits to children in care including a familiar setting with people they know and 
trust, retention of a child’s sense of cultural identity, sustained extended family connection 
and healthy relationships, continued family traditions and memories, and a sense of stability, 
safety, and well-being for the child. There are many steps attorneys can take to ensure all 
possible kinship placements are explored for their clients.

•	 If the child is in a foster care placement, what efforts were/are being made to explore 
kinship placement options?

•	 Have the parents and the child been asked to identify kinship placement options?
•	 Were home studies started? If the home study will be outside of Texas, it will involve the 

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) unless it involves a biological 
parent. Out of state home studies take significantly longer than in-state home studies 
and must be initiated as soon as possible in order not to delay permanency. Please see 
additional information in the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children section 
of this tool kit.

•	 If a kinship placement was identified but deemed inappropriate by DFPS, what were 
the specific reasons? Was the placement assessed for “low-risk criminal offense” under 
Tex. Fam. Code § 264.754?

•	 Are there services or supports available to mitigate any safety risks identified in the 
home study?

•	 If the child is in a kinship placement, has the placement been provided with appropriate 
training, services, and support to care for the child?

Practice Tip: If DFPS is opposed to placement with a non-custodial parent, relative, 
or fictive kin due to their previous DFPS or criminal history, attorneys might consider 
conducting an independent inquiry into that history. While DFPS may not agree to 
placement due to policy, a judge may find that certain criminal history from the distant 
past and/or unrelated to a safety issue may not be a current safety issue for purposes of 
placement. Similarly, DFPS history that is remote, a finding of “ruled out” or “unable to 
determine,” or a situation where the party was not a perpetrator but rather the subject 
child or a collateral, also may not be considered to be a current safety issue.

FOSTER HOME
The home must be the primary residence of the licensed foster parent(s) and provide care for 
six or fewer children or young adults, under the regulation of a child-placing agency.

PRIMARY MEDICAL NEEDS (PMN) FOSTER CARE
Children with PMN cannot live without mechanical supports or the services of others because 
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of life-threatening conditions. Caregivers have special training to meet the daily needs of the 
children in their care. 

TREATMENT FOSTER FAMILY CARE (TFFC): 
TFFC is a program designed to provide multi-disciplinary treatment services to a child in a 
highly structured family home environment. The homes must have:

•	 Specialized evidence-based parenting training in mental health and behavioral health 
of high needs children;

•	 24-hour on-call case management to ensure the child’s safety and sense of security, 
which includes frequent one-to-one monitoring with the ability to provide immediate 
on-site response;

•	 Wraparound services with a highly trained treatment team; and
•	 Low child-to-caregiver ratio with professional foster parents.

TFFC is intended to be a short-term treatment option that leads to permanency and is limited 
to nine months, with an option of a onetime three-month extension.

GENERAL RESIDENTIAL OPERATION (GRO)
A GRO is a residential child-care operation that provides childcare for seven or more children 
or young adults. The care may include treatment services or programmatic services. These 
operations include formerly titled emergency shelters, operations providing basic childcare, 
residential treatment centers, and halfway houses.

RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT CENTERS (RTC)
RTCs provide intensive help for children or youth experiencing serious emotional and behavioral 
challenges. While receiving residential treatment services, children temporarily live outside of 
their homes and in a facility where they can be supervised and monitored by trained staff. 

QUALIFIED RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT PROGRAM (QRTP)
QRTPs are accredited facilities. They provide twenty-four hour, seven days a week nursing and 
clinical staff, six months of aftercare support, family outreach, engagement and inclusion, and 
have a trauma-informed treatment model.

QRTP Placement Requirements

An assessment of the child must be completed within 30 days of initial placement (although 
note that if the child is under the care of an SSCC, the timeline is within 16 calendar days) and 
the assessment must recommend placement in the QRTP. Three steps are required:

•	 QRTP Permanency Team Meeting;
•	 Child and Adolescent Needs and Strengths (CANS) assessment; and
•	 Third Party Review – clinical assessment, review, and recommendations by a qualified 

individual for placement into a QRTP.

Other QRTP Requirements

•	 Discharge planning begins at the time of placement and the QRTP must provide six 
months of aftercare services that includes crisis intervention and monthly contact with 
the family or next caregiver and the child.
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INTENSIVE PYSCHIATRIC STABLIZATION PROGRAM
The Intensive Psychiatric Stabilization Program is a time limited program that assists children 
in DFPS conservatorship who have a recent history of multiple psychiatric hospitalizations that 
have resulted in placement instability. The goal of this program is to stabilize and transition the 
child or youth to a less restrictive setting after a recent acute psychiatric hospital admission. 

Placement Considerations
Attorneys for parents and children should be prepared to address the following issues regarding 
a child’s placement.

PLACEMENT APPROPRIATENESS
•	 Is the current placement the least restrictive and most family-like setting for the child?
•	 Is the placement culturally and linguistically appropriate?
•	 Is the child or the parent requesting a placement change?

PLACEMENT PREFERENCES
DFPS is required to give preference to persons in the following order:

•	 A person related to the child by blood, marriage, or adoption;
•	 A person with whom the child has a long-standing and significant relationship;
•	 A foster home; 
•	 A general residential operation. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.114(d).

If the child has previously been in a foster home under DFPS conservatorship, DFPS must 
consider placing a child in that home if the foster home is available, the placement would be 
in the child’s best interest, and placement with a relative or fictive kin is not in the child’s best 
interest. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.114(c).

Practice Tip: Prior to a hearing, determine if an agreement can be reached for a return 
to a parent, placement with a noncustodial parent, relative, or fictive kin. If the parties 
can agree on a placement for the child, draft an agreement pursuant to Tex. R. Civ. P. 11 
to present to the other parties. If not, consider filing a motion for such relief.

PLACEMENT CONSIDERATIONS BASED ON CHILD’S NEEDS
•	 Are the siblings placed together? If not, what efforts were made to attempt to place 

them together? Is there a safety issue that prevents the siblings from being placed 
together? How frequently are sibling visits occurring? Are the siblings able to regularly 
communicate with each other?

•	 Can the child remain in the same school and can the placement meet the child’s 
educational needs?

•	 Is the child’s trauma being sufficiently considered in determining the child’s placement?
•	 Is the placement knowledgeable about helping children with traumatic stress reactions 

and how to cope with those reactions? If not, what training or support is needed/
available?

•	 Does the placement understand the reasonable and prudent parent standard and 
support normalcy for the child?
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•	 Has the child’s attorney regularly contacted the child to inform them of the next steps? 
Has the child’s attorney checked on the child’s thoughts and feelings about the current 
placement options? 

CONSIDERATIONS FOR RTC OR QRTP PLACEMENT
A child’s attorney had specific duties if their client is being considered for placement in an 
RTC or QRTP. See the Additional Duties for a Child’s Attorney section of this tool kit for more 
information. 

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Keeping children informed about placement options 
helps give them a sense of transparency in decision-making about their life and gives 
them a voice in what decisions are made about them.
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Temporary Visitation Schedule

A temporary visitation schedule is required at an early stage in a case for each child whose goal 
is reunification: The caseworker develops the schedule with the child’s parents to the extent 
possible. 

DFPS shall ensure that a parent who is otherwise entitled to possession of the child has an 
opportunity to visit the child not later than the fifth day after the date DFPS is named TMC of 
the child unless:

•	 DFPS determines that visitation is not in the child’s best interest; or
•	 Visitation with the parent would conflict with a court order relating to possession of or 

access to the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.115; or
•	 DFPS has determined the goal is not reunification. 

The temporary schedule remains in effect until the visitation plan is developed under Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.107 or modified by court order. 

Court Implementation of Visitation Plan
Not later than the 30th day after the date DFPS is granted TMC of a child for whom the goal 
of DFPS is reunification with the parent, DFPS must develop a visitation plan in collaboration 
with each parent. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.107. DFPS must file the family’s visitation plan no 
later than 10 days before the Status Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.107(d). After reviewing 
an original or amended visitation plan, the court shall render an order regarding a parent’s 
visitation with a child that the court determines appropriate.

If the court finds that visitation between a child and a parent is not in the child’s best interest, 
the court shall render an order that:

•	 States the reasons for finding that visitation is not in the child’s best interest; and
•	 Outlines specific steps the parent must take to be allowed to have visitation with the 

child.

If the order regarding visitation between a child and a parent requires supervised visitation to 
protect the health and safety of the child, the order must outline specific steps the parent must 
take to have the level of supervision reduced. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.109.

Practice Tip: Attorneys for parents and children can use language to reorient how the 
court and parties perceive the contacts between parents and children. Using language 
such as “family time” rather than “visits” or ‘visitation” can help bring focus to the parent-
child bond. Advocates can also stress the importance of both the length and the quality of 
the contact in growing, maintaining, or repairing family bonds. 

Visitation Advocacy
The primary purpose of visitation is to maintain the parent-child attachment, reduce a 
child’s sense of abandonment, and preserve their sense of belonging as part of a family and 
community. A child needs to see and have regular contact with their parents and siblings, as 
these relationships are the foundation of child development.
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Attorneys for parents and children can advocate that the court consider a number of options to 
increase the length and quality of time for visitation:

•	 Whether visitation can include normal parenting activities such as sharing meals, 
medical and therapeutic appointments, and school events;

•	 Whether visitation can occur at parks, restaurants, museums, zoos, or other natural 
family-oriented settings;

•	 Whether nursing during bonding time for infants can be supported;
•	 Whether visitation time can factor in the bonding time needed at different developmental 

stages (younger children may need more frequent visits, older children with established 
bonds may need less frequent visits which are longer in duration);

•	 Whether phone calls or virtual visits can be added to the visitation plan;
•	 Whether there is a safety issue that necessitates supervised visitation (if the children 

are older and/or if the reason for removal was neglect, then the visits may not need to 
be supervised);

•	 Whether there are, family, fictive kin, and/or community organizations that can 
supervise visits when supervision is necessary;

•	 Whether there is a way to support sibling visitation in addition to parent visitation;
•	 Whether the visitation schedule factors in the parent’s resources for transportation 

and time away from work;
•	 Whether the child has an interest in expansive visitation that is independent from the 

parent’s progress in services; and
•	 If a child is having a negative reaction at visitation, whether there is a way to provide 

trauma-informed support to the parent and child to assist them with safe, continued 
visits rather than reducing visitation.

Attorneys representing parents who are entitled to visitation under a visitation plan may 
at any time file a motion with the court to request review and modification of an original or 
amended visitation plan. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.108(c).
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Medical Abuse and Neglect Allegations
Definitions
PHYSICAL ABUSE 
A physical injury that results in substantial harm to the child, or the genuine threat of 
substantial harm from physical injury to the child, including an injury that is at variance with 
the history or explanation given [emphasis added] and excluding an accident or reasonable 
discipline by a parent, guardian, or managing or possessory conservator that does not expose 
the child to a substantial risk of harm. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.001(1)(C).

MEDICAL NEGLECT
Failing to seek, obtain, or follow through with medical care for a child, with the failure resulting 
in or presenting an immediate danger of death, disfigurement, or bodily injury or with the 
failure resulting in an observable and material impairment to the growth, development, or 
functioning of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.001(4)(A)(ii)(b). 

The DFPS Process for Forensic Diagnosis of Medical Abuse and 
Neglect Allegations

Medical abuse and neglect cases are typically generated by an intake report received from 
hospital personnel or medical providers, such as a child’s pediatrician. 

FORENSIC ASSESSMENT CENTER NETWORK
DFPS utilizes the Forensic Assessment Center Network (FACN) in most medical cases. 
The FACN was established by DFPS in 2006 to make specialized pediatricians available for 
consultation to DFPS and Child Care Licensing in cases of suspected child abuse and neglect. 
The FACN is managed by the University of Texas Health Science Center (UTHealth)-Houston 
McGovern Medical School, in coordination with UT Health Science Center at San Antonio, 
UT Medical Branch at Galveston, UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, Dell Children’s 
Medical Center at Austin, and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center at Lubbock. 

The FACN requires consultations with physicians who are board certified in relevant field 
or specialty, including radiologists, geneticists, orthopedists, and endocrinologists. Physicians 
must also have experience in certain specific conditions such as rickets, Ehlers-Danlos 
Syndrome, and other medical conditions that mimic child maltreatment or increase the risk of 
misdiagnosis of child maltreatment. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.3017(b). 

SPECIALTY CONSULTATION
DFPS must refer the case for specialty consultation if DFPS, the child’s primary care physician, 
parent, or legal guardian (or the parent or legal guardian’s attorney) requests a specialty 
consultation. The consultation must be with a board-certified physician who was not involved 
in the report of suspected abuse or neglect. 

DFPS must provide to the child’s parent or legal guardian written notice of the name, contact 
information, and credentials of the specialist before the specialty consultation and the parent, 
legal guardian, or attorney may object to the proposed referral and request referral to another 
specialist. DFPS and the parent, legal guardian, or attorney must collaborate in good faith to 
select an acceptable specialist from the proposed specialists, but DFPS can refer the child’s 
case to a specialist over the objection of the parent, legal guardian, or attorney. Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 261.3017(c), (c-1), and (c-2). 
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The parent may still seek a second opinion and DFPS must consider the second opinion and 
document its analysis and determination regarding the opinion. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.3017(e).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: In a hospital setting, parents may have talked to 
DFPS investigators, DFPS Special Investigators, and law enforcement without counsel 
and without understanding the implications. Additionally, parents may have signed 
written statements and the parents or the investigator or officer may have recorded the 
interview. When meeting with a parent client, it is critical to establish what information 
has been shared, what documentation may exist, and who possesses that documentation. 

Medical Records
Any case that involves medical information should start with a medical records request. 
Depending on the type of case and allegations, an attorney may need to include requests for a 
child’s birth records and even a mother’s pregnancy records.

Parents are entitled to request a copy of their child’s medical records unless that right has been 
specifically restricted by a court. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.073(a)(3). A parent may then share such 
records with their attorney. 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Initial records may be incomplete, so an attorney may 
need to make additional requests for specific information including, but not limited to, 
physician and nurses’ notes, consults, radiology and imaging, medication administration, 
and lab work. 

Hospitals may also have their own internal process of assessing whether the child’s condition 
requires a referral to statewide intake. The records kept by these teams when they consult 
with each other and the FACN may contain several possible witnesses that may be relevant to 
the parent’s case, but the witnesses may not be included in a standard medical records request 
and may also need to be identified specifically. 

Most medical records are available in digital format, referred to as the Electronic Health Record 
(EHR). Records that look fuzzy, crooked, and scanned in may not be the EHR. Attorneys should 
request an electronic copy/EHR or if they are older records, records in an Optical Character 
Reader (OCR) format. This allows for quick scanning of the records for important information. 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Obtaining all the necessary records may be challenging 
as different providers may have different policies when it comes to releasing records. If 
necessary, subpoenas can be used to ensure all relevant records are provided. 

Medical Information and Decision Making When DFPS has TMC 
of the Child

MEDICAL CONSENTOR
When DFPS is appointed TMC, DFPS is granted the rights and duties in Tex. Fam. Code § 
153.371. This includes “the right to consent for the child to medical, psychiatric, psychological, 
dental, and surgical treatment and to have access to the child’s medical records.”
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Pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 266.004, the court may authorize the following persons to consent 
to medical care for a child in the conservatorship of DFPS: 

•	 An individual named in a court order, including the child’s parent, 
•	 The child’s foster parent; or
•	 DFPS or an agent of the DFPS. 

This person is commonly referred to as the “medical consenter.” If DFPS or its agent is the 
medical consenter, DFPS shall file with the court and each party the name of the individual 
who will exercise the duty and responsibility on behalf of DFPS, and DFPS has an obligation to 
keep this information updated throughout the case. Tex. Fam. Code § 266.004(c). 

DFPS has a Medical Consent Resource Guide available online that references its policies for 
consenting to medical care for children in its conservatorship: http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/
handbooks/CPS/Resource_Guides/Medical_Consent_Resource_Guide.pdf.

PARENTS’ MEDICAL RIGHTS WHILE DFPS HAS TMC
Unless the court specifically limits a parent’s rights by court order, a parent has the right at 
all times to:

•	 Receive information from DFPS concerning and to confer regarding the health, 
education, and welfare of the child;

•	 Access medical, dental, psychological, and educational records of the child;
•	 Consult with a physician, dentist, or psychologist of the child;
•	 Be designated on the child’s records as a person to be notified in case of an emergency; 

and consent to medical, dental, and surgical treatment during an emergency involving 
immediate danger to the health and safety of the child; and

•	 Consent to medical, dental, and surgical treatment during an emergency involving 
immediate danger to the health and safety of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.073.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: An attorney representing a parent should ask for 
the parent to be appointed as a temporary possessory conservator to make clear that the 
parent retains the standard rights a parent has when another party is the managing 
conservator. 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Parents and their attorneys may still encounter 
barriers to exercising these rights with medical providers based on the nature of the case 
and DFPS involvement. Attorneys representing parents of children with medical needs 
should consider how to use subpoenas, motion practice, and collaborative efforts in their 
specific jurisdictions to get necessary medical documentation, seek second opinions, and 
to seek and obtain judicial rulings consistent with the children’s best interest.

Vaccination 
Tex. Fam. Code § 32.101 governs who may consent to immunization of a child. Subsections (a) 
and (b) indicate who may give consent, including DFPS, and the circumstances of that consent. 
However, Tex. Fam. Code § 32.101(c) provides that “a person otherwise authorized to consent 
under Subsection (a) may not consent for the child if the person has actual knowledge that 

http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/handbooks/CPS/Resource_Guides/Medical_Consent_Resource_Guide.pdf
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a parent…has expressly refused to give consent to the immunization…” See In re Womack, 
549 S.W.3d 760 (Tex. App.—Waco 2017) and In re Zook, No. 03-21-00180-CV, 2021 Tex. App. 
LEXIS 5643 (Tex. App.—Austin July 15, 2021). 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: An attorney representing a parent who objects to 
vaccinations should immediately document the parent’s refusal to give consent for the 
child’s vaccinations to DFPS and the court.

Expert Testimony 

GETTING YOUR OWN EXPERT
Attorneys representing parents should consider getting their own expert witness in medical 
abuse and/or neglect cases though attorneys may struggle to find a medical expert who is not 
contracted with DFPS who is willing to take on a medical abuse and/or neglect case. 

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Child welfare law practitioners in the area may have 
suggestions for expert witnesses used in previous cases. It might also be helpful to seek 
out medical expert suggestions from the criminal defense bar. It is also not uncommon for 
an attorney to seek a medical expert from another jurisdiction or state. 

Funding for the expert may also be a challenge as it is likely an indigent parent cannot afford 
an expert witness fee. Consult with other child welfare law practitioners in your jurisdiction to 
determine the local practices for requesting funds for the expert. 

Some experts may be willing to consult and produce a short-form report from the available 
records. Submitting such a report to DFPS may avoid the need for contested hearing and 
consultation by the expert may be less expensive than retaining the expert for testimony. 

CROSS EXAMINATION
Regardless of whether a parent’s attorney is able to get their own expert in a medical abuse 
and/or neglect case, the parent’s attorney needs to engage in effective cross examination of the 
State’s expert. It is important to demonstrate the limitations on the expert’s knowledge and 
opinion and establish that the expert’s role is to identify suspected abuse, not to identify the 
abusers. Areas of cross examination could include: 

The Expert’s Education and Experience
•	 Are they board certified by the American Board of Pediatrics in child abuse pediatrics? 
•	 Do they meet the qualifications to become certified? 
•	 Have they attempted to take the exam? 
•	 Have they completed a fellowship in child abuse pediatrics?

Relationship with DFPS

•	 Are they contracted with DFPS?
•	 What is the amount of DFPS cases they handle per month/year?
•	 What paid work does the expert perform outside of work for DFPS, if any?
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Training And Experience in the Relevant Underlying Area Of Medicine

•	 Do they have the training that is relevant to this child’s specific medical condition or 
injury, i.e., neurology, radiology, ophthalmology, pathology, etc.?

Physical Examination and Diagnosis of the Child

•	 Has the expert personally examined the child?
•	 What is the amount of time the expert has spent with the child?
•	 Has the expert discussed the child’s injuries with the child’s parents?
•	 Was a filter or lens used to highlight the child’s injuries in photos?
•	 Were medical conditions that mimic maltreatment or increase the risk of misdiagnosis 

of maltreatment examined? Were they ruled out? See Tex. Fam. Code § 261.3017.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION NOW AVAILABLE
•	 Has the expert been provided with new information by DFPS since the alleged abuse/

neglect occurred?
•	 Does the expert have knowledge of the parents’ progress in services?

Practice Tip: It is not uncommon for parents to dispute the allegations of medical 
abuse or neglect but agree to DFPS being appointed TMC based on the lower standard 
of proof required at an Adversary Hearing. Effective advocacy when parents dispute the 
allegations can include any and all of the following:  
 
Request a Family Group Conference 
A Family Group Conference is a facilitated meeting that can be held to discuss the 
child’s injuries, the parent’s progress in services, the risks that remain, how the risks 
can be mitigated through agreed court orders and safety plans, and the safety concerns 
that remain and how to address them.  
 
Seek a consultation with the DFPS medical expert  
Consulting with the DFPS medical expert rather than getting the information second 
hand through the case worker or supervisor can create a better shared understanding of 
the child’s condition and needs so that all parties have the same information.  
 
Filing a motion and setting an evidentiary hearing  
When the parent and child advocates are at an impasse about whether to or how to 
move forward with family reunification, it is appropriate to seek court intervention to 
resolve the impasse. In this hearing, a parent’s attorney should seek specific orders on 
any remaining services needed to achieve reunification, expanding visitation to include 
unsupervised and overnight visitation, and/or seeking a monitored return.
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Child Well-Being
Medical & Mental Health Checklists

HEALTH CARE PROVIDER
Physical, dental, and eye care, along with immunization and behavioral health for children in 
foster care are covered by two managed care programs, STAR Health (a division of Superior 
HealthPlan) and Cenpatico Behavioral Health, a division of the Centene Corporation.

ELIGIBILITY
	□ All children in DFPS conservatorship and young adults in extended foster care or those 

young adults who have returned to foster care, up to age 22. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.101(a- 
1)-(a-2).

	□ All youth who turned 18 in foster care and received healthcare through Medicaid (STAR 
Health or other) but who did not return to extended foster care are covered under STAR 
Health or STAR Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act up to age 26. Affordable Care 
Act; Pub. L. No. 111-148.

Note: Former foster care children (FFCC) who are under the age of 21, but who are not 
eligible for the FFCC program because the youth did not receive Medicaid at the time 
they aged out of care, receive coverage through the Medicaid for Transitioning Foster 
Care Youth (MTFCY) program if they do not have other healthcare coverage and meet 
program rules for income.

MEDICAL CARE QUESTIONS FOR THE CHILD’S ATTORNEY
	□ Has the child received all health assessments, immunizations, hearing and vision 

screenings, dental checkups and services, prescriptions for medications, and medical 
equipment?

	□ Has there been any emergency medical care provided to the child and circumstances 
necessitating care, include injury, or acute illness of child?

	□ What medical and mental health treatment is the child receiving and what is child’s 
progress with treatment (this includes any physical, dental, eye, immunization, and 
mental health issues)?

	□ Is there medication prescribed for the child, what is the condition, diagnosis, and symptoms 
for which medication was prescribed, and what is child’s progress with medication?

	□ Has the child or foster care provider complied or failed to comply with any plan of medical 
treatment for child?

	□ Has the child suffered any adverse reaction to, or side effects of, any medical treatment 
provided to child?

	□ Is there a specific medical condition of child diagnosed or for which tests are being 
conducted to make diagnosis?

	□ Is there any activity the child should avoid or engage in that might impact effectiveness 
of treatment, including physical activities, other medications, and diet?

	□ Is there any other information required by DFPS or rule of court? Tex. Fam. Code § 
266.007.
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MENTAL HEALTH QUESTIONS FOR THE CHILD’S ATTORNEY
	□ Has there been a comprehensive psychological evaluation?

	□ Have the parents or other family caregivers given input for the evaluation?

	□ Who has given input for the evaluation? And would they have had sufficient experience 
with the child to give accurate information?

	□ What is the child’s diagnosis? What are the treatment options for that diagnosis?

	□ What are the recommendations? Is DFPS implementing them?

	□ For a child receiving psychotropic medication:

•	 What psychosocial therapies, behavior strategies, or other non-pharmacological 
interventions were provided to child?

•	 Has the child seen or is the child seeing their prescribing physician, physician assistant 
or advanced practice nurse every 90 days?

TRAUMA-RELATED QUESTIONS FOR THE CHILD’S ATTORNEY
	□ Has trauma played a role in the child’s behavior?

	□ Is a trauma assessment of the child by a trauma-informed professional needed?

	□ What monitoring, treatment, or other supports might be needed to help the child cope 
with traumatic stress reactions?

	□ What potential trauma-informed services have been considered or implemented? 
(occupational therapy/physical therapy, weighted blankets, soothing exercises, yoga/
meditation, etc.).

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: A child’s behavior may be related to their trauma 
history. Symptoms of mental health disorders can overlap with the symptoms of trauma. 
If a child client is exhibiting behavioral issues, consider advocating for trauma-informed 
services for the client. Please see the Trauma-Informed Lens for Interacting with Clients 
section of this tool kit for more information. 

DFPS ACTIONS FOR CHILD’S ATTORNEY TO VERIFY 
	□ Did the child receive the comprehensive, preventive Texas Health Steps medical checkup 

within 30 days of entering conservatorship?

	□ Did the child receive the 3-day medical examination by the end of the third business day 
after the child was removed from the child’s home? Tex. Fam. Code § 264.1076(b).

	□ Did the child receive a Texas Child and Adolescent Needs and Strengths (CANS) 2.0 
behavioral health assessment within 30 days of entering conservatorship if aged 3-17 
years?

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD’S ATTORNEY
	□ Has the child been provided the opportunity to comment on the medical care being 

provided? Tex. Fam. Code § 266.007(c).

	□ Have you, as the child’s attorney, reviewed the child’s medical care? Tex. Fam. Code § 
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107.003(b)(1).

	□ Have you, as the child’s attorney, elicited from your client their view on the medical care 
being provided? Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(2).

	□ Have you, as the child’s attorney, advised youth clients 16 and older of the right to 
request medical consenter designation from the court? Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(3).

Foster Care & Education Checklists
SCHOOL READINESS

	□ If the child is age 0-3, have they been assessed for Early Childhood Intervention (ECI) 
services? 34 C.F.R. Part 303.

	□ If the child is age 0-5, have they been enrolled in Early Head Start, Head Start, or Pre- 
Kindergarten? 45 C.F.R. § 1305.2, Tex. Educ. Code § 29.153(b).

SCHOOL STABILITY
	□ Is the child enrolled in and does the child have transportation to current school? Tex. 

Educ. Code § 25.001(a).

	□ Can the child remain in current school, regardless of additional placement changes? Tex. 
Educ. Code § 25.001(g)-(g-1).

	□ If school changes do occur, can they be planned at the end of grading periods?

	□ If school changes do occur, can changes be planned to avoid conflict with standardized 
testing or final exams?

EDUCATION DECISION-MAKING
	□ Has DFPS designated an Education Decision-Maker (EDM) for the child? Tex. Fam. 

Code 263.004.

	□ Should the parent retain, or should any other person be given, specific education-related 
rights? Tex. Fam. Code § 263.0025

	□ Has DFPS provided EDM Form 2085-E to the child’s school and has information regarding 
the EDM been provided to the parties? Tex. Fam. Code § 263.004.

	□ Should a surrogate parent be appointed to make decisions regarding special education, if 
the foster parent is unwilling or unable to fulfill that role? Tex. Fam. Code § 263.0025(b).

SCHOOL ENROLLMENT
	□ Can the child be enrolled immediately in a new school if a change is required? Tex. Fam. 

Code § 264.115.

	□ Has the child’s education record or credit transfer issues been addressed by court as 
necessary? Tex. Educ. Code § 25.007(b).

	□ If the child was receiving special education services at their previous school, is the child’s 
Individual Education Plan (IEP) being followed at the new school and has an Admission 
Review and Dismissal (ARD) committee meeting been scheduled? 19 Tex. Admin. Code 
§ 89.1050(j).
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SCHOOL PLACEMENT AND SCHOOL SUCCESS 
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.306, 263.5031

	□ What does the child say about school and which school the child wants to attend?

	□ Is the child in a school that can meet their needs?

	□ Is the child progressing academically and on grade level?

	□ Are there identifiable areas where the child is excelling?

	□ Are there any additional school supports needed?

	□ Is the child involved in extracurricular activities? If not, does the child want to be 
involved?

	□ Is the child experiencing any discipline issues (truancy, suspension, expulsion, restraints)?

	□ Was the child’s status in DFPS conservatorship considered when disciplinary decisions 
were made? Tex. Educ. Code §37.001.

	□ Has the caregiver signed the annual form to prohibit corporal punishment at school? 
Tex. Educ. Code § 37.0011.

POST-SECONDARY EDUCATION 
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.306, 263.5031

	□ If the youth is at least grade 9, has a personal graduation plan been created and 
graduation endorsement been chosen (this is in addition to the Foundation High School 
Program in STEM, Business & Industry, Public Services, Arts & Humanities, or Multi-
Disciplinary Studies)? Tex. Educ. Code § 28.025.

	□ Does the child have a college or career plan?

	□ Does the child and their caregivers know about high school graduation requirements and 
how to prepare and apply for post-secondary education and available funding? 42 U.S.C. 
§ 677; Tex. Educ. Code §§ 54.366, 54.367.

SPECIAL EDUCATION
	□ If needed, has the child been evaluated for special education services?

	□ If eligible for special education, what is the date of child’s last ARD committee meeting? 

	□ Does the child have an IEP that is current, appropriate, and in effect?

	□ Has transition planning been coordinated, beginning no later than age 14? 

Human Trafficking Checklists
WHAT IS CHILD SEX TRAFFICKING?

	□ A person knowingly transported, enticed, recruited, harbored, provided, or otherwise 
obtained the child by any means. Tex. Penal Code § 20A.01(4); and

	□ Caused the child to engage in, or become the victim of, an enumerated sex offense. Tex. 
Penal Code § 20A.02(a)(7); or
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	□ Received a benefit from participating in a venture that involves an enumerated sex 
offense; or

	□ Engaged in sexual conduct with a trafficked child. Tex. Penal Code § 20A.02(a)(8).

	□ Child under 18 years of age, regardless of trafficker’s knowledge. Tex. Penal Code §§ 
20A.01(1), 20A.02(b)(1).

WHAT IS CHILD LABOR TRAFFICKING?
	□ A person knowingly trafficked child with intent that the child engage in forced labor or 

services. Tex. Penal Code § 20A.01(2), Tex. Penal Code § 20A.01(4), Tex. Penal Code § 
20A.02(a)(5); or

	□ Received a benefit from participating in a venture that involves forced child labor or 
services including knowingly receiving forced child labor or services. Tex. Penal Code § 
20A.02(a)(6).

	□ Child under 18 years of age, regardless of trafficker’s knowledge. Tex. Penal Code §§ 
20A.01(1), 20A.02(b)(1).

UNDER WHAT CIRCUMSTANCES WILL DFPS INVESTIGATE 
TRAFFICKING?

	□ A person traditionally responsible for child’s care, custody, or welfare;

	□ Compelled or encouraged the child to engage in sexual conduct including child sex 
trafficking, prostitution, or compelling prostitution; Tex. Fam. Code § 261.001(1)(G);

	□ Knowingly caused, permitted, encouraged, engaged in, or allowed a child to be trafficked 
for sex or labor; or

	□ Failed to make a reasonable effort to prevent the child from being trafficked for sex or 
labor. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.001(1)(L).

IF CHILD HAS BEEN MISSING FROM FOSTER CARE, WERE THE 
FOLLOWING STEPS TAKEN? 
Tex. Fam. Code § 264.123 (Note: These apply to any child missing from foster care, not 
exclusively victims of trafficking.)

	□ DFPS made report to law enforcement and the National Center for Missing and Exploited 
Children (NCMEC) no later than 24 hours after learning a child is missing or abducted. 
42 U.S.C. § 671(a)(35).

	□ Within 24 hours of learning child missing or returned to care after missing, DFPS 
notified law enforcement, court, child’s Attorney ad Litem (AAL) and Guardian ad Litem 
(GAL), and parents (unless no known location, Termination of Parent Rights [TPR], or 
relinquishment).

	□ While a child is missing, DFPS makes continuing efforts to locate the child including 
monthly contacts with law enforcement and former caregivers and conducts supervisory- 
level review.

	□ After a missing child returns to care, DFPS interviewed the child about why the child 
was missing, where the child stayed while missing, and whether the child was a victim 
of sex trafficking while missing.
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WHAT ARE SOME RED FLAGS TO HELP IDENTIFY CHILD TRAFFICKING 
VICTIMS?

	□ Multiple runaway incidents from foster care placement in a short period of time.

	□ Changes in school attendance habits, appearance, socio-economic status and possessions, 
friend groups, interests, school activities, vocabulary, demeanor, attitude, and sexual 
behavior.

	□ Unexplained injuries such as bruising, swelling, redness, or cigarette burns.

	□ Tattoos or branding.

	□ Hotel key cards or refillable gift cards.
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Interviewing the Child Client

When to Interview the Client
•	 Within a reasonable time after the appointment. Tex. Fam. Code §107.003(a)(1)(A).
•	 Before each hearing, meet with the child if they are at least four years of age. Tex. 

Fam. Code §107.004(d)(1).

Background Preparation
Before the first interview, become familiar as possible with the client and the client’s background 
and history.

•	 Do not make assumptions about the child or the case.
•	 Read the pleadings, affidavits, and any other documents obtained.
•	 Talk with the DFPS caseworkers who have been involved with the case.
•	 Analyze the child’s world from the child’s perspective.
•	 Educate yourself about the trauma that the child has experienced, how the child’s past 

trauma affects the client now, and how might it affect the child in the future.

Goals For First/Early Meeting(s) With a Child Client
•	 Build rapport and trust.
•	 Explain the attorney-client privilege and confidentiality in a developmentally 

appropriate way and the roles and responsibilities of the professionals involved in the 
case.

•	 Learn the basic facts of the case from the child’s perspective.
•	 Assess the child’s needs.
•	 Elicit the child’s preferences related to the case, including placement, visitation, 

education, and normalcy.
•	 Inquire, in developmentally appropriate manner, about potential family or fictive kin 

placement options.
•	 Be patient and listen to your client. 

Location and Timing of Interview
•	 The interview can take place where the child lives, at their school, their daycare, a 

park, or another location where the child feels safe and comfortable.
•	 The interview must take place in a private space to ensure confidentiality. Tex. Fam. 

Code §107.004(d-1)(2).

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: If you meet where the child is placed, it is not 
recommended to go into a bedroom or behind closed doors to meet with a child. Potential 
meeting locations include meeting outside or in a private location. If the child wants to 
show you their room or meet in their room, it is advisable to keep the door open. 

•	 The interview must take place sufficiently in advance of the hearing to allow the 
attorney to prepare in accordance with the child’s objectives. Tex. Fam. Code §107.004 
(d-1)(1).
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Child-Centered Interviewing
PREPARE TO ADDRESS CHILDREN’S COMMON CONCERNS
•	 When will I go home?
•	 When will I see my mom/dad/siblings/friends?
•	 Where will I live?
•	 Where will I go to school?

CREATE A TRUSTING ENVIRONMENT
•	 Ask where they would like to talk (outside/inside) and what physical place they prefer.
•	 Consider bringing an age-appropriate game to play, such as Candy Land, Chutes and 

Ladders, or Connect Four.
•	 For younger children, consider printing and bringing Sam and the Search for Spots, the 

Children’s Commission’s coloring book designed to help them understand the role of 
their lawyer found at https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/q3dlgqjh/coloring-
book-online-print.pdf.

•	 Go for a walk if the child would be comfortable doing so – being active helps promote 
conversation.

•	 Get on the child’s level physically. Sit on the floor, or together at a table or bench.
•	 Ask for permission when taking notes. Explain that you are writing down what is 

important to them so you can tell the judge with their permission.

USE APPROPRIATE INTERVIEW TECHNIQUES
•	 Age-appropriate ice-breakers. Ask about the client’s interests, likes, and dislikes in 

connection with “safe” topic areas. (“What do you like to do for fun?” “Who is your 
favorite superhero?”)

•	 Simple, open-ended questions. (“Tell me how to play that game?” “Why is Batman your 
favorite?” “What do you like or dislike about _____?”)

•	 Follow the child’s lead on areas of discussion even though they may not be linear. 
Open-ended questions as you approach topic areas pertinent to the facts of the case are 
encouraged. Children are highly suggestible, so extra caution should be taken not to 
ask them any leading questions. 

•	 “Funnel” approach when your client tells the story of the case. Start by letting the 
child narrate the entire story as they choose and then ask appropriate, more narrow 
questions to inquire about specific details that will assist your advocacy while not re-
traumatizing your client. 

•	 Check for understanding. Children often say that they understand something in order 
to please adults, when they really may not fully understand the conversation. When 
explaining something to your child client, ask them to explain it back to you in order to 
check their level of understanding.

•	 Use their words. For example, if they call their grandmother GiGi, call her GiGi when 
talking to the child.

•	 Use demonstration: when appropriate, ask them to show how something happened, 
rather than requiring them to use words – or make demonstrations to help them (“You 
said you liked visiting with your mother. How much did you like it?” Show your hands 
close together [“this much?”] then spread them out [“this much?”]).

•	 Sibling groups: If interviewing a sibling group, talk with the group about an overview 

https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/q3dlgqjh/coloring-book-online-print.pdf
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of the case, but then interview each child individually to obtain each client’s direction 
and preserve confidentiality.

•	 Judge’s role: Emphasize that the judge, rather than DFPS, the child’s parent or 
substitute caregiver, gets to make decisions about what happens in their case.

•	 Body language: Observe the child’s body language. Non-verbal communication in 
reaction to questions can help guide you about which topics the client is ready to talk 
about. Also, be aware that your body language can have an impact on your client. 

EXPLAIN THE LEGAL SYSTEM TO A CHILD
•	 Avoid jargon: instead of using the words “Adversary Hearing” substitute “talking to 

the judge about what is going on with you and your family.”
•	 Use simple language to explain the legal roles of other people in the child’s case. For 

example:

o	 a judge makes decisions;
o	 a caseworker makes sure children are safe;
o	 a CASA tells the judge what they think is best for the child;
o	 a therapist helps people try to make better choices; and
o	 a parent’s attorney tells the judge what their mom/dad wants.

EXPLAIN THE ROLE OF THE CHILD’S ATTORNEY
•	 Differentiate the attorney role from that of DFPS or CASA: Explain to the child “you 

are my boss/you get to tell me what you want to have happen and my job is to tell the 
judge what you want.”

•	 Explain the counselor part of the attorney’s role and prepare the child that some 
information and advice may be hard for them to hear at times but that you want them 
to know what to expect. When possible, and without breaking confidentiality, arrange 
for the child to have some support after such conversations.

•	 Explain attorney-client privilege but differentiate confidentiality from keeping secrets. 
Emphasize to the child that you will keep the conversations that you have with them 
private, except for what your client allows you to share, but that the child is free to 
share the conversations with anyone they choose.

•	 Explain the exceptions to confidentiality and your obligation to report abuse/neglect 
under Tex. Fam. Code § 261.101(c) if they disclose that:

o	 they hurt someone;
o	 someone hurts them; and/or
o	 they are hurting themselves.

•	 Explain the procedural overview of the case in a way that is developmentally appropriate 
given the child’s age and demonstrated understanding of legal concepts.

•	 Explain that if the child also has a juvenile case there may be another attorney 
assigned to represent them in that matter but that both attorneys have the same duty 
to maintain confidentiality. Please see the Dual Status Youth section of this tool kit for 
more information.



136

C
hi

ld
’s

 A
tt

or
ne

y 
Is

su
es

Information That Should Be Acquired During The Interview
•	 Where does the client want to live? Have them rank their choice of placement (1st, 2nd, 

3rd), and document their choices.
•	 How does the child feel about their current placement?
•	 What are the child’s educational needs?
•	 What are the child’s health needs, including medical, mental, and therapeutic?
•	 What are the child’s preferences for visitation with parents and siblings?
•	 Can the child identify possible relatives or fictive kin?
•	 What are your observations regarding the effects of trauma on the child?

Speaking to the Judge
•	 Explain that they might meet the judge in courtroom or in chambers.
•	 Ask both if the child would like to speak with the judge and where they would like to 

speak to the judge.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: If your jurisdiction permits virtual child conferences 
with the judge, allowing a child to visit with the judge virtually may be an appropriate 
option. Virtual meetings can allow the child to meet the judge from a setting they are 
comfortable in, reduce interference with the child’s school schedule, and can allow the 
judge to see the child’s environment. There may be reasons why the child might still 
desire to meet the judge in person so all options should be presented to the client. 

Gaining and Keeping the Client’s Trust
•	 Do not pretend to know them or their lives.
•	 Do not criticize their parents or other family members.
•	 Never make a promise that cannot be kept.
•	 Sustain a client’s morale but be honest. Tex. R. Prof. Conduct 2.01.
•	 Inform the child about the case in a developmentally appropriate manner. If appropriate, 

tell them about their parent’s progress, that their parents love them, etc.
•	 Answer their questions in developmentally appropriate ways.
•	 Be respectful of their views, comments, concerns, and situation.
•	 Practice empathy.
•	 Pay attention to what matters to the client. 

Discussion of Prior Abuse
•	 Avoid bringing up the topic of past abuse as repetition of traumatic events can 

retraumatize the child.
•	 If the child brings up the topic, remain calm, listen, and validate the child’s feelings. 

Do not overreact. Ask a few open-ended questions that allow the child to tell their story 
in their own words.
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•	 Know your limitations and keep the discussion brief. If a child will be a testifying witness 
regarding the abuse, consult with the child’s therapist and a forensic interviewer when 
preparing the child for testimony. 

•	 Do not criticize the child or the alleged abuser.

Dealing With a New Abuse Disclosure/Outcry
•	 Assume the child is telling the truth.
•	 Remain calm, do not overreact.
•	 Reassure the child that they did the right thing by telling you, and that what happened 

was not their fault.
•	 Do not criticize the child or the alleged abuser.
•	 Do not make promises.
•	 Let the child know this information cannot be kept a secret since you have an obligation 

to report it to keep them safe.
•	 Make the report to the DFPS Hotline: 1-800-252-5400 or online Texas Abuse Hotline 

Website found at https://www.txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx.

Additional Resources
•	 Video: Interviewing the Child Client: Approaches and Techniques for a Successful 

Interview found at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYLWkVHvgOM; ABA Section 
of Litigation Children’s Rights Committee.

•	 Youth Engagement information and materials found at https://www.americanbar.org/
groups/public_interest/child_law/project-areas/youth-engagement-project/resources/.

https://www.txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx
https://www.txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx
https://www.txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYLWkVHvgOM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYLWkVHvgOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYLWkVHvgOM%3B
https://www.americanbar.org/groups/public_interest/child_law/project-areas/youth-engagement-project/resources/
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Normalcy Defined
FEDERAL LAW
Preventing Sex Trafficking and Strengthening Families Act of 2014. 113. P.L. 183, 128 Stat. 
1919

•	 Required states to implement a “reasonable and prudent parenting standard” giving 
foster parents the authority to make day-to-day decisions affecting children in their 
care regarding extracurricular, enrichment, cultural, social, and/or sporting activities.

Texas adopted a definition of “age-appropriate normalcy activity” as well as a definition of a 
“reasonable and prudent parent” effective September 1, 2015. See below for more specifics.

AGE-APPROPRIATE NORMALCY ACTIVITY DEFINED 
An activity or experience:

•	 That is generally accepted as suitable for a child’s age or level of maturity or that is 
determined to be developmentally appropriate for a child based on the development of 
cognitive, emotional, physical, and behavioral capacities that are typical for the age or 
age group; and

•	 In which a child who is not in the conservatorship of the state is generally allowed 
to participate, including extracurricular activities, in-school and out-of-school social 
activities, cultural and enrichment activities, and employment opportunities. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 264.001(1).

REASONABLE & PRUDENT PARENT STANDARD OF CARE DEFINED 
What a parent of reasonable judgment, skill, and caution would exercise in addressing the 
health, safety, and welfare of a child while encouraging the emotional and developmental 
growth of the child.

Factors to consider when deciding whether an activity is appropriate:

•	 Overall health and safety of the child;
•	 Child’s age, maturity, and development level;
•	 Best interest of the child based on the caregiver’s knowledge of the child;
•	 Appropriateness of a proposed activity and any potential risk factors;
•	 Behavioral history of the child and the child’s ability to safely participate in a proposed 

activity;
•	 Importance of encouraging the child’s social, emotional, and developmental growth; 

and
•	 Importance of providing the child with the most family-like living experience possible. 

Tex. Fam. Code § 264.001(5).

DFPS Best Efforts
DFPS shall use its best efforts to normalize the lives of children in the managing conservatorship 
of DFPS by allowing substitute caregivers, without prior DFPS approval, to make decisions 
similar to those which a parent would be entitled to make regarding a child’s participation in 
age-appropriate normalcy activities. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.125.

Normalcy
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Normalcy in Practice
For youth in foster care, normalcy means being able to act like their friends act and feel like 
part of a family. This includes:

•	 Being part of a caring family that supports them.
•	 Doing the normal daily and extracurricular activities they choose.
•	 Being a person, not a label.
•	 Making decisions, trying new things, and sometimes making mistakes.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tips:

•	 Ask early and often about a youth’s interests and desired activities, including at 
school and in the community.

•	 Treat a young person as an individual. Take the time to get to know the client and 
what normalcy means to them.

•	 Rethink visitation. Allow relationship building time and activities, including with 
family, friends, and community members.

•	 Be creative in supporting youth’s interests.
•	 Encourage the community to engage in the lives of the youth as skill trainers, 

transportation providers, or support families.
•	 Understand and respect normalcy decisions of the caregiver.
•	 If the parties cannot agree on normalcy activities, utilize motions for further orders 

so that the court can resolve disagreements and enforce compliance if the court has 
ordered access to the activity. 

For more information on normalcy, see “NORMALCY MATTERS: A Guide to Supporting 
Children & Youth in Texas Foster Care” found at https://texascasa.org/wp-content/
uploads/2021/10/TexasCASA-NormalcyGuide-Final-for-WEB.pdf.

https://texascasa.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/TexasCASA-NormalcyGuide-Final-for-WEB.pdf
https://texascasa.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/TexasCASA-NormalcyGuide-Final-for-WEB.pdf
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If DFPS or an SSCC is unable to secure a relative, fictive kin, or licensed placement for a child 
in DFPS conservatorship, the child must receive temporary emergency care provided directly 
by DFPS or an SSCC until a licensed appropriate placement can be found. DFPS or the SSCC 
must provide notice to the court no later than the next business day after the date the child is 
placed in temporary care. Tex. Fam. Code §264.107(g).

Children are forbidden by statute to stay overnight in a DFPS office, so the child must stay in 
another location (i.e., hotel, apartment) while being supervised by DFPS staff. Tex. Fam. Code 
§264.1071. While this situation should be avoided whenever possible, the number of children 
without placement are very low compared to the overall population of children in care across 
Texas. CWOP is also called “Child Watch.” 

Supervision	
•	 The children are supervised and provided for by caseworkers and other DFPS staff. 

These duties are in addition to existing work responsibilities. 
•	 Caseworkers and staff must ensure that an adult is always present, but there may not 

be a consistent caregiver or supervisor. 
•	 DFPS caseworkers and staff are not trained as childcare providers, foster parents, or 

residential treatment staff.

Causes and Risk Factors
There is no single reason why some children in the conservatorship of DFPS might experience 
a lapse in licensed placement. However, the combination of the effects of the COVID-19 
pandemic, increased federal and state oversight, and placement capacity gaps are some factors 
that may have contributed to an increasing number of children in Texas entering CWOP. 

Children who are at higher risk of experiencing CWOP include:

•	 Older children
•	 Children with complex behavioral issues
•	 Children released from psychiatric hospitals
•	 Children released from juvenile detention
•	 Children moving to or from a residential treatment center (RTC)
•	 Children with special needs (i.e., Autism) 
•	 Children with problematic sexual behaviors

Impacts of CWOP on Children 
INSTABILITY
•	 Overnight stays in DFPS offices are forbidden by statute, but children without 

placement may stay in hotels, apartments, or rental homes overnight and may stay 
in DFPS offices during daytime hours. Such unlicensed placements are intended as 
a short-term solution, but some children may experience it for longer periods of time.

•	 The child’s formal education may be interrupted and there may be limited access to 
informal education resources such as tutors or study sessions. 

•	 Therapy for the children can be inconsistent during temporary placements. 

Children Without Placement (CWOP)
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•	 Not having a stable, licensed placement can be a traumatic experience for children. 

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Children without placement who are staying in hotels, 
rental homes, apartments, or dorms on a temporary basis meet the federal McKinney-
Vento Homeless Assistance Act (“McKinney-Vento”) definition of homeless and therefore 
are entitled to attend the school that the child attended when permanently housed or 
the school in which the child was last enrolled, with transportation and other services 
provided by the school district. See 42 U.S.C. § 11431 et seq. 

SAFETY
•	 Children without placement are at increased risk of running away or becoming a victim 

of child sex trafficking. 
•	 Unsupervised access to medication can lead to improper dosage or the proper medication 

regime not being followed.
•	 Children with serious mental health or behavioral needs may interact with other 

children without adequate supervision.
•	 Without training and options for discipline, conflicts between children or between 

children and staff can escalate and increase the risk of injury or arrest. 

BASIC NEEDS 
•	 Older youth do not have the support or living space available to build healthy life skills 

such as hygiene, cleaning/chores, getting regular physical activity outdoors, cooking a 
healthy meal, etc. 

•	 Making visitation arrangements with parents is more complicated when the child does 
not have a stable placement.

What Can Attorneys Do if a Client or a Client’s Child is in 
CWOP? 

BUILDING TRUST
Attorneys can work to reduce the possibility of CWOP by building strong attorney-client 
relationships that center on partnership. 

•	 Children in care who feel supported by the adults in their lives may be less likely to 
run away, experience placement breakdowns, or experience one or more unlicensed 
placements. Parents who have a good relationship with their attorney are more likely 
to share information about possible placement options, including kinship. 

•	 The most important aspect of building attorney-client partnerships is to take the time 
to listen to the client. Their insights and expertise can be very helpful in informing 
what actions need to be taken, including identifying and vetting possible placement 
options. 

•	 Making an authentic connection with each client from the start of the attorney-client 
relationship may help to prevent CWOP situations by identifying and solving problems 
before they reach a crisis point.

IDENTIFYING PLACEMENT OPTIONS
An attorney can assist in moving a child out of CWOP by thoroughly investigating alternative 
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placements. For example, attorneys for children and parents might:

•	 Identify whether there are relatives or fictive kin who may not meet DFPS approval 
but could be a safe place for this child.

•	 Contact potential relatives or fictive kin placement and consider meeting with them in 
their homes, if appropriate.

•	 Request specific placement search information from DFPS. Which placements were 
considered, which were rejected, and why?

•	 Consider contacting treatment centers that do not contract with DFPS about availability
•	 Request the child’s common app, review for accuracy, and request edits, if 

appropriate. 	

MOTION PRACTICE
When a child is without placement, attorneys can help maintain a sense of urgency by setting 
regular hearings until an appropriate placement is found. The following motions may be 
appropriate in unique circumstances and would not be appropriate for filing in every case.

Motion for Change of Placement: If asking for placement with a relative or fictive kin who 
DFPS has not or cannot approve, it is important to be aware if that person has any DFPS 
or criminal history. It may also be helpful to visit the proposed home prior to the hearing. 
Explore whether supportive services such as daycare or after-school care should be considered 
to stabilize the placement. 

Motion for Court Approval of Out of State Placement: Consider requesting that the court 
require prior court approval for the child to be placed in any out of state facility. 

Motion for Education Services: Explore what educational supports may be available through 
the school district where the child was last enrolled. Depending on the child’s educational 
needs and goals, distance learning may be an option for the child until a stable placement can 
be found. Consider requesting that tutoring or other education support be ordered. 

Motion for Normalcy Activities: Children without placement may be caught in a cycle 
where there are no authorized activities, but there may be inadequate supervision to prevent 
them from engaging in unauthorized activities. A motion to allow the child to engage in specific 
activities or for DFPS to provide opportunities for activities can encourage normalcy and 
stability. 

Motion for Therapy or Other Services: If your client needs therapy or other services, 
request that such services be brought to the child’s current location or that the child can access 
them remotely. 

Motion for Child-Specific Contract: This motion requests the court to order DFPS to 
contract with a provider that does not have a standing contract with DFPS for placement. This 
motion may only be appropriate in very limited circumstances and a child specific contract is 
not a quick or easy solution. Drafting a child-specific contract will take time, the cost of the 
child specific contract is significant, and the enforceability of the court’s order may end up in 
further litigation.
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Attorney-Client Relationship
A child’s intellectual or developmental disability does not necessarily mean that the child is not 
competent to form an attorney-client relationship. Neither does a child’s IQ alone demonstrate 
incapacity. It is imperative for a child’s attorney to become familiar with child development 
stages, interview the child, make an independent determination if that child can form an 
attorney-client relationship, and determine whether the attorney can or must follow the client’s 
directives. If the child cannot meaningfully direct representation, the child’s attorney must 
follow the procedures outlined in Tex. Fam. Code § 107.008 for substituted judgment.

Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
DFPS is required to assess and determine long-term care plans for youth who have qualifying 
disabilities. DFPS is responsible for applying for SSI on the youth’s behalf. Written confirmation 
of benefits from the Social Security Administration is necessary to understand exactly what 
benefits the youth is entitled to when they exit foster care. DFPS has Regional Specialists for 
SSI and they can be an effective resource for ensuring the client obtains appropriate resources.

EFFECTS OF SSI ON A CHILD’S PLACEMENT
•	 If a child receives SSI and they are in DFPS-contracted substitute care, the SSI 

payment goes to the state to defray the cost of the child’s care.
•	 If a child receives SSI and is placed with a kinship caregiver, the kinship caregiver can 

receive the SSI payment either directly or once it has passed through DFPS.
•	 If the child is adopted, the SSI payment is taken into consideration when negotiating 

the adoption subsidy.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Make sure that the Disability Specialist at DFPS is 
notified when a youth who receives SSI is aging out of foster care so that DFPS can resign 
as the youth’s designated payee. Once DFPS resigns as the payee, the youth can go to 
the Social Security Administration office to become their own payee or designate a new 
payee. If the youth cannot manage their own finances but does not need a guardian, local 
resources may help find a designated payee to help the youth manage their finances.

Medicaid Services and Denials
All children in foster care are automatically enrolled in the STAR Health Medicaid plan 
regardless of any prior Medicaid eligibility or enrollment in other Medicaid Plans. At this 
time, Superior HealthPlan is the insurance provider for STAR Health, so children in DFPS 
conservatorship can only go to providers who accept Superior HealthPlan. If a client is denied 
a service by Superior HealthPlan, the denial can be appealed. Typically, there is a lengthy 
process for administratively appealing Medicaid service denials. Rather than appealing the 
Superior decision, it may be more efficient to petition the court to order the service under Tex. 
Fam. Code 266.004(e). Though Superior HealthPlan is not a party to the case and technically 
not subject to court orders, they are contractually obligated to pay for services ordered by the 
court. However, it is important to note that Superior HealthPlan can only be ordered to pay for 
services that are both “medically necessary” and part of the Texas Medicaid Plan. Any other 
healthcare service ordered by the court must be paid for by different means, typically by DFPS 
directly.

Children with Disabilities
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Intellectual Disabilities
Children with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (IDD) can be supported long-term 
after aging out of DFPS care through the Home and Community-Based Services (HCS) program 
that provides housing, therapeutic interventions, and other in-home supports for the lifetime 
of a person with IDD. Though the most common way to qualify for an HCS program slot is 
to be put on a waiting list, most individuals wait over 10 years for an HCS slot. There are 
special slots in the HCS program for children aging out of DFPS custody. To qualify for one of 
these special slots the child must have a Determination of Intellectual Disability (DID) from 
the Local IDD Authority (LIDDA). There are several agencies all over the state that license 
and supervise HCS host homes (similar to foster homes) and group homes (homes with shift 
staff and four or fewer individuals). Though DFPS should identify potential HCS agencies and 
placements for the child, the child and the attorney ad litem should be active participants in 
making the final placement selection since this will be where the child lives for a very long time 
as an adult. The child is also entitled to pre-placement visits in making the placement decision. 

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Make sure the DFPS Developmental Disability 
Specialist (DDS) has registered an eligible youth for an HCS slot, if needed.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: The process to apply for and receive disability-related 
benefits can be a lengthy one. If the child has a disability and may be entitled to services, 
it is critical to have conversations with the caseworker and/or DFPS Regional Social 
Security Specialists as soon as practicable and on a regular basis.

Guardianship
Competency is generally determined based on whether the individual can continue to make 
decisions for themselves with supports in place rather than losing their rights through a 
guardianship proceeding where a guardian is appointed to make decisions on their behalf. 
However, a child with an intellectual disability or other disability does not automatically 
qualify for adult guardianship once they turn eighteen. A probate court still must appoint 
Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS) or another guardian through a 
probate proceeding, and a Certificate of Medical Exam (CME) must be completed by a physician 
and presented to the court documenting the person’s incapacity. DADS, through the Texas 
Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), is the state agency that is appointed as the 
guardian for a qualifying child if there is not another adult to take guardianship, and they can 
accept or reject a guardianship application.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: If a child client will require a guardian once they become 
an adult, it is important to begin the application process well before the client turns 18 as 
qualification for guardianship is not automatic.

STEPS TO GUARDIANSHIP
By the time a youth with disabilities turns 16, the caseworker must consider whether the 
youth will have the ability to provide for their own food, clothing, shelter, oversee their own 
healthcare, and manage their own finances.
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The DFPS caseworker should begin searching for an interested and appropriate potential 
guardian when a youth in care with disabilities turns 16 and should consult with the DFPS 
Developmental Disability Specialist (DDS) and DFPS supervisor regarding alternatives to 
guardianship or possible alternate guardians. If there is not a less restrictive alternative 
available, the DFPS caseworker should begin collecting information and necessary 
documentation for the referral to HHSC to request a guardian.

While DFPS may refer a youth to HHSC at age 16, it is preferable for DFPS to wait until the 
youth is at least 17 since a guardianship application cannot be filed more than six months prior 
to the youth’s 18th birthday. Prior to making a referral to HHSC, the DFPS caseworker should 
contact the DFPS SSI coordinator to ensure the youth is receiving active SSI benefits, and if 
benefits are not active, the DFPS caseworker must work with the SSI coordinator to apply or 
have benefits reinstated.

Once the SSI benefits for the youth with disabilities have been established and confirmed 
and all supporting documentation required has been gathered, the DFPS supervisor launches 
the Aging Out of Care (AOC) stage in IMPACT, the DFPS case management system. The 
DFPS caseworker completes the referral form and submits it to the DDS. The DDS submits the 
guardianship referral via IMPACT and emails a copy of the referral form and all supporting 
documentation to the Guardianship Supervisor in the region where the youth is currently 
residing.

ALTERNATIVES TO GUARDIANSHIP
A guardianship restricts the legal rights of an individual with a disability and may not always 
be appropriate. Courts must ensure that the least restrictive arrangement is made for a youth 
with disabilities, so the youth has their needs met and their rights intact. Sometimes a youth 
may only need a limited guardianship that is tailored to the specific needs they have. For 
instance, the right to vote, the right to drive, and the right to marry might all remain intact. 
Restoring a right after it has been removed via guardianship can be challenging and it is 
preferable to leave as many rights as possible available for the individual.

Some youth do not need a guardianship at all and can be better served with a Supported 
Decision- Making Agreement (SDMA), which is a less-restrictive option that allows the youth 
to retain all decision-making rights while having a supporter who helps them to understand 
and process the decisions they make.

Transition Planning
The Section 811 Project Rental Assistance Program provides project-based rental assistance 
linked with long term services for extremely low-income persons with disabilities. The program 
allows persons with disabilities to live as independently as possible through the coordination of 
voluntary services and by providing a choice of subsidized, integrated rental housing options. 
Referrals to Section 811 must be made by the DFPS primary case worker in coordination with 
the DFPS Developmental Disability Specialist. There is also a waiting list for this program, 
though it is much shorter than the waitlist for HCS.
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Definitions
A dual system child is a child who, prior to the child’s 18th birthday, was referred to the 
juvenile justice system and was involved in the child welfare system. Tex. Fam. Code § 51.11. 
A dual status child is a dual system child who has or had concurrent involvement in both the 
child welfare and juvenile justice systems. Tex. Fam. Code § 51.02. When representing dual 
status children there are important issues to consider.

Information Gathering 
Questions to ask when a client has been detained (arrested) for an offense:

•	 Has the child been appointed a juvenile defense attorney on the delinquency case? 
If so, make contact with the attorney as soon as possible to introduce yourself, learn 
about the offense, and provide any information about the child that can assist the 
juvenile defense attorney in their representation.

•	 Has a petition been filed? Is the child eligible for a deferred prosecution?
•	 Is the juvenile case filed in the same county as the child welfare case?
•	 What are the pending charges? What range of dispositions might be involved?
•	 Is the child currently in detention? How long have they been there? When is the child’s 

next detention hearing scheduled? Is juvenile probation recommending release?

It is important to research these questions with the child, the caseworker, the juvenile defense 
attorney, and the juvenile probation officer, depending on the timeline of the case.

GUARDIAN AD LITEMS AND COURT APPOINTED SPECIAL ADVOCATES
A guardian ad litem may serve as ad litem in both the juvenile case and the child welfare case. 
If the guardian ad litem is serving in both cases and is an attorney, the guardian ad litem will 
want to become much more familiar with the juvenile proceedings.

A non-attorney guardian ad litem must be very careful not to investigate any pending juvenile 
charges nor offer testimony concerning the guilt or innocence of a dual status child. Questions 
or investigations could lead the non-attorney guardian ad litem to become a witness against the 
child in violation of Tex. Fam. Code 51.11. As such, questions from a GAL or CASA should be 
presented to the juvenile defense attorney, instead of the child or child’s parents or guardians.

CONFIDENTIALITY
Because the objectives of the juvenile defense attorney (handling the delinquency case) and 
the attorney ad litem (as well as others working on behalf of the youth on the child welfare 
case) may not necessarily align, it is important for the two attorneys or legal teams to enter a 
Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) at the very outset of representation to identify what 
information, if any, may be shared between attorneys and legal teams.

It is critically important to advise a client not to discuss their delinquency case with 
anyone besides their juvenile defense attorney (unless MOUs have been signed allowing for 
information sharing). Information about the allegations is confidential and protected by the 
Fifth Amendment and the juvenile defense attorney should advise the clients of their Fifth 
Amendment right to remain silent as to any details regarding a current criminal investigation 
or ongoing case. That may include information that the juvenile defense attorney will not want 
to disclose to the child’s attorney, or have their client disclose to the child’s attorney, without 
an MOU.

Dual Status Youth
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In the absence of an MOU governing information sharing, the Rules of Professional Conduct 
dictate that confidentiality is imperative. Under these rules, the juvenile defense attorney 
should advise the client not to speak or discuss the delinquency case or any of its details with 
anyone (other than their juvenile defense attorney).

In the absence of an MOU, an issue that may arise is that the DFPS caseworker or investigator 
may ask the client about their delinquency charges, and the client may respond without 
understanding the implications for their delinquency case.

COMMUNICATION WITH JUVENILE DEFENSE COUNSEL
Notwithstanding the existence of an MOU, it is crucial to establish open lines of communication 
with a client’s juvenile defense attorney. A child’s attorney in the child welfare case may know 
the client and their family history and circumstances better than the juvenile defense attorney. 
A child’s attorney in the child welfare case can provide information that assists in a better and 
more expedient resolution on the delinquency case, including:

•	 Mitigating circumstances due to child’s DFPS case and placement;
•	 Services the child needs;
•	 Services the child is already receiving;
•	 Best ways to communicate with the child;
•	 Possible resources of support known in child welfare case but not in juvenile case; 
•	 Attendance at detention hearings (if child is in detention) to advise court of placements 

available to the child, in order to allow for expedited release from detention; or
•	 Attendance at disposition hearings (if the child is adjudicated delinquent) to advise of 

interventions being utilized with the child and family already or interventions that are 
available.

Court-appointed juvenile defense attorneys often have heavy caseloads, which can slow their 
response time when contacted, but it is important to initiate a conversation as soon as possible 
to discuss the mutual client’s case.

Important things to discuss include:

•	 Upcoming court dates for both the child welfare and juvenile cases;
•	 Progress of the case;
•	 The general strategy of the juvenile defense attorney;
•	 The status of plea negotiations with prosecution (i.e., what is the current offer, what are 

the possibilities in the case for pre-petition diversion programs, deferred adjudication, 
or services as part of a plea negotiation); and

•	 Disposition options in the juvenile case, including placement options if the child is not 
going to be released on probation.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Make it a priority to check in with the juvenile defense 
attorney for updates regularly, at least before each statutory child welfare hearing, and 
more often if child is in detention.
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Understand How the Juvenile Case Affects the Child Welfare Case
SERVICES OVERLAP
It is important for the juvenile court to determine what services are being provided through 
the child welfare case. Must they be duplicated or substituted by juvenile probation services, 
or are the services being provided in the child welfare case sufficient? Ask the court to allow 
consolidation of services as much as possible. This is especially important if transportation 
and/or time management is necessary for a caregiver to provide so that the child is able to 
receive services.

CONSEQUENCES OF DISPOSITIONS – SEALING JUVENILE RECORDS
Once a juvenile case is concluded or nearing its end, whether it was disposed through a deferred 
prosecution or through formal adjudication and disposition, it is imperative to take steps to 
ensure that the child’s juvenile records will be sealed. Even if the case was resolved through a 
deferred prosecution without a charge being filed, the child will still have a juvenile record that 
can have numerous negative collateral consequences, such as:

•	 Barriers to obtaining housing;
•	 Difficulty with successful applications to colleges or trade schools;
•	 Obstacles in obtaining employment;
•	 Problems applying for military service; and/or
•	 Interference with immigration cases.

Youth transitioning out of foster care are especially in need of having their records sealed once 
they become eligible to ensure a better transition into adulthood. There are both non-profit 
agencies and juvenile attorneys that will seal juvenile records via Application for Sealing of Files 
and Records. Please see the Additional Resources section of this tool kit for more information.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Constructing a timeline with the delinquency case 
dates and the statutory deadlines for the child welfare case can increase understanding 
of how the two cases may overlap.
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Psychotropic medications are substances that affect the mind and alter mental processes such 
as perception, mood, and behavior. Psychotropic drugs include stimulants, antidepressants, 
antipsychotics, and mood stabilizers. Some children need to use psychotropic medications long- 
term to treat mental health disorders that they inherited or developed, such as attention deficit 
hyperactivity disorder, severe depression, or psychosis. Other children need to use psychotropic 
medications temporarily to help relieve severe emotional stress and help them function in 
school, at home, and in the community.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Symptoms of mental health disorders can overlap with 
the symptoms of trauma. A child’s behavior may be related to their trauma history. If 
a child client is exhibiting behavioral issues, consider advocating for trauma-informed 
services for the client.

In 2013, the 83rd Texas Legislature amended Tex. Fam. Code § 266.001 to add a definition of a 
psychotropic medication. A “psychotropic medication” means a medication that is prescribed for 
the treatment of symptoms or psychosis or another mental, emotional, or behavioral disorder 
and that is used to exercise an effect on the central nervous system to influence or modify 
behavior, cognition, or affective state. The term includes the following categories:

•	 Psychomotor stimulants;
•	 Antidepressants;
•	 Antipsychotics or neuroleptics;
•	 Agents for control of mania or depression;
•	 Anti-anxiety agents; and
•	 Sedatives, hypnotics, or other sleep-promoting medications. Tex. Fam. Code § 

266.001(7).

In February 2005, DFPS, the Department of State Health Services (DSHS), and HHSC released 
a “best practices” guide to ensure the proper use of psychotropic medications for the children 
in foster care.

The June 2019 Psychotropic Medication Utilization Parameters for Children and Youth in 
Foster Care in Texas Public Behavioral Health (6th Version) is the most recent version of these 
guidelines. It serves as a resource for physicians and clinicians who care for children diagnosed 
with mental health disorders. The guide provides recommendations for the appropriate use of 
psychotropic medications for children in foster care and includes nine criteria indicating the 
need for review of the child’s clinical status.

Since April 2008, STAR Health has conducted Psychotropic Medication Utilization Reviews 
(PMURs) on the children whose medication treatment falls outside of the expectations of the 
Parameters. A PMUR can be initiated by STAR Health if indicated by a health screening 
or pharmacy claim review. A PMUR may also be triggered by a request from any judge, 
attorney, caseworker, advocate, foster parent, Medical Consenter, or other concerned person 
working with the child. The PMUR examines child-specific clinical information about a child’s 
diagnoses, medication dosage, and whether the medication treatment is in compliance with the 
Parameters. The PMUR is not a second opinion on whether the medication is appropriate for 
that child or whether the child is on “too much” medication. It primarily reviews whether the 
prescribing physician violated the Parameters (for example, are two medications prescribed 
that are contraindicated). STAR Health has committed to prioritize responses to inquiries from 

Psychotropic Medication Parameters for Children
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judges concerning children under their supervision. PMUR findings are usually sent to the 
child’s caseworker or can be faxed or emailed directly to the court, if requested.

All PMUR requests are reviewed by one of two STAR Health Licensed Behavior Health 
Clinicians who gather medical records and screen children’s psychotropic medication treatment 
for compliance with the Parameters. If the treatment is outside the Parameters, the clinician 
refers the case to a STAR Health child psychiatrist to conduct a PMUR. The child psychiatrist 
outreaches to the treating physician, works with the treating physician to reduce polypharmacy 
if indicated, and prepares a PMUR report. The PMUR report will contain a formal determination 
about the foster child’s medication treatment. The possible determinations are as follows:

•	 Medication treatment within Parameters;
•	 Medication treatment outside Parameters. Medication treatment reviewed and found 

to be within the standard of care;
•	 Medication treatment is outside Parameters and there is opportunity to reduce 

polypharmacy; or
•	 Medication treatment is outside Parameters and there is risk for or evidence of 

significant side effects.

Physicians who appear to consistently prescribe outside the Parameters despite risk for or 
evidence of significant side effects, or when there is an opportunity to reduce polypharmacy, 
are referred to the Quality of Care (QOC) review process. Additional records are examined for 
pervasive patterns of over or dangerous prescribing. Qualifying cases may be referred to the 
Peer Review Committee for further investigation and action. The Peer Review Committee is 
established by the Managed Care Organization, Superior HealthPlan, and consists of network 
providers who review PMUR concerns for STAR Health Members who exceed the Quality-of-
Care thresholds. Superior HealthPlan also utilizes consultant physicians as needed to review 
specific specialist issues, if a need is identified. The results of Quality Improvement and Peer 
Review Committee investigations and actions are confidential and may not be released to or 
discussed with the public. All QOC issues are tracked and trended. Any practitioner showing 
a pattern or trend may be placed on corrective action and/or face disciplinary action up to and 
including termination of their contract, if warranted.

A PMUR cannot address whether other medications might be effective, and this process is not 
the appropriate avenue to address immediate concerns about new medications or medication 
side effects; the informed consent process is considered the appropriate avenue to inquire 
about new medications and side effects. In these situations, STAR Health recommends that 
the Medical Consenter contact the prescribing physician directly. DFPS also employs Nurse 
Consultants in each administrative region to assist DFPS staff with children’s health issues, 
including questions about psychotropic medications.

The Parameters and PMUR can be accessed on DFPS’ website at https://www.dfps.texas.gov/
Child_Protection/Medical_Services/Psychotropic_Medications.asp.

https://www.dfps.texas.gov/Child_Protection/Medical_Services/Psychotropic_Medications.asp
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Regular review of the status and progress of a permanency plan is a vital responsibility of 
a child’s attorney. Reviewing the permanency goal is particularly important following any 
significant incident or change in a child’s circumstances or service plan. Some factors may 
include placement, mental health and therapeutic needs, access to services, and the available 
support of family and community resources. 

Identifying both primary and concurrent permanency goals is critical for the child’s attorney 
especially if a child client is in PMC. Common permanency goals for children include:

•	 Relative Conservatorship
•	 Relative Adoption
•	 Non-relative Adoption
•	 Another Planned Permanent Living Arrangement (APPLA)

An attorney for a child must review the DFPS permanency goals with their client regularly 
and at a minimum, prior to every hearing. Inattention to or delay in reviewing the permanency 
plan increases the risk that the progress of a permanency plan will stall. In some cases, a child 
might not agree with the permanency goals DFPS has identified and at times the permanency 
goals might change.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: To minimize the possibility of unnecessary delays in 
permanency, take an active role in assessing what is required to achieve permanency for 
the child and identify and monitor the progress of the steps necessary to achieve that goal. 

SETTING PERMANENCY GOALS
Some children may have a stated goal in the permanency plan but no realistic path to obtain the 
goal. For example, a child’s goal could be adoption, but the child may be placed in an RTC with 
no current pre-adoptive homes available to meet their needs. In addition, a child’s preference 
for what permanency looks like might change over time, particularly for older youth. 

Just like a child’s permanency goal might change, a child’s permanency options might change 
as well, thereby requiring the child’s attorney to fully engage in understanding the options and 
what might be required as a result of the change. For instance, a child might develop a mental 
health or medical issue that requires intervention that temporarily or permanently alters the 
child’s permanency options. On the other hand, the circumstances of an older sibling or other 
relative of a child might change, creating a new placement option for a child, thus possibly 
creating a new permanency option. 

When the path to permanency is not clearly defined for a child, an attorney can help by 
assessing the reasons contributing to the child’s current circumstances and by exploring 
creative solutions. This might require the attorney to mine the case record for other names 
or passed placements that have been overlooked in prior permanency planning. In some 
cases, a permanency conference with all the child’s advocates and certain service providers in 
attendance can be helpful.

Relative Conservatorship 
If the permanency goal includes a relative or kin caregiver, it is important for the attorney 
to identify the Kinship Caseworker working with the child’s kinship placement. Maintaining 
communication with the Kinship Caseworker can be very important when moving forward 

Permanency Goals and Permanency Planning
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with a child’s permanency plan.

If the child is placed with kin, an attorney should develop a rapport with the child’s kinship 
caregiver. Consistent and productive communication will continue to be critical as the attorney 
for their child client’s permanency.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: If kinship funds are scheduled to end before permanency 
is achieved, consider whether a request to extend the kinship fund payments would be 
appropriate given the case-specific circumstances. An extension of kinship funds is not 
automatic and might require a motion and a court order in some situations.

A child’s attorney must know what the permanency plan is, the specific steps that must be 
accomplished before permanency with a final order is achieved and have regular contact with 
the placement and the child to ensure the case is on track to accomplish those steps and to have 
a clear understanding of the progress made toward permanency. It is important for the child’s 
attorney to be aware of any issue that might arise and to assess whether a solution to those 
issues might require a court order. 

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: In some situations, DFPS policy might prohibit DFPS 
from taking specific actions necessary to overcome a barrier to kinship permanency. A 
child’s attorney can assist with determining what is needed to overcome the barrier, 
including filing a motion and requesting a court order. Being familiar with any relevant 
DFPS policies can assist with determining the best advocacy for the child. 

It is very helpful for the child’s attorney to have ongoing conversations with the kinship caregiver 
to learn their understanding of the permanency plan and to help monitor their preparedness to 
achieve that child’s permanency plan.

•	 Is the permanency plan for the kinship caregiver to be granted Non-Parent Sole 
Managing Conservator of the child?

•	 Is the permanency plan for the kinship caregiver to be named Non-Parent Sole 
Managing Conservator of the child with a Permanency Care Agreement (PCA)?

•	 Are there unresolved matters delaying permanency, such as a child’s ongoing 
therapeutic needs or medical issues? 

•	 Is there testing or an evaluation that needs to be completed before further progress can 
be made?

In some cases, a child’s permanency plan might not be adoption, even though the child is 
eligible for adoption as a result of the termination of a parent’s rights or a parent’s death. There 
are several reasons why this might be the case:

•	 A child who is 12 years old or older might not want to be adopted.
•	 A barrier might exist preventing a kinship placement from being licensed to adopt a 

child but does not prevent another conservatorship arrangement.

A child who initially did not want to be adopted might change their mind. In this case, the 
attorney ad litem will need to know if adoption is a viable option. 

•	 Is the kinship placement already licensed? If not, is the kinship placement willing to 



153

C
hild’s A

ttorney Issues

become licensed? 
•	 Is becoming licensed to adopt a realistic process for the kinship placement? 

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: A child’s attorney might encounter conversations with 
the kinship caregiver that relate to specific legal matters relevant to the permanency plan. 
As the child’s attorney, it is inappropriate to provide legal advice to the child’s kinship 
caregiver. The child’s attorney can be prepared for this by making sure legal resources are 
made available to the kinship caregiver, should they need to confer about a legal matter 
or have general legal questions. Texaslawhelp.org or the Family Law HelpLine are two 
such resources which kinship placements might find helpful.

Relative and Non-relative Adoption
ADOPTION PREPARATION
It is critical for a child’s attorney to advise child clients about what it means to be adopted. 
The child’s attorney can ensure that the child understands the legal and practical effects of 
adoption. Factors to discuss include:

•	 The adoptive family will become the child’s new family and will be obligated to take 
care of and provide for the child as if they were the child’s biological family;

•	 If the plan is a non-relative adoption, it is unlikely that the child will have continued 
communication or visitation with the child’s biological parent after adoption.

If a child 12 years or older is eligible for adoption, it is important for the child’s attorney to 
talk with the child about the requirement of consent and what it means to consent. First and 
foremost, a child’s attorney should ask the child whether they want to be adopted.

•	 If the child is eligible to be adopted, but does not want to be adopted, is there another 
viable permanency option?

•	 Does the child need a pause in the adoption preparation process to explore issues with 
adoption or options other than adoption in a therapeutic setting?

•	 If the child wants to be adopted, has the adoptive parent been identified? 
•	 Is the child in agreement with adoption by the identified adoptive parent or has the 

child identified someone else?
•	 Is the child currently living with the person the child has identified?

Adoption can have an impact on sibling relationships if siblings are not adopted as a group. 
A child’s attorney should consider the importance of preserving sibling relationships and if 
appropriate for the clients, advocate for adoption as a sibling group. 

If the child’s adoptive family members are biological or symbolic relatives, there might be an 
opportunity for the child to maintain some form of contact with a biological parent now or in 
the future. It is important for the child’s attorney to understand any parameters stated in court 
orders or circumstances related to the child’s specific permanency plan when talking with a 
child about adoption.
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Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Work with DFPS to include information about the 
child’s important relationships to relatives and fictive kin when families come forward 
seeking to adopt to determine if they may be amenable to maintaining these relationships 
in some manner, or at least maintaining the contact information to provide to the child 
at some later time. Also, if the siblings will not be adopted together but want continued 
contact, file a Petition for Continued Sibling Access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.551

To identify whether a potential adoptive family is a good fit, the child strengths and challenges 
should be considered

•	 Does your child client have special needs? 
•	 Does the trauma your child client experienced indicate that it would be best for the 

child to be an “only child” or be a part of a larger family? 

DFPS will prepare profiles of the child that will be used to find potential adoptive families. 
DFPS will need photos of the child to include in such materials and often has professional 
organizations who take those photos. 

Action Steps

•	 Obtain contact information of the current adoption caseworker and the adoption 
supervisor.

•	 Review the prospective adoptive parent’s home study. Schedule a meeting with the 
individual. 

•	 Identify if the prospective adoptive parent is already licensed to adopt, and if not 
identify where they are in the licensing process and what remains to be done.

•	 Identify the agency that will issue or that has issued the license.
•	 Identify the agency case manager who is working with the family.
•	 Familiarized yourself with the conditions that deem a child eligible for post-adoption 

assistance.
•	 Reviewed the post-adoption assistance requirements that relate to your client’s specific 

circumstances, such as age, race, disability, and siblings.
•	 Identify if licensing expenses are delaying progress.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Consider requesting a court order for DFPS to cover the 
licensing expenses. DFPS may have access to community resources that can help or cover 
the expenses if ordered to do so.
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Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Adoption after age two and age six can affect the 
availability of an adoption subsidy. If the child is close to either age and would be eligible 
for post-adoption assistance once they reach that age, consider requesting a court order 
that no adoptive placement occur until the child reaches the relevant age.  If you are 
uncertain as to whether the adoptive parent wants to wait until that time, ask for a 
court order that no adoptive placement occur before the next hearing and talk with the 
caregiver to see what they want. Not all caregivers want to wait, and it is important 
that they have the opportunity to think this through. Explore whether there are other 
circumstances that might deem a child eligible without waiting.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Ask DFPS to review the profiles (most often prepared 
in connection with the Texas Adoption Resource Exchange known as “TARE”) and the 
photos to be sure that they accurately portray your client. The child’s challenges should be 
included in a carefully presented manner so that potential adoptive families are informed 
enough to determine whether they can accept and support the child’s needs.

Sometimes DFPS, the court, or even the child can “rush” permanency. Especially for older youth, 
a child’s attorney should counsel their child clients about the dangers of rushing adoption with 
a family they may not have spent much time with and the loss of benefits if they are adopted 
before turning 18. Failed adoptions involving older youth can leave them at risk for housing 
instability and exploitation, and without the support or benefits designated for youth who age 
out of foster care.

Another Planned Permanent Living Arrangement (APPLA)
APPLA occurs when a child ages out of foster care without positive legal permanency. Sometimes 
referred to as Independent Living, APPLA means the child will remain in the care of DFPS 
until adulthood. APPLA is a last-resort permanency option once the options of reunification, 
adoption by a relative or kin, permanent guardianship by relative or kin, or unrelated adoption 
options were exhausted or determined not to be in the best interests of the child. By law, DFPS 
must demonstrate and document a compelling reason to pursue APPLA. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.3026(b). 

WHEN YOUR CLIENT CHOOSES APPLA
Some youth choose to age out of care for a variety of reasons. An attorney ad litem should 
take the time necessary to thoroughly understand the youth’s goals and wishes. This includes 
periodically checking in with the youth since their goals and wishes can change over time. A 
child might have a clear goal, especially at age 16 or 17 that includes the desire to extend their 
time in care to continue to prepare for independence.

While aging out of foster care might not be the first choice for any child, it remains important 
for the child’s attorney to listen to what a youth needs, wants, and expresses as a permanency 
goal. For instance, it can be very important for a child’s attorney to review the Extended Care 
Agreement with their client well before the youth turns 18. The attorney can help explain 
the options, the terms of the agreement, and the consequences. It might take more than one 
client meeting to review these options. It is important for the attorney to ensure the child 
understands that signing the agreement does not commit them to extended care if they change 
their mind and they choose another permanency option. However, entering an extended care 
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agreement before turning 18 will provide another option, especially if that child is uncertain 
as to what path to take.

SERVICE PLANNING AND PREPARATION FOR ADULT LIVING FOR APPLA 
YOUTH
DFPS, together with foster care providers, is required to address the unique challenges facing 
children in PMC who must transition to adult living. 

•	 Preparation for adult living begins at age 14 with an independent life-skill assessment, 
commonly known as the Casey Life-Skills Assessment (CLSA). DFPS must update 
the assessment annually through the youth’s plan of service in coordination with the 
youth, the youth’s caseworker, the youth’s Preparation for Adult Living (PAL) worker, 
and caregiver. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121(a-4) and (a-5). 

•	 The youth’s caseworker also is required by DFPS policy to ensure that the Child’s Plan 
of Service (CPOS) addresses life skills. DFPS Handbook, Section 6241.1 

•	 If the youth’s level of care is basic, DFPS requires caseworkers to review the CPOS 
every 6 months. For children with higher levels of care, DFPS requires CPOS to review 
every 3 months. DFPS Handbook, Section 6241.22.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: If the child is 14 years of age or older, the court is 
required to determine whether services are needed to assist the child in transitioning 
from substitute care to independent living are available in the child’s community. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.5031(a)(4)(G). In addition, if DFPS’ permanency goal is APPLA, the 
court is specifically required to determine if DFPS has conducted a CLSA and if DFPS has 
addressed the permanency plan, including the child’s housing plan and the results of the 
CLSA. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.5031(a)(4)(F). If DFPS fails or refuses to conduct or update 
the CLSA or fails to update the CPOS to address the scores, the child’s attorney can ask 
the court for appropriate orders.

Practice Tip: For an in-depth understanding of the youth’s knowledge and confidence, 
and to ensure your youth has given the assessment a good effort, ask to review the youth’s 
responses to the CLSA. Information about how to interpret the CLSA and to develop a 
learning plan for a youth can be found in the Resources To Inspire Guide found at http://
www.casey.org/media/CLS_project_PracticeGuide.pdf. The guide contains helpful links 
to websites where youth can learn and practice life skills.

In order to access most transitional living services, such as the Transitional Living Allowance, 
youth are required to complete life skills training or Preparation for Adult Living (PAL) classes. 
PAL classes are generally offered to youth age 16 or older through local Transitional Living 
Centers; however, if approved, a youth may complete the PAL Life Skills Independent Study 
Guide instead of attending trainings. DFPS Handbook, Section 10223. DFPS requires that 
life-skill trainings cover financial management, health and safety, housing and transportation, 
job readiness, life decisions and responsibilities, and personal and social relationships. DFPS 
Handbook, Section 10222. 

http://www.casey.org/media/CLS_project_PracticeGuide.pdf
https://www.dfps.texas.gov/Child_Protection/Youth_and_Young_Adults/Transitional_Living/transition_centers.asp
https://www.dfps.texas.gov/Child_Protection/Youth_and_Young_Adults/Transitional_Living/transition_centers.asp
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Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: At hearings for youth who are at least 16 years old, 
ask if the youth has been offered the opportunity to participate in PAL classes. If a 
youth has not participated in PAL classes, determine if there are barriers to the youth’s 
participation and seek appropriate orders or accommodations. If the youth refuses to 
participate in classes, make sure the youth is aware that they may not be able to access 
certain transitional living services and that the youth has signed a PAL Life Skills 
Training Refusal form. A Brief Overview of Transition Living Services handout contains 
a good synopsis of transitional services available to youth found at https://www.dfps.
texas.gov/Child_Protection/Youth_and_Young_Adults/Transitional_Living/documents/
Transitional_Living_Services_Handout.pdf.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Even if youth refuse to complete PAL classes, DFPS 
should still offer services to the youth to assist them in their transition from substitute 
care. Ensure the youth has a Transition Plan (see DFPS form K-908-2500) and that the 
youth’s transition plan includes provisions to assist the youth in managing their housing 
needs after they leave care. If the youth takes prescription medication, the transition 
plan should include provisions to assist the youth in managing the use of medication and 
in managing the youth’s long-term physical and mental health needs. Also, ensure the 
youth was provided with the identification documents and information listed in Tex. Fam. 
Code § 264.121(e) (i.e., birth certificate, a social security card, a personal identification 
certificate, etc.).

https://www.dfps.texas.gov/Child_Protection/Youth_and_Young_Adults/Transitional_Living/documents/Transitional_Living_Services_Handout.pdf
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Children in the PMC of DFPS continue to face the same issues and needs faced by children 
in the TMC of DFPS. However, with the absence of a statutory deadline, no settings for a 
trial on the merits, and often no parents’ counsel, it can be even more critical for the child’s 
attorney ad litem to monitor the child’s service plan and permanency goal. In addition, family 
and community connections, normalcy activities, and permanency planning are of the utmost 
importance for a child in the PMC of DFPS. 

See the Permanency Hearings After Final Order section of this tool kit for the statutory 
requirements for PMC Hearings.

Potential Outcomes 
PMC WITH TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS
In cases involving the termination of parental rights, the court most often will grant PMC of a 
child to DFPS, and this conservatorship status will remain in place until further court order. 
The child’s attorney should monitor the possibility of an appeal since this might delay achieving 
permanency for the child. Most child welfare cases will transfer from a conservatorship unit 
to an adoption unit even during an appellate period. Permanency goals for the child will still 
require planning and monitoring. 

PMC WITHOUT TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS
In some cases, the court might grant PMC to DFPS without terminating the parents’ rights, in 
order to further address a child’s needs or a family’s circumstances. Such cases often involve 
older youth, a developmentally disabled parent or child, or a child with significant mental 
health or medical issues. 

Special Issues for Children in the PMC of DFPS
FAMILY AND SIBLING CONNECTIONS
Children who have been separated from their siblings, especially older youth, should be advised 
of their right to petition the court for access to their siblings, either while still minors or when 
they become adults. The sibling who was separated from a child may file an original suit for 
access or a suit for modification in the county where the child lives. The court shall order 
reasonable access to the child by the child’s sibling if the court finds that access is in the best 
interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.551.

NORMALCY ACTIVITIES
Normalcy activities take on a heightened importance for children in PMC of DFPS. See the 
Normalcy section of this tool kit for more information. 

ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AND SUPPORT
Children in PMC may experience frequent placement changes that can affect their school 
stability. Efforts should be made to maintain educational progress as much as possible. Special 
attention should be paid to ensure that children are given the opportunity to attend the same 
school after a placement change (unless it is not in their best interest), to participate in activities 
and sports, to be immediately enrolled if a school change is needed, and to obtain their high 
school diploma from a new school under the requirements from their previous school if they 
transferred in 11th or 12th grade. See the School Stability Under Federal & State Law section 
of this tool kit.

Representation of Children in the Permanent Managing 
Conservatorship (PMC) of DFPS     
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PLACEMENT AND PERMANENCY ISSUES AND OPTIONS
Children with certain issues in their history may be more difficult to place in regular and 
extended foster care. See the Placement and Older Youth in Care sections of this tool kit for 
more information.

RECONSIDERATION OF A TERMINATED PARENT AS A PLACEMENT
After a termination, a parent could later become an appropriate and viable placement option for 
a child. As discussed in the Reinstatement of Parental Rights section of this tool kit, in certain 
circumstances, parties may petition the court to reinstate parental rights. If reinstatement of 
parental rights is not appropriate, parents may still be reconsidered as placement options post-
termination for youth in the PMC of DFPS. Accordingly, the child’s attorney for a child in PMC 
should consider parents whose rights have been terminated as placement options, especially in 
cases where other placement options are limited or lacking.

A parent whose rights are terminated may be an appropriate placement when:

1.	 The parent’s circumstances have changed enough to make them a safe placement, 
even if full reinstatement of rights may not be appropriate. (e.g., parent is living with 
a suitable individual who will be protective or has undergone drug treatment and 
maintained sobriety for an adequate period of time); or

2.	 The child’s circumstances have changed to reduce the child’s vulnerability as it relates 
to the parent’s unfitness (e.g., the child’s is older, or the child has overcome a mental 
or physical disability).

In any case in which the parent is being considered as a placement after their rights were 
terminated, it is critical that the child’s attorney consult with and determine the child’s desires 
and openness to such a placement, while being sensitive to their trauma history. See the 
Reinstatement of Parental Rights section of this tool kit for more information.
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An attorney representing teenage youth in foster care must be aware of several specific duties 
the attorney, DFPS, and the courts have regarding older youth, as well as best practices that 
can help prevent negative outcomes for youth who age out of DFPS care.

Legal Requirements Before a Youth’s 18th Birthday 
MEDICAL CONSENT

Child’s Attorney Duties Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.003(b)(3)(A), 266.010

Once a child turns 16, the child’s attorney must advise the child of their right to request the 
court authorize the child to consent to the child’s own medical care and file a motion if the 
youth wants to request that authority. Though the duty applies once the child turns 16, an 
attorney should begin advising and building rapport with the client regarding the issue well 
ahead of the child’s birthday. The child’s attorney should advise the child that if the court 
allows the child to consent to their own medical care, DFPS will require them to complete 
the Caregiver Medical Consent Training and, if applicable, the Psychotropic Medication for 
Children in Foster Care Training. CPS Handbook Section 11140.

IDENTIFICATION ISSUES

DFPS Duties Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121(a-7), (e), (e-1)

By age 16, DFPS must provide youth with original or certified copies of the following:

•	 Birth certificate
•	 Social Security card
•	 Texas Identification Card or Driver’s License

By age 18, DFPS must also provide youth with the following:

•	 Immunization records
•	 Health passport
•	 A Medicaid card or other proof of Medicaid enrollment or insurance card from the 

health plan that provides health coverage to the youth.

Before a youth leaves foster care, if the youth is age 14 or older, DFPS must ensure that 
the youth has an e-mail address through which the youth may receive encrypted copies of 
personal documents and records. DFPS has compiled a complete list of these documents and 
information owed to youth in care in the 2022 DFPS Personal Documents for Youth Resource 
Guide, which can be found at: https://www.dfps.texas.gov/handbooks/CPS/Resource_Guides/
Personal_Documents_Resource_Guide.pdf.

The youth’s caseworker must assist the youth with developing a plan for keeping the documents 
in a safe place and inform the youth about the documents the youth is required to receive 
before the youth exits foster care. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.121(e-4).

Child’s Attorney Duties Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(3)(B)

Once a child turns 16, the child’s attorney must ascertain whether the child has received:

•	 Original or certified copy of their birth certificate

Older Youth in Foster Care

https://www.dfps.texas.gov/handbooks/CPS/Resource_Guides/Personal_Documents_Resource_Guide.pdf
https://www.dfps.texas.gov/handbooks/CPS/Resource_Guides/Personal_Documents_Resource_Guide.pdf
https://www.dfps.texas.gov/handbooks/CPS/Resource_Guides/Personal_Documents_Resource_Guide.pdf
https://www.dfps.texas.gov/handbooks/CPS/Resource_Guides/Personal_Documents_Resource_Guide.pdf
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•	 Social Security card
•	 Texas Identification Card or Driver’s License
•	 Any other documents DFPS determines appropriate

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: If the attorney ascertains the child does not have the 
required documents, the attorney should advocate both inside and outside of court to assist 
the youth in obtaining the documents. That could mean helping the youth connect with 
appropriate government offices that can assist them in acquiring documents, working 
with DFPS to obtain documents, or setting hearings in front of the judge to request orders 
that missing documents be produced. 

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: It is essential that the youth knows and understands 
their immigration status and has all their original immigration documents. Assumptions 
about citizenship can have serious consequences for the youth later in life. Do not rely on 
third-hand explanations and seek outside immigration expertise if necessary. If the youth 
appears to not have immigration status or documents, attorneys should verify that DFPS 
staff is working on obtaining legal immigration status or documentation of their status 
and regular progress is being made. See the Special Immigrant Juvenile Status section of 
this tool kit for more information.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: A child’s attorney should ensure youth have access 
to their credit report and receive a copy of it before exiting care. Credit issues such as 
identity theft can occur regardless of the age of the child so ensure the report is done as 
soon as possible. DFPS is required to run and review a credit report for youth between the 
ages of 14 and 17 every year. 

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Verify that each identification document has the youth’s 
correct name and that the name is spelled correctly. It is also important to ask the youth 
what name they prefer and if they want to change their legal name. Youth may have 
strong negative feelings about their legal name if they associate it with someone who 
abused, neglected, or abandoned them, but they may not be aware they can change it. 
If there is a problem with the youth’s name or if the youth wants to change their name, 
it is much easier to correct the mistake or change the name before the youth turns 18. 
Be aware that in order to amend a birth certificate based on a name change order, Vital 
Statistics requires that the order includes the child’s date of birth, place of birth, full 
name in the official birth record, and the new name to be listed on the birth record. If the 
birth certificate needs to be amended, follow up with DFPS to ensure they complete this 
task before the youth exits care.

Preparing for Transition to Adulthood
PREPARATION FOR ADULT LIVING
The Preparation for Adult Living (PAL) program involves an independent living skills 
assessment, life skills classes, transition planning, conferences, and training events. Services 
may start as early as age 14 but must begin by age 16. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121. PAL services 
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are usually offered by local service providers who will also provide voluntary aftercare case 
management for the youth between age 18 and age 21. DFPS has dedicated PAL coordinators 
to help youth access benefits when they leave care.

Youth with disabilities should not be excluded from the PAL program. DFPS must make 
appropriate accommodations that allow for meaningful participation. Tex. Fam. Code § 
264.121(a)(4). 

Circle of Support (COS) meetings will be scheduled for youth who are on track to age out of 
foster care. A COS is centered on the youth and is the preferred method of transition planning. 
The youth is permitted to invite foster care providers, teachers, parents, siblings, relatives, 
mentors, attorneys, CASAs, and friends. In addition to attending the COS, attorneys should 
help prepare the youth for the COS. A COS may feel intimidating to a youth but going over the 
structure and purpose of the meeting in advance can help reduce anxiety. This is particularly 
important as the effects of trauma can impede the youth’s ability to plan ahead and see a future 
for themselves. If an initial COS does not adequately address the youth’s transition needs, a 
child’s attorney can request an additional COS and help the youth plan ahead for the meeting. 
This may be especially necessary if the youth experiences frequent placement changes as they 
near their 18th birthday.

EXTENDED FOSTER CARE
Youth who wish to remain in extended foster care after their 18th birthday must meet one of 
the following eligibility criteria:

•	 Attend high school or a program leading to a high school diploma or a high school 
equivalency certificate (GED);

•	 Attend college or higher learning institution, or post-secondary vocational program or 
technical program (6 credit hour minimum); 

•	 Participate in an employment program or activity that promotes or removes barriers 
to employment;

•	 Work at a job at least 80 hours per month; or
•	 Have a documented medical condition that limits other activities.

Not later than six months before the youth’s 18th birthday, DFPS must complete all necessary 
paperwork to ensure the youth has housing on the date the youth enters extended foster care. 
DFPS must also review the qualifications and requirements for the youth’s housing not later 
than 90 days before their 18th birthday. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.1214.

Supervised Independent Living (SIL) is a program available only to young adults in extended 
foster care that allows them to live independently in a supervised living arrangement while 
their expenses are paid by DFPS. SIL placement locations can be apartments, college dorms, 
or shared housing. If permitted by the property owner, DFPS should allow the young adult to 
co-sign the lease for their housing.

If a young adult chooses not to remain in extended foster care, they can return any time before 
they turn 21, as long as there is a placement available. This is an available option regardless of 
whether the Trial Independence period has ended or if the court still has Extended Jurisdiction.
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TRANSITIONAL SERVICES AND BENEFITS

Healthcare

•	 Former Foster Care Children’s Medicaid (FFCC): Young adults are eligible only if they 
were in DFPS conservatorship and received federally funded Medicaid on their 18th 
birthday; this benefit is not dependent on means; youth are eligible for this benefit 
until age 26. Note that a youth who is incarcerated does not receive Medicaid, so a 
youth who is in juvenile or adult jail or prison on their 18th birthday will not qualify 
for FFCC.

•	 Medicaid for Transitioning Foster Care Youth (MTFCY): Young adults are eligible for 
this benefit if they were not receiving federally funded Medicaid, but were in DFPS 
conservatorship, on their 18th birthday. Youth are eligible for this benefit until age 21 
and must be under 400% of the Federal Poverty Guideline.

•	 Maintaining Medicaid Eligibility: All Medicaid recipients, including young adults 
formerly in foster care, must renew their Medicaid eligibility once every 12 months. To 
ensure continuous coverage, young adults must provide their current mailing address 
to HHSC. If the young adult’s address changes without noticing HHSC, and HHSC 
receives returned mail and cannot locate the young adult, the young adult’s Medicaid 
benefits will be denied. A young adult can report an address change online through 
YourTexasBenefits.com at https://www. yourtexasbenefits.com/Learn/Home, the Your 
Texas Benefits mobile app, calling 211, in person at a local Medicaid eligibility office, 
or by in writing by mail or by fax. Young adults must also respond to requests for 
information from HHSC and may need to verify that they are a Texas resident and/or 
their immigration status.

Transitional Expenses

•	 Transitional Living Allowance (TLA): This cash benefit of $1,000 is available in two 
separate payments of $500 each. It is available to young adults who were in foster care 
on their 18th birthday, who completed the PAL life skills class, who are transitioning 
to independent or supervised living, and were in a paid placement within 24 months of 
requesting the benefit. Recipients must meet the same eligibility criteria as extended 
foster care and must receive the benefit before their 21st birthday. CPS Handbook § 
10241.

•	 Aftercare Room and Board (ARB): This is an emergency benefit of up to a maximum 
of $3,000 paid, in increments of no more than $500 per month, directly to landlords 
or utility companies or as a grocery store gift card. It is available to young adults who 
were in foster care on their 18th birthday and demonstrate emergency financial need. 
They must meet the same eligibility criteria as extended foster care and must receive 
the benefit before their 21st birthday. CPS Handbook § 10251.

Education

•	 Tuition/Fee Waiver: This benefit waives tuition and fees for all Texas public institutions 
of higher education (including 2-year colleges, 4-year universities, and technical 
schools). Eligible youth or young adults, including some youth who are reunified with 
parents, must enroll in a dual credit or college credit course before their 25th birthday 
to lock in the benefit. Once the benefit is activated, it does not expire. Tex. Educ. Code 
§ 54.366. Adopted youth may also be eligible for the waiver and have no age by which 
they must enroll to maintain the benefit. Tex. Educ. Code § 54.367.

http://www/
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Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: The eligibility criteria for the tuition and fee waiver, as 
well as assessing which programs qualify for the waiver, is complex. Contact the regional 
Preparation for Adult Living specialist to verify eligibility.

•	 Education and Training Voucher (ETV): This is a federal cash benefit of up to $5,000 
per year for expenses related to college or training programs (e.g., housing, food, books, 
childcare, computer equipment, other expenses). Eligible young adults can receive the 
benefit until age 23 (available to more than only aged out foster youth). 40 Tex. Admin. 
Code § 700.1613.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Some aftercare benefits are contingent based on how 
the child exits care. It is important to advise the client well before their 18th birthday on 
the benefits which might be available under each exit type. For example, an older youth 
who wants to be adopted will lose many benefits associated with aging out of foster care 
but access other benefits. Attorneys should consider advising their older youth clients on 
the option of an adult adoption after the client turns 18.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Explaining health insurance and financial benefits to 
youth can be challenging. Attorneys should take the time to explain them in a way that 
youth can understand. The Texas Foster Youth Justice Project also has resources found at 
https://texasfosteryouth.org/legal-resources/legal-resources-for-youth/. These resources 
can help youth understand the benefits in a way that is accessible to them. 

Housing

•	 Rental Assistance Voucher Programs: If a young adult is not able or willing to remain 
in extended foster care, they may be eligible for a rental assistance program specifically 
for youth who have experience in foster care. The Family Unification Program (FUP) 
Voucher and the Foster Youth to Independence (FYI) Voucher are available to young 
adults 18-24 years of age and can provide up to 36 months of rental assistance. 

•	 Section 811 Project Rental Assistance: Young adults aging out of foster care with a 
documented disability may apply for Section 811 rental assistance which they may 
potentially receive until age 62. They must be referred to the program by DFPS. 

•	 DFPS regional housing liaisons are designated to help young adults apply and get on 
the wait lists for these opportunities. 

Extended Jurisdiction
Extended jurisdiction allows the court to retain a young adult’s case on the court’s docket 
after the young adult turns 18, hold review hearings to determine whether the young adult is 
receiving appropriate services, and order DFPS to provide certain services to the young adult. 
The court may not compel a young adult to attend a hearing and the young adult still maintains 
all the rights of any adult of the same age. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.601-263.608. When a young 
adult turns 18, DFPS conservatorship is dismissed and the court is prohibited from appointing 
DFPS or the Department of Aging and Disability Services as the managing conservator or 
guardian of a young adult. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.607. The young adult can choose to either 

https://texasfosteryouth.org/legal-resources/legal-resources-for-youth/
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remain in Extended Foster Care (EFC) or can exit DFPS’ care to live independently, also known 
as Trial Independence (TI). When a young adult makes a decision to remain in EFC or to begin 
TI, the young adult is considered to be in Extended Court Jurisdiction. The court may retain 
jurisdiction until age 21 at the young adult’s request.

TRANSITIONAL LIVING SERVICES
A young adult who stays in EFC may or may not be receiving Transitional Living Services 
(TLS). TLS are multipurpose and include circles of support, preparation for adult living classes, 
education and training vouchers, college tuition and fee waivers, and other related services and 
support of young people 16 to 21 or up to 22 years of age who are currently or formerly in foster 
care, or who are transitioning out of care.

PATHS FOR YOUNG ADULTS AGING OUT OF FOSTER CARE

Path 1 – Extended Foster Care Tex. Fam. Code § 263.602.

For a young adult in EFC, a review hearing is held every six months. A young adult can exit 
EFC for TI at any time prior to age 21. For those remaining in EFC, the court’s extended 
jurisdiction ends at age 21.

Path 2 – Trial Independence Tex. Fam. Code § 263.6015.

If at age 18 the young adult decides to not stay in EFC, he or she exits to Trial Independence 
(TI) which automatically extends up to six months. Trial Independence may be extended up to 
12 months by court order. The young adult can choose to return to EFC during the TI period 
or at any time before age 21. A young adult may or may not use TLS while in TI but receiving 
TLS effects the court’s extended jurisdiction over the youth’s case.

No hearings are required by the court during TI, but the young adult may request a hearing, 
or the court may set hearings on its own motion as long as the court maintains jurisdiction. At 
a hearing, a court may review and make orders regarding the services being provided to youth, 
identification documents the youth may need, and sibling contact if the youth has siblings in 
DFPS conservatorship.

Path 2A – Trial Independence without Transitional Living Services

If the young adult does not receive TLS, the court’s jurisdiction ends on the last day of the 
month in which the young adult’s TI period ends or upon the young adult’s 21st birthday, 
whichever is earlier, unless the court has extended jurisdiction until age 21.

Path 2B – Trial Independence with Transitional Living Services

Prior to the young adult’s TI period ending, the young adult can request a voluntary extension 
of the court’s jurisdiction beyond the TI period if the young adult is currently receiving TLS. 
The court’s jurisdiction ends when the young adult turns 21, or before, if the young adult 
withdraws consent to the court’s extended jurisdiction.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: In the court hearing immediately before a child client 
turns 18, consider submitting a motion to extend the court’s jurisdiction until age 21. 
This establishes a safety net that causes no harm and allows the young adult to request 
assistance from the court if needed for an additional amount of time.
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Paid Placement
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Jurisdiction to continue and  

may ask for Extended Foster Care 
 Review Hearing.

Extended Foster Care
Agrees to Remain in 

Care (Paid Placement)

Extended Foster Care  
Review Hearing  

(every 6 months until 
age 21 or child leaves 

placement*)
* The court may extend 
its jurisdiction past the 
age of 21 for a child who 

is incapacitated and 
for whom the agency is 

seeking a guardian under 
the DADS program.

<<
<<

<<

Trial Independence
Leaves Paid  
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<<

Trial Independence 
Terminates 

At end of 6 months unless 
extended by the court to 12 

months or age 21 
(whichever occurs first).

Extended Foster Care 
Review Hearing: 

Only if Child Requests.
<<

<<
<<

<<

<<
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Paternity
Establishing the Parent-Child Relationship

The Mother-Child Relationship is established between a woman and a child by:

•	 The woman giving birth to the child;
•	 An adjudication of the woman’s maternity; or
•	 The adoption of the child by a woman.

The Father-Child Relationship is established between a man and a child by:

•	 An unrebutted presumption of a man’s paternity of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 160.204;
•	 An effective acknowledgment of paternity under Subchapter D of Tex. Fam. Code § 

160.204, unless the acknowledgment has been rescinded or successfully challenged;
•	 An adjudication of the man’s paternity;
•	 The adoption of a child by the man; or
•	 The man’s consent to assisted reproduction by his wife under Subchapter H, which 

resulted in the birth of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 160.201.

Types of Fathers as Defined in the Texas Family Code
•	 Presumed
•	 Alleged (or putative)
•	 Acknowledged
•	 Adjudicated
•	 Unknown

PRESUMED FATHER
•	 A man who is married to the mother of the child and the child is born during the 

marriage;
•	 A man who is married to the mother of the child and the child is born before the 301st 

day after the date the marriage is terminated by death, annulment, declaration of 
invalidity, or divorce;

•	 A man who is married to the mother of the child before the birth of the child in apparent 
compliance with the law, even if the attempted marriage is or could be declared invalid 
and the child is born during the invalid marriage or before the 301st day after the date 
the marriage it terminated by death, annulment, declaration of invalidity, or divorce;

•	 A man who married the mother of the child after the birth of the child in apparent 
compliance with law, regardless of whether the marriage is or could be declared invalid, 
he voluntarily asserted his paternity of the child, and:

o	 the assertion is in a record filed with Vital Statistics;
o	 he is voluntarily named as the child’s father on the child’s birth certificate; or
o	 he promised in a record to support the child as his own.

•	 A man who during the first two years of the child’s life, continuously resided in the 
household in which the child resided and represented to others that the child was his 
own. Tex. Fam. Code § 160.204.
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ALLEGED FATHER
A man who alleges himself to be, or is alleged to be, the genetic father or possible genetic 
father of a child, but his paternity has not been determined. An alleged father cannot establish 
paternity or create a presumption of paternity by registering with the Paternity Registry, but 
timely registration entitles him to notice of an action for termination of parental rights or 
adoption of a child he may have fathered.

Methods of Establishing an Alleged Father’s Paternity

•	 The mother of a child and the man claiming to be the biological father sign an 
acknowledgment of paternity with the intent to establish the man’s paternity. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 160.301. A valid acknowledgment of paternity filed with Vital Statistics is 
the equivalent of an adjudication of the paternity of a child and confers all rights and 
duties. Tex. Fam. Code § 160.305.

•	 An alleged father can testify in open court and ask the court to establish paternity.
•	 Genetic testing is done. DFPS may obtain genetic testing through the Office of the 

Attorney General. Any party, attorney ad litem, or guardian ad litem for the child may 
request that genetic testing be ordered by the court to establish paternity.

•	 If the alleged father refuses to submit to genetic testing, the court may adjudicate 
paternity contrary to his position. Tex. Fam. Code § 160.622.

As soon as a legal father is established, any other potential candidates can be dismissed.

ACKNOWLEDGED FATHER
A man who has executed an Acknowledgement of Paternity (AOP). A valid AOP filed with the 
VSU is the equivalent of an adjudication of paternity.

ADJUDICATED FATHER
A man who has been adjudicated by a court to be the father of a child. Adjudication can be 
accomplished by an admission of paternity under penalty of perjury during a hearing or in 
response to a refusal to submit to genetic testing. A signed Acknowledgment of Paternity 
that has been filed with the Department of State Health Services is also the equivalent of an 
adjudication of paternity.

Paternity Registry
Vital Statistics maintains a paternity registry. A man who wants to be notified of a proceeding 
for the adoption or the termination of parental rights regarding a child he may have fathered 
may register before the birth of the child or no later than the 31st day after the child’s birth. 
The registrant has the responsibility of keeping his information current with Vital Statistics. 
A man who has filed with the paternity registry within the requisite time frame is entitled to 
be served with notice of a suit involving the child. Registering with the paternity registry also 
establishes a basis for personal jurisdiction of a person who is not a Texas resident.

If no father-child relationship can be established, a petitioner (DFPS) seeking termination of 
parental rights or adoption must obtain a certificate of the results of a search of the paternity 
registry. If the petitioner (DFPS) has reason to believe that conception or birth of the child may 
have occurred in another state, the petitioner must obtain a certificate from the paternity or 
putative father registry of that state.
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Estoppel of Paternity
The Texas Legislature has recognized that in certain circumstances it may be in the best 
interest of the child not to have the child’s understanding of their paternity disrupted. The 
value of maintaining the child’s relationship with the man identified to the child as their father 
may prevent interested parties from litigating the issue, including denying a Motion for Genetic 
Testing. See Tex. Fam. Code §§ 160.607, 160.608, 160.609.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: For a child without an Adjudicated or Presumed Father, 
asking for DNA testing on any alleged father who is present at the hearing can save time 
and prevent delays to permanency. If the petition does not include a request to terminate 
the rights of the unknown father, a child’s attorney should consider including the request 
in their counter-petition.
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Child Support
All parents have a duty to support their child. The court may order either or both parents to 
support a child as follows, per Tex. Fam. Code § 154.001:

Child support may be ordered:

•	 Until the child is 18 years of age or until graduation from high school, whichever occurs 
later;

•	 Until the child is emancipated through marriage, removal of disabilities of minority by 
court order, or by other operation of law;

•	 Until the death of the child; or
•	 If the child is disabled as defined in Tex. Fam. Code § 154.302, for an indefinite period.

The court may order each parent who is financially able to pay support a child for whom DFPS 
has been appointed managing conservator. This support continues until the earliest of:

•	 The child’s adoption;
•	 The child’s 18th birthday or graduation from high school, whichever occurs later;
•	 The removal of the child’s disabilities of minority by court order, marriage or other 

operation of law;
•	 The death of the child; or
•	 If the child is disabled as defined in Tex. Fam. Code § 154.302, for an indefinite period.

If the court presiding over a SAPCR involving DFPS orders child support payments or modifies 
existing child support payments so that the payments be made to DFPS, the court must notify 
the Office of the Attorney General (OAG) within 10 days of rendering the order.

Note that upon terminating a parent’s rights, the court may order that parent to pay child 
support post-termination. Tex. Fam. Code § 154.001(a-1). In the absence of evidence of a party’s 
resources, the court shall presume that the party has income equal to the federal minimum 
wage for a 40-hour week. Tex. Fam. Code §154.068.

When computing net resources available for payment of child support, refer to charts and tables 
in Tex. Fam. Code Ch. 154, Subchapter B. This includes: child support tax charts; definition 
of net resources; additional factors for the court to consider; application of guidelines to net 
resources, and  computing support for children in more than one household, etc. 

If the obligor’s monthly net income is not greater than the amount described by Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 154.125(a), and the obligor’s monthly net resources are equal to or greater than the amount 
described by Tex. Fam. Code § 154.125(c), the court shall presumptively apply the following 
schedule in rendering the child support order:

Basic Guideline Child Support

Number of children 1 2 3 4 5

% Net monthly 20% 25% 30% 35% 40%
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Tex. Fam. Code § 154.129 allows for a determination of child support amount for the children 
before the court by applying the percentages in the table below to the obligor’s net resources in 
lieu of performing the computation above:

Number of children before the court

1 2 3 4 5

Number of other 
children for whom 
the obligor has a 
duty of support

0 20.00% 25.00% 30.00% 35.00% 40.00%
1 17.50% 22.50% 27.38% 32.20% 37.33%
2 16.00% 20.63% 25.20% 30.33% 35.43%
3 14.75% 19.00% 24.00% 29.00% 34.00%
4 13.60% 18.33% 23.14% 28.00% 32.89%
5 13.33% 17.86% 22.50% 27.22% 32.00%
6 13.14% 17.50% 22.00% 26.60% 31.27%
7 13.00% 17.22% 21.60% 26.09% 30.67%

Minumum Wage Chart

Minimum 
Wage

Gross 
Monthly 
Income

Net 
Monthly 
Income

1 child

(20%)

2 children

(25%)

3 children

(30%)

4 children

(35%)

7.25 $1256.67 $1121.54 $224.31 $280.39 $336.46 $392.54

Practice Tip: When child support is ordered, the court shall order that child support be 
payable through the state disbursement unit (SDU). See Tex. Fam. Code § 154.004(a). The 
OAG monitors payment of child support through the SDU and if a delinquency occurs, the 
OAG has a right to seek enforcement of child support and can move to enforce the child support 
order. Texas law requires the court to order that income be withheld from the disposable 
earnings of the obligor for the payment of child support. See Tex. Fam. Code § 158.001.  
 
The OAG prescribes forms as authorized by federal law in a standard format entitled 
“Income Withholding for Support (IWO) Form, Instructions & Sample OMB 0970-
0154” found at https://www.acf.hhs.gov/css/form/income-withholding-support-iwo-form-
instructions-sample. See Tex. Fam. Code § 158.106(a). The form is published in 1 Tex. 
Admin. Code § 55.118.

Practice Tip: The Texas Office of the Attorney General (OAG) website has a child 
support calculator available for use at https://csapps.oag.texas.gov/monthly-child-
support-calculator.

https://txcourts.sharepoint.com/sites/TeamToolKit/Shared%20Documents/Tool%20Kit%20Drafts/2024%20Drafts/Working%20Draft/child%20support%20calculator
https://txcourts.sharepoint.com/sites/TeamToolKit/Shared%20Documents/Tool%20Kit%20Drafts/2024%20Drafts/Working%20Draft/child%20support%20calculator
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Relative and Kinship Placement Support
RELATIVE OR OTHER DESIGNATED CAREGIVER ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
The Relative and Other Designated Caregiver (RODC) program supports continuity and 
stability for children in the conservatorship of DFPS by providing financial assistance to eligible 
kinship caregivers. Note that DFPS may enter into Caregiver Assistance Agreements (CAA) 
with a relative or other designated caregiver who has not been licensed as a foster parent.

Caregivers Without PMC of the Child -- Monthly Reimbursement Payment and 
Medicaid

The child must be:

•	 In the managing conservatorship of DFPS; and
•	 Placed in the home by DFPS. 

The caregiver must:

•	 Be related to the child or have a longstanding and significant relationship with the 
child;

•	 Be formally approved by DFPS as a caregiver (i.e., have an approved home assessment);
•	 Not be a licensed or verified foster home or group foster home; and
•	 Sign and abide by a written caregiver assistance agreement, which includes a 

commitment to:

o	 be available as a continuing placement for the child for at least six months;
o	 participate in specialized kinship training as recommended and provided by DFPS;
o	 comply with DFPS requirements limiting or facilitating contact between the 

parents and the child;
o	 apply for other forms of assistance, including financial and medical, for which the 

child may be eligible; and
o	 comply with any other child-specific requirements or limitations.

The caregiver’s household income may not exceed:

•	 300% of current poverty level, as determined annually by federal poverty guidelines. 
(Caregivers with a household income over 300% are not eligible.)

The duration of the reimbursement is:

•	 Up to 12 months after placement of the child in the caregiver’s home 
•	 Up to 18 months with a one-time, six-month extension for good cause.

Examples of circumstances that justify good cause include:

o	 Attempting to find a previously absent parent of the child;
o	 Awaiting the expiration of the timeline for an appeal of an order in a suit affecting 

the parent child relationship;
o	 Allowing additional time for the caregiver to complete the approval process for 

verification or adoption of a child;
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o	 Waiting for approval of the child placement from another state;
o	 A delayed determination of the child’s “Indian child” status, or when awaiting the 

approval of the Indian child’s Tribe; or
o	 Any other circumstance involving the child or caregiver that DFPS deems as 

justification for an extension.

If a child changes placement:

•	 The payment will follow the child, but the duration of the payment stays the same. 
For example, if a child lives with a grandmother for four months and then moves to an 
aunt, the 12-month payment does not restart for the aunt.

Caregivers With PMC of the Child – Annual Reimbursement Payment (No Medicaid)

If a caregiver receives PMC of a child, the caregiver can request a $500 annual reimbursement 
per child for child related costs.

The child must have been:

•	 Previously in the managing conservatorship of DFPS; and
•	 Placed in the home by DFPS. 

The caregiver must:

•	 Meet all of the requirements for caregivers without PMC (e.g., not be a licensed or 
verified foster caregiver);

•	 Have obtained PMC of the child after September 1, 2017; and
•	 Continue to comply with the signed caregiver assistance agreement. 

The caregiver’s household income does not exceed:

•	 300% of current poverty level, as determined annually by federal poverty guidelines. 
(Caregivers with a household income over 300% are not eligible.)

The duration of the payment is:

•	 Up to three years or until the child turns 18, whichever comes first.

PERMANENCY CARE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (PCA)
The goal of the PCA program is to provide financial support to kinship caregivers who want 
to provide a permanent home to children who cannot be reunited with their parents. PCA 
requires the caregiver to become a licensed/verified foster parent and obtain PMC of the child.

PCA includes one-time reimbursement of nonrecurring expenses, monthly payment, and 
Medicaid. 

The child must:

•	 Have been previously in the managing conservatorship of DFPS;
•	 Have been placed in the home by DFPS;
•	 Have demonstrated a strong attachment to the prospective permanent kinship 

conservator;
•	 Not have reunification or adoption as a permanency option (DFPS has already ruled 
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these out for the child);
•	 If at least 14 years of age, have been consulted by DFPS about the prospective permanent 

kinship conservator’s commitment to assume PMC of the child; and
•	 Have resided in the caregiver’s home since it was licensed/verified for at least six 

consecutive months.

The caregiver must:

•	 Be a relative of the child or have had a longstanding and significant relationship with 
the child prior to DFPS placing the child in the home;

•	 Have a strong commitment to caring permanently for the child;
•	 Have been eligible for the receipt of foster care reimbursements on behalf of the child 

(i.e., caregiver must become a licensed or verified foster parent to the child) for at least 
six consecutive months prior to the effective date of the PCA agreement;

•	 Enter into a PCA agreement with DFPS on behalf of the child prior to becoming the 
child’s permanent kinship conservator; and

•	 Obtain PMC of the child.

The court must NOT issue an order that includes any of the following:

•	 Naming either of the child’s parents as Joint Managing Conservator (JMC) of the child;
•	 Naming DFPS as JMC of the child; or
•	 Awarding possessory conservatorship to any parent of the child under circumstances 

DFPS determines have the effect of reunifying the child with that parent.

Practice Tip: The earlier the relative/caregiver begins the process, the earlier they can 
become eligible to finalize a PCA agreement which can increase options for negotiation 
at the end of the case and avoid unnecessary extensions of the deadline. Courts are also 
required to inform relatives caring for children of the ability to apply for PCA at the 
Adversary Hearing, Status Hearing, and Permanency Hearings before and after a final 
order. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.201(n-1), 263.202(i), 263.306(c)(2), 263.5031(a)(3).
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Inability to Care & Parents with Disabilities
Inability to Care

In certain circumstances, DFPS may file for termination of a parent’s rights based on the 
parent’s mental illness or deficiency without alleging one of the termination grounds in Tex. 
Fam. Code § 161.001. 

STATUTE
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.003

The court must find:

•	 That the parent has a mental or emotional illness, or mental deficiency that renders 
the parent unable to provide for the physical, emotional, and mental needs of the child;

•	 That the illness or deficiency will probably continue to render the parent unable to 
provide for the child’s needs until the child’s 18th birthday;

•	 That DFPS has been Temporary or Sole Managing Conservator for at least six months 
prior to the termination hearing;

•	 That DFPS made reasonable efforts to return the child to the parent; and
•	 That termination is in the child’s best interest.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: The needs of the child also affect the impact of the 
deficiency. For example, a parent’s deficiency may prevent them from being able to meet 
the emotional needs of a 3-year-old who throws tantrums, but the same parent might be 
able to meet the emotional needs of an 11-year-old. 

ADVOCACY
When representing a parent who has a mental or emotional deficiency, an attorney still owes 
their client a duty of zealous advocacy to ensure their client’s rights are protected and that 
DFPS makes reasonable efforts to return the child to the parent.

Federal law prohibits governmental entities, including DFPS and the courts, from discriminating 
against people with disabilities in their programs, services, and activities. Once it is determined 
that a parent or caregiver has an intellectual or developmental disability and/or a mental 
illness, DFPS is obligated to work with the family to identify possible services and supports 
that can assist the caregiver in meeting the needs of their child. If a caseworker suspects that a 
parent has an intellectual or mental disability, they must contact the Developmental Disability 
specialist at DFPS so that a member of that team can work with the parent on whatever 
services are required. This policy is based on Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 
as well as the Americans with Disabilities Act, which requires governmental entities to make 
accommodations for people with disabilities.

Parents With Disabilities
Parents with mental or intellectual disabilities are equally entitled to accommodations as those 
with physical disabilities. DFPS is legally mandated to make reasonable accommodations and 
modifications for disabled parents and caregivers so that they have equal access to services, 
and so that they can complete the services according to their abilities. An attorney may need 
to advocate for transportation assistance for a parent, relocation of a service or visit to an 
accessible facility, or referral to agencies that can help with various supports.
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Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Accommodations, modifications, and supports must 
be individualized, and there is no one size that fits all. Therefore, it is important to 
understand the client’s strengths and limitations to effectively advocate for them and the 
accommodations needed. DFPS has a policy handbook called “Working with Parents with 
Disabilities.” This can be a helpful resource to use when advocating for accommodations 
for the parent, particularly as they relate to Family Service Plans. The National Research 
Center for Parents with Disabilities found at https://heller.brandeis.edu/parents-with-
disabilities/data-hub/index.html also has helpful information specifically on how an 
attorney can effectively safeguard the rights of a parent with disabilities. 

https://heller.brandeis.edu/parents-with-disabilities/data-hub/index.html
https://heller.brandeis.edu/parents-with-disabilities/data-hub/index.html
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Incarcerated Parents

Generally, an incarcerated parent has the same rights and duties as a parent who is not 
incarcerated, and an attorney owes their client the same duties of zealous advocacy to protect 
their client’s rights and ensure that reasonable efforts are made to return the child to the 
parent.

The Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) is the agency which manages the overall 
operation of the state’s prison system, parole, and state jail systems. The agency also provides 
funding, training, and certain oversight of community supervision.

Types Of Correctional Facilities
CORRECTIONAL CENTERS (PRIVATE)
These are privately operated correctional centers that house Correctional Institutions Division 
(CID) offenders.

COUNTY JAILS
County jails are managed by the county sheriff or designee. The county jail facility’s primary 
role is to hold defendants awaiting trial or those who have been convicted and sentenced to 
county jail.

FEDERAL PRISONS
Federal prisons are managed and run by the U.S. government and houses inmates who have 
been convicted of a federal crime. The Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) is responsible for the 
centralized administration of federal prisons.

STATE JAIL FACILITIES
State jails house individuals who have committed felony crimes (primarily property crimes 
and low-level controlled substance offenses) that have a maximum sentence of two years and a 
mandatory term of community supervision. Some state jails are privately operated and house 
state felons as well as CID transfer offenders.

How to Locate an Incarcerated Parent
To locate a parent in a TDCJ Facility (a Texas prison or State Jail) contact the Office of 
Classification and Records in Huntsville, Texas at:

•	 1-936-437-6564 or 1-800-535-0283;
•	 Visit the TDCJ website at https://www.tdcj.texas.gov/; or
•	 Look for the Quick (Link) box and use the list just as the TDCJ website has it.

PARENTS NOT UNDER TDCJ SUPERVISION
If the parent is confined in a facility other than TDCJ, the following links may be useful:

•	 Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) (contains online inmate locator). The BOP Office of 
Public Affairs phone: (202) 307-3198; Email: webmaster@bop.gov.

•	 Victim Information and Notification Everyday (Vine Link) to locate a parent who may 
be incarcerated in another state.

•	 Corrections Department by state to locate a parent in another state. 

The following are some additional links not supported or endorsed by TDCJ:

https://www.tdcj.texas.gov/
http://www.tdcj.texas.gov/%3B
mailto:webmaster@bop.gov
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•	 Prison Search Ancestor Hunt
•	 Corrections.com

PARENTS IN COUNTY JAILS
To determine if a parent is incarcerated in a county jail, conduct a search of the county’s 
website in order to locate the parent or contact the county jail directly.

Attendance at Hearings and Trial
Even if a client is incarcerated, they still have a right to be present at the statutory hearings.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: If a client wants to attend a hearing or trial via phone 
or video conference, contact the correctional facility well before the scheduled hearing to 
determine what is required to make the client available at the scheduled time. If the client 
wants to attend in person, a bench warrant will be required, and the best practice is to 
work with the court and the attorney representing DFPS to facilitate the bench warrant.

Service Plan
A client’s incarceration does not mean they cannot participate in services. To find out what 
services are available to the incarcerated parent, contact the facility or go online to https://www. 
tdcj.texas.gov/divisions/rpd/index.html to view Rehabilitation Programs Services, where the 
TDCJ inmate services are located. Some county facilities also have classes available for their 
inmates. Attorneys should contact the jail to obtain a list of services available for their parent 
client and inquire into programming available both on-site and through distance learning. 
There may be programs that parents can participate in via mail correspondence even if classes 
are not being offered on-site.

Visitation
A client’s incarceration does not mean that visitation with their child is impossible or 
inappropriate.

If the court is reluctant to order visitation with an incarcerated parent, there are studies which 
indicate that allowing contact between children and parents who are incarcerated can mitigate 
the harms of separation for the child. Please see the Additional Resources section of this tool 
kit for more information.

If visitation is ordered by the court, it is important for the parent’s attorney to explain to the 
parent client that they need to notify their attorney if the parent is not permitted visits by 
the facility as a result of disciplinary sanction, because of facility security, transfer to another 
facility, or release from a facility or program.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Contact the correctional facility about the facility’s 
family visitation policy, including procedures and restrictions (such as whether all visitors 
must be on the offender’s visiting list before being approved to visit) and determine if 
there is a social worker or chaplain who can help with arranging parent-child visits at 
the facility.

http://www/
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An incarcerated parent may send written correspondence to their child. However, it is prudent 
to advise the client that the content of written correspondence is not confidential and discuss 
what information is and is not appropriate to include in written letters.

Placement
A client’s incarceration does not mean that they are unable to assist in providing information 
about or facilitating a placement for their child. Relatives and fictive kin of an incarcerated 
parent may be placement options or other sources of support for the child and family. A parent 
client should be given the opportunity to provide that information as soon as possible after 
appointment. Please see the Placement section of this tool kit for more information when 
considering placement issues.
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A parent client may have an additional criminal component to a case filed by DFPS. This can 
be difficult to navigate as actions taken in the child welfare case can directly affect the criminal 
case and there are important aspects to consider from the outset for both the child welfare and 
criminal cases.

Information Gathering
Questions to ask the client:

When and where were they arrested? What state and county?

What are the pending charges? Have they been filed?

Is there an alleged victim? Does the client know the alleged victim? If so, how?

Does the client have any previous convictions?

Do they have a criminal attorney? (If they do not have an attorney, it is important they 
understand their right to an attorney, including a court-appointed attorney.)

If the client does not know the above information, then the parent attorney may research the 
answers as part of an independent investigation into the client’s case. The parent attorney can 
contact the criminal prosecutor or criminal defense attorney to make inquiries, and if those 
professionals cannot be identified, run an independent criminal record search. Even though the 
information above pertains to the criminal case, understanding the criminal case is necessary 
to better represent a client in the child welfare case.

If the parent client does not have a criminal attorney, consider assisting them in the process 
to apply for one. There may be applications and affidavits required, depending on where the 
criminal case is located. Parent attorneys may call the court directly for its specific process for 
appointing a criminal attorney.

CONFIDENTIALITY
It is crucial to establish the importance of confidentiality with the client and advise the client 
not to discuss the criminal case and any of its details with anyone besides their parent’s attorney 
and their criminal attorney. The client has a Fifth Amendment right to remain silent as to 
any details regarding a current criminal investigation or ongoing case. The parent’s attorney 
should strongly consider preparing the client to respond to questions from the investigator or 
caseworker in the child welfare case about the criminal charges so that the client may respond 
in a way that does not have negative implications for their criminal case.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: The confidentiality discussion should take place during 
the initial contact with the client as a part of the attorney-client privilege explanation.

COMMUNICATION WITH DEFENSE COUNSEL
It is crucial to establish an open line of communication with a client’s criminal attorney. Court- 
appointed criminal attorneys often have heavy caseloads which can slow their response time, 
but it is important to initiate a conversation as soon as possible to discuss the client’s criminal 
case.

A parent’s attorney in the child welfare case can provide information that assists the criminal 
defense attorney in preparing a dense and resolving the criminal case, including:
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•	 Mitigating circumstances due to the parent’s history and circumstances;
•	 Services the parent has completed in their child welfare case or is in the process of 

completing; and
•	 Effective ways to communicate with the parent.

Important things to consult with the client’s criminal attorney about include:

•	 Upcoming court dates for both the child welfare and criminal case;
•	 The evidence being used (video, audio, police reports, etc.);
•	 The progress of the case;
•	 The general strategy of the defense attorney; and
•	 The status of plea negotiations with prosecution (what is the current offer).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Make it a priority to check in with the criminal 
attorney for updates prior to each statutory child welfare hearing, if not more frequently. 

How The Criminal Case Affects the Child Welfare Case
SERVICES OVERLAP
It may be important for the criminal court to determine what services are being provided to 
the parent through the child welfare case. Must they be duplicated or substituted by probation 
services, or are the services being provided in the child welfare case sufficient? Ask the court 
to allow consolidation of services as much as possible. This is especially important if the 
transportation and/or time management necessary to comply with a wide array of services are 
challenges for the client.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Criminal cases involving domestic violence 
often have bond or probation conditions that require batterer intervention classes 
or components, which can be used to fulfill requirements of a DFPS service plan. 
Attorneys should also look into whether the conditions have a “stay away” provision 
or if there is an emergency protective order or full protective order in place as it may 
cause additional issues in the child welfare case if the victim is the other parent. 
 
Most bond or probation conditions will also require drug testing; however, the criminal 
case and civil child welfare cases will likely require independent testing. Caseworkers 
and probation officers will often communicate after failed tests but will want their own 
tests due to their own specific requirements.

PATTERN OF DANGEROUS CONDUCT
DFPS may use previous criminal convictions and pending charges against the client to show a 
pattern of dangerous behavior. It is important to view any offense reports that the prosecuting 
attorney may have on the client. Any altercation or incident with law enforcement, even if no 
arrest or charge was made, can be used to demonstrate a pattern of conduct that may endanger 
a child.

CONSEQUENCES OF DISPOSITIONS
If a criminal case is concluded or nearing its end, it is imperative to speak with the criminal 
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attorney about the possible implications of different types of pleas. This is an extremely impactful 
part of the case, especially if a criminal charge is directly related to the child welfare case. 
Research and speak with a criminal attorney to better understand criminal case dispositions 
and collateral consequences that may impact the child welfare case.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Construct a timeline with the criminal case dates and 
the statutory deadlines for the child welfare case to better understand how the two cases 
may overlap or exist independently from each other.

FIFTH AMENDMENT CONSIDERATIONS

Fifth Amendment Does Apply to Civil Cases

The right against self-incrimination applies to both civil and criminal cases. McCarthy v. 
Anderson, 266 U.S. 34 (1924). The application is not dependent on the type of proceeding, but 
on whether the answers to the questions could subject the person who answers to criminal 
liability in the future. Lefkowitz v. Turley, 414 U.S. 70 (1973).

Testifying in a Civil Case

In a civil case, the state has the right to call the opposing party as a witness, but the individual 
retains their right against self-incrimination if they reasonably fear that the answer sought 
may be incriminating. Texas Dept. of Pub. Safety Officers Ass’n v. Denton, 897 S.W.2d 757, 760 
(Tex. 1995)

No Blanket Assertion of Privilege

However, the party may not make a blanket assertion against self-incrimination in a civil case. 
They must assert the privilege in response to each question and the judge rules on whether the 
witness can assert his Fifth Amendment right to a given question. In re Verbois, 10 S.W. 3d 
825, 828 (Tex. App.—Waco 2000).

Negative Inference Allowed

Unlike in a criminal case, the application of the Fifth Amendment in civil cases is not automatic 
and if the witness fails to testify, or fails to answer a question, it may be held against them. 
The factfinder is “free to draw negative inferences from [a witness’s] repeated invocations of 
the Fifth Amendment.” Wilz v. Flournoy, 228 S.W.3d 674, 677 (Tex. 2007).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Because of the significant differences in the application 
of the Fifth Amendment to criminal and civil cases, consult with the client’s criminal 
attorney before the client testifies in a child welfare case.
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Reinstatement of Parental Rights
Statutes

Tex. Fam. Code §§ 161.301-161.304

Parties That Can File for Reinstatement
•	 DFPS or a single source continuum contractor (SSCC)
•	 The attorney ad litem for the child
•	 A parent whose rights have been involuntarily terminated. DFPS policy states that 

affidavits of voluntary relinquishment cases shall be considered to be involuntary for 
the purposes of reinstatement.

•	 Note: DFPS policy states that the submission of an affidavit of voluntary relinquishment 
is not to be excluded for potential parental rights reinstatement because they are 
included in the list of involuntary grounds of termination under Tex. Fam. Code § 
161.001. See CPS Policy Handbook § 5590.

Requirements of the Petition 
CIRCUMSTANCES WHEN A PETITION CANNOT BE FILED
A petition for reinstatement cannot be filed if:

•	 Termination occurred in a private suit in which DFPS was not a party;
•	 It has been less the two years since the parent’s rights were terminated;
•	 The child has been adopted, or is the subject of an adoption placement agreement;
•	 There is a pending appeal; or
•	 It has been less than one year since a court denied a previous petition for reinstatement.

Practice Tip: Parents of children who have been adopted and then later returned to the 
conservatorship of DFPS may still be eligible for reinstatement.

REQUIRED CONTENTS OF THE PETITION
The contents of the petition must be sworn to by the petitioner and must include:

•	 The name of the petitioner;
•	 The name and address of the former parent seeking reinstatement;
•	 The name, date and place of birth, and current residence of the child, if known; 
•	 The name, current residence address and contact information for any party that 

participated in the termination hearing and has information relevant to the petition;
•	 A summary of grounds upon which the former parent’s rights were terminated;
•	 A statement of facts and evidence that shows the former parent is rehabilitated and 

has the capacity and willingness to carry out the responsibilities and duties of a parent 
under Tex. Fam. Code § 151.001. Examples of such evidence include:

o	 mental health treatment,
o	 substance abuse treatment,
o	 employment history, or
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o	 other personal history demonstrating rehabilitation.

•	 A summary of prior requests or motions for reinstatement;
•	 A statement by the former parent seeking reinstatement;
•	 If the child is older than 12, a statement of the child’s intent or willingness to consent 

to reinstatement. 

Notice
Notice of the petition must be served on:

•	 The child or child’s representative;
•	 The county attorney;
•	 The child’s attorney ad litem;
•	 DFPS or SSCC, if applicable (if the petitioner is the parent, they must provide 45 days’ 

notice to DFPS of their intent to file and use a form created by the DFPS commissioner. 
Form K-906-3800 Notice of Intent of Former Parent to Petition Court to Reinstate 
Parental Rights and instructions can be found on the DFPS website: https://www.dfps.
texas.gov/site_map/forms.asp);

•	 The former parent whose parental rights are sought to be reinstated, if they are not 
the petitioner; and

•	 The Tribal representative, if ICWA applies.

Practice Tip: If a parent is unsure whether they are eligible for reinstatement of 
parental rights––for example, if they do not know whether their child has been adopted 
or is subject to an adoption placement agreement––the parent can submit form K-906-
3800 to DFPS and receive a determination of eligibility in return.

Hearing
Statute 

Tex. Fam. Code § 161.303

Timing 

A hearing must be held no later than 60 days after the filing of the petition. 

PURPOSE
For the court to take action regarding whether the parent’s rights should be reinstated. 

STANDARD OF PROOF
The petitioner has the burden of proof. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.303((b). The standard of proof 
required is preponderance of the evidence. Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005.

REQUIRED FINDINGS. 
For the court to reinstate the parent’s rights, the court must find that:

https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/application/Forms/showFile.aspx?NAME=K-906-3800.docx
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/application/Forms/showFile.aspx?NAME=K-906-3800.docx
https://www.dfps.texas.gov/application/Forms/showFile.aspx?NAME=K-906-3800.pdf
https://www.dfps.texas.gov/application/Forms/showFile.aspx?NAME=K-906-3800.pdf
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•	 Reinstatement of parental rights is in the child’s best interests;
•	 At least two years have passed since the issuance of the order terminating parental 

rights and an appeal of the order is not pending; 
•	 The child has not been adopted and is not the subject of an adoption placement 

agreement; 
•	 If the child is over 12 years old, that the child consents and desires to reside with the 

parent;
•	 The former parent has remedied the conditions that were grounds for rendering the 

order terminating parental rights; and
•	 The former parent is willing and able to perform parental duties as provided by Tex. 

Fam. Code § 151.001 including maintaining the health, safety, and welfare of the child.

If the child is less than 12 when the petition for reinstatement is filed, the court must consider 
the child’s age, maturity, and ability to express a preference and may consider the child’s 
preference regarding the reinstatement as one factor in the court’s determination.

COURT ACTION

Grant the Petition

If the court grants the petition after a hearing, the court must issue a written order stating that 
all legal rights, powers, privileges, immunities, duties, and obligations of the former parent 
with respect to the custody, care, control, and support of the child are reinstated. Tex. Fam. 
Code 161.304 (c).

Deny the Petition

If the court denies the petition, it must make findings and detail reasons for the denial and 
must issue a statement prohibiting the filing of a subsequent petition for a year from the order 
of denial. Tex. Fam. Code 161.304 (d).

Defer Taking Action and Render Temporary Orders

The court may defer the decision on the petition and render a temporary order expiring after 
a period of six months during which DFPS remains the managing conservator and the former 
parent is the possessory conservator.

During the six-month time period, DFPS must monitor the possessory conservatorship of 
the former parent and when the temporary order expires, the court shall hold a hearing to 
determine whether to grant or deny the petition for reinstatement. Tex. Fam. Code 161.304 (a)
(3).

Benefits Eligibility for Child After Reinstatement
Youth in DFPS conservatorship are eligible for certain benefits, such as a tuition and fee waiver 
for attending state higher education institutions, an Education and Training Voucher (ETV) to 
provide financial assistance while attending school, Medicaid eligibility, and waiver of fees for 
state government identification.

Eligibility for the youth depends on a variety of factors including the youth’s age, legal 
conservatorship, and how the youth exits DFPS conservatorship. If the parent’s rights are 
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reinstated, it may affect the availability of certain benefits for the youth.

TUITION AND FEE WAIVER
If the parent’s rights are reinstated, the child may still be eligible for the tuition and fee waiver 
under the following circumstances:

•	 The child was in DFPS conservatorship on the day of the child’s 14th birthday, if they 
were also eligible for adoption on or after that day; or

•	 The child is 14 years or older on or after June 1, 2016, and left PMC of DFPS to return 
to the legal responsibility of a parent; or

•	 The child is 16 years or older on or after June 1, 2016, and left TMC of DFPS to return 
to the legal responsibility of a parent; or

•	 The child enrolled in a dual credit course or other course in which a high-school student 
may earn joint high school and college credit and was in DFPS conservatorship on the 
day of enrollment; and

•	 The child enrolls in a public higher education institution or in a dual credit course 
before their 25th birthday. Tex. Educ. Code § 54.366; 40 Tex. Admin. Code § 700.1630. 

Practice Tip: DFPS Preparation for Adult Living staff verify eligibility for the tuition 
and fee waiver, even if the child did not participate in PAL services. 

EDUCATION AND TRAINING VOUCHER
The youth may still be eligible for ETV if the child was at least 16 and was likely to remain in 
DFPS foster care until turning 18 before the reinstatement was filed.

OTHER BENEFITS
•	 After reinstatement, youth are unlikely to retain qualification for Medicaid for former 

and transitioning foster youth. 
•	 After reinstatement, youth will no longer be eligible for the waiver of driver’s license 

or state identification fees.
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Using a Trauma-Informed Lens for Interacting with Clients

Interactions with the child welfare system can be traumatizing for children and parents. Both 
children’s and parents’ attorneys may want to be familiar with techniques for interacting with 
clients who have experienced trauma. As of September 1, 2021, Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004 
requires attorneys to participate in trauma training to qualify for appointments as an attorney 
ad litem of a child in a child welfare case. The training program must include trauma-informed 
care and the effect of trauma on children in DFPS’ conservatorship. The following information is 
modified content from the Trauma-Informed Legal Advocacy Project. Please see the Additional 
Resources section in this tool kit for more information.

Legal Interviewing & Traumatic Triggers
CONSIDER THE PERSPECTIVE OF PARENTS AND CHILDREN WHO HAVE 
EXPERIENCECED TRAUMA
A person may feel distracted, anxious, and agitated and thus unable to meaningfully 
participate in an interview or conversation or may actively prevent a productive conversation 
from occurring. Trauma triggers are one factor that may explain why a child or parent client is 
having trouble connecting with others, including their own attorney. A trigger is something that 
evokes a memory of past traumatizing events, including the feelings, sensations, or memories 
associated with those experiences. Encountering triggers may cause someone to feel uneasy, 
afraid, or withdrawn even without them being consciously aware of these reactions. A trigger 
can make someone feel as if they are reliving a traumatic experience and can elicit a fight, flight, 
or freeze response. Many things can be a possible trigger for someone who has experienced 
trauma. A person might be triggered by a particular color of clothing, by the smell of a certain 
food, by certain phrases or behaviors, by their surroundings, by an individual’s gender, by 
authority figures, or by the time of year. Internal sensations, such as rapid heartbeat, nausea, 
or tightened muscles can be triggers as well, or the person may feel nauseous or have other 
physical reactions ranging from being combative to shutting down.

A trigger may be associated with the traumatic experience without their conscious awareness 
and the client may not know why they are feeling or reacting a certain way. Children or adults 
who are triggered by traumatic memories may also appear bored or uninterested, talk about 
things in a flat or unemotional way, have a blank stare and spacey look, or appear to be shut down 
or checked out. They may ramble, avoid conversation, or deflect with humor. Their answers to 
questions may be slow and incomplete. Additionally, many families and communities involved 
with DFPS have been deeply affected by negative experiences with legal and administrative 
systems, such as criminal justice, immigration, and education systems. For these reasons, a 
client may distrust the child welfare system and anyone they associate with it.

WAYS TO PREVENT A CLIENT FROM FEELING TRIGGERED

Offer Options in the Physical Space

Offer choices of where to meet, which chair they can use, and whether a nearby door is closed, 
open, or slightly ajar. Consider whether slight adjustments can be made to accommodate 
multiple seating options. For example:

“Which chair would be most comfortable for you?” 

“Would you prefer the door closed or slightly open?” 

“Is this room ok, or would you prefer to talk in another room or maybe outside?”
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“Do you feel safe in this space? If not, what would make you feel safe and comfortable?”

“Do you feel safe with a male/female attorney?” “Would you feel safer with an attorney of 
a different gender?”

At the same time, be aware that sometimes options can be overwhelming to someone who is 
not accustomed to being given many choices. Be flexible and follow your client’s preferences. 

Encourage Self-Regulation

Experiencing trauma can disrupt a person’s ability to manage emotions and calm themselves 
when they are starting to feel upset. Self-regulation may include listening to music, going for 
a walk, playing with a dog or cat, or simply taking a break. In the context of a legal meeting, 
options are more limited, but some strategies that may help a client self-regulate include 
doodling or coloring, fidgeting with toys or other objects, offering food or snacks, looking at 
calming pictures, and drinking water. If you make it clear to your client that their physical, 
mental, and emotional safety comes first, it can help you accomplish the goals of the meeting. 

Explain Things in Advance

For people who have experienced trauma, it can be helpful to know in advance what is going to 
happen, who is going to be involved, and the scope of their participation. This includes telling 
someone how much time their attorney has available to meet with them, which can also help 
build trust. It can also be helpful to tell someone the types of matters that will be discussed 
during the meeting. For example:

“We have about a half an hour to talk today. I’d like to hear you talk about what happened 
when DFPS came to your home. Is that ok with you?”

“I’m going to ask you some questions, and you can ask me questions at any time. Then 
we’ll go over some of the paperwork DFPS gave you and I’ll explain what it means. It 
should take about an hour, but we can take a break whenever you need to.” 

Offer Breaks

Taking breaks throughout a meeting can help the client stay present and engaged as well as 
feel physically and emotionally safe. 

Be Thoughtful About Notetaking

Ask permission to take notes, specify what you’re transcribing, and summarize the notes for 
your client at the end of the meeting. This can help keep build trust and rapport with your 
client. Also, do not allow your note taking to detract from being present with someone.

WHAT CAN HELP IF A CLIENT APPEARS TRIGGERED?

Notice and Validate their Feelings

Noticing and validating a client’s feelings can help them to become aware of what is happening 
with them emotionally if they are not already aware. It also lets the client know their attorney 
cares about their emotional safety. This matters in part because these actions contradict what 
happens in many traumatic incidents, where a person’s feelings of anxiety and fear are often 
ignored and dismissed, or where showing these feelings may be met with increased violence. 
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Noticing and validating the client’s feelings includes allowing the client to move through their 
feelings at their own pace. For example:

“That sounds really scary.” 

“I can only imagine how hurtful that felt.”

“That sounds overwhelming for anyone to deal with.”

It’s important to be sincere but to remain within boundaries. Clients can detect when empathy 
seems empty or fake, but over empathizing with your client’s feelings (“I experienced something 
exactly like that”) risks making the conversation about you and not them. 

Ask What Would Help

When making suggestions, offer several options whenever possible, rather than just asking 
“yes or no” questions. Asking someone how to help them when they seem triggered also reflects 
the relationship as a partnership of equal respect. For example:

“Let me know if I can get you a glass of water, or we can just sit together for a moment.” 

“Would it help to have a moment to yourself or visit with your friend in the waiting room, 
or maybe something else?”

Use Open Body Language

If the client is very upset and agitated, it can be helpful for the attorney to use open body 
language so that the client knows that their attorney does not pose a threat. This includes 
keeping shoulders relaxed, keeping body posture and hands open and relaxed, and avoiding 
blocking the client from being able to exit or walk away.

Help the Client to Get Grounded in the Present

If a client seems anxious or uncomfortable, it may be because they feel they are unsafe in the 
current environment. There are tools to help a client feel safe and grounded in the present. 
Some examples include helping the client notice their breath, their physical presence, or 
physical things in the environment. For example:

“You know we can sit here on this bench for as long as we need to. We are okay right now, 
you and me. We can just take our time, no one is going to bother us here.”

“Is it hard for you to focus on these questions? When that happens, some people say it 
helps them to just take a minute to notice themselves breathing in and out.”

BUILDING TRUST AND UNDERSTANDING THE IMPACT OF TRAUMA

What is Happening from the Perspective of Parents and Children Involved with the 
Child Welfare System?

There are many reasons why someone might not share information, some of which may be 
related to experiencing trauma. Experiencing abuse, especially by a trusted person, can 
make it difficult to trust people in the future. Of course, someone’s hesitations about sharing 
information may also reflect an awareness of real danger that the information shared will be 
held against them in court. Another reason that someone may not share information right 
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away is that they do not remember the information, or they can’t recall it in the way that it is 
being asked for.

Survivors of trauma do not always remember their experiences in chronological order or may 
have blocked out the memory entirely as a coping mechanism. On the other hand, survivors 
of trauma may remember events, but they may ascribe different meaning to the events than 
are reflected in legal definitions of abuse. Often, when someone experiences a traumatic event, 
the person may seem distant or they might dissociate, which means there is a change in their 
consciousness which disturbs the normally connected functions of identity, memory, thoughts, 
feelings, and experiences. Their understanding of what is happening and their experience of 
what is happening become disconnected. This is a protective coping mechanism that can keep 
someone emotionally safe during traumatic events, but it can affect the person’s ability to 
recall those events, or other events that occur when the person experiences a traumatic trigger.

For a person who is agitated or disconnected because of a traumatic trigger, traumatic memory, 
or simply by being in an environment that does not feel safe to them, building a connection and 
developing trust are key to helping the person regulate their emotions and responses.

What Might Help Create Trust with the Client?

•	 Sharing your mission statement explaining your personal reasons for choosing to 
represent parents and children in DFPS cases.

•	 Being transparent with the client. For example,

o	 being transparent about limitations on time and resources.

“I’m really glad you called. I have about five minutes to talk right now. If we need more 
time, we can schedule another call.”

o	 being transparent about the need for and use of information.

“Is there any reason why DFPS might say you were neglectful? The reason I’m asking 
is so that we can prepare together for every possible thing that DFPS might say, not 
because I don’t believe you.”

•	 Understanding fluctuations in the client’s level of trust in their attorney over time.

Keep in mind that sharing personal information, such as details about experiences of abuse, 
can make someone feel vulnerable, especially if they have not shared that information before. 
Thus, in some cases, someone might share a lot about themselves in a meeting and then become 
more guarded, withdraw from the relationship, or even stop responding to calls altogether. As 
the relationship develops, the client may want to share more information, or they may even 
change parts of their story.

What Might Help a Client with Memory Recall?

Reminding or emphasizing the confidentiality of the attorney-client relationship can help 
establish a sense of safety. Use open-ended questions, if necessary, to gently facilitate more 
detail. Lay out topics in broad terms. If the client is a parent, the best approach is to start by 
letting the client tell their story from start to finish. If the client is a child, do not elicit details 
of abuse or neglect from the child, since discussions about abuse or neglect should occur with a 
trauma-informed mental health professional. 
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Preparing a Client for Court
Being involuntarily separated from a parent or child can be a traumatic experience. As the 
client approaches the hearing date, they may experience anxiety, sleep deprivation, and 
exhaustion. At court, parents may see the caseworker who made the decision to remove their 
children, which may be a triggering event for them. Parents and children may be seeing each 
other for the first time since removal. Encountering such reminders of trauma may cause the 
client to feel uneasy, afraid, or terrified, and they may re-experience what they felt when they 
were initially traumatized.

TOOLS FOR EMOTIONALLY PREPARING CLIENTS FOR COURT
•	 Offer a Tour of the Court Building Ahead of Time. Describe the logistical and 

spatial details of attending court, including where parties will wait before court opens, 
where they will take breaks, who will be in the courtroom, and the location of restrooms. 
There is a balance between giving someone enough information to help them know what 
to expect and giving them too much information, which could potentially overwhelm 
them. Let your client be the guide. If possible, take a tour of the courtroom itself.

•	 Identify Your Client’s Supporters. Encourage the client to bring someone 
appropriate to court with them and explain local rules for courtroom decorum. If there 
is no family member or friend who can attend, suggest they ask someone they know 
through a support group, social activity, or church group to accompany them. If no 
one is available to attend in person, friends or family can show that they are there in 
spirit by sending notes and messages of support or trinkets that can be kept close. If a 
client has very limited support, they may want to find a peer support group such as the 
DFPS Parent Collaborative. If the client is seeing a therapist, it may help to have an 
appointment scheduled with the therapist as soon as possible after the hearing.

•	 Suggest Making a “Night Before” Plan. Not sleeping and not eating can have an 
impact on our ability to manage our emotions, but when a client is anxious, they may 
have a hard time doing both. Acknowledging to someone that this is often the case can 
help them to decide how they want to prepare. If unable to address these issues the 
night before, check in with the client prior to the hearing to see if they have had a meal 
and help them locate food options in the courthouse.

•	 Offer to Help Make a “What If ” Plan. Consider asking the client whether they 
think anything about the court proceedings might be particularly difficult or triggering 
for them and make a plan for how to respond. Encourage the client to practice self- 
calming techniques prior to the day of court so that these become automatic and easier 
to access when stress makes it hard to think. Always follow the lead of the client to see 
how much they want to plan.

•	 Make a Plan for Dealing with Stress at Court. It can help to ask the court for 
a recess when the client feels they need one or when observing them experiencing a 
trauma response. While on break, validate their feelings. Acknowledge that what’s 
happening may be very upsetting and that they are doing a great job. Sometimes just 
silently being with someone for a few minutes can help them to calm themselves and 
prepare to continue.

Avoiding Burnout and Practicing Self-Care
An attorney’s office may be the first place where a client can safely show frustration and anger. 
This may cause attorneys to feel unappreciated or perceive the client as “demanding” and 
“difficult.” Over time, attorneys may feel that working with challenging clients in this complex 
area of law might be too difficult. 
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CHALLENGES OF DOING EMPATHIC WORK 
Burnout includes exhaustion, cynicism, and ineffectiveness.

Secondary Trauma (sometimes called vicarious trauma) refers to the effects of working 
empathically with and feeling responsibility toward people who have survived the trauma of 
abuse, violation, and discrimination.

Consider whether working on these cases made it harder as an attorney to:

•	 Feel positive about the work.
•	 Feel competent.
•	 Get things done and feel productive.
•	 Stay positive.
•	 Stay calm and manage emotions.
•	 Feel safe.
•	 Trust the client, or trust others.

SELF-CARE STRATEGIES
•	 Keep in mind that this may be the first time the client felt safe enough to show emotion.
•	 Set boundaries with clients.
•	 Plan out specific times to work on challenging cases.
•	 Keep positive thoughts in mind about the attorney’s role in the case.
•	 Ask a co-worker or colleague to remind you about positive aspects of the work.
•	 Take time to reflect on personal feelings and responses, both in the context of individual 

interactions and after big successes or losses.
•	 Use calming or grounding techniques for yourself during phone calls (e.g., coloring, 

fidget tools).
•	 Use a checklist to remember when interacting with clients, such as not to take things 

personally, etc.
•	 Utilize additional support to help the client (e.g., connect them with a therapist or the 

DFPS Parent Collaboration Groups).
•	 Utilize available assistance such as the Texas Lawyers Assistance Program (TLAP).
•	 The program provides confidential help for law students, lawyers, and judges who have 

challenges related to substance use and mental health issues. TLAP can be reached 
online at https://www.tlaphelps.org/ or call 1-800-343-TLAP or text TLAP to 555888.
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Federal Law
Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA)
Purpose

The Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978 (ICWA) is a federal law that imposes special standards 
and requirements when a child welfare agency seeks to intervene to protect an “Indian child” as 
defined by statute. The law was enacted to protect not only Indian children, but their families 
and Tribes.

Statutes
Federal statutes governing ICWA are 25 U.S.C. §§1901-1963; 25 C.F.R. Part 23 Guidelines for 
Implementing the Indian Child Welfare Act (Bureau of Indian Affairs, 2016). Relevant state 
statutes are Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.201(f), 263.202(f-1), 263.306(a-1)(3).

When Does ICWA Apply?
ICWA applies to any “child custody proceeding” involving an “Indian child,” if the court “knows 
or has reason to know that an Indian child is involved.” 25 U.S.C. § 1912(a).

CHILD CUSTODY PROCEEDINGS
A suit seeking foster care placement, termination of parental rights, pre-adoptive, or an 
adoptive placement is subject to ICWA. ICWA does not apply to most juvenile delinquency 
actions. It also does not apply to custody actions in divorce or separation proceedings (unless 
custody may be awarded to a non-parent), nor to Court Ordered Services cases under Tex. Fam. 
Code § 264.203. 

INDIAN CHILD 
An “Indian child” is a child who is either:

•	 An unmarried person under age 18 who is either a member of an Indian Tribe; or
•	 Eligible for membership and the biological child of a member. 25 U.S.C. § 1903(4).

There are more than 500 federally recognized Tribes and children from any of these Tribes can 
be found in Texas. There are also three federally recognized Tribes with tribal reservations in 
Texas:

•	 Ysleta del Sur Pueblo, also known as the Tigua, in El Paso;
•	 Kickapoo Tribe of Texas, in Eagle Pass; and
•	 Alabama Coushatta Tribe of Texas, near Livingston.

A child residing on a reservation has specific legal protections 25 U.S.C. § 1911(a), and, in some 
cases, DFPS and the Tribe have a written protocol for handling these cases.

A Tribe’s determination regarding the child’s status is conclusive and a “state court may not 
substitute its own determination regarding a child’s membership or eligibility for membership 
in a Tribe or a parent’s membership in a Tribe.” 25 C.F.R. § 23.108(b).

While it is the responsibility of DFPS to notify any Tribe identified by the family in order to 
confirm or deny a child’s status as an “Indian child” under ICWA, attorneys for parents and 
children should inquire about the possibility of Native American heritage and inform the court 
of any such information if it becomes known to them.
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REASON TO KNOW AN INDIAN CHILD IS INVOLVED IN THE CASE 
A court has reason to know a child is an Indian child if:

•	 Any party, Tribe, or agency informs the agency or court that the child is an Indian 
child;

•	 Any participant, officer of the court or agency involved in the proceedings informs the 
court it has discovered such information;

•	 The child gives the court reason to know he or she is an Indian child;
•	 The domicile or residence of the child, parent or Indian custodian is on a reservation;
•	 The court is informed the child is or has been a ward of a Tribal court; or
•	 The court is informed either parent or the child has a Tribal membership card. 25 

C.F.R. § 23.107(c).

Texas courts are required to ask the parties whether the child or child’s family has Native 
American heritage and to identify any Native American Tribe the child may be associated with 
at the Adversary, Status, and Permanency Hearings. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.201(f), 263.202(f-
1), 263.306(a-1)(3).

If the court knows or has “reason to know” that an “Indian child” is the subject of a child welfare 
suit, DFPS must give each parent and identified Tribe and any Indian custodian (caretaker) 
notice of ICWA rights. 25 U.S.C. § 1912(a).

Practice Tip: In every case, attorneys for parents and children should confirm that every 
parent, extended family member, and any child old enough has been asked whether there 
is any Native American family heritage. The court must also instruct the parties to inform 
the court of any such information that arises later. 25 C.F.R. § 23.107(a).

What Changes if the Case is Identified as an ICWA Case?
INITIAL HEARING
A hearing must be held where DFPS must show by clear and convincing evidence, including 
testimony of a qualified expert witness, that the parent’s continued custody “is likely to result 
in serious emotional or physical damage to the child,” to warrant a foster care placement. 25 
U.S.C.§ 1912(e). This finding cannot be made until 10 days after notice of ICWA has been 
provided and is subject to a 20-day extension on request of a parent or Tribe. To avoid the need 
to continue the hearing, the best practice is to set this hearing at least 30 days out. ICWA also 
requires that DFPS make “active efforts” to reunify among other legal requirements.

Note: The hearing must occur no matter how far along in the case the confirmation is made that 
the child is an “Indian child.”

PLEADINGS 
If ICWA applies, DFPS should plead concurrently under the Texas Family Code and ICWA. In 
the jurisdiction of the Houston 14th District Court of Appeals, however, pleadings should be 
limited to the ICWA findings, without parallel Texas Family Code pleadings. In re W.D.H., 43 
S.W.3d 30 (Tex. App.—Houston 2001, pet. denied).
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TRIBAL AND STATE JURISDICTION
Whether the state court or Tribal court has jurisdiction over a case involving an Indian child 
depends on where the child resides, whether transfer to the Tribal court is requested, and 
whether an exception to the mandatory transfer provision applies. If a case involves an Indian 
child, however, the state court proceedings must comply with ICWA, whether or not the Tribe 
intervenes, or the case is transferred to a Tribal court.

Exclusive Jurisdiction on the Reservation

If the child’s residence or domicile is on the reservation, or if the child has been made a ward 
of the Tribal court, the Tribal court has exclusive jurisdiction, except when jurisdiction is 
otherwise vested in the state. 25 U.S.C. § 1911(a).

Emergency Exception

When an Indian child who resides on a reservation is temporarily off the reservation and 
emergency removal or placement is necessary “to prevent imminent physical damage or harm 
to the child,” the state child welfare agency may act despite the fact the Tribal court otherwise 
has exclusive jurisdiction. 25 U.S.C. § 1922. In such circumstances, the state child welfare 
agency must act promptly to: (1) end the removal or placement as soon as it is no longer 
necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the child; and (2) move to transfer 
the case to the jurisdiction of the Tribe or return the child to the parents, as appropriate.

Concurrent Jurisdiction Off the Reservation

If the child’s residence or domicile is not on the reservation, the Tribal and state court have 
concurrent jurisdiction. 25 U.S.C. § 1911(b). Even in this circumstance, however, there is a 
presumption of Tribal jurisdiction in cases involving an Indian child. Mississippi Band of 
Choctaw Indians v. Holyfield, 490 U.S. 30 (1989).

BURDEN OF PROOF

Foster Care Placement – Clear and Convincing Evidence

Including qualified expert witness (QEW) testimony that continued custody by the parent or 
Indian custodian is likely to result in serious emotional or physical damage to the child and 
active efforts to provide remedial and rehabilitative services to prevent the breakup of the 
Indian family were made by DFPS and proved unsuccessful. 25 U.S.C. § 1912(d).

Termination of Parental Rights – Evidence Beyond a Reasonable Doubt

Including qualified expert testimony that continued custody by the parent or Indian custodian 
is likely to result in serious emotional or physical damage to the child and active efforts to 
provide remedial and rehabilitative services to prevent the breakup of the Indian family were 
made by DFPS but proved unsuccessful. 25 U.S.C. § 1912(f).

PLACEMENT
ICWA mandates that placements for foster care and adoption be made according to statutory 
preferences, unless good cause is shown to deviate from the preferences. 25 U.S.C. § 1915; 25 
C.F.R. § 23.129-131. 
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The statutory preferences give priority as follows: 

Foster Care or Pre-Adoptive Placement
•	 A member of the child’s extended family;
•	 A foster home licensed, approved, or specified by child’s Tribe;
•	 An Indian foster home licensed or approved by an authorized non-Indian licensing 

authority; or
•	 An institution for children approved by the Tribe or operated by an Indian organization 

which has a program suitable to meet the child’s needs. 25 U.S.C. § 1915(b); 25 C.F.R. 
§ 23.131(b).

For an Adoptive Placement

•	 A member of the child’s extended family;
•	 Other members of the child’s Tribe; or
•	 Other Indian families. 25 U.S.C. § 1915(a); 25 C.F.R. § 23.130.

Departing from ICWA Preferences

The Tribe can by resolution alter the order of preferences. 25 U.S.C. § 1915(c). The Tribe’s 
preference should then be followed as long as it is still the least restrictive setting appropriate 
to the needs of the child.

A party seeking to depart from the placement preferences must show by clear and convincing 
evidence, on the record or in writing, that there is “good cause” to depart from the placement 
preferences. The court’s determination of good cause must be made on the record or in writing 
and be based on one or more of the following factors:

•	 The request of the “Indian child’s” parent;
•	 Request of the child of sufficient age and capacity;
•	 Ability of placement to maintain sibling attachment;
•	 The “extraordinary physical, mental, or emotional needs” of the child; and
•	 The unavailability of a suitable placement (despite a diligent search and active efforts 

to locate one). 25 C.F.R. § 23.132(b)-(c).

MANDATORY TRANSFER TO TRIBAL COURT
A parent, an Indian custodian, or the child’s Tribe may petition the state court to transfer a 
suit involving an Indian child to the Tribal court. Transfer to the Tribal court is mandatory, 
unless the court makes a finding of good cause not to transfer, the Tribe declines transfer, or 
either parent objects. 25 U.S.C. § 1911(b); 25 C.F.R. § 23.117. 

The court cannot consider the following factors in assessing good cause: 

•	 The advanced stage of the proceedings, if notice to the Tribe did not occur until an 
advanced stage; 

•	 Whether there was no petition to transfer in a prior proceeding involving the child; 
•	 Whether transfer would affect the child’s placement; 
•	 The child’s cultural connections with the Tribe or its reservation; or 
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•	 The socio-economic conditions of the Tribe, Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) social 
services, or the judicial systems. 25 C.F.R. § 23.118(c).

RIGHT TO INTERVENE
The Tribe and the Indian custodian have the right to intervene in the state court action at any 
time in the proceedings. 25 U.S.C. § 1911(c). Intervention may be accomplished informally, 
by oral statement, or formally. Most important, if an Indian child is involved, ICWA applies 
whether or not the child’s Tribe intervenes. 

Who is a Qualified Expert Witness (QEW)?
The statute does not define what constitutes a qualified expert under ICWA. The Regulations 
require that an expert be qualified to testify as to whether the child’s continued custody by the 
parent or custodian is “likely to result in serious emotional or physical damage,” and direct 
that an expert should be qualified to testify as to the “prevailing social and cultural standards” 
of the child’s Tribe. 25 C.F.R. § 23.122. The social worker assigned to the child’s case may not 
serve as an expert (although a caseworker may testify otherwise, as to the parent’s compliance 
with the service plan, visitation, and other issues).

Without question, the child’s Tribe is the best source for an expert. Understandably, many tribal 
members do not want to take a position in a court proceeding adverse to a fellow tribal member 
and with very small Tribes, the pool of potential experts is limited. Courts with capability 
should allow participation by phone, video conferencing, or other methods. 25 C.F.R. § 23.133.

ICWA Finding is Essential
The best practice is to request in every child welfare case that the trial court make a finding on 
the record as to whether ICWA applies. If the record is silent, a party may raise the issue on 
appeal, and an appellate court may remand the case for purpose of making this finding. By far 
the most significant impact of failing to identify an ICWA case is that if key ICWA provisions 
are violated, a final order can be invalidated. The remedy for violation of key ICWA provisions 
is a petition to invalidate. 25 U.S.C. § 1914. Similarly, if there is not sufficient information in 
the record to assess whether ICWA applies, an appeal can be abated. 
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Interstate Placements (ICPC)
What is the ICPC?

If a child may be placed in another state, the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children 
(ICPC) may require approval from that state. (See Tex. Fam. Code Ch. 162, Subchapter B). 
When the ICPC applies, child protective services in the receiving state provides an assessment 
before a placement and monitoring after a placement. This is a multi-step administrative 
process between the sending and receiving states and can take some time to complete.

When does the ICPC Apply?
Generally, ICPC applies to placements for adoption or foster care, and in group homes or 
residential placement.

When does the ICPC not Apply?
•	 Birth parents placing with a non-custodial birth parent, or a relative as long as no 

court has assumed jurisdiction of the child to be placed;
•	 Relatives placing with birth parents or another relative as long as no court has assumed 

jurisdiction of the child to be placed;
•	 If a child is being placed in a hospital or school;
•	 Tribal Placements;
•	 Visits, as long as they meet the required criteria.

Practice Tip: The ICPC is not a fast process. Any attorney can request a court order 
for an expedited ICPC in certain circumstances. Note that this expedites the process for 
DFPS, but it does not expedite the ICPC process in the receiving state.

Visits Outside Texas
A visit is excluded from the ICPC under Regulation 9 of the ICPC Regulations if it is for brief 
social or cultural experience; and

•	 The visit has a definite end date; and
•	 The visit is no longer than 30 days, or begins and ends within a school vacation; and
•	 There has been no request for a home study or supervision.

Expedited Requests for Placement with a Relative
An expedited order requires an approval or denial within 20 business days. A judge can 
sign an order for an expedited placement under Regulation 7 of the ICPC Regulations if the 
proposed placement is with a parent (subject to non-custodial parent policy below), stepparent, 
grandparent, adult uncle or aunt, adult sibling, or legal guardian, and one of the following 
criteria apply:

•	 The child was unexpectedly placed in foster care because the parent/guardian was 
recently incarcerated; is unable to care for the child due to a medical, mental, or 
physical condition; or is recently deceased;
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•	 The child is four years of age or younger, and can include older siblings sought to be 
placed with the same proposed placement;

•	 The court finds that the child or sibling has a substantial relationship with the proposed 
placement; or

•	 The child is currently in an emergency placement.

Placement with a Non-Custodial Parent
State courts throughout the nation have reached different conclusions on whether ICPC 
procedures apply when courts place a child with an out of state biological parent. Texas courts 
had followed the Association of Administers of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of 
Children (AAICPC) Regulations that state ICPC procedures do apply to placement with parents 
in certain circumstances However, in 2017, the Fourth Court of Appeals rejected outright 
application of the ICPC to an out-of-state parent. In the Interest of C.R.-A.A., 521 S.W.3d 893 
(Tex. App.—San Antonio, no pet.). 

To address child safety in this circumstance, DFPS policy requires the caseworker to assess an 
out-of-state parent without using the ICPC. CPS Handbook 4513.1. If the assessment reveals 
no concerns, the court can place the child and dismiss the case as to that child without further 
monitoring. If the assessment reveals concerns, DFPS must request a noticed hearing and 
prove the parent’s unfitness in order to invoke the ICPC. CPS Handbook 4513.13.
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Statutes

8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(27)(J)

8 C.F.R. § 204.11

United States Customs and Immigration Service (USCIS) Policy Manual (https://www.uscis.
gov/ policy-manual)

What is Special Immigrant Juvenile Status (SIJS)?
Federal law permits eligible foster children to “self-petition” for a Special Immigrant Juvenile 
visa, which is the first of a two-step process required to obtain permanent resident status (a 
“green card”). 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(27)(J).

What Does a State Court Have to Do with a Foster Child’s 
Immigration Status?

Federal law requires a predicate order from a family court (or other court with jurisdiction over 
the custody and care of juveniles such as a DFPS proceeding) before a child can apply for SIJS. 
The family court or DFPS court order must include three findings:

•	 That the child has been “declared a dependent of the court or has been placed by the 
court under the custody of a state agency or an individual or entity appointed by the 
court;”

•	 That reunification of the child with one or both parents “is not viable as a result of 
abuse, neglect or abandonment or a similar basis found under state law;” and

•	 That it is “not in the child’s best interest to be returned to the parent or child’s country 
of origin or last habitual residence.”

USCIS policy now requires evidence of the factual basis for these statutory findings, in order 
to demonstrate that the order is bona fide, and not requested primarily for the purpose of 
immigration relief. For this reason, all SIJ orders should reference the facts underlying each 
finding.

In addition, USCIS construes “lack of viable reunification” to mean “that the court intends its 
finding that the child cannot reunify with their parent (or parents) remains in effect until the 
child ages out of the juvenile court’s jurisdiction.” USCIS Policy Manual, Vol. 6, Part J., Ch. 2. 
D.2.

If a child or youth has a SIJS order obtained before these policy changes, it may be necessary 
to request an amended SIJS order.

http://www.uscis.gov/
http://www.uscis.gov/
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Practice Tip: If a child or youth in foster care was not born in the U.S., the attorney for 
the child or the child’s parent should check with the caseworker to find out if:

•	 Notice been sent to the foreign consulate;
•	 Repatriation or placement in the home country is viable; or
•	 The child may need assistance to obtain immigration status or U.S. citizenship. It 

is important to start the process as soon as possible due to the lengthy timeline and 
the serious risks and limitations that impact an undocumented youth or young adult.

For more information, consult the DFPS Regional Attorney assigned to citizenship and 
immigration issues. See the Texas Practice Guide for CPS Attorneys, Section 13, Citizenship 
& Immigration Issues, DFPS Staff List found at https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/
Attorneys_Guide/documents/Section_13_Tools/Citizenship_and_Immigration/DFPS-
Citizenship-Immigration-Contacts-2020.pdf.

https://www.dfps.texas.gov/Child_Protection/Attorneys_Guide/documents/Section_13_Tools/Citizenship_and_Immigration/DFPS-Citizenship-Immigration-Contacts-2020.pdf
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Attorneys_Guide/
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Attorneys_Guide/
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School Stability Under Federal & State Law

School is often a source of stability as well as a place for academic and social development of 
children and youth in foster care. If a child has been removed from their home or is changing 
placements, consider the potential impact on the child’s education and what efforts can be 
made to keep the child in the same school, if possible.

Statutes
Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act, 43 U.S.C. § 675 et seq. Every 
Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) 20 U.S.C. § 6301 et seq. The Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA) 20 U.S.C. § 1400 et seq.; 34 C.F.R. Part 300 Texas Education Code, 
Texas Family Code.

Requirements for School Stability
•	 A child’s initial placement into care and any subsequent placement changes must take 

into account the appropriateness of the child’s educational setting and the proximity 
to the school the child is enrolled in at the time of the placement or placement change. 
42 U.S.C. § 675(1)(G)(i).

•	 DFPS must coordinate with school districts to ensure that the child remains in the same 
school the child was attending at the time of the initial placement or any subsequent 
move, unless it is not in the child’s best interests to remain in that school. 42 U.S.C. § 
675(1)(G)(ii)(I), 20 U.S.C. § 6311(g)(1)(E)(i).

•	 DFPS and the school district must collaborate to ensure that the child is transported 
to the previous school, if necessary. 20 U.S.C. § 6312(c)(5)(B).

•	 If remaining in the prior school is not in the child’s best interest, the child must be 
immediately enrolled in a new school, even without records normally required for 
enrollment. 42 U.S.C. § 675(1)(G)(ii)(II), 20 U.S.C. § 6311 (g)(1)(E)(ii).

•	 DFPS must ensure the child’s education records are provided to the new school within 
30 days. State law requires that the child’s school records are transferred to the new 
school not later than the 10th working day after the date the student begins enrollment 
at the new school. Tex. Educ. Code §§ 25.002(g), 25.007(b)(1).

•	 The child is entitled to attend public school in the district in which the foster parents 
reside, free of any charge to the foster parents or the agency. A durational residence 
requirement may not be used to prohibit a child from fully participating in any activity 
sponsored by the school district, including extracurricular activities. Tex. Educ. Code 
§ 25.001(f).

•	 The child is also entitled to continue to attend the school he or she was enrolled in before 
entering conservatorship, or at the time of a placement change, without payment of 
tuition, until he or she completes the highest grade offered at the school at the time of 
placement. The child is entitled to continue to attend the school even if the child leaves 
conservatorship. Tex. Educ. Code § 25.001(g)-(g-1).

Special Education Services
•	 If a child with a disability who is eligible to receive special education services transfers 

to a new school district during the school year, the new district must schedule an 
Admission, Review, and Dismissal (ARD) meeting within 30 days and provide the child 
services comparable to those described in the child’s Individual Educational Program 
(IEP) from the previous district until the new district either adopts the child’s previous 
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IEP or develops a new IEP, or, if the transfer is from another state, until the new 
district conducts an evaluation (if it determines it is necessary) and develops a new 
IEP. 20 U.S.C. § 1414(d)(2)(C)(i), Tex. Educ. Code § 25.007(9), 19 Tex. Admin. Code § 
89.1050(j).

•	 If the child does not receive special education but a disability is suspected, the child 
must be referred for a special education evaluation. An evaluation may be initiated by 
any person involved in the education or care of the student. 20 U.S.C. § 1414(a)(1).

•	 Children eligible to receive special education services must have a parent identified to 
make related decisions. If a parent does not retain education decision-making rights, 
the child is placed in a foster home, and the foster parent is willing and able, the foster 
parent will serve as parent for special education decision-making purposes. Otherwise, 
a surrogate parent must be appointed by the school, and can be appointed by the court, 
to make special education decisions on behalf of the child. Tex. Educ. Code §§ 29.015; 
29.0151; Tex. Fam. Code 263.0025.

Responsibilities of DFPS, the Court, and Other Parties 
•	 A child’s attorney ad litem and guardian ad litem are required to determine whether 

the child’s educational needs and goals have been identified and addressed before each 
scheduled Permanency Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.002(i), 107.004(d-2).

•	 DFPS must designate an individual to make the day-to-day educational decisions for a 
child in conservatorship, and must provide that individual’s name (as well as the name 
of any surrogate parent appointed for the child for special education decision-making 
purposes, if applicable) to the court and the child’s school within five days after the 
initial Adversary Hearing, and must update the court in the next permanency progress 
report if there are any changes to the education decision-maker or surrogate parent. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 263.004.

•	 DFPS must notify the child’s attorney ad litem, CASA volunteer, caregiver, and 
education decision-maker of any notification from the school regarding a significant 
school event such as disciplinary action, referral to special education, or other event. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 264.018(a)(5)(D), Tex. Educ. Code § 25.007(b)(10).

•	 The court is required at each Permanency Hearing to determine whether an education 
decision-maker for the child has been identified, whether the child’s education needs 
and goals have been identified and addressed, and whether there have been major 
changes in the child’s school performance or any serious disciplinary events. Tex. Fam. 
Code §§ 263.306(a-1)(5)(G), 263.5031((a)(4)(J).

•	 If a caregiver desires to educate the child in a home setting, DFPS may ask the 
court to make a finding that home-schooling is not in the best interests of a child in 
conservatorship because it does not meet the child’s academic and social needs and 
goals. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.0045.
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Family First Preservation Services Act (FFPSA)

The Family First Prevention Services Act of 2018, also referred to as FFPSA, was signed into law 
as part of the Federal Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018 (H.R. 1892). FFPSA creates opportunities 
for Title IV-E federal funding reimbursement of services that are aimed at preventing a child’s 
entry into foster care. Services include support for mental health, substance abuse, and other 
supports for parents. FFPSA has four central provisions aimed at increasing prevention 
services, support to kinship caregivers, addressing congregate care, and older youth.

Prevention Services
FFPSA allows for a 50% matching of federal Title IV-E funds for states who invest in evidence- 
based prevention services for families with children who are at imminent risk of entering the 
foster care system. Programs can address mental health, substance abuse, and parenting skills 
and supports and must meet certain criteria set out in FFPSA for reimbursement eligibility.

Kinship Caregivers
FFPSA provides support for kinship caregivers and Texas is working to develop, enhance, 
and evaluate Kinship Navigator programs. Currently, Texas caregivers can receive support 
through their DFPS Kinship Caseworker.

Congregate Care
In an effort to reduce the number of children in congregate care, Title IV-E federal fund 
reimbursement is available to children in foster homes, Qualified Residential Treatment 
Programs (QRTPs), and special settings for pregnant or parenting teens, youth transitioning 
out of foster care, and youth who are at risk for sex trafficking. QRTPs have a very strict model 
as defined within FFPSA, including court oversight.

Older Youth
FFPSA extends the age for independent living services for young adults formerly in foster care 
up to age 23 and extends eligibility for Education and Training Vouchers (ETV) for qualifying 
youth to age 26. For more information, see the Older Youth in Care section of this tool kit.

Family Preservation Services Pilot Program
The Family Preservation Services pilot program, referred to as Texas Family First or TFF, 
allows DFPS to dispose of an investigation by allowing the child to return home and providing 
time-limited family preservation services— subject to FFPSA qualifications—to children who 
are candidates for foster care or who are pregnant and parenting foster youth. As required, 
the pilot program was implemented in one urban and one rural jurisdiction and at least one 
jurisdiction where Community Based Care had been implemented. The child’s safety must 
be the primary concern in authorizing services. DFPS must use Title IV-E Funds to pay for 
legal representation or provide counties with a matching reimbursement for the costs of legal 
representation and use the Texas Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program 
to provide in-home support services. DFPS must obtain a court order to compel the family of a 
candidate for foster care to participate in services but need not obtain a court order to provide 
services to pregnant or parenting foster youth. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.403.

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/COMPS-11001/pdf/COMPS-11001.pdf
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Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA)

The SCRA provides certain protections for servicemembers involved in a civil action, including 
a child custody proceeding, while the member is in the military or within 90 days after release 
from the military.

Statute
50 U.S.C. §3901 et seq.

Missing Parent
If a parent has not appeared in a child custody suit, whether or not this is due to military 
service, DFPS must file an Affidavit of Military Service (available in the Practice Guide for CPS 
Attorneys, Section 13, Tools found at https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Attorneys_
Guide/Section-13.asp). 50 U.S.C.S. § 3931(b)(1). The best practice is to request a search of the 
military database before the Status Hearing, if any parent has not been located.

The DFPS diligent search unit includes a search of the US Military Database and the certificate 
of military service or non-service in the FINDRS Report provided to a requestor. Alternatively, 
a search can be performed on the U.S. military website at https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/scra/#/
home. Note that a search requires a parent’s date of birth, last name and first name or initial, 
and ideally, social security number.

A search of the military database will generally result in either a Certificate of Non-Service, or 
a Certificate of Service. The Certificate should be attached to an Affidavit of Military Service, 
provided to parties and counsel of record, and filed with the court.

Default Judgment
If a parent has not appeared in a child welfare suit, no default judgment can be taken unless:

•	 DFPS has filed an Affidavit of Military Service with a Certificate of Service or Non- 
Service; and

•	 An attorney has been appointed for the parent. 50 U.S.C. § 3931(b)(2).

If the court determines there may be a defense which cannot be presented without the parent’s 
presence or the attorney has been unable to contact the parent after exercising due diligence, 
the court shall grant a stay for at least 90 days. 50 U.S.C. § 3931(d).

After Notice
If a parent in the military has notice of a child custody suit, the court on its own motion may 
stay the suit, or on request of the servicemember, the court shall stay the action for at least 90 
days, if there is proof that the military duty materially affects the servicemember’s ability to 
appear, and the servicemember provides a letter stating a date when the servicemember will 
be available; or, provides a letter from the service members commanding officer confirming 
military duty prevents the servicemember’s appearance and leave is not authorized. 50 U.S.C. 
§ 3932(b).

https://www.dfps.texas.gov/Child_Protection/Attorneys_Guide/Section-13.asp
https://www.dfps.texas.gov/Child_Protection/Attorneys_Guide/Section-13.asp
https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/scra/#/home
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Child Custody Protection
If a court renders a temporary custody order solely based on the deployment or anticipated 
deployment of a servicemember parent, the court shall limit the order to the time justified by 
the deployment. 50 U.S.C. § 3938(a). Moreover, a parent’s absence as a result of a deployment 
may not be the sole factor in determining the best interest of child for purposes of a request for 
a permanent custody. 50 U.S.C. § 3938(b). Similar protections are provided in state law. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 156.006(c).
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AAL Attorney ad litem An attorney who provides services for the purposes of a specific 
legal action only, including representation of a child, and who owes 
to their client the duties of undivided loyalty, confidentiality, and 
competent representation.

AC Administrative Closure Administrative Closure occurs when DFPS intervention is 
unwarranted based on information that comes to light after the case 
is assigned for investigation.

ADO Adoption 
Caseworker

The DFPS caseworker assigned once the case is transferred to the 
adoption unit.

ADR Alternative Dispute 
Resolution

A method of settling conflict outside of litigation, (e.g., mediation).

AOP Acknowledgment of
Paternity

An acknowledgement of paternity is a legal document that allows 
parents who are not married to establish legal paternity. Both 
parents must sign an AOP, under penalty of perjury, that the man is 
the genetic father of the child. When an AOP is filed with Texas Vital 
Statistics, the genetic father becomes the child’s legal father with all 
the rights and duties of a parent.

APPLA Another Planned 
Permanent Living 
Arrangement

A permanent legal arrangement for a child designed to promote 
stability and permanency in a child’s life; refers to permanent 
placements other than a reunification with a parent, adoption, or 
permanent managing conservatorship to a relative.

APS Adult Protective 
Services;
Webpage

APS’s mission is to protect older adults (age 65 or older) and 
persons with disabilities from abuse, neglect, and exploitation by 
investigating and providing or arranging for services, if needed, to 
stop or prevent further harm. 

ASFA Adoption and Safe 
Families Act

The Adoption and Safe Families Act of 1997 (Public Law 105-89) 
was enacted by the United States Congress to improve the safety of 
children, promote adoption and other permanent homes for children 
who needed them, and support families. According to the Children’s 
Bureau, ASFA also required child protection agencies to provide 
more timely assessment and intervention services to children and 
families involved with child welfare. Additionally, ASFA paved the 
way for the legal sanction of concurrent planning (simultaneously 
identifying and working on a secondary goal, such as guardianship, 
with a relative) by requiring that agencies make reasonable 
efforts to find permanent families for children in foster care should 
reunification fail.

AR Alternative 
Response

A type of service provided to some families who were the subject of an 
investigation of child abuse and neglect allegations without including 
a substantiation of the allegations or an entry of perpetrators into 
the Central Registry. Includes services and support to help families 
resolve safety issues and reduce future involvement with DFPS.

ARD Admission, Review,
and Dismissal

The process by which a student’s parents and school staff meet 
at least annually to: 1) decide whether a student has an eligible 
disability; 2) determine what special education and related services 
will be provided; and 3) develop an Individualized Education 
Program (IEP).

Commonly Used Terms

https://www.dfps.texas.gov/adult_protection/
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BIA Bureau of Indian Affairs The BIA is a United States federal agency within the Department 
of the Interior which renders services to indigenous Americans in 
federally recognized tribes (directly or through contracts, grants, 
or compacts) to approximately 1.9 million Native Americans and 
Alaska Natives.

BVS/VSU Bureau of Vital 
Statistics/Vital 
Statistics Unit

The State agency responsible for maintaining legal records for birth, 
death, marriage, adoption, and paternity.

CAC Child Advocacy Center A child advocacy center is a safe, child-friendly, specially equipped 
facility that completes forensic interviews of children. CACs also 
provide additional services such as counseling and intervention 
services during the course of an investigation and prosecution of 
child abuse cases.

CANS Child and Adolescent 
Needs and Strengths

A tool developed by DFPS for children’s services to support decision 
making, including level of care and service planning, to facilitate 
quality improvement initiatives, and to allow for the monitoring of 
outcomes.

CAPTA Child Abuse 
Prevention and 
Treatment Act

CAPTA is a federal law that was originally enacted on January 31, 
1974 (P.L. 93-247) and amended several times. According to the 
Children’s Bureau, CAPTA provides federal funding and guidance 
to states in support of prevention, assessment, investigation, 
prosecution, and treatment activities and provides grants to public 
agencies and nonprofit organizations, including Indian Tribes and 
Tribal organizations, for demonstration programs and projects.

CASA Court Appointed 
Special Advocate;
Website

A specially screened and trained volunteer, appointed by the court, 
who conducts an independent investigation of child abuse, neglect, 
or other dependency matters, and submits a formal report proffering 
advisory recommendations as to the best interests of a child. In 
some jurisdictions, volunteers without formal legal training, such as 
CASAs, are appointed to represent abused and neglected children 
and serve in the capacity of a Guardian ad litem (GAL).

CBC Community Based
Care;
Website

The new Texas foster care model that allows local communities to 
meet children’s and their families’ unique and individual needs by 
tapping into the strengths and resources of each community. Most 
DFPS duties will transition to local service networks, each operated 
by a Single Source Continuum Contractor (SSCC).

CCEJ Court of Continuing, 
Exclusive Jurisdiction

Upon rendition of a final order in a Suit Affecting the Parent- Child 
Relationship (SAPCR), a court acquires continuing, exclusive 
jurisdiction over all subsequent matters regarding the child unless 
otherwise provided by the Family Code.

CFSR Child and Family 
Services Review

A Federal-State collaborative effort designed to help ensure that 
quality services are provided to children and families through State 
child welfare systems.

http://www.casaforchildren.org/
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CIP Court Improvement 
Program;
Website

The highest court of each State and territory participating in the Court 
Improvement Program (CIP) receives a grant from the Children’s 
Bureau to complete a detailed self-assessment and develop and 
implement recommendations to enhance the court’s role in achieving 
stable, permanent homes for children in foster care. In Texas, the 
Children’s Commission is the recipient of CIP funds.

COS Circle of Support A meeting held soon after a youth who has been removed from the 
home reaches age 16. Its primary purpose is to develop a transition 
plan for the youth and to connect youth to supportive and caring 
adults who can help the youth when the youth leaves foster care.

COS Court Ordered 
Services

A type of CPS case during which services are ordered by the 
court for the family, without DFPS having temporary managing 
conservatorship of the child. Depending on jurisdictional practice, 
this may also be referred to as a Motion to Participate (MTP), Order 
to Participate (OTP), or Participation case.

CPA Child Placing Agency CPAs are licensed by DFPS and required to conform to minimum 
standards. They verify and oversee non-agency foster placements.

CPC Child Protection Court CPCs are courts that specialize in child welfare cases. As of July 
2021, there are 30 CPCs in Texas which cover 147 counties total.

CPI Child Protective
Investigations; Website

A division of Texas DFPS that examines reports of child abuse or 
neglect and determines if there are any threats to the safety of the 
children in the home and whether parents are willing and able to 
adequately manage those threats to keep the children safe. This 
unit and their caseworkers are also commonly referred to by the 
acronym INV for investigations.

CPOS Child Plan of Service The Child Plan of Service outlines the services to be provided, who 
is responsible for the completion of that service, and establishes 
goals for the child.

CPS Child Protective 
Services;
Website

A division of Texas DFPS that provides services to children and 
families in their own homes; places children in foster care; provides 
services to help youth in foster care make the transition to adulthood; 
and places children in adoptive homes.

CPU Centralized
Placement Unit

The CPU reviews a child’s information, tracks placement vacancies, 
and determines the least restrictive placement option that best 
meets the needs of a child when a child is in the custody of DFPS.

CSCAL Child Safety Check 
Alert List

This is an automated program operated by the Texas Department of 
Public Safety as part of the Texas Crime Information Center to assist 
DFPS in locating families that move before CPS begins or finishes 
an investigation or move during the provision of services by DFPS.

CVS Conservatorship/ 
Conservatorship Unit;
Website

“Conservatorship” is defined as the legal care, custody, and control 
of a child given by court order. CVS also stands for the unit and 
type of caseworker who is involved with a child when the DFPS has 
custody of that child.

http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/about-us/
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Investigations/
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/child_protection/
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Jobs/cps/cvs.asp
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CWB Child Welfare 
Board;
Website

Child Welfare Boards are developed and funded in some Texas 
counties to help meet needs of children and youth in foster care by 
using county funding to support DFPS’ efforts.

CWOP Child Without
Placement

CWOP is used to describe a child’s status as not having a licensed 
placement (for example, residing in a nontraditional location such 
as a hotel while still being supervised by DFPS or an SSCC). Child 
Watch is a term also used to describe the status of children without 
a placement. 

DFPS/
TDFPS

Texas 
Department 
of Family and 
Protective 
Services;
Website

The state agency charged with protecting children, adults who are 
elderly or have disabilities living at home or in state facilities, and 
licensing group day-care homes, day-care centers, and registered 
family homes.

DIF Desarollo 
Integral de la 
Familia; 
Website

Mexico’s Child Welfare Agency. When a parent is located in Mexico, 
DIF can be of assistance to DFPS when attempting to reunite a child 
with that parent. 

DPS Texas 
Department
of Public 
Safety;
Website

The state agency created to provide public safety services by 
enforcing laws, administering regulatory programs, managing 
records, educating the public, and managing emergencies, both 
directly and through interaction with other agencies.

DSHS Texas 
Department of 
State Health 
Services;
Website

The Texas Department of State Health Services promotes optimal 
health for individuals and communities while providing effective 
health, mental health, and substance abuse services to Texans.

DSM Diagnostic and 
Statistical Manual of 
Mental Disorders

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) 
is a guidebook widely used by mental health professionals in the 
diagnosis of many mental health conditions. The DSM is published 
by the American Psychiatric Association and has been revised 
multiple times since it was first introduced in 1952. The most recent 
edition is the fifth, or the DSM-5. It was published in 2013.

ESSA Every Child
Succeeds Act

ESSA is a federal education law passed in December 2015. 
ESSA contains several educational stability provisions related to 
the education of children and youth in foster care that mirror the 
Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of 
2008. ESSA also requires designated points of contact in education 
and child welfare systems, assurances that schools will coordinate 
with child welfare to develop transportation plans for children in 
foster care, and beginning in December 2018, disaggregated data 
on children and youth in foster care is included in the reporting 
requirements.

ETV Education and 
Training Voucher;
Webpage

The federally funded ETV program serves those eligible students 
ages 16 up to age 23 by providing up to $5,000 a year to attend 
college or vocational programs.

http://www.tccwb.org/about-us/
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/
https://www.gob.mx/difnacional
https://www.dps.texas.gov/
https://www.dshs.state.tx.us/
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FFPSA Family First 
Prevention Services 
Act

The Family First Prevention Services Act was signed into law as part 
of the Bipartisan Budget Act on February 9, 2018. This act reforms 
the federal child welfare financing streams (Title IV-E and Title IV-B 
of the Social Security Act) to provide services to families who are 
at risk of entering the child welfare system. The bill aims to prevent 
children from entering foster care by allowing federal reimbursement 
for mental health services, substance use treatment, and in- home 
parenting skill training. It also seeks to improve the well-being of 
children already in foster care by incentivizing states to reduce 
placement of children in congregate care.

FBSS Family-Based
Safety 
Services;
Webpage

A type of service provided to some families who were the subject 
of an investigation of child abuse and neglect allegations. Also 
known as Family Preservation, FBSS includes services to families 
to prevent removal of the child from the home.

FCRB Foster Care Review
Board

FCRBs are panels of screened and trained volunteers, preferably 
appointed by juvenile or family courts, to regularly review cases 
of children in substitute placement such as foster care, examine 
efforts to identify a permanent placement for each child, and proffer 
advisory recommendations to the court.

FGC Family Group 
Conference

FGCs are a type of Family Group Decision Making. During an 
FGC, the child’s family joins with relatives, friends, and community 
members to develop a plan for the child and family. These are 
generally held after a child is removed but may also be used before 
removal when the family receives FBSS.

FGDM Family Group
Decision Making

FGDM is a collaborative approach to service planning and decision- 
making, which involves the child or youth and their family joining 
CPS staff to develop a service plan for the child.

FPOS Family Plan of Service A plan designed to help parents access assistance from sources 
other than CPS and to develop the sufficient capacity to protect their 
children from abuse or neglect.

FSNA Family Strengths and 
Needs Assessment

A tool developed to identify and create collaborative agreements 
about what the Family Plan of Service should address and 
determines strengths that may help with child safety.

FTM Family Team
Meeting

A type of Family Group Decision Making that is generally held before 
a child is removed from the home, but also may be held during other 
stages of services, such as when a family receives FBSS or when a 
child is in DFPS conservatorship.

GAL Guardian ad litem A person appointed by a judge to represent the best interests of an 
allegedly abused or neglected child. In many counties the GAL is a 
CASA.

GRO General Residential 
Operation

A residential child-care operation that provides childcare for 13 or 
more children or young adults.

HHSC Health and Human 
Services Commission

HHSC is a state agency which oversees operations of the health 
and human services system.

https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/child_protection/Family_Support/fbss.asp
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HSEGH Health, Social, 
Educational and 
Genetic History

The HSEGH report provides the child’s information to prospective 
adoptive families.

ICPC Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of 
Children

The federal ICPC, originally enacted in 1960, provides a legal 
framework for the timely placement of children across state lines, 
the suitability of prospective families, and the provision of needed 
support services. The compact (1) applies to the interstate placement 
of children in the foster care system and children placed across state 
lines for adoption; (2) requires the development of time frames for 
completion of the approval process; (3) establishes clear rulemaking 
authority, (4) provides enforcement mechanisms; (5) clarifies state 
responsibility; and (6) ensures states’ ability to purchase home 
studies from licensed agencies to expedite the process.

ICWA Indian Child Welfare 
Act

The Indian Child Welfare Act, adopted by Congress in 1978, applies 
to child custody proceedings in state courts involving “Indian” 
children -- children of Native American ancestry.

IDD Intellectual and 
Developmental 
Disability

IDDs are differences that are usually present at birth and that uniquely 
affect the trajectory of the individual’s physical, intellectual, and/or 
emotional development. Conditions can affect multiple body parts or 
systems. Intellectual disability is characterized by differences with 
both, intellectual functioning or intelligence and adaptive behavior. 
Developmental disability is a broader category of often lifelong 
challenges that can be intellectual, physical, or both.

IEP Individualized 
Education Program

An IEP is a plan for each child who qualifies for special education 
and related services that is developed, reviewed, and revised 
by the ARD committee, of which parents are invited to be active 
members. It includes the student’s present levels of academic 
achievement and functional performance, participation in state and 
district-wide assessments, transition services, annual goals, special 
factors, special education, related services, supplementary aids 
and services, extended school year services, and least restrictive 
educational setting.

IMPACT Information 
Management 
Protecting Adults & 
Children in Texas

According to DFPS, IMPACT is the main application DFPS uses to 
record case information about the children and adults the agency 
protects. DFPS uses IMPACT to document all stages of service 
of a case, including when someone reports abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation and when those cases are investigated.

IOP Intensive Outpatient 
Treatment

An addiction treatment program that is designated for participants to 
receive intensive drug treatment while living at home.

IV-E Title IV-E Title IV-E of the Social Security Act provides a federal funding stream 
to states for costs related to the provision of foster care, including 
costs related to legal representation of DFPS, parents, and children.

JMC Joint Managing
Conservatorship

JMC sets out shared rights and duties of a parent by two parties, 
ordinarily the parents, even if the exclusive right to make certain 
decisions are awarded to one party. Tex. Fam. Code § 101.016. In 
DFPS cases, it is possible for a parent or a relative to share JMC of 
a child in the conservatorship of DFPS.
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JPO Juvenile Probation
Officer

Juvenile Probation Officers provide supervision to youth involved 
with juvenile probation departments and youth dually in the custody 
of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS).

LGBTQ Lesbian, Gay, 
Bisexual, 
Transgender, and 
Questioning Youth;
Webpage

The Child Welfare Information Gateway webpage includes 
information about serving lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and 
questioning (LGBTQ) youth, including resources for LGBTQ youth 
in out-of-home care and resources offering support and guidance 
for LGBTQ youth and their families.

LOC Level of Care;
Webpage

There are five service levels of care for children in the conservatorship 
of DFPS. Those service levels are basic, moderate, specialized, 
intense, and intense plus. 40 TAC Section 700.2301-700.2367.

MOU Memorandum of
Understanding

An MOU is an agreement between two parties in the form of a legal 
document. It is not fully binding in the way that a contract is, but it 
expresses an interest in performing a service or taking part in an 
activity.

MSA Mediated Settlement 
Agreement

An MSA is a form of alternative dispute resolution (ADR) that settles 
the case via negotiation under the guidance of a qualified neutral 
third party. An MSA is binding on the parties if properly executed, 
and a court may only decline to enter the MSA if a specific exception 
applies. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.007(c)-(e); Tex. Fam. Code § 
153.0071(e-1).

MTP Motion to Participate A type of CPS case during which services are ordered by the 
court for the family, without DFPS having temporary managing 
conservatorship of the child. Depending on jurisdictional practice, 
this may also be referred to as a Court Ordered Services (COS), 
Order to Participate (OTP), or Participation case.

OAG Texas Office of the
Attorney General;
Website

The OAG is a Texas state agency that serves as legal counsel to 
all boards and agencies of state government; issues legal opinions 
when requested by the Texas Governor, heads of state agencies, 
and other officials and agencies as provided by Texas statutes; sits 
as an ex-officio member of state committees and commissions; 
and defends challenges to state laws and suits against both state 
agencies and individual employees of the State.

OTP Order to Participate A type of CPS case during which services are ordered by the 
court for the family, without DFPS having temporary managing 
conservatorship of the child. Depending on jurisdictional practice, 
this may also be referred to as a Motion to Participate (MTP), Court 
Ordered Services (COS), or Participation case.

PAL Preparation for 
Adult Living (PAL) 
Program;
Webpage

A program within CPS to provide support and services to help youth 
prepare for independent adult living upon departure from DFPS care 
and support. According to DFPS, PAL policy requires that youth 16 
and older who are in substitute care and likely to remain in care 
until at least age 18, and who can qualify for services up to their 
21st birthday, receive services to prepare them for adult living. With 
funding availability, regions may serve any youth age 14 or older on 
whom Child Protective Services has an open case.

https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/diverse-populations/lgbtq/
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Foster_Care/Service_Levels.asp
https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/child_protection/Youth_and_Young_Adults/Preparation_For_Adult_Living/default.asp
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PC Permanency 
Conference

A Permanency Conference is held when it is not possible or 
appropriate to hold a Family Group Conference. A PC is held 
for a child or youth in DFPS conservatorship for the purposes of 
developing or reviewing the child’s or youth’s permanency plan; 
developing or reviewing the family service plan; resolving barriers 
to achieving a permanent living arrangement, as appropriate; and 
developing and reviewing the transition plan for youth age 14 and 
15. Family Group Decision Making strategies are used to the extent 
possible and if appropriate to the situation.

PMC Permanent Managing 
Conservatorship

Placement of a child in the permanent conservatorship of an entity 
or person, by court order, (e.g., Texas DFPS or relative) with no 
intention of returning the child to the parent’s custody. PMC is a 
term used solely in the context of child welfare law and is used 
to designate a managing conservator other than a parent. The 
designation of a non-parent as sole or joint managing conservator 
may be used in lieu of the term PMC.

PCSP Parental Child Safety 
Placement

A Parental Child Safety Placement (PCSP) is a family-initiated, 
temporary, out-of-home placement made by a parent with a 
caregiver who is either related to the child or has a long- standing 
and significant relationship with the child or family that may occur 
when the family determines that a PCSP is more workable than 
having a supervision agreement for parent-child contact.

QRTP Qualified Residential 
Treatment Program

A childcare institution that has a treatment model as defined by the 
Family First Prevention Services Act (FFPSA). Both accreditation of 
the facility and court review of the placement are required to qualify 
for federal IV-E matching payments after a child’s placement in a 
QRTP by the court.

RAPR Refusal to Accept 
Parental Responsibility

Refusal to assume parental responsibility is characterized as the 
failure by the person responsible for a child’s care, custody, or 
welfare to permit the child to return to the child’s home without 
arranging for the necessary care for the child after the child has 
been absent from the home for any reason.

RO Ruled Out This is one of the possible dispositions given in a DFPS investigation 
of child abuse and neglect. For an investigation to be designated 
as Ruled Out, the information gathered during the investigation 
supports a reasonable conclusion that: 1) the alleged abuse did not 
occur; 2) the alleged perpetrator is 9 years old or younger; or 3) the 
alleged abuse or neglect did occur but there is sufficient evidence 
to reasonably conclude that the named alleged perpetrator is not 
responsible.

RTB Reason to Believe RTB is one of the possible dispositions given in a DFPS investigation 
of child abuse and neglect. For an investigation to be designated as 
Reason to Believe, the information gathered during the investigation 
supports a reasonable conclusion that the alleged abuse or neglect 
did occur and that the alleged perpetrator is responsible for it.
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RTC Residential Treatment 
Center

According to Texas HHSC, an RTC provides therapeutic, residential 
care for children and adolescents to address needs such as mental 
illness, substance use, or other behavioral health problems. Children 
and adolescents live in an RTC for a short period of time as they 
work to meet their treatment goals.

SACWIS Statewide Automated 
Child Welfare
Information System

The SACWIS is a comprehensive automated case management tool 
that meets the needs of all staff (including social workers and their 
supervisors, whether employed by the State, county, or contracted 
private providers) involved in foster care and adoptions assistance 
case management. In Texas, the SACWIS system is called IMPACT.

SAPCR Suit Affecting Parent-
Child Relationship

A SAPCR refers to any lawsuit that affects the parent-child 
relationship, such as conservatorship of a child that has allegedly 
been abused or neglected by a parent or guardian.

SIJS Special Immigrant
Juvenile Status

SIJS is an immigration classification which allows immigrant 
children in the state child welfare system who cannot reunify with 
their parents due to abuse, abandonment, or neglect, and who meet 
certain other criteria, to obtain lawful permanent immigration status.

SMC Sole Managing
Conservator

An individual named by court order with the exclusive rights and 
duties of a parent to a child.

SSCC Single Source 
Continuum Contractor

An SSCC is a non-profit or governmental entity with child welfare 
as a primary mission that contracts with DFPS to oversee delivery 
of services through the state’s community- based care foster care 
program.

TCIC Texas Crime 
Identification Center

TCIC provides immediate access 24/7 for law enforcement agencies 
throughout Texas to data regarding the stolen status of property 
and the wanted, missing, sex offender, or protective order status of 
persons.

TANF Temporary Aid for 
Needy Families

The Texas Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
program) is a support service for Texas families. The purpose of 
TANF is to provide financial and medical assistance to needy 
dependent children and the parents or relatives with whom they are 
living. Eligible TANF households receive monthly cash and Medicaid 
benefits. 

TEA Texas Education 
Agency

TEA is the state agency dedicated to elementary and secondary 
education.

TFC Texas Family Code The laws and statutes that govern Texas family law are contained in 
the TFC, including laws related to child welfare.

TMC Temporary Managing 
Conservatorship

The awarding of conservatorship of a child to Texas DFPS. This 
may include children remaining in their home with orders from the 
court for particular requirements to ensure the safety of the child, 
or the removal of a child from the family for safety and well-being 
purposes.
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TPM Transition Plan
Meeting

According to DFPS, a Transition Plan Meeting is held soon after 
a youth who has been removed from the home reaches age 14. A 
TPM tends to be a shorter and more DFPS-driven conference with 
fewer participants than a Circle of Support. A TPM is used as an 
alternative to the Circle of Support when youth do not desire one or 
a Circle of Support cannot be convened.

TRCP Texas Rules of Civil
Procedure

The TRCP govern all civil lawsuits filed in Texas. They are designed 
to “obtain a just, fair, equitable and impartial adjudication of the 
rights of litigants under established principles of substantive law” 
and to provide for efficient disposition of cases.

TPR Termination of Parent 
Rights

Termination of parental rights severs a legal parent-child relationship 
between a child and one or both parents, including alleged (possible) 
parents. Termination can be voluntary or involuntary.

UCCJEA Uniform Child 
Custody Jurisdiction 
Enforcement Act

The Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act 
(UCCJEA) applies in child custody cases involving more than one 
state. The UCCJEA provides rules to determine which state has 
jurisdiction over a custody case. The UCCJEA only applies where 
legal custody, physical custody, or visitation are at issue.

UTC Unable to Complete For an investigation to be designated as UTC, the information 
gathered during the investigation supports a reasonable conclusion 
that the caseworker could not gather enough information because 
the caseworker could not locate a principal, or a principal was 
uncooperative.

UTD Unable to Determine UTD is one of the possible dispositions given in a DFPS investigation 
of child abuse and neglect. For an investigation to be designated 
as UTD, the information gathered during the investigation supports 
a reasonable conclusion that the allegation does not meet the 
criteria for unable to complete, but: 1) the information gathered is 
not enough to determine whether the abuse or neglect occurred, or 
2) there is enough information to determine that abuse or neglect 
occurred, but there is not enough information to determine if the 
alleged perpetrator is responsible.
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Common DFPS Intake Narrative Abbreviations
Abbreviation Definitions
AB Absent Parent
AP Alleged Perpetrator
AN Anonymous
AU Aunt/Uncle
AV Attorney Ad Litem
BA Babysitter
CO Cousin
DA Daughter
EC Emergency Contact
ES Ex-Spouse
FA Father (includes acknowledged, presumed, or alleged)
FK Fictive Kin
FM Other Family Member
FO Foster Child
FP Foster Parent
FQ Foster Sibling
FR Friend
FV Family Violence Shelter
GC Grandchild
GG Godparent
GU Guardian
LA Law Enforcement
MGFA/PGFA Maternal Grandfather/Paternal Grandfather
MGMO/PGMO Maternal Grandmother/Paternal Grandmother
MO Mother
NE Neighbor
NN Niece/Nephew
NR Nurse
OV Oldest Victim
PA Parent
PB Parent (Birth)
PC/PP Client’s Paramour/Parent’s Paramour
PO Probation Officer
PR Service Provider
SB Sibling
SC School Personnel
SL Self
SO Son
SP Spouse
SR Step-Child
SS Step-Sibling
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Abbreviation Definitions
ST Step-Parent
STFA/STMO Step-Father/Step-Mother
UH Unrelated Home Member
UK Unknown
UP Unpaid Caregiver
XX Other

DFPS Case Determination Abbreviations

Abbreviation Definitions
ABAN A case determination of Abandonment
EMAB A case determination of Mental or Emotional Injury
MDNG A case determination of Medical Neglect
NSUP A case determination of Non-Support
NSUP A case determination of Neglectful Supervision
PHAB A case determination of Physical Abuse
PHNG A case determination of Physical Neglect
RAPR A case determination of Refusal to Assume Parental Responsibility
SXAB A case determination of Sexual Abuse
SXTR A case determination of Sex Trafficking
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All links in this section were last visited in March 2024.

Adoption

•	 Texas Adoption Resource Exchange (TARE): https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Application/
TARE/Home.aspx/Default

Appeals

•	 Texas Courts of Appeal: https://www.txcourts.gov/about-texas-courts/courts-of-appeals.
aspx 

•	 Supreme Court of Texas: http://www.txcourts.gov/supreme/

Child Abuse Prevention & Advocacy

•	 American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children: https://www.apsac.org/
•	 Children’s Defense Fund: https://www.childrensdefense.org/
•	 DFPS Prevention and Early Intervention: https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/prevention_

and_early_intervention/about_prevention_and_early_intervention/programs.asp 
•	 First Three Years: https://first3yearstx.org/ 
•	 National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect: https://www.ndacan.acf.hhs.gov/
•	 Texas Council of Child Welfare Boards: http://www.tccwb.org/about-us/

Children’s Commission - Supreme Court of Texas Permanent Judicial Commission 
for Children, Youth and Families:

o	 Website: http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/
o	 Email: children@txcourts.gov 

•	 Sam and the Search For Spots- How Your Lawyer Can Help You

o	 English: https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/q3dlgqjh/coloring-book-
online-print.pdf

o	 Spanish:  https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/i33bgrsn/sam-and-the-
search-for-spots-coloring-book-spanish-version.pdf

•	 Texas Child Welfare Law Bench Book is available on the Children’s Commission 
Bench Book webpage (https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/for-judges-attorneys/
bench-book/) in the following formats:

o	 Print Version
o	 Online and Interactive
o	 Available by downloading the mobile application, LawBox:

•	 Open the LawBox app
•	 Select “Texas Children’s Commission”
•	 Enter “children” for both username and password; additional instructions are 

available.

•	 What Does an Attorney for a Child in a CPS Case Do? https://
texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/bgegv4gi/lrs-childrens-atty-trifold.pdf 

https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Application/TARE/Home.aspx/Default
https://www.txcourts.gov/about-texas-courts/courts-of-appeals.aspx
http://www.txcourts.gov/supreme/
http://www.txcourts.gov/supreme/
https://www.apsac.org/
http://www.apsac.org/
https://www.childrensdefense.org/
http://www.childrensdefense.org/
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/prevention_and_early_intervention/about_prevention_and_early_intervention/programs.asp
https://first3yearstx.org/
https://www.ndacan.acf.hhs.gov/
https://www.ndacan.acf.hhs.gov/
http://www.ndacan.acf.hhs.gov/
http://www.tccwb.org/about-us/
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/
mailto:children@txcourts.gov
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/q3dlgqjh/coloring-book-online-print.pdf
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/i33bgrsn/sam-and-the-search-for-spots-coloring-book-spanish-version.pdf
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/for-judges-attorneys/bench-book/
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/dfxpfdl5/2023-child-welfare-bench-book-final-online.pdf
http://benchbook.texaschildrenscommission.gov/package/gov.texaschildrenscommission.benchbook
https://www.lawbox.com/association-instructions.html
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/4ingtdvg/lawbox-app-instructions-updated-2023.pdf
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/bgegv4gi/lrs-childrens-atty-trifold.pdf


220

A
dd

it
io

na
l R

es
ou

rc
es

•	 What Does a Parent’s Attorney Do? https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/
cq0jpa21/what-does-a-parents-attorney-do-trifold.pdf

Child Support

•	 Office of Attorney General: https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support

Child Welfare Legal Advocacy

•	 American Bar Association Center on Children and the Law: https:// www.
americanbar.org/groups/public_interest/child_law/

•	 American Bar Association Child Law Practice Today: https://www.americanbar.org/
groups/public_interest/child_law/resources/child_law_practiceonline/ 

•	 National Association of Counsel for Children: https:// www.naccchildlaw.org/default.
aspx

•	 State Bar of Texas Child Protection Law Section: https://naccchildlaw.org/ 
•	 Texas Lawyers for Children: https://www.texaslawyersforchildren.org/

Court-Appointed Special Advocates

•	 National CASA: https://nationalcasagal.org/
•	 Texas CASA: https://texascasa.org/

Department of Family and Protective Services

•	 Texas DFPS: http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/
•	 Texas Practice Guide for DFPS Attorneys: https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_

Protection/Attorneys_Guide/default.asp. For assistance in subject matter areas, see 
the DFPS Attorneys’ expertise list found in Section 14.

Disability - Advocates & Information

•	 Disability Rights Texas: https://www.disabilityrightstx.org/en/home/

Domestic Violence

•	 Texas Council on Family Violence: https://tcfv.org/

Dual Status Youth

•	 Children’s Commission Dual Status Task Force Final Report:  https://
texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/0ompgwzb/dual-status-task-force-final-report.
pdf

Education

•	 Texas Education Agency

o	 Foster Care and Student Success webpage: https://tea.texas.gov/academics/special-
student-populations/foster-care-and-student-success

o	 Foster Care Student Success Resource Guide: https://tea.texas.gov/sites/default/
files/2022-fcss-resource-guide.pdf

https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/cq0jpa21/what-does-a-parents-attorney-do-trifold.pdf
https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support
http://www.americanbar.org/groups/public_interest/child_law/
http://www.americanbar.org/groups/public_interest/child_law/
http://www.americanbar.org/groups/public_interest/child_law/
https://www.americanbar.org/groups/public_interest/child_law/resources/child_law_practiceonline/
https://naccchildlaw.org
http://www.naccchildlaw.org/default.aspx
http://www.naccchildlaw.org/default.aspx
https://childprotectionlawtx.com/
https://www.texaslawyersforchildren.org/
http://www.texaslawyersforchildren.org/
http://www.texaslawyersforchildren.org/
https://nationalcasagal.org/
https://texascasa.org/
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Attorneys_Guide/default.asp
https://www.disabilityrightstx.org/en/home/
http://www.disabilityrightstx.org/en/home/
https://tcfv.org/
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/0ompgwzb/dual-status-task-force-final-report.pdf
https://tea.texas.gov/academics/special-student-populations/foster-care-and-student-success
https://tea.texas.gov/academics/special-student-populations/foster-care-and-student-success
https://tea.texas.gov/sites/default/files/2022-fcss-resource-guide.pdf


221

A
dditional R

esources

•	 Texas Education for Homeless Children and Youth: https://tea.texas.gov/texas-
schools/support-for-at-risk-schools-and-students/texas-education-for-homeless-
children-and-youth-tehcy-program 

Family Helpline 

•	 Texas Legal Services Family Helpline: https://www.tlsc.org/family 

Federal Child Welfare Policy

•	 Administration for Children and Families Children’s Bureau: https://www.acf.hhs.
gov/cb

Foster Care Ombudsman

o	 Website: https://www.hhs.texas.gov/about/your-rights/office-ombudsman/hhs-
ombudsman-foster-care-help

o	 Phone: (844) 286-0769

Hotlines

•	 National Domestic Violence Hotline: https://www.thehotline.org/
•	 Texas Dept. of Family & Protective Services Abuse & Neglect: https://www.

txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx
•	 Texas Youth Helpline: Website: https://www.dfps.texas.gov/youth-helpline/default.

asp; Hotline: (800) 989-6884

Human Trafficking

•	 National Center for Missing and Exploited Children: https://www.missingkids.org/
•	 Office of the Attorney General: https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/initiatives/

human-trafficking
•	 Office of the Governor: https://gov.texas.gov/organization/cjd/childsextrafficking
•	 Texas Dept. of Family & Protective Services: https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/

Investigations/Human_Trafficking/default.asp 

Immigration & Citizenship

•	 Department of Homeland Security - All immigration and border related issues 
formerly the responsibility of the INS are now under the authority of the Department 
of Homeland Security (DHS): https://www.usa.gov/agencies/u-s-department-of-
homeland-security. Please see links to the following three relevant divisions:

o	 U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services (CIS) - immigrant services and benefits: 
https://www.uscis.gov/

o	 U.S. Immigration and Custom Enforcement (ICE) - domestic investigative and 
enforcement: https://www.ice.gov/

o	 U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) - border enforcement: https://www.cbp.
gov/

•	 Human Rights Initiative of North Texas: https://hrionline.org/

https://tea.texas.gov/texas-schools/support-for-at-risk-schools-and-students/texas-education-for-homeless-children-and-youth-tehcy-program
https://www.tlsc.org/family
https://www.tlsc.org/family
https://www.acf.hhs.gov/cb
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/cb
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/cb
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/about/your-rights/office-ombudsman/hhs-ombudsman-foster-care-help
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/about/your-rights/office-ombudsman/hhs-ombudsman-foster-care-help
https://www.thehotline.org/
http://www.thehotline.org/
https://www.txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx
http://www.txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx
http://www.txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx
https://www.dfps.texas.gov/youth-helpline/default.asp
https://www.missingkids.org/
http://www.missingkids.org/
https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/initiatives/human-trafficking
https://gov.texas.gov/organization/cjd/childsextrafficking
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Investigations/Human_Trafficking/default.asp
https://www.usa.gov/agencies/u-s-department-of-homeland-security
https://www.uscis.gov/
http://www.uscis.gov/
https://www.ice.gov/
http://www.ice.gov/
https://www.cbp.gov/
http://www.cbp.gov/
http://www.cbp.gov/
https://hrionline.org/
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•	 Immigrant Legal Resource Center - Special Immigrant Juvenile Status and general 
immigration resources: https://www.ilrc.org/

Incarcerated Parents

•	 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: https://aspe.hhs.gov/sites/default/
files/private/pdf/258536/ParentalIncarcerationChildrenNonparentalCare.pdf.pdf 

Indian Child Welfare Act

•	 Bureau of Indian Affairs: https://www.bia.gov/
•	 National Congress of American Indians: http://www.ncai.org/
•	 National Indian Child Welfare Association (NICWA): https://www.nicwa.org/
•	 Texas Child Welfare Law Bench Book: Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA): http://

benchbook.texaschildrenscommission.gov/library_item/gov.texaschildrenscommission.
benchbook/194

•	 2021 Texas ICWA Summit: http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/project-2021-icwa-
summit/

International

•	 Consular Notification and Access - Guidance and contact information for foreign 
consuls: https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/consularnotification.html 

o	 Select International Travel, then A-Z Index, then Consular Notification & Access

•	 Desarrollo Integral de la Familia (“DIF”) - Social Services counter part to DFPS in 
Mexico: https://www.dif.cdmx.gob.mx/

•	 Hague Conference on Private International Law: https://www.hcch.net/en/home

o	 Hague Adoption Convention: https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/
Intercountry-Adoption/Adoption-Process/understanding-the-hague-convention.
html 

o	 Hague Convention on Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction: https://www.
hcch.net/en/instruments/conventions/specialised-sections/child-abduction

•	 International Social Service - Resource for international home studies: https://iss-usa.
org/

•	 International Judicial Assistance U.S. Department of State - Country specific 
information regarding service of process and related issues: https://travel.state.gov/
content/ travel/en/legal/travel-legal-considerations/internl-judicial-asst.html:

o	 select Law & Policy, then Information for Americans Abroad, then Judicial 
Assistance, then choose country specific information

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children (ICPC)

•	 Association of Administrators of the ICPC: 

o	 Website: https://www.aphsa.org/AAICPC/default.aspx
o	 Phone: (202) 682-0100

https://www.ilrc.org/
http://www.ilrc.org/
https://aspe.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/private/pdf/258536/ParentalIncarcerationChildrenNonparentalCare.pdf.pdf
https://www.bia.gov/
http://www.bia.gov/
http://www.ncai.org/
http://www.ncai.org/
https://www.nicwa.org/
http://www.nicwa.org/
http://benchbook.texaschildrenscommission.gov/library_item/gov.texaschildrenscommission.benchbook/194
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/project-2021-icwa-summit/
https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/consularnotification.html
https://www.dif.cdmx.gob.mx/
http://www.dif.cdmx.gob.mx/
https://www.hcch.net/en/home
http://www.hcch.net/en/home
https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/Intercountry-Adoption/Adoption-Process/understanding-the-hague-convention.html
https://www.hcch.net/en/instruments/conventions/specialised-sections/child-abduction
http://www.hcch.net/en/instruments/conventions/specialised-sections/child-abduction
http://www.hcch.net/en/instruments/conventions/specialised-sections/child-abduction
https://iss-usa.org/
https://travel.state.gov/content/%20travel/en/legal/travel-legal-considerations/internl-judicial-asst.html
https://www.aphsa.org/AAICPC/default.aspx
https://www.aphsa.org/AAICPC/default.aspx
http://www/
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Legislation

•	 Texas Legislature Online: https://www.legis.state.tx.us/

Mediation

•	 Children’s Commission Mediation in Child Protective Services Round Table Report: 
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/zc3lq2ff/mediation-in-child-protection-
cases-round-table-report.pdf 

Medical Research

•	 American Academy of Pediatrics: https://www.aap.org/en-us/Pages/Default.aspx
•	 PubMed Central - A free digital archive provided by the U.S. National Institute of 

Health: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/

Mental Health

•	 Nation Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI): https://www.nami.org/Home
•	 Texas Judicial Commission on Mental Health: http://texasjcmh.gov/

Older Youth

•	 Texas Foster Youth Justice Project: http://texasfosteryouth.org/
•	 Texas Network of Youth Services: http://tnoys.org/
•	 Texas Youth Connection: https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/txyouth/

Parent Support

•	 Children’s Commission Parent Resource Guide: 

o	 English: https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/2zrd0zxl/parent-resource-
guide-2020-online.pdf

o	 Spanish: https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/rmjfjhky/childrens-
commission-parent-guide-spanish.pdf

•	 DFPS Parent Collaboration Groups: https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/
Family_Support/PCG/PCG.asp 

•	 Texas Permanency Outcomes Project: https://txicfw.socialwork.utexas.edu/research/
project/texas-permanency-outcomes-project-txpop/

Paternity

•	 Office of Attorney General of Texas - FAQs on establishing paternity: https://www.
texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support/paternity

•	 Texas Dept. of State Health Services Vital Statistics - FAQs about paternity and 
parentage: https://www.dshs.texas.gov/vital-statistics/frequently-asked-questions/
paternity-faqs

Sealing Juvenile Records 

•	 Juvenile and Children’s Advocacy Project (JCAP) - At the University of Houston Law 

https://www.legis.state.tx.us/
http://www.legis.state.tx.us/
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/zc3lq2ff/mediation-in-child-protection-cases-round-table-report.pdf
https://www.aap.org/en-us/Pages/Default.aspx
http://www.aap.org/en-us/Pages/Default.aspx
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/
https://www.nami.org/Home
http://www.nami.org/Home
http://texasjcmh.gov/
http://texasfosteryouth.org/
http://texasfosteryouth.org/
http://tnoys.org/
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/txyouth/
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/txyouth/
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/1155/final-online-pdf.pdf
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/2zrd0zxl/parent-resource-guide-2020-online.pdf
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/rmjfjhky/childrens-commission-parent-guide-spanish.pdf
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Family_Support/PCG/PCG.asp
https://txicfw.socialwork.utexas.edu/research/project/texas-permanency-outcomes-project-txpop/
https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support/paternity
http://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support/paternity
http://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support/paternity
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/vs/
https://www.jcaptexas.org
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Center: 

o	 Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jcaptexas/?hc_location=ufi&locale=zh_
CN&paipv=0&eav=AfakjN2pvx_gJDP_ub3eS8tAXm8Cq100ec_6GkHyyZfEov8rF
DBxHw-fe8VZ0uWU_NQ&_rdr

o	 Phone: (713) 743-1132
o	 Email: info@jcaptexas.org.

Shaken Baby Syndrome

•	 National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Strokes - Abusive Head Trauma 
Shaken Baby Syndrome: https://www.ninds.nih.gov/

Sexual Violence

•	 National Sexual Violence Resource Center: https://www.nsvrc.org/

Substance Abuse

•	 National Alliance for Drug Endangered Children: https://www.nationaldec.org/
•	 National Center for Substance Abuse and Child Welfare: https://ncsacw.samhsa.gov/
•	 Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA): https://

www.samhsa.gov/
•	 Texas HHSC Outreach, Screening , Assessment & Referral Facilities: https://www.

hhs.texas.gov/services/mental-health-substance-use/mental-health-substance-use-
resources/outreach-screening-assessment-referral

Trauma-Informed Information

•	 Research on Separation and Removal American Bar Association: https://www.
americanbar.org/content/dam/aba/publications/litigation_committees/childrights/
child-separation-memo/scientific-research-on-the-effects-of-removal-from-parents-
generally.pdf

•	 Judicial Trauma Institute: https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/project-jti/
•	 Statewide Collaborative on Trauma-Informed Care: www.traumainformedtexas.com
•	 Trauma Informed Legal Advocacy Project: https://ncdvtmh.org/

mailto:info@jcaptexas.org
https://www.ninds.nih.gov/
http://www.ninds.nih.gov/
https://txcourts.sharepoint.com/sites/TeamToolKit/Shared%20Documents/Tool%20Kit%20Drafts/2024%20Drafts/Working%20Draft/National%20Sexual%20Violence%20Resource%20Center
http://www.nsvrc.org/
https://www.nationaldec.org/
http://www.nationaldec.org/
https://ncsacw.samhsa.gov/
https://www.samhsa.gov/
http://www.samhsa.gov/
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/services/mental-health-substance-use/mental-health-substance-use-resources/outreach-screening-assessment-referral
http://Research on Separation and Removal
https://www.americanbar.org/content/dam/aba/publications/litigation_committees/childrights/child-separation-memo/scientific-research-on-the-effects-of-removal-from-parents-generally.pdf
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/project-jti/
https://texaschildrenscommission.gov/our-work/systems-improvement/welcome-to-traumainformedtexascom/
https://ncdvtmh.org/
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